Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the Cinema on Your Own?

• 24-02-2013 2:07pm
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Sorry if this doesn't belong in here, but it is film related, so...

I have the misfortune of having friends with terrible taste in films, or perhaps it's better to say they have no real interest in them. They go to see whatever is advertised the most and only go to the local multiplex. If I ever bully one of them enough to come see something else with me they sit and sigh through it, or text, or once even got up and went outside to wait for me. Pretty much ruining it for me. So I stopped trying to get them to go.

Now, rather than attempting to make a bunch of new friends just to watch films with I thought maybe I should just start going on my own? But then I thought about anytime I see someone on their own in the cinema and automatically assumed they were on their own because they have no friends and are terribly lonely. Which, I know, is a terrible conclusion to jump to. But it is the conclusion we jump to, right?

So, do any of you go to the cinema on your own? Do you feel awkward doing it? Do you judge mercilessly anyone you see watching a film on their own?

I missed a lot of films I wanted to see this year through having nobody to go with, so I'm leaning more and more towards just saying feck it and going anyway, but I'd be interested to hear your thoughts, experiences, opinions, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Mostly, I prefer going to the cinema alone. Mostly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I'd see about a quarter of the films I wanted to see if I relied on friends. If even. Hard enough to get them to see what they want to see let alone unknown quantities. Plus the constant headache of group organisation.

There's no benefit whatsoever in being awkward and judgemental. You're watching a film - makes no difference if you're on your own or with friends. Some films are more fun with a group, but honestly you're just being extremely insecure if you can't go on your own.

I go to the cinema on my own all the time. In fact given the choice between seeing a film with a friends or my girlfriend and going on my own I'd much prefer the latter. There's something incredibly comforting about sitting by yourself in a darkened cinema and getting totally engrossed in a film. If you have friends there then there's always a chance that someone is going to want to QUIETLY whisper, make jokes, etc.

I never have been able to understand the social stigma attached to going to see a film on your own and I'd had to be so insecure that I'd miss seeing a film simply because I was afraid of what some randoms strangers may think of me.

Just to add, I also go to gigs on my own as I'm not missing a band I like just because I can't muster a gang of people to come with me.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I used to go on my own all the time, still do on occasion. Can't say I would jump to that conclusion either. At the end if the day I've never considered the cinema a particularly social experience(though it can be in some cases tbf) since you're essentially sitting in a dark room and not talking to anyone and I don't really see it as any different to watching a film on my own at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I often go to the cinema on my own.
    I don't understand why people need to go in groups - its not like you can chat to another person while you are there. Plus you get to choose what film you want to see and when.
    I never feel awkward going by myself, and there is often other people by themselves also.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

It's never stopped me before and I'd have missed out on a number of films if I hadn't gone alone.
    I'd hope you'd only need to talk to them before and after the film and never during, so you're not missing anything while the film itself is playing. The experience of the film itself then is, to me, not lessened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Since I've gotten my unlimited card I've gone alone fairly frequently. Nobody cares if you're alone, everyone's just here to watch the film!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

To be honest I only realised maybe last summer that there are alternative cinemas to the big chain ones that only show the major films. It wasn't an issue before that because the local cinema never showed anything I really wanted to see. My own interest in cinema has developed a lot recently too, so it's not like I've spent my whole life missing things I wanted to see because I had nobody to go with. Though, as I said, there were a few these past 6 months or so I did miss and have had to wait for DVD releases to see.

And it's not that I'd need people with me to enjoy the film, but it's nice to have someone to discuss it with after, but thinking on that my friends never even mention the film we've just seen when we come out of the cinema, so it's not like they'd be much use there either.

I guess that decides it then. Next time I want to see something I'm just going!

(The more I think about it the more I think I should also look into making new friends ;) )

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

This subject comes up every now and again, and usually the same arguments are made, revolving around some weird sense of judgementalism and/or insecurity. The cinema isn't Lilys OP, it's not about who you're seen with :)

Yes, some genres and films are naturally more enjoyable with company - I'm specifically thinking of comedies and blockbusters - but tbh the idea that the cinema is a social experience is somewhat false anyway: you're sitting in a darkened room, not speaking for ~2 hours: where's the social aspect?

