Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ras Naoimh Finian 9th March

• 22-02-2013 2:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Hello all !
    Just wanted to let you know the details about our upcoming race:
    --> date is the 9th March, and start time is 11am.

Full details are on our website (http://www.clonardroadclub.com/2013_ras.shtml), but in summary...

Date: 9th March
    Time: 11am (sign on open at 9:30am)
    Location: Clonard Village Hall (old N4, between Enfield and Kinnegad)

There will be 3 separate races:
    A1/A2 starting first, at 11am sharp
    A3 off next, at 11:05
    A4 off last, at 11:10

Prizes are as follows:

First 6 overall in each separate race.
    1 unplaced Lady, Junior & Vet
    1st 3 unplaced Cat-2 riders.

Hope to see you there!
    - Clonard Road Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭pprendeville

what's that distance in total?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭C3PO

what's that distance in total?

Here ya go!

https://www.strava.com/rides/5008840

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 clashextra

Anyone else doing this tomorrow? Enjoyed it last year, good fast race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

i should be there. looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭RJM85

Heading down for the A4 race. Hopefully I can get the 4 points I need!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

nice race, couple of crashes, hope everyone is ok.
    Attacked, attacked, attacked, and attacked some more. I finished in the bunch again. Roll on newbridge tomorrow.

no idea who won or who came where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,450 ✭✭✭Harrybelafonte

I'm waiting for a race sans reports of crashes. Do they happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

2 crashes in the A3 race, both in the last 10km!

I was pulling at the front, ran out of puff an started going backwards, some chap was coming up on my right, out of the saddle next thing he hits the deck taking 2 others out with him! I got a slap in the ankle from his bike or something as he went down! I head there were 2 from that in a bad way, hope they're ok?

Next one was about 1km up the road, it looked like someone unclipped or something, I don't know, but they went down right in front of me, I thought I was gone, but narrowly avoided it with nothing more than a tip to my front wheel. Again, hope they're ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Bit peeved that nobody mentioned the KOM prime. Would've gone for that, and would've gotten it too.

Last I heard of the crashes, one lad has probable concussion. I'll post when I hear anything more.

buffalo wrote: »
    Bit peeved that nobody mentioned the KOM prime. Would've gone for that, and would've gotten it too.

Last I heard of the crashes, one lad has probable concussion. I'll post when I hear anything more.

That KOM tricked a few people I think, it was like a double peak with the KOM on the second part, most sat up after the first :p

Did the A4 race this morning... Well organised (apart from one roundabout where it wasnt clear where we were going!), nice grub afterwards (whatever coconut bun thing I had afterwards was definitely the highlight of the day!).

Block headwind meant people seemed fairly unwilling to work on the front (apart from a few). Attacks seemed to be either solo and doomed or if a few got up the road the entire bunch tried to go with them! Spent plenty of time on the front - probably a bit too much - but I'm telling myself its good training! Seemed to be a few lads trying to cause a split by upping the pace on the front, but it was never going to work!

Got either 8th or 9th in the sprint. Little disappointed, but in light of the crashes I'm glad to have kept her between the ditches.

Any photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

colm_gti wrote: »
    I was pulling at the front, ran out of puff
    Fast run out not so on the way back this made things a bit nervous,i seen col out front on the run in it was a tall order to stay away in that wind i had a dig on the way out nice group formed but came to nout ,with the 2 boys up the road the sprint started a long way out which didnt suit me ran out of steam about 150m out ,first crash looked a bit nasty hope all are ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 clonard_rc

Hi guys,
    Thanks to everyone who came out to race today - hope yee enjoyed it, despite the headwind all the way back in, and the 'hidden' summit of the hill that seems to trick people every time :p !

Photos are being sorted as we speak, but will take a little time to go through them all. We will put them up on the Club Website asap.

The race report and the placings are on our site now if you wanted to take a look...

http://www.clonardroadclub.com/2013_ras.shtml

Thanks again!
    - Clonard Road Club Committee

That KOM tricked a few people I think, it was like a double peak with the KOM on the second part, most sat up after the first :p

I didn't know about it - first or second peak!

Event page said:
    Prizes are as follows:

First 6 overall in each separate race.
    1 unplaced Lady, Junior & Vet
    1st 3 unplaced Cat-2 riders.

edit: not to take away from the event - well marshalled, pot holes marked, ambo on scene quickly from what I hear. Sorry to miss the sandwiches!

clonard_rc wrote: »
    Hi guys,
    Thanks to everyone who came out to race today - hope yee enjoyed it, despite the headwind all the way back in, and the 'hidden' summit of the hill that seems to trick people every time :p !

