Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Expired licence and rental car

• 19-02-2013 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭

Just noticed it expired in Dec 2012 :-)
    Have car rental organised for Portugal in March.
    Does anybody know if this is an issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

It certainly is! You need a valid full licence to hire a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

You also need a valid license to drive the car legally on Portugese roads, or any other roads for that matter. Get a new license OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

It's an issue whether you use a hire car or any other car. You cannot legally drive without the appropriate licence. Get it renewed quick. If you do it soon you should have it before March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Today's starter for ten...

How many boardsies does it take to change a light bulb tell someone he needs a valid driving licence to drive a car?

Well I would counter that if someone thinks that they can drive without a licence, there is no harm in making sure they get the message seeing as they clearly misunderstand the whole concept of licensing??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

coylemj wrote: »
    Today's starter for ten...

How many boardsies does it take to change a light bulb tell someone he needs a valid driving licence to drive a car?

I know I know, I have to use a formula though

X - Y = TNOB

TNOB = Total number of Boardies

X = total number of people who give the correct answer

Y = this number is a constant 1 and is the first person to give the answer the poster wants.

So it would look like this 1,000,000 - 1 = 999,999 is How many boardsies it takes to change a light bulb tell someone he needs a valid driving licence to drive a car.

you forgot to carry the one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

I know I know, I have to use a formula though

X - Y = TNOB

TNOB = Total number of Boardies

X = total number of people who give the correct answer

Y = this number is a constant 1 and is the first person to give the answer the poster wants.

So it would look like this 1,000,000 - 1 = 999,999 is How many boardsies it takes to change a light bulb tell someone he needs a valid driving licence to drive a car.
    Caveat: The answer the poster wants may not be the actual right answer, rather the answer they want to see. So, until someone comes on to say "No problem, my niece's best friend's mother's milkman did it in 2007", the thread has not been completed and your formula doesn't apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Eponymous wrote: »
    Caveat: The answer the poster wants may not be the actual right answer, rather the answer they want to see. So, until someone comes on to say "No problem, my niece's best friend's mother's milkman did it in 2007", the thread has not been completed and your formula doesn't apply.

That is why x is the total correct answers, y is by definition the answer the poster wants ergo the answer the poster wants by definition cannot be the correct answer.

Ye are also not taking into account the applied maths involved in coming up with risk management factor quotient variable ratio for being banned, if you suggest that the poster check the terms and conditions of the travel company/airline/car hire firm etc etc that they are doing business with (or god forbid, check shaggin' Google :confused: ) before coming on here to ask a pretty ridiculous....sorry, I meant to say a perfectly reasonable...question. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,734 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Op

No problem, my niece's best friend's mother's milkman did it in 2007

Yiz are all hilarious :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Thanks to the first 3 posts. The remainder, congrats on upping your post count. Not much else.
    I noticed at time of posting that my licence had expired as of 20/12/12. Not too uncommon an occurance I imagine, considering the 10 year span.
    Based on that, yes, I was hoping for a reply along lines of "there is an x-month grace period, once application for renewal has been made and there is proof of same.............." or whatever.
    Does such a hope seem so unreasonable an expectation, when fearing potential of sending old one off for renewal and not having any at date of departure?
    To share; there is a +3 week backlog, but they will fast-track if shown proof of travel arrangements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Went to pick up a hire car in Newcastle Airport a couple of years back, and the woman at the desk refused my OH's driving licence as it had expired 2 years previously (he hadn't noticed). Thing is we'd hired at least 5 cars in the US in that time period and never had a problem. Luckily we never had an accident either so the expired licence was never flagged.

As for Newcastle, I had my licence with me so was designated driver for the weekend :(

Andrea B. wrote: »
    Thanks to the first 3 posts. The remainder, congrats on upping your post count. Not much else.
    I noticed at time of posting that my licence had expired as of 20/12/12. Not too uncommon an occurance I imagine, considering the 10 year spSdn.
    Based on that, yes, I was hoping for a reply along lines of "there is an x-month grace period, once application for renewal has been made and there is proof of same.............." or whatever.
    Does such a hope seem so unreasonable an expectation, when fearing potential of sending old one off for renewal and not having any at date of departure?
    To share; there is a +3 week backlog, but they will fast-track if shown proof of travel arrangements.

Are you talking about a passport or a drivers license ?
    Are you talking about an Irish drivers license ?

I renewed my Irish drivers license last year.
    I walked into my local council building with two photos, filled out one form, and paid the fee and got it there and then.
    No sending away anything, no backlog, nothing.

The way you are talking OP it sounds like you are talking about a passport

Fr Tod, the new credit card style DL came into effect last month. I think that they take longer to knock up than the old style paper one, so there is a longer delay in getting them issued.

Re hiring a car with an expired license, I guess its all a matter of whether or not the person at the car hire firm is all that bothered about checking when it expires or not. Last time I rented a car, the person barely glanced at my license, but there is no way of knowing what will happen on the day. I also wouldn't want to be stopped on the road in a non English speaking foreign country with a DL that was no longer valid. Talk about a way to ruin your holiday in a hurry !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Are you talking about a passport or a drivers license ?
    Are you talking about an Irish drivers license ?

I renewed my Irish drivers license last year.
    I walked into my local council building with two photos, filled out one form, and paid the fee and got it there and then.
    No sending away anything, no backlog, nothing.

