Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lap Of Laois 2013 Routes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Maps aren't working - might need to check permissions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Watchtours CC

Maps aren't working - might need to check permissions.

Hey Couerdelion i have just logged on my personal page and they opened up, try again and let me know how you get on thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Worked for me.

Was it 100k last year?

Is the "cut" still included?

Hey Couerdelion i have just logged on my personal page and they opened up, try again and let me know how you get on thanks

Yep, they work if I log in as a member of mapmyride - but if I wasn't a member I'd see nothing.
    (go to the maps and set them to accesible - icon of a lock with no globe behind it - default is members only I think)

Worked for me.

Was it 100k last year?

Is the "cut" still included?

it was 105km last year but we had a few complaints about the first decent just after ballyroan so we are going around that hill therefore its 120 km this year, and how could we leave out the cut

Yep, they work if I log in as a member of mapmyride - but if I wasn't a member I'd see nothing.
    (go to the maps and set them to accesible - icon of a lock with no globe behind it - default is members only I think)

i took that off my own personal mapmyride so do i change the settings on my own personal one and re post it everywhere ive posted it already or can i adjust settings on what ive posted

Just log into mapmyride.com go to home --> mymaps and it will be in the list. Click on the icon in the privacy column until it's a picture of an open padlock.

Looking forward to doing this cycle!

Hey folks i believe that some people were having trouble viewing the routes i hope this helps

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/copy/174782138/#
    http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/copy/174784128/#

Just log into mapmyride.com go to home --> mymaps and it will be in the list. Click on the icon in the privacy column until it's a picture of an open padlock.

Looking forward to doing this cycle!

Changed the settings hopefully it works, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭poolboy

Hopefully the weather will match last years, looking forward to this

poolboy wrote: »
    Hopefully the weather will match last years, looking forward to this
    Ah poolboy it will be good to see you on "The Cut" again this year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I should be making my seasonal debut at this, gonna do the long route despite only having cycling 260km all year.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 High Rouleur

Can't seem to open map. At what distance is food stop on long route? Also, is only change to route additional 20k to avoid the first steep descent? Thanks.

Ah poolboy it will be good to see you on "The Cut" again this year
    Well I'm glad someone will be enjoying it just don't try and speak to me on the way up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

I should be making my seasonal debut at this, gonna do the long route despite only having cycling 260km all year.

You'll be fine! Looking forward to this now. Forecast for later this week is dreadful, so hopefully it'll have blown over by Sunday.

Can't seem to open map. At what distance is food stop on long route? Also, is only change to route additional 20k to avoid the first steep descent? Thanks.
    The food stop is at the rock gaa club just before mountmelick same place as last year I think its somewhere between 60and 70k in.The only change to route is at the start as you say for safety reasons avoiding hitting that steep descent in large numbers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭resdubwhite

is there any profile information for that climb?

the 120 shouldn't be the problem.

anything over 5% for a longer distance tends to cause mild to deep nausea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

http://veloviewer.com/segment/697500

Biggest problem with the Cut really is the road surface at the bottom, tis fairly s****y especially on the right side of the road, higher up isn't as bad but you'll probably have something else to worry about by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 RST

Enjoyed this last year. I hope the bakers are lined up again, last year had the best selection of cakes I've seen at any sportive. Probably won't need the sunscreen this year but the current weather forecast is for a dry if slightly cool day.

RST wrote: »
    Enjoyed this last year. I hope the bakers are lined up again, last year had the best selection of cakes I've seen at any sportive. Probably won't need the sunscreen this year but the current weather forecast is for a dry if slightly cool day.

The day is looking like its going to be cold but between the tea and buns and the cut you should get warm real quick

Captain the route is a little tougher than last year but cycling in a crowd like that will carry you along a lot on the day

The food stop is at 62 km and the only change is getting around that hill alright but it makes a difference to the cycle

Well you luck is in, The Cut is 4.9% the fact that its 8km long is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭andy69

...the starting time of the sportive is half nine registration from half eight...

Are both groups rolling out at 9:30 (well, within a few mins of each other) or will the shorter distance group be rolling out after 15 or 30mins for example?
    Just checking as the OH will do the shorter spin if the weather forecast stays alright for Sunday. Was trying to plan it timewise...

Thanks.

andy69 wrote: »

Are both groups rolling out at 9:30 (well, within a few mins of each other) or will the shorter distance group be rolling out after 15 or 30mins for example?
    Just checking as the OH will do the shorter spin if the weather forecast stays alright for Sunday. Was trying to plan it timewise...

Thanks.

We are trying to have both cycles starting within a few mins of each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 marathon50

Cycled the course the last 2 weekends, would put it down as testing. The climb
    of the Cut starts with 80km in your legs making the climb a little bit harder and with the very bumpy surface for the 3km its not made any easier. Decent on the far side not too bad keep eyes open for the odd pothole and be careful at the house near the bottom with the horses wet hay on the road there can make it slippy.
    Have a good time and enjoy it and keep in your mind if you are under on the Cut that these are the hard days that will pay off for you during the summer.
    Well run and worth doing.