Photos are being sorted as we speak, but will take a little time to go through them all. We will put them up on the Club Website asap.

The race report and the placings are on our site now if you wanted to take a look...

Thanks again!
    - Clonard Road Club Committee

Do 7th and 8th get points? Could you throw up those names if so?

I didn't know about it - first or second peak!

Event page said:

edit: not to take away from the event - well marshalled, pot holes marked, ambo on scene quickly from what I hear. Sorry to miss the sandwiches!

The called it out over the speakers at the start ;)

Ah balls. I can never understand half of what's said through those things. I'm making you responsible for relaying info to me in future Colm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭DKO

Thanks to Clonard for a well organised race, raced A4 myself, saw 3 crashes, hope the lads are alright, slow speed crashes all on the way home, but they can hurt all the same, just seemed to be either lapses in concentration or someone over breaking or over reacting to something happening around them, it was a day for it with the speed rising and falling all the time. Again, hoping the lads that decked it are all ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

Thats for the putting the results up so quick - we are trying to get this on to each race thread early doors after the race -

The probable concussion has a broken collar bone, and a few other injuries, but will be fine in the long run. The other lad is being checked out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

The probable concussion has a broken collar bone, and a few other injuries, but will be fine in the long run. The other lad is being checked out now.
    Get well wishes to them both.Looked nasty from the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Definitely did more than i should have in the opening stages, trying to attack/drive it on with a few other brave/foolish souls. Found myself in no-mans land after the KOM, had to work hard to get back into the bunch then, which was gas craic!

The homeward journey was slow and steady with very little jumping/attacking really, in anticipation for the bunch sprint, which i had little input in. Witnessed two crashes, one involving 4/5 lads landing on top of each other, the other was last weeks A4 Navan race winner, Val, who seemed to come down hard. Hope all are recovering ok.

Really enjoyed the race, great craic, well done Clonard. Best of luck to all in Newbridge tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

RJM85 wrote: »

Not sure about points tbh, but here are 7th/8th places anyways ;-)

A1 / A2 race...
    7th Simon Ryan Visit Nenagh.ie
    8th Ciarán Mangan Clonard RC

A3 race...
    7th Hugh McMahon DID Dunboyne
    8th Jason O Callaghan UCD

A4 race...
    7th Kevin Ryan South East Road Club
    8th Richard Murphy Cuchulainn

andy69 wrote: »

Not sure about points tbh, but here are 7th/8th places anyways ;-)

A1 / A2 race...
    7th Simon Ryan Visit Nenagh.ie
    8th Ciarán Mangan Clonard RC

A3 race...
    7th Hugh McMahon DID Dunboyne
    8th Jason O Callaghan UCD

A4 race...
    7th Kevin Ryan South East Road Club
    8th Richard Murphy Cuchulainn

I got 8th then! Cheers.

Yes points down to 8th.

wav1 wrote: »
    Yes points down to 8th.

3 to go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

I was at the front of the A4 race at the time of the crash, lad came right across my front wheel without looking which brought me down with 5 or 6 others behind. Apart from cut face, hip, elbow and shoulder i got away lightly with no broken bones. Was going well up to that point:(

3 to go!
    Points are up to date now on cyclingireland.ie

wav1 wrote: »
    Get well wishes to them both.Looked nasty from the car.

Thanks wav. Second lad escaped with nothing broken, plenty of bruising though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

I was at the front of the A4 race at the time of the crash, lad came right across my front wheel without looking which brought me down with 5 or 6 others behind. Apart from cut face, hip, elbow and shoulder i got away lightly with no broken bones. Was going well up to that point:(

Didnt spot you going down Jackyb, speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Still no pics anywhere?

...almost! They're uploading to Flickr, so I'll put them into a set which ye can see from the Ras page on our website then (I'll post the link of course) ;)

Some photos from yesterday - I think there are more on the way, but midlands broadband speeds means it takes quite a while to upload :o

You can view them in fullscreen mode once you hit 'play', as they are all HQ photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭foxer3640

Just want to thank the lads in clonard for a great event yesterday. It was my first open race in a4 and I had a ball. After years mountain biking I never thought the road cycling would be so damn addictive!

Only getting pen to paper now really, having been tied up all weekend after the race...

