Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You probably couldnt make it up....

• 24-02-2013 6:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭

I was due to do my test Wednesday morning, and following a pre test Tuesday morning, I was feeling fairly good about it. Went out again about 3.30 to practice driving the 'test' way and was heading home, down the Belgard Road towards Newlands Cross, a mere 3 minutes from my house, when a guy pulls out of Newlands Golf Club into the yellow junction box with me coming toward him in the right hand lane. The left hand lane was backed up and I guess he just didnt see me or bother to look. I had no time to avoid him, tried to turn right to avoid as best I could but the impact was inevitable.
    It was very lucky I was driving slowly and like a granny, as any speed and he was in serious trouble, me too I'd reckon.
    Long story short, my car, an 04 Audi A3 3 door, took the hit on the left side quarter panel/passenger door. Its fairly beaten in, and the left front wheel is leaning in towards the right, the steering seems all over the place. ESP kept coming on and off as I drove it the short distance back to my house.
    Its gone off to the garage but I've not heard any report on it yet.
    Anyone got a rough idea what the damage might equate to, in terms of whats broke and cost. Obviously difficult to assess without seeing it I know.

The other drives seems to be accepting all responsibility, hopefully he doesnt change his mind, tho he'd have some nerve to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Hopefully you and your passenger were not hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Did he say that in front of a guard? In that case you're fine. Otherwise you're screwed.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If you haven't already, report it to your insurers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Jordan5372

you were acccompanied by qualified driver, rite?

• Site Banned Posts: 166 ✭✭Cash is king

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    you were acccompanied by qualified driver, rite?

He asked for a rough repair price not a lesson from a high horse.:rolleyes:

who said i was a high horse? trying to give advice. Not going to go into his favour if he crashed and had no qualified driver with him is it? Come on man.. think where im coming from.

Jordan5372 wrote: »
    who said i was a high horse? trying to give advice. Not going to go into his favour if he crashed and had no qualified driver with him is it? Come on man.. think where im coming from.

I said it, who cares if he had someone in the car its none of your business.

whatever you say man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭bbsrs

I'd say if it goes through insurance they'll write it off as an uneconomical repair by the sounds of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Lawless2k12

Jaysus he only asked if he had a qualified driver with him? Curiosity isn't the equal of a high horse. I would have liked to know the same. If the OP answers then he answers, if he doesn't then he doesn't. We don't need you to dictate what the OP may want to say. They can speak (or type) for themselves.

What difference will it make to the repair costs?

None, but what difference does asking the question make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Having a qualified driver or not is a red herring, it won't affect the OP's insurance cover and it won't affect the repair price so why ask the question in the first place?

Not relevant, move on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

[QUOTE=Jordan5372;83378950]who said i was a high horse? trying to give advice. Not going to go into his favour if he crashed and had no qualified driver with him is it? Come on man.. think where im coming from.[/QUOTE]

Not going to matter a damn if he was alone or with a qualified driver. Insurance is not invalidated or anything. Same thing as if you break the speed limit & have an accident. Doesn't invalidate insurance. Worst case would be his own insurance refusing to pay out on a full comp claim. They'd still need to pay 3rd party costs regardless and possibly pursue for costs but they never do.

Get over it chaps and chapettes, he asked a bloody question. OP can answer if he feels like it. Making a deal out of the smallest things. I swear to god Boards is full of people who just want to say a smart comment to get a few "thanks" or something. Half like facebook by the way some people carry on. Any teeny weeny itty bitty comment or question that doesn't fit in perfectly and the topic police come in giving out about how it's not helping the OP. If the OP feels it's a stupid/annoying question leave them say it themselves. They aren't a 10 year old needing their hand held!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

OP, impossible to guess a cost of repair, but a 9 year old A3, probably be wrote off. Is it petrol or Diesel? What was the pre accident condition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Did you get a smell of the other drivers breath OP? I am just wondering if he had paid a visit to the clubhouse bar and _that_ was the reason he didnt check properly before pulling out into traffic....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

Senna wrote: »
    OP, impossible to guess a cost of repair, but a 9 year old A3, probably be wrote off. Is it petrol or Diesel? What was the pre accident condition?

Look what I've started.
    I was not accompanied, which I fully realise may be an issue, but the garda who arrived at the scene did not make an issue of it. I work for my insurer, so I have been made aware it is not relevant to them either, nor any other insurer.
    The 3rd party was entirely at fault.
    I have tpf&t insurance so cannot claim on my own policy for my car, tho it doesn't appear as tho I will need to.
    The car is petrol and was in very good condition prior to the accident.

BigEejit wrote: »
    Did you get a smell of the other drivers breath OP? I am just wondering if he had paid a visit to the clubhouse bar and _that_ was the reason he didnt check properly before pulling out into traffic....
    I requested that he be breathalised but the guard refused every request, saying he did not feel the guy had drink on him.
    I don't know what more I could do in that situation.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

terrydel wrote: »
    I requested that he be breathalised but the guard refused every request, saying he did not feel the guy had drink on him.
    I don't know what more I could do in that situation.

I thought a new rule was brought in that if you are involved in crash you are automatically breathalised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

godtabh wrote: »
    I thought a new rule was brought in that if you are involved in crash you are automatically breathalised?

I think that's only in the case of injury or death. Not for every crash

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 Alex Salmon

The Garda must form an opinion of having consumed drink before he can lawfully ask for a breath test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Super hoop

The Garda must form an opinion of having consumed drink before he can lawfully ask for a breath test.
    I was in the middle of a 3 car crash about a year ago,all 3 drivers were breath tested. Crash happened at evening rush hour in Dublin.

I was in a crash before and there was 2 naggins of vodka and 2 bottles of Boost in the door pocket and I wasn't breathalysed. Guard just said that it didn't seem as though I was under the influence of alcohol so I wouldn't be breathalysed. Was surprised tbh because one of the naggins had already been emptied into the bottle of boost ready for consumption. Luckily I'm 100% opposed to drink driving so I hadn't even taken a whiff of the stuff

godtabh wrote: »

Apparently not!