Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheal Martin likens Sinn Fein to 1930s Germany !!!

• 17-02-2013 4:24pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭

Should Micheal Martin stop been a cry baby and man up a bit. Martin accused SF of engaging in “bully boy” tactics and of containing “a certain element” who “engage in intimidation for political points”. Martin then goes on to reference a recent SIPTU march in Cork in which he says he was harassed by SF members. What was the harassment I wonder, was he called a big girl's blouse or something :rolleyes:

“Actions and behaviour emanating from members of that party I would have concerns about,” he said, when singling out pickets on offices of TDs. I think that’s wrong... they are in parliament and they can make their points of view there. Not all members of Sinn Fein, but a certain element engage in intimidation for political points — they did that in the North with the SDLP. There are attempting to do that down here. We now have a situation where city councils are being interfered with and that is dangerous. That’s what happened in the 1930s in Germany.”

So should he stop been a wimp and man up a bit or does he have a point that SF are intimidating and behaving like the Stormtroopers in Germany in the 1930's ?

http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/4799063/Ill-never-Fianna-Fail-back-on-Sinn-Fein.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Godwin's Law

Anyone that is inarticulate or stupid enough to bring up the Nazi regime has already lost the argument

Martin is a clown

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

The sun... and FF

Gobshi!te overload

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Both Sinn Fein and Fianna Fáil are parties of scuts anyway.
    Let them insult each other.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭thecommietommy

GRMA wrote: »
    The sun... and FF

Gobshi!te overload
    True enough, a good Catholic Cork boy and leader of Fianna Fail the ' Republican ' party appearing in that English porn toilet paper :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Both Sinn Fein and Fianna Fáil are parties of scuts anyway.
    Let them insult each other.

Read the latest popularity figures? Then go figure!

Anyone ever feel intimadated like Meehole is by SF members ? Anyone get the " Vote for us or we'll knee cap you " stare ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Anyone that is inarticulate or stupid enough to bring up the Nazi regime has already lost the argument

No wonder I failed my Masters thesis on Germany 1930-1950.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Would expect nothing other than criminality from shinners.
    He's probably lucky he wasn't kneecapped by the cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

You mean the nationalist socialist irish working party? :D

SF make unintentionally the comparison pretty easy. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

....dear o dear o dear....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

That says more about you than it does about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Nodin wrote: »
    ....dear o dear o dear....

Well you would say that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

So sinn fein are going to invade poland soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Eamonn O'Cuiv will be angry with Martin anyway. Wasnt he at a party for an IRA man who got out of prison recently. Two oddball parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

He'll change his horrible tune come the next election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

dlofnep wrote: »
    That says more about you than it does about them.

No, I dont bhave a history of kidnapping women and then murdering them, I never blew up kids out shopping for mothers day presents, I have never robbed a bank, I have never engaged in armed robbery, extortion, planting bombs, smuggling guns or dealing drugs.
    It definitley says more about them than me.

Prove it

No, I dont bhave a history of kidnapping women and then murdering them, I never blew up kids out shopping for mothers day presents, I have never robbed a bank, I have never engaged in armed robbery, extortion, planting bombs, smuggling guns or dealing drugs.

My, my what a load of moral outrage and rhetoric. This state was founded on armed robbery extortion, smuggling guns etc.

Do please show where Sinn Fein have been linked to drug dealing?

T-K-O wrote: »
    He'll change his horrible tune come the next election

Why? are you hoping for the Shinners to triumph?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Neither have I. I was a "shinner" for a number of years. So what's your point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Should Micheal Martin stop been a cry baby and man up a bit.
    Sorry, I stopped reading after that.

LordSutch wrote: »
    Why? are you hoping for the Shinners to triumph?

Don't be silly.

Anything from FF makes my ears bleed but I have no doubt the glorious people of Ireland will vote for them in the next gen election. They (FF) may just need SF to form a government, could you imagine

God forbid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Michael Martin FF is now focusing on SF as they now see them as more of a threat to future electoral success than FG or Lab,IMO he would want to try a bit harder as coming out with that crap wont gain him any more votes except maybe here.

LordSutch wrote: »
    God forbid.

Though I'd be against a coalition with FF for ideological reasons, I have to say that I'd laugh my head off at the thought of the faces and reaction of some here to the news...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Michael Martin does FF no favours as a party leader, he's not a likeable person at all. I've heard people call him everything from smarmy to sly and creepy. If FF ever want any power again, get rid of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

I'd be interested to hear what Martin has to say about his own time in government when the US was shipping kidnap and torture victims through Shannon airport.

Or maybe he can talk to us about FF's role down through the years in covering up child abuse and handing kids over to the RC church for their slave labour camps.

smash wrote: »
    Michael Martin does FF no favours as a party leader, he's not a likeable person at all. I've heard people call him everything from smarmy to sly and creepy. If FF ever want any power again, get rid of him!

I was suprised they went for him as a leader, as he was associated with the previous Ahern/Cowan years. They needed a clear out as far as I was concerned. Of course the fact they've managed to crawl back up without it shows what the feck I know.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Fianna Fáil was founded upon attempts to bring down the Free State and actively tried to plunge the country into civil war, Fine Gael flirted with fascism throughout the 1930s when fascism was beginning to show itself as very troublesome indeed, Labour is full of stickies. If you're going to write off one party on the basis of a sketchy background, you might as well write them all off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

So every supporter and member of SF is a criminal? =/

And how can someone be 'probably lucky' that they weren't kneecapped? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Also, let us not forget about FF's tax amnesty back in the 1990s for their criminal buddies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

Godwin's Law

Martin is a clown
    Godwin's Law has absolutely no authority, there are occasions when analogies of this nature are appropriate. Especially when discussing political intimidation.

In a peaceful state where people become furious over 'outrages' like a Health Minister appointing his friends to boards, you must appreciate the enormity of revulsion at what Sinn Féin have done, which I think is still being processed by Irish people as a society. Many of us feel that the violent tyranny that various Unionist, Loyalist, Republican and Nationalist groups wreaked in the North can be compared to the political intimidation of 1930s Germany indeed.

And it would be foolish to assume that all of that thuggery left the Sinn Féin movement upon the signing of the GFA.
    Fianna Fáil was founded upon attempts to bring down the Free State and actively tried to plunge the country into civil war
    I'm uncomfortable in any thread where I find myself defending that party, but that is badly untrue from a historical viewpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Nodin wrote: »
    I was suprised they went for him as a leader, as he was associated with the previous Ahern/Cowan years. They needed a clear out as far as I was concerned. Of course the fact they've managed to crawl back up without it shows what the feck I know.....

Even though he was around in the Ahern/Cowen years he was certainly not part of that clique in FF. Ahern shafted him twice by firstly giving him Health in 2000 which is a poisoned chalice and then making Cowen deputy leader in 2002. This was to ensure that he was never a threat to the party leadership while Bertie was in charge.

And Irish politics is in a particularly sad state at the moment. Trying to explain it to people outside Ireland is impossible. We have a right/left coalition at the moment with a left/right opposition, the two biggest parties historically have much the same ideals and are both on the right and fell out during a civil war. However one of them has never ruled without a right/left coalition.

And we are up **** creek economically wise.

There is a nice bit of negativity for a Sunday evening.

Even though he was around in the Ahern/Cowen years he was certainly not part of that clique in FF. Ahern shafted him twice by firstly giving him Health in 2000 which is a poisoned chalice and then making Cowen deputy leader in 2002. This was to ensure that he was never a threat to the party leadership while Bertie was in charge.

And Irish politics is in a particularly sad state at the moment. Trying to explain it to people outside Ireland is impossible. We have a right/left coalition at the moment with a left/right opposition, the two biggest parties historically have much the same ideals and are both on the right and fell out during a civil war. However one of them has never ruled without a right/left coalition.

And we are up **** creek economically wise.

There is a nice bit of negativity for a Sunday evening.

Ahern appointed him as a minister, he was not shafted. However he would like to distance himself for the lads for obvious reasons. Sorry me hole it aint gonna work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Don't be silly.

Anything from FF makes my ears bleed but I have no doubt the glorious people of Ireland will vote for them in the next gen election. They (FF) may just need SF to form a government, could you imagine

Of course they will, Martin and McGrath, The two tools. FG and LB aren't exactly covering themselves in glory but thankfully they don't have the smarm factor that oozed from FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

Listen, I don't like any of them given that I have had to emigrate because of the situation they created. You don't need to be apologizing to me.

charlemont wrote: »
    Of course they will, Martin and McGrath, The two tools. FG and LB aren't exactly covering themselves in glory but thankfully they don't have the smarm factor that oozed from FF.

This is true, FG and LAB are never a solid coalition but its the best on offer at the moment.

I was never a fan of FF and didnt vote for them the past. IMO they are un electable in our life time.... at least they should be

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Also, let us not forget about FF's tax amnesty back in the 1990s for their criminal buddies.
    And also pension tax breaks etc which are nothing other than to allow their super rich crony's dodge paying tax. Not that the present crowd have tried to stop it either :mad:

Your joking :eek:. Bottler Reilly, Phil Hogan, Brain Hayes. Labour of course cannot be left out, e.g. Gilmore's wife getting a plum job of €92,000 in the Department of Education :mad:

This is true, FG and LAB are never a solid coalition but its the best on offer at the moment.

I was never a fan of FF and didnt vote for them the past. IMO they are un electable in our life time.... at least they should be

Unfortunately it is, But there is little or no difference economically wise between FG and FF, We still have a bloated government with dozens of overlapping authorities/quangos and Enda is a coward who is terrified of rocking the boat.

Yeah but we dont have a leader in the country that would operate in a different fashion.

Those sitting across from the government talk a good game but in reality there is no alternative.

Your joking :eek:. Bottler Reilly, Phil Hogan, Brain Hayes. Labour of course cannot be left out, e.g. Gilmore's wife getting a plum job of €92,000 in the Department of Education :mad:

Still its nothing on the previous crowd, Strangely enough I admire Hogan mainly due to his local government reforms which oddly enough nobody seems interested in discussing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

You've outdid yourself on stupidity levels with that little beauty tbh.

Yeah but we dont have a leader in the country that would operate in a different fashion.

Those sitting across from the government talk a good game but in reality there is no alternative.

True but if anyone did attempt to change things the anti-everything brigade would be on the streets. And Enda seems afraid of these people sure look at how he treats the Abortion issue.

The country is in the ****ter but I feel obliged to give the government a little slack for the mess they inherited. In a way FF gave them the perfect excuse for not taking the bull by the horns.

The entire system needs to be addressed, its all too local for me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Martin is still doing his best to distract the people from the fact it was his party which landed Ireland in