Big thanks to Clonard CC for a well run, well marshaled race!

The A3 race took off at almost exactly the planned time of 11:05. The bunch was the biggest of the 3 races from what I could make out. This was my only outing on a bike all week, and strangely my legs didn't feel any better for it, in fact it was more like a shock to the system and they felt dead for most of the outward leg. I made my way to the front for a few pulls, but kept getting swallowed back up by the massive bunch! I made sure I was at the front pulling through the roundabouts, that's where I feel safest!

Coming up to the KOM, I had planned to give it a lash. The gradient wasn't too steep to make my big boned frame a disadvantage, and I figured a lot of people either hadn't heard it being mentioned, or weren't sure of the double peak. I was badly positioned coming up to it and it was probably too late by the time I had moved to the outside, though a lot of people sat up at the first peak.

It was very uneventful on the way out for the most part, nobody was getting away, but it remained relatively safe. When we got to the roundabout at the midway point, we turned back into a stiff headwind. Buffalo obviously contemplated trying something as he rolled up to me and asked what I was thinking. He upped the pace, but must have very quickly changed his mind when he experienced the wind :P It slowed dramatically, nobody wanted to work. The regular faces started driving the pace on, a few people tried to attack but nothing was getting very far. Going up a small incline, I was pulling at the front, blew up and started going backwards on the inside, I spotted someone coming up on my outside out of the saddle, throwing his bike around, next thing I see him hitting the deck, I was lucky to get away with a smack to my shoe/ankle! Only a minute or two up the road, another rider hit the deck in front of me, taking someone else out. I honestly thought I was going down with them as his bike made contact with my front wheel, but somehow managed to stay upright, unscathed.

We were inside the final 10km with the bunch very much intact. Going through one of the final roundabouts I noticed 1750W had jumped off the front solo, looking around to see if anyone had come with him. I thought feic it, might as well join him and see if we can make it home ahead of the gallop, or at least die trying! I jumped across to him and we started working together pretty well. After a km or two he rolled past me and muttered the words 'I think we're in!' My legs were on fire at this stage but it was too late to back down now! I caught a glimpse of the van parked at the finish...this is it! My first ever podium finish! I was mashing the pedals with everything I had left...alas, it wasn't to be.

From what I heard later an Usher rider launched an attack from the chasing bunch, he blew up immediately, but it was enough to get the rest of them working, and they swallowed us up with about 1000m to go. I hung on and watched for an opening that never came, rolling across the line somewhere in the 10-15th position. I don't know how he managed to get back to the front but 1750W put in a storming sprint to take 1st!

Happy to see someone that contributed to the race taking it rather than someone that sat in for 68km and jumped in the last 500m!

I see I got a mention on sticky bottle for my efforts (well sort of :rolleyes:)! Great race, and plenty more experience gained! Raging I couldn't take part in Newbridge this morning, but there'll be plenty more I'm sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Excellent insight into your race but please break it up with paragraphs, difficult reading otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

Excellent report Colm and thanks for the effort you put in with 5k to go. I can see podium finishes for you in the near future.

My race went as follows:

Got up as usual at 6am and started the feeding process! Had a quick check over the bike packed it up and went to meet my former SERC teammates to travel with them in Derek Webbs bus!

The banter in the van reminded me of the great crack we had last yr travelling to the start of the Gorey. Nothing like it to help calm the pre race nerves.

Anyway arrived at the race got dresses and headed out for an unstructured warm up. All I really wanted to do was take account of the finish and just dip into LT for a minute or so. I stopped and had a quick chat with a couple of lads who had made positive inputs into previous races.

Purposely started mid bunch as I felt nothing would happen on the outward leg. Less than 5 min into the race the bunch had a split so decided today wasn't going to be easy. About 3o k into the race I got in a break with a few riders but the organisation and co operation wasn't there.

Into the headwind on the way back There were a few attacks and I made a few half hearted efforts to see if we could get things going. There was some pretty crazy riding going on lads attacking and switching at the same time and people going through gaps that weren't big enough which resulted in some nasty crashes.

With 5k to go my caffeine gel had kicked in and I was feeling good. So I went for broke.

I jumped fairly hard and went through the roundabouts flat out. Pretty soon after I was delighted to see the big man Colm Gti join me. We worked hard and there was a 15 sec gap. I felt very confident we could hold it.. With about 1500M to go I looked back and we were almost down to 5 sec.

I still felt I had the power to take the bunch sprint but contemplated doing a mother if all efforts for a solo win. Before I knew it we were swallowed up.

I was swallowed up on both sides and moving backwards. Legs were starting to scream at me to go for it but there was no gaps. Visions of last Saturday and Sunday flashed before my eyes. 500m f**k this can't be happening. 400m moving toward inside, 300m on the inside but no line of sight but moving forward. 200m there's a gap if it stays open ill win if someone closes it I'm road rash. Boom legs start pumping feeling the acceleration. 100m get aero keep the legs pumping 50m you have it joe it's yours 10 metres into first but taking no chances kept pedalling cross the line. One fist punches the air I'd won.

Immediately after the race I realised what effort I had put in I was overwhelmed. I rang my wife and she was over the moon for me.

I hadn't planned to win this race but I'm delighted I did. The hope was to win the newbridge gp (finished 3rd) felt I was gonna win it with 500 to go!

Upgraded to a2 now.
    Des Hanlon memorial in 2 weeks last yr I got dropped from a4s on the hill out of castle comer. This year I have to ride it 3 times. Will let you know how I do... If you're interested.

Edited for punctuation. If you spot any further mistakes be sure to let me know and I will surely correct them!

Congrats on the upgrade 1750W!

1750W wrote: »
    I hadn't planned to win this race but I'm delighted I did. The hope was to win the newbridge gp (finished 3rd) felt I was gonna win it with 500 to go!

I wonder if you were the BW I told shouted at to close a gap 'cause I didn't want to be left behind by the break. ;) Lad that won it will be one to watch in the future.

There was another BW in the break too might have been him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Arthurdaly wrote: »
    Excellent insight into your race but please break it up with paragraphs, difficult reading otherwise!

I thought it made it breathlessly compelling.

Any more photos coming, would like to see any of end of A4 race, just to see if they captured what was going on where I was in the bunch, there was some amount of bumping for some reason.... Just curious... Chatted to the fellow afterwards, apparently he was being shoved by someone else... A bit close for comfort...

Also once again thanks to the ladies and gentlemen of Clonard for a fine event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

1750W wrote: »

Upgraded to a2 now.
    Des Hanlon memorial in 2 weeks last yr I got dropped from a4s on the hill out of castle comer. This year I have to ride it 3 times. Will let you know how I do... If you're interested.
    Congrats on the win and the upgrade Joe! Well deserved

My memory of the race will just really be the clubmate that had a bad fall. There were 3 of us from Orwell very close together near the front coming into the last few kilometres - we'd a plan before the race that if the 3 of us were there at 10kms to go (none of us in a break, and no break up the road), that two of us would try to control things and then set up a lead out train for the sprinter.

That plan changed for the worse - the two lads were to my right, one behind the other - from what I saw the guy directly in front of them went down, first clubmate went down sideways and hit his head fairly hard on the ground, I barely got around him without coming down.

Was a little shook after that - tried bridging across to the break with yourself 1750W and colm_gti, but the pack speed increased, was swallowed back up and from there things got hectic and I'd the crash playing over in my mind, just wanted to get to the line in one piece.

DKO wrote: »
    Any more photos coming, would like to see any of end of A4 race...

actually just found 4 more and added to the Set, but none of the finish as far as I can see. I think there will be a good few more alright, but from what I understand it takes quite a while to go through them all, and pick out the better shots. Will post here when the next batch comes in ;)

Thanks Clonard.

The finish line photos are added to the Flickr Set now, and you can see them from the website...

The most recently added batch are towards the end, so you can just scroll through any you've already viewed to get to the newest ones ;)

The finish line photos are added to the Flickr Set now, and you can see them from the website...

The most recently added batch are towards the end, so you can just scroll through any you've already viewed to get to the newest ones ;)

Is the photographer selling the photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Didn't get a chance to post before now.

Racing is a cruel beast, that's for sure! This was my first proper race (A4), I'd done one Open race last year (no club races) but had done no training for that one, so this was the first race I had actually any training done for so I was looking forward to getting a race under the belt and learning the ropes. When I was considering getting into racing, I found the insights people shared on their racing experiences to be hugely helpful, so I said I'd do the same in case it's of any use to others thinking about getting into it (I say defo go for it by the way!). My Garmin Connect data is available here.

For the first 30 minutes I was very much getting that learning experience: I quickly learned no one wants to be on the left side of the road so everyone fights for the right side of the road, even if they are just holding position and don't plan to move up. So I found that took a bit of getting used to and getting boxed in could easily be a problem. When I decided to move up towards the front getting out wasn't at all easy so I learned that in a race where I had any notions of being competitive, getting boxed in is defo something to watch out for. It also makes things a bit more stressful as the constant jostling put me on edge and increased the sense of risk of a possible crash.

I felt much more comfortable when I went to the front 20, though was uncertain about crossing the middle line (briefly and on a straight road with clear line of sight) to get there. It required a bit more effort but I actually felt more relaxed. I felt good and about 35mins in I went to the front to A) for the craic and B) to gauge what kind of power is needed to do a good pull at the front. The buzz probably had the adrenaline overdoing it as when I looked back after a little while, I'd gone about 15-20 yards ahead of the field. Just then, my hamstring/glutes cramped up really bad, so much so I had to pull into the hard shoulder and pull over.

It's a recurring problem I've been getting physio on for over a month and 90 seconds of doing a manipulation on it sorted it out. My own damn fault though for not getting to the race in time to do a better stretch and warm-up on it - another lesson learned. That left me with about a 90 second gap to the back of the field and though I knew the odds were against me catching back on, I was damn well gonna give it a lash.

I absolutely buried myself trying to close the gap but it was naturally very tough going. When the group turned back against me at the roundabout in Kilbeggan, I could measure the gap and figured I'd closed it somewhat so kept pushing hard but when I turned back towards Clonard the headwind made it tougher. I decided I'd give it Dixie up to the top of the drag a few KM up the road and see if I could catch them and give up then if not as that extra dig would use the last of my energy reserves.

After a what must have been a good 40 minutes of suffering in the chase, I was literally just making contact with the back of the group as a crash happened and about 10 lads at the back of the group came down. Cycling around the crash and rubber-necking and thinking about it all meant the back of the reduced group was now that bit away from me. I went back into self-burying mode but when the support car came by a few KM down the road with a rider sucking it's bumper back up to the group, I was too knackered to even latch onto it as I had an hour of flat out time-trialling done at that stage. That's another lesson learned - if I'd mustered the strength to do one flat-out sprint to catch that bumper, it was my ticket to cruise back into the group (as the rider behind the car did) where I could spend 30-mins regaining energy for the sprint.

About 12km from home I decided to pack in the chase and do the Newbridge GP the following day (which I had not planned to race) to save my energy for that. So I lowered the pace but kept it ticking over reasonably to put an end to the ride soon enough, so I rolled in just under 5 minutes behind the bunch.

So, while it didn't exactly go to plan in one way, in another way I took a lot from it as I learned some very valuable lessons that will stand to me in future races and analysing my data files later showed that unbeknownst to me at the time, in the chase to regain contact, I'd actually set marginal PBs for both my 30-minute (323w) and 20-minute peak power (330w), so that put a smile back on my face in the end. Thanks Clonard for putting on a well-organised race and for posting the photos - though I wasn't surprised to find I don't feature in them given how far I was from the business end of proceeedings :)

After a what must have been a good 40 minutes of suffering in the chase, I was literally just making contact with the back of the group as a crash happened and about 10 lads at the back of the group came down. Cycling around the crash and rubber-necking and thinking about it all meant the back of the reduced group was now that bit away from me. /Quote]

Just after the crash was pretty much the only time there was a bit of co-operation in the group with up and overs. I think lads were hoping to string it out a bit, or ensure anyone distanced didn't get back on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

After a what must have been a good 40 minutes of suffering in the chase, I was literally just making contact with the back of the group as a crash happened and about 10 lads at the back of the group came down. Cycling around the crash and rubber-necking and thinking about it all meant the back of the reduced group was now that bit away from me. /Quote]

Just after the crash was pretty much the only time there was a bit of co-operation in the group with up and overs. I think lads were hoping to string it out a bit, or ensure anyone distanced didn't get back on...

Hey. I was in an Orwell jersey, black PlanetX - it's possible you were in the group I ended up finishing with: I was probably up the road ahead of you as I cycled around the crash, whereas if you were in it, you might've been stopped for longer? Or maybe you were further up the group and going again before I reached you.The only other riders I can recall seeing were the guy drafting the car, 2 ladies I passed further up the road, and then a gang of 4, including what I'm sure was a Junior, and I finished with that group? That said, it's entirely possible I'm just hazy on the details as I was reaching pretty deep into the hurt locker around that time...