Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thieves

• 21-02-2013 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭

Just had the thieves in again last night. Took water pump, arc welder, welding helmet, power washer and some pto shafts from an out farm. Its constant around here at the minute. Makes me depressed/angry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

What part of the country? Hide the stuff away if you can't lock it away, under bales of straw etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

north east. After diesel too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Irishmale wrote: »
    Just had the thieves in again last night. Took water pump, arc welder, welding helmet, power washer and some pto shafts from an out farm. Its constant around here at the minute. Makes me depressed/angry
    Sorry to hear that Irishmale I think the worst part is that stuff like that will hardly ever be recovered , its not easy to to go out in the morning and replace it all straight away either . Shame on the people that steal like that and even bigger shame on the people that buy it knowing where it came from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

They'll be back to you no doubt. Would be worth having a welcoming party for them. They might think twice about coming back again then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

Its a sickener all right,
    no point getting depressed over it the story could be a lot worse if you happened to come upon them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Had a few fellas in around an out farm a few nights ago too. Neighbour came home from the pub and seen lights around the sheds. He called the guards, but they were too late getting there. So yer man approached the boys with a shotgun and told them to "get the f$*k out of there". So they did.

Guards arrived anyway and he gave them the number of their jeep. They knew the number and were even able to describe one of the trespassers. Apparently he's well known to them for diesel thievery and other such activities. Guards said to stay out of his way anyway

Roscrea area if anyone else is reading from around that part of the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Neighbour of mine in the West had 2 round feeders lifted last week. Nothing appears to be safe these days!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

Neighbour had large water trough stolen ,he ended up replacing them all with concret ones.Nothing safe any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Had a few fellas in around an out farm a few nights ago too. Neighbour came home from the pub and seen lights around the sheds. He called the guards, but they were too late getting there. So yer man approached the boys with a shotgun and told them to "get the f$*k out of there". So they did.

Guards arrived anyway and he gave them the number of their jeep. They knew the number and were even able to describe one of the trespassers. Apparently he's well known to them for diesel thievery and other such activities. Guards said to stay out of his way anyway

Roscrea area if anyone else is reading from around that part of the world

Hey Rooster, any chance you could PM me the details of that jeep.
    I have relatives in Roscrea area that would be fairly isolated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

your wasting your time with guards, fire a few shots in the air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Squatman

rs8 wrote: »
    in the direction of the intruder

my finger "sliped"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Yeah there should be no sympathy for scum bags. I find it gas that the gardai know the f*****s most of the time let they still wander around with impunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭easymoney!

completely right the only way to sort them is to to knee cap one of them .. the sh1t thats going on these days is not right... about three houses in our area hit in the last few weeks and the funny part of it al the knackers arent to far away from here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

If you let it slip to the Gardai, "...never mind, I'll grab the shotgun and handle it myself", would they turn up quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

If you let it slip to the Gardai, "...never mind, I'll grab the shotgun and handle it myself", would they turn up quickly?
    It's a sad but true state of affairs. An ol lad I did silage a few years ago found 3 vans in his yard filling up from his diesel tank. Had his mobile so rang the cops who him they had no car available and it would be an hour before hey would be out. He told them it was ok he had double barrel shotgun and a box of cartridges and he reckoned he'd be able to get a few of them before they got him. Amazingly they were able to get a car quickly .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

hoseman wrote: »
    Neighbour had large water trough stolen ,he ended up replacing them all with concret ones.Nothing safe any more.
    that happened me last year aswell,use big 80 kg licks out in fields now so they have stoped vanishing aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

my finger "sliped"

You'd need to be careful. Force needs to be, reasonable, necessary and justifiable.
    Remember these 3 things. If you are 'in fear of your life' a gun might well be what's reasonable, necessary and justifiable. You need to be sure though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

rte 2 now , padraig nally;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Bizzum wrote: »
    You'd need to be careful. Force needs to be, reasonable, necessary and justifiable.
    Remember these 3 things. If you are 'in fear of your life' a gun might well be what's reasonable, necessary and justifiable. You need to be sure though!

Reasoning doesn't always pop in your head when your house is being robbed...If someone is on your property at 4 in the morning illegally stealing and robbing they get everything they deserve. We're far too nice to the scum, both outside and inside the prisons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Damo810 wrote: »

Reasoning doesn't always pop in your head when your house is being robbed...If someone is on your property at 4 in the morning illegally stealing and robbing they get everything they deserve. We're far too nice to the scum, both outside and inside the prisons.

That's exactly and precisely why one must think about what I posted now, and get it clear in their mind before they're backed into a corner. As farmers we prepare for many many events day in day out. This is no different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Irishmale

no show last night for a repeat performance. I am still very angry about the whole situation. The stuff they nicked could be cleaned up like new as the stuff was only a year old odd but still only worth a couple hundred to the thief but a grand to replace. I would kill them if I caught them but they would definitely never walk again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭iverjohnston

Perhaps worth getting one of those infrared beam type alarms, the type which sends a text to your phone when the beam is broken. Set it up at the yard gate, or across the workshop door etc. Put it higher than a sheep/dog/fox etc, and it will even alert you if the cows get out! Not sure how quickly the text arrives, but you would have a fighting chance to get some satisfaction!

at the end of the day noting is beond there guys, at 4 in the morning its either you or them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I know the feeling you have right now over losing your items. Its disgusting to know they will get away it. you can only hope for karma but realistically....
    I have been robbed twice and you say to yourself at the time you would shoot them and i still would but i honestly dont believe most people on here including myself would be able to sleep well after knowing what you may have done or the repercussions of your actions. I can only really hope it never happens again but there will always people out there for whatever reason will just take what other people have usually struggled to acquire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

i posted on this thread lastnight at half ten and mean while my van was being robbed from my shed ! fxxking vexed:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

i'd a few of our travelling brethren in last week during the day. 3 lads in a 97 donegal reg white transit. i thought it was a friends yoke, went over to say hello n one of them turns the corner with the starter outta my tractor! i'd taken it out a few days before.
    he handed it over, saying he was just going to call over to buy it for scrap. they got a few spanners but i was lucky enough not to get into a scrap. they didnt give a f@}k, rang the cops a week ago....still waiting for the call

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

I am still very angry about the whole situation. The stuff they nicked could be cleaned up like new as the stuff was only a year old odd but still only worth a couple hundred to the thief but a grand to replace.

The problem is that someone's ready to buy this stolen stuff. If no one was buying it, there's be no reason to steal it.

Would this be any use? http://www.liveviewgps.com/gps+tracking+farm.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The problem is that someone's ready to buy this stolen stuff. If no one was buying it, there's be no reason to steal it.

a mate of mine is a cop, they'll never give up the buyers when they're caught it's a simple business decision for them. They know they'll be out in a matter of a few months if they give up the buyer they have two problems first one is he won't be there in a few months plus a few hours when they have their latest haul to dispose of and secondly the buyers competition won't deal with them because they'll be worried about getting dobbed in if the thief is picked up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

A few GPS trackers and the buyers identified and publicised, and people might think twice about buying stolen stuff.