Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

See what my son learnt in school today

• 25-02-2013 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭

Cover

Beyond my obvious issues, look at each page carefully. I have not allowed my son to read this book and will inform the school to exclude him from reading any more McBooks in future.

I was not aware this was happening. I had seen a joke made about it in the simpsons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I was worried that Ruff wouldn't get anything but thankfully it is a happy ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

ch750536 wrote: »
    Cover

Beyond my obvious issues, look at each page carefully. I have not allowed my son to read this book and will inform the school to exclude him from reading any more McBooks in future.

I was not aware this was happening. I had seen a joke made about it in the simpsons.

No dogs........... plenty of horses though.

PS. You're gonna love it when he watches "Mac and Me" so......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I'm highly confused Ted.

What is this "book" supposed to be about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

I almost went full retard reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Anne and Barry would be rolling in their graves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Storm in a molehill/mountain in a teacup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Where the hell did they get that book ?

1988 Mc Donalds marketing campaign.

Why dont they have books on current curriculum. That would be my question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Barking mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I was worried that Ruff wouldn't get anything but thankfully it is a happy ending.
    Girl says she is full
    I've never been full after having mac Donald's
    All lies I tell you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

How come dogs aren't allowed in but that big hairy blue bastard is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I don't think it's the real McDonalds though. I never heard of them selling chips there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,730 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"No dogs. Ruff can't come in. Gigantic-blue-anthropomorphic-hairball... yup, he's fine"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

hahaha.. wtf!

And they're considering banning ads for McDonalds etc before the watershed.. you couldn't make this stuff up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

You never know, it could be useful information, get him an early start on getting a mcjob when he's in high school.

Get him one of these for christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Cover

what is the issue with the book? stopping your son reading a book in school is a bit OTT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

Yes! Exclusion is the answer! :rolleyes:

Whatever you do don't try and contact the school to understand the context of the exercise first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I remember reading about something similar to this in Fast Food Nation (I think). Books on the environment produced by companies funded by oil money and so on.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1493687/McDonalds-photos-in-book-that-helps-four-year-olds-read.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Cover

I know what ye mean -I'm against large blue furball single parents meself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Can't wait for the movie of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

HondaSami wrote: »
    what is the issue with the book?

Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Huggy Bear ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

what is the issue with the book? stopping your son reading a book in school is a bit OTT.
    Not sure if serious or trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Allegedly most of the books for key stage 3 (12 books) are all McBooks. Not verified this yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Springfield Elementary wouldn't stoop to that level.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

You would not have caught them near such a dump of a fast food outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

At least it's better than "The Birds & The Bees by Burger King"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

what would Morgan Spurlock say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

I can see why you would be angry OP, no toys with the Happy Meals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

If this is brewhaha from No Dogs the next two in the series No Blacks and No Irish are sure to cause outrage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

HTML5! wrote: »
    Yes! Exclusion is the answer! :rolleyes:

Whatever you do don't try and contact the school to understand the context of the exercise first.

Eh... what's the craic with the :rolleyes:?

So how many potentially positive contexts can you imagine existing? It's pretty unlikely that kids are being taught that MacDonald's is a greedy, manipulative, capitalist multinational...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

1. A children's school book is no place for insidious product-placement .
    2. Kids are fat enough. They should be learning about proper nutrition in school, not Mc ****ing Donald's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

I'm shocked that primary schools would be used for this type of indoctrination. No doubt taking valuable teaching time away from the other types of indoctrination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

They died from diabetes because they kept eating jam for tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

So there's blue furry yokes in McBurgers...get over it. Its all protein and will make the lad grow up big and strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

It's illegal to target children with advertising on TV so they have moved it into schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Who would give their dog such unhealthy food!?
    Also, this book teaches racism and social exclusion. :eek:

What would Chicken McLicken say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Why am I not surprised to see people saying it's not a big deal? You're all so predictable it's embarrassing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

Cover

Not only would I make sure that my child wasn't reading this book in school (or anything like it) I would also lodge a complaint to the BOM. How on earth can this pass as acceptable reading material?!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Can see the issue with the big dildo on your blue fluffy mans nose, is thats what is upsetting the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Unless the child is a teenager and the book is to be an example of shameless marketing, I dont see any value of it....

Any teacher who give this to a child as education should be sacked.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Its a story that pretty much says kids went to mcdonalds, had food, it was good, by faking a subplot of, the young fella didn't forget about the dog, who also seemed to think the food there was good.

It's not about learning to read, it's about a good experience in mcdonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Senna wrote: »
    At least it's better than "The Birds & The Bees by Burger King"

Or that classic "Hunt the Sausage" by Eddie Rocket.

1. A children's school book is no place for insidious product-placement .
    2. Kids are fat enough. They should be learning about proper nutrition in school, not Mc ****ing Donald's.

Not all kids are fat. Im sure most of the kids in the school have eaten mcdonalds. What age are these kids btw?
    I don't think the children will suffer from reading the book, it's harmless. I bet half the parents complaining are over weight themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The main protagonist is ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

Op, may I ask what was the schools reaction to your complaint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Grayson wrote: »
    They died from diabetes because they kept eating jam for tea.

In fairness, Anne and Barry got more exercise than your average kid does these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Miaireland wrote: »
    Op, may I ask what was the schools reaction to your complaint?

They probably asked if he wanted fries with that before McExpelling his son.:(

Its a story that pretty much says kids went to mcdonalds, had food, it was good, by faking a subplot of, the young fella didn't forget about the dog, who also seemed to think the food there was good.

It's not about learning to read, it's about a good experience in mcdonalds.

They are giving out free books now in the UK with every happy meal, are parents going to get all worked up about this?
    Mc Donalds might be crap but kids/adults love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Page 2 - Sign on wall

"Why not have your birthday party at McDonalds"