The way you are talking OP it sounds like you are talking about a passport
    Ignore this advice. System has changed since then. Form and photo's need to be submitted in the normal way, but licence won't be printed there and then. For example at the Cork Motor Tax office they were advising a 2 week waiting list, now that is updated to 4 weeks, and as my son discovered yesterday after waiting the 4 weeks he still does not have the licence and won't have it this week either. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

I noticed at time of posting that my licence had expired as of 20/12/12. Not too uncommon an occurance I imagine, considering the 10 year span.

What made you think that there would be a grace period?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

As long as it didn't expire more than ten years ago, you can just renew it, more than that and you will be sitting your test again

I never said that I thought there would be a grace period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Minier81

Hey Andrea, my husband recently renewed his and the backlog is actually closer to a month.... just warning, make sure you send in the travel documents as you mentioned and it should be fine. ps the new licences look great, he just got his back the other day.

I never said that I thought there would be a grace period.

OK, what made you rationally hope there might be some advice coming back to you that would state there would be a grace period?

I feel I have explained my reasons for posting sufficiently.
    However it seems that it is a post which is upsetting you enough to keep questioning my rationale.
    I passed your first question off as you're possibly just being an arsehole on Thursdays only.
    Unfortunately it appears to be a Friday issue with you also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

there is an x-month grace period, once application for renewal has been made and there is proof of same..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Rasmus

testicle wrote: »
    there is an x-month grace period, once application for renewal has been made and there is proof of same..............

Not for renting a car abroad though. The only thing I think that might be worth trying is to get all the paperwork together to prove that you are waiting on a renewal, then with the help of the Motor Tax folks, get an international licence with AA. These are actually quick to process.

I feel I have explained my reasons for posting sufficiently.
    However it seems that it is a post which is upsetting you enough to keep questioning my rationale.
    I passed your first question off as you're possibly just being an arsehole on Thursdays only.
    Unfortunately it appears to be a Friday issue with you also.

Charming.....you do know you've just disproved the adage that there's no such thing as a stupid question.

Hi OP

Apologies for the poor advise earlier, I was aware a new license was in place but was not aware that in typical Irish fashion that the people tasked with issuing it would not be able to do so in a efficient manner.

But in the few days that this thread has been around I presume who got the paperwork together and submitted your application ?

Tick Tock.

Hi OP

Apologies for the poor advise earlier, I was aware a new license was in place but was not aware that in typical Irish fashion that the people tasked with issuing it would not be able to do so in a efficient manner.

But in the few days that this thread has been around I presume who got the paperwork together and submitted your application ?

Tick Tock.

No prob and thanks. Yes, it is the leadtime issue with new one. Have all paperwork in by hand with proof of travel and they said they would do their best :-)

Rasmus wrote: »
    Not for renting a car abroad though. The only thing I think that might be worth trying is to get all the paperwork together to prove that you are waiting on a renewal, then with the help of the Motor Tax folks, get an international licence with AA. These are actually quick to process.

The International Driving Permit can only be used in conjunction with a current national driving licence, it is not a replacement or substitute for a national driving licence which is always required to hire a car, with or without an IDP. An IDP is primarily intended to be used in non-EU countries where English is not the first language though you wouldn't know that from the AA website as for them its a handy little earner for not much effort.

OP, there was a clear implication in your original question that there was a possibility of hiring a car with an expired licence - why else would you ask the question? You have no cause to be abusive to people who are expressing surprise at asking the question in the first place.

You might as well ask 'will Ryanair allow me to board a flight with an expired passport?'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

Rasmus wrote: »

Read up, she wanted someone to say just that...

testicle wrote: »
    Read up, she wanted someone to say just that...

You cannot hire a car anywhere without a national driving licence. The IDP by itself is useless and you can't get one in the first place unless you can produce a valid and current national driving licence so discussing an IDP is a total waste of time.

AA website....

You are still required to produce your own licence for inspection when hiring a car overseas; an IDP should be seen as a translation of your driving licence and not a replacement.

http://www.aaireland.ie/AA/Motoring-advice/Driving-in-Europe/International-driving-permit.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Asherthehasher

My Full driving licence has expired and I'm going on holiday to the States in 1weeks time. I will be renewing my licence on Monday but due to the back log need to wait 3-4 weeks for my new card. Can anyone tell me if a letter from the guards or RSA will help and could I still rent a car in the USA or what do I need.
    I would be very grateful for any help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

... what do I need. ...
    A full current driving licence, or a travelling companion with same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Lima Golf

Call into the motor tax office in person and hand in a copy of your car hire confirmation. It can't be any harm to let them know its urgent. Failing that as the above poster said if you're travelling with someone get them to hire the car.

Even if someone managed to hire a car with an expired licence because the expiry date wasn't checked properly at the time of collecting the car, I would be surprised if in the event of an accident that the drivers insurance would be valid. I'd imagine you would be driving around uninsured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Even if someone managed to hire a car with an expired licence because the expiry date wasn't checked properly at the time of collecting the car, I would be surprised if in the event of an accident that the drivers insurance would be valid. I'd imagine you would be driving around uninsured

You would be insured ... just the insurance company would come after you for all the costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭lynchie

Lima Golf wrote: »
    Call into the motor tax office in person and hand in a copy of your car hire confirmation. It can't be any harm to let them know its urgent. Failing that as the above poster said if you're travelling with someone get them to hire the car.

Motor tax office in Clondalkin had signs up stating they would not accept any letters / confirmations of bookings for rental cars as a means to get a quick renewal. Their stance on it was you knew it was gonna expire and you could have renewed earlier!

You would be insured ... just the insurance company would come after you for all the costs.

At best you would have a basic third party cover