I'd much rather go to the cinema on my own, and see the films I want to see, than drag some friend(s) along with no interest in the thing, just out of a sense of insecurity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Do it all the time, I live about 4 minutes walk away from a cinema, midweek day off, go to an early afternoon showing, its bliss, have often been the only person sat in the screen, private showings ftw :pac: There's some stuff I'd prefer to see with friends, big summer blockbusters or comedies that are best enjoyed with an audience, but I'd generally go see anything that interests me. you'd mostly see people midweek on their own anyway, nobody cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

I find the cinema is more enjoyable by yourself. Almost 0 chance of being asked stupid questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Im very much in the prefer it on my own camp,ive told one of my friends im not going with him anymore as he is completely incapable of turning his(motherf***ing!)Iphone off:mad:,drives me spare,constant light going off every 2 minutes......i love to go on my own,and preferably early,youll find if you go to arthouse cinemas or arthouse type movies in the main cinemas most people in there are on their own.......which means less talk!! its one of my favourite pleasures in life,midday show with about 5 other people scattered throughout the cinema....bliss

"Hell Is Other People" as the fella says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,551 ✭✭✭Goldstein

Going to the cinema is a pretty unsociable activity anyway, if anything it makes more sense to go on your own. The only annoying part of the experience is if you're going in the evening and have to endure the 15 minute+ wait before the film begins; there's only so much playing with your phone you can do. Unless it's during the day you can't just show up as the movie begins or you won't get a decent seat. Allocated seating in every cinema would be great and you could plan to avoid all the Carlton ad rubbish wasting 15 minutes of your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

I go to the cinema on my own but then I have no friends and am terribly lonely :(

Anyway, I prefer going on my own, that way I don't have to worry about the people I'm bringing or listening to them breathing beside me.

phasers wrote: »
    Nobody cares if you're alone, everyone's just here to watch the film!

Try being a fat, bald guy in a trenchcoat in a cinema in the middle of the day.

I'll likely go during the summer once a week at least since it looks like it'll cost under a fiver a go. I don't understand why someone wouldn't want to go along but for watching bits of fluff it can be good craic heading with a group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

I often do it. I have plenty of people to go with but i actually enjoy going alone. Mid-week to a film a week or two after initial release and the place is usually pretty empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

There's a nice sense of freedom in being able to pop into the cinema on your own on a whim, pick out a movie you want to see at a time that suits you. As opposed to the 'cinema trip organised by committee' where people squabble over time, venue and film before a compromise is finally reached and nobody really gets what they were looking for in the first place.
    I'm not opposed to seeing movies with others, but have absolutely no problem with going on my todd either.

Last 5 cinema trips for me where:
    Much Ado About Nothing (with one friend)
    A Good Day to Die Hard (with one friend)
    Flight (on my own)
    Bullet To The Head (large group)
    Hitchcock (with two friends)

Some movies are suited to a group dynamic. BttH worked well with a large (not fully sober) group while I enjoyed flight much more as I was on my own since I could get more engrossed in the story/character without any distractions.

I hate trying to plan groups of 3 or more people, usually its me, my cousin and housemate, but during the summer season it tends to be sometimes 6 or more people. Between varying start times in the 3 cinemas here, work, film end times, lifts, getting people organised, blahhhh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

It's an absurd stigma that was clearly started by insecure, needy and closed minded people.

I have discovered so many great films that I wouldn't have otherwise seen had I wasted my time attempting to drag others along. Just go along, who cares? It's fun and liberating not to cling to what others think.

I appreciate the brutal honesty of most of these replies. Basically telling me to stop being such an idiot and go if I want to go!

It is a silly stigma and if I'm honest I've never though anything of seeing someone in the cinema on their own, but I have heard comments from those around me, which I think brings me back to I need better friends :)

I appreciate the brutal honesty of most of these replies. Basically telling me to stop being such an idiot and go if I want to go!

It is a silly stigma and if I'm honest I've never though anything of seeing someone in the cinema on their own, but I have heard comments from those around me, which I think brings me back to I need better friends :)

Irish people tend to think anyone who does anything alone is a loner, "oohh I could never sit in a restaurant or bar on my own" pffff, as if anyone cares. i've gone to the cinema, gigs, bars, even on holidays on my own, its nice to be on your own time doing these things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Is it a stigma? Maybe 10 years ago, prior youtube and such, but nowadays considering how much time people spend online (by themselves) viewing films, tv, sh!te, etc, I think that the cinema is just an extension of that now.

Anyway, 99 times out of a 100 I would choose to and do go to the cinema by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

I often go to the cinema solo mainly because no-one has my taste in films!.......

It is seriously no big deal Tickle, not everyone wants to see what I do. I love going mid-week, the peace and quite is fantastic!

For example, I met a few fantastic fans when I was at the LOTR in The Lighthouse before Christmas (I wasn't solo then, the child is a Tolkien fanatic) but we had a great time during the breaks talking about scenes with likewise fans. Nobody gave a toss if you had an army with you or were alone. It was about the films.

It's just a bit daunting the first film or two but then it's like water off a duck!.....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

When The Kino was open in Cork, I used to head down all the time on my own. Admittedly, the first time, I was a bit nervous but after a while you'd get over it.

Go for man.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

There's nothing unusual about going to the cinema on your own. In fact, during daytime screenings in the IFI and the Lighthouse, the loners often outnumber the couples and groups. It's the same in the multiplexes.

I've just after spending the last week at JDIFF. In total I saw 17 films, and bar three of them, I was on my own for all of them. There was loads of other people on their own as well. In between screenings I was hanging around, drinking coffee, reading the paper, playing on my phone, etc, all on my lonesome. I saw plenty of other people doing the same. I even got chatting to some of them and they all seemed fairly normal.

On the other hand, I was probably the only person on my own at Warm Bodies earlier in the week. But then again, maybe I wasn't. I don't sit there, looking around and worrying about these things.

It's pretty simple. If you love films and there's something on that you really want to see, you'll go see it. The same goes for anything that you want to do, be it going to a gig or travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I used to work in a cinema here in Dublin. In the day time we would often have people going in on their own. But in the evening time it would become "couple central" or friends going together.

Looking back it was funny :) I guess the majority of people knew cinemas do be empty during the day. So choose to go by themselves then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭FlashD

I guess the majority of people knew cinemas do be empty during the day. So choose to go by themselves then.

1. ..... its cheaper!

2 ...... ITS CHEAPER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

For me, going to the cinema on my own is one of the most relaxing things you can do. I actually think I prefer it! As someone said, it's especially enjoyable during the daytime in a near-empty theatre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I go on my own all the time. I tend not to mention to anybody that I am going because usually that means someone wants to tag along and when that happens I am usually subjected to the glare of a mobile phone which really annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

a hilarious socially constructed faux pas of "going to the cinema on your own". Who cares? I wait for the bus on my own and travel on it on my own everyday. I do lots of things in public on my own. I dont see the big deal about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

FlashD wrote: »
    1. ..... its cheaper!

2 ...... ITS CHEAPER!

For me it would be

1.......theres only going to be about 7 or 8 other people in there

2.....its cheaper!

I wont go at night time with or without other people

Edit:tbh the cheaper price is just a bonus,i wouldnt go at night time if it was 2 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭403 Forbidden

I know this is off topic, but has there ever been a boards.ie trip to the cinema :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

I know this is off topic, but has there ever been a boards.ie trip to the cinema :)

boards on tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭403 Forbidden

Sadderday wrote: »
    boards on tour

Something like what they do in London :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056746976

Not a bad idea............ gather people up, go to the cinema and most will end up going for drinks... theres boards babies to be made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Everlong1

Folks,

For anyone who wants to find like minded cinema goers...there is a Dublin based Meetup.com group just for you called Cinema Craicers. Designed precisely for the "I don't want/like going on my own but my friends all have sh*t taste" dilemma.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

We had a film club a few years ago where we'd meet up and go to see a film, theoretically preceded by and followed by discussion. Fizzled out for whatever reason. Think the last one was to Black Swan.

No wonder it fizzled out!!, who wants to talk about that muck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

I prefer to go to the cinema alone. and I worked nights for 16 years, could only go to the cinema in the day. So it was a double win for me cos Id be the only one in the cinema sometime. Thats the best way to watch a movie, have your own private screening.

i'd often go at 11am if i couldnt sleep and watch 2 or 3 movies.

Cant say ive ever been affected by the imagined stigma of Im alone people must think im a freak!
    1stly I wouldnt care what other people were thinking
    2ndly I wouldnt be thinking that if i saw someone out on their own in a restaurant or cinema. the thought of pity or feeling bad for them cos they are solo wouldnt occur to me.

Im lucky, cos my missus loves the cinema almost as much as I do, so we'll go together a lot. but I reckon 15-20% of my movie visits are still solo ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Often go by myself. Don't have a problem with it at all. In fact I think it gives you greater freedom in what you want to watch, when and where.
    And its not as if the cinema is a very social setting anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭marwelie

True enough, I'd be well up for reincarnating it again. Dont ask me to organise it though, couldnt organise a piss up in a brewery. I will however turn up to the opening of an envelope, if asked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

If there’s something I want to see I’ll go see it, with or without people*. There was a time (ages ago) where I had hang ups about going to gigs or to the cinema solo but I think once you get into the habit of it you don’t look back. Sure, I still go with people, but in some instances what I might like to see won’t be too everyone’s taste. Also, it might be an impulse decision to go on a given night, and there’s a huge freedom in just going without having to wait and depend on other people’s flexibility.

Also, as somebody said before (in a similar thread) watching films is a solitary experience. That is very very true for me. When myself and other half went to see The Dark Knight Rises she said that we might as well have sat apart because anytime she wanted to ask something I was like ‘I’ll talk to you later’ (I felt like I’d waited for that film long enough!)

* Comedies are the exception, rarely watch them on my own, even at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I'm the type of movie goer that seeks a church level of quietness during the movie, except of course for laughter and gasps during comedy and horror which can add to the atmosphere of the film experience.

Thankfully, my friend is very quiet during movies so no talking or rustling of bags from her :)

However, I often go to the cinema on my own and have absolutely no problem doing so. I see everything so organizing people to go with me may not be possible. However, for some reason I find having a companion improves my tolerance of others making noise but when I'm alone every popcorn crunch is like a small grenade going off. That's why I prefer seeing movies during the weekday evening - just back from Song for Marion: nice quiet audience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

I try to avoid going with other people. In fact, my ideal cinema would be an empty one. I'm so sick of other people's lack of manners and etiquette. Old people are brutal, and I don't care if that offends anyone. They think that because they're old they can do what they want. Nothing makes me happier than telling them to shut up or get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

ThirdMan wrote: »
    I try to avoid going with other people. In fact, my ideal cinema would be an empty one. I'm so sick of other people's lack of manners and etiquette. Old people are brutal, and I don't care if that offends anyone. They think that because they're old they can do what they want. Nothing makes me happier than telling them to shut up or get out.

An old couple sitting behind me would not shut up during Skyfall :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

An old couple sitting behind me would not shut up during Skyfall :mad:

Assholes. You'll get that in a big, commercial cinema. But when it's in a place like the IFI, during a foreign language film! Oh my god, it just drives me nuts, because in that environment you'd expect a certain level of respect.

Saying that, I once went to a lunchtime screening in the IFI. Of Gods and Men. I was the last one in, and didn't realise that the place was packed out of it with pensioners (I eventually found out that they were on a social outing together). I actually felt like walking out, based solely on the negative experiences I've had in similar situations. The place was like a beehive while the trailers were rolling. Boiled sweets, hearing aids being adjusted (seriously!), everything but the kitchen sinc. But when the film started the place just fell into silence, which really suited the meditative tone of the film. It was so surreal. I actually had a few jelly babies with me, but I was still afraid to pull them out, such was the beautiful silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Couple of anti-old people comments going on there.......

I've heard plenty of "young" and "old" people routing and touting during films, a quite schhh in the right direction is the way to go imo. Telling someone to "shut up" is a bit ott I think.....

:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

At least older people don't put their dirty shoes up on the chair in front of them and/or kick it every few minutes. News Flash for anyone who does this: it doesn't matter if no one is sitting in front of you. Anyone on that row within a couple of seats is going to feel it. I really don't understand the mindset of people who do this. I assume they aren't regular filmgoers or else they will have experienced it themselves.

On the subject of old folks, I remember seeing Love Actually in the middle of the day once as a way to avoid studying for college exams. My friends and I were the only ones there apart from these 3 old ladies sat in front of us. They commented on EVERYTHING! When Keira Knightly said she looked pretty in the wedding video, "JAYSUUUUUS love, you're a bit full of yourself!" When they showed the cottage Colin Firth was staying in.. "Ah Mary, isn't it gorgeous?" which then led to a whole conversation about where they'd like to live and who had a lovely house, and who had an okay house but could have it looking better, and where to get decent carpets cheaper than Des Kelly.

I'd seen the film before so I found them highly entertaining but it did start to grate after an hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭hearny

I wouldn't think twice about going to the cinema on my own. I've seen plenty of people on their own and never really thought anything of it, except maybe once when a girl sat in next to me and my girlfriend when the whole cinema was practically empty. Just thought her seat choice was strange not the fact she was there on her own.

I think its even less of an issue when you are going to films that are not hollywood blockbusters like the ones your mates watch.

If you are keen to discuss the films look at something along the lines of:
    http://www.waterfordfilmforall.com/
    but obviously in your area.

One last point is who cares if people think you are odd for watching a film on your own, If Im watching a film with someone and they ask me a question I tell them to be quiet anyway.