Sunday looking like the best day of a bad weekend weather wise, dry but cold glad I haven't put the winter gear away yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭ashleey

Is this still on lads? Duathlon in Kilkenny has been cancelled Saturday so if I can persuade my family...

ashleey wrote: »
    Is this still on lads? Duathlon in Kilkenny has been cancelled Saturday so if I can persuade my family...
    Still on

Horrible here in Laois today, but it's to improve tomorrow and Sunday doesn't sound too bad - cold but dry. It'll be a struggle getting back to Portlaoise into the strong Easterly though!

Daithi BC wrote: »
    Horrible here in Laois today, but it's to improve tomorrow and Sunday doesn't sound too bad - cold but dry. It'll be a struggle getting back to Portlaoise into the strong Easterly though!
    Was thinking the same thing as soon as we turn left towards mountrath after descent its headwind all the way home. No one man breakaways I'd suspect if so best of luck to them.

Thanks lads. I'll make a cautious approach ( to the ruling elite at home)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭alexanderomahon

Which way will the wind be blowing when we are going up the cut? Going up that thing into a head wind will make the decision as to whether I have a lie in tomorrow, a very simple one.

We'll be heading south over the Cut, wind should be from the east, so hopefully no issues there.

http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Clonaslee/hour_by_hour.html

After that it'll be a matter of finding a nice group to hide behind on the road home.

Not bad at all.

I was up The Cut today marking the route and the wind was blowing from over my right shoulder, now if its like that tomorrow it could be the 'easiest' climb of The Cut I've had

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I was up The Cut today marking the route and the wind was blowing from over my right shoulder, now if its like that tomorrow it could be the 'easiest' climb of The Cut I've had

You've sorted the wind, now is there anything you can do about the cold?

Thermals, lots of tea and buns at the food stop, a nice hot meal and get your legs rubbed out at the end, other than that my bag of tricks is empty

Is there showers at the end?

There are indeed

Well that was an experience....

Never did a big plate of curry taste better.

Had a great day, though half way through thought I was going to freeze, the ramps came often enough to warm me up again.

Well done to all involved on organising a great event.

Great cycle apart from after the cut! Had burned all my matches and the wind chill in the headwinds made me want to cry! Thanks for arranging a great cycle and lovely curry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭mp2012

Couldn't agree more. Great spin again, first 105 were fine, Mountrath to Portlaoise was a true test, I think my feet have finally warmed up. Well done all involved.

Thanks to the organisers for a good day out. Good challenging route and plenty of food on the way round and at the end. I had a puncture on the Cut which stopped me for long enough to make sure my legs weren't working again when I got going again, but got in with a good group on the way back from Mountrath, so had a bit of shelter from the wind.

Spent most of my day riding up to cyclists in Headstrong kit and asking them "Are you nilhg?" None of them were.

Daithi BC wrote: »
    Thanks to the organisers for a good day out. Good challenging route and plenty of food on the way round and at the end. I had a puncture on the Cut which stopped me for long enough to make sure my legs weren't working again when I got going again, but got in with a good group on the way back from Mountrath, so had a bit of shelter from the wind.

Spent most of my day riding up to cyclists in Headstrong kit and asking them "Are you nilhg?" None of them were.

My headstrong gear is still en route, Connie told me someone came up by him and was asking about me on the Cut, I wasn't far ahead of him I think but maybe you punctured before you could catch me, sorry I missed you.

I was an awful excuse of a human being when I got back to Portlaoise.. I thought the climb up the cut was harsh but then the decent came and the way back was not pleasant due to the freezing wind. It felt like I had blisters on my feet when I got in but I didn't. Warm shower, starting to come around, nice curry and a cup of tea, starting to feel part of the human race again, tea and sambo in my warm car and we're back. Note to self for next year: do some training between July and March.

Well done to watchtours and all volunteers for the excellent organisation, well sign posted, good food, excellent marshaling, great mechanical back-up and a nice route. The icicles on the cut looked beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 RST

Tough day on the bike thanks to the freezing cold wind and the challenging course with over 800m of climbing. Amazing to think that people got sunburned at this event last year. Got around the 120km route with a 27.3 average so happy enough.

Top class food and organisation with good signage etc. Well done to everyone who braved the elements today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 mbrc

1st timer on one of these events. Opted for 60km and enjoyed the spin. Fair play to the organisers. I really appreciated the Sambos, and a great curry at the end.

Well done to those on 120 route. Sounds like it was a tough one. Hope to be able to join you next year.

The Lap Of Laois yesterday, a tough days cycling but we have a few thank yous to deal out, firstly to The Midlands Prison for supplying all the food, to Portlaoise Gaa for their facilities, The Mavericks MC club, Bernie Conroy from Laois injury clinic, the Garda, all the clubs who share our event on fb, volunteers and marshals on the road and start/finish point, Order of Malta, civil defence and anyone else that gave us a dig out, but mostly to all the brave souls that faced arctic conditions to cycle both routes a big big thank you, an a big big sorry to our female cyclists as I believe there was a problem with hot water in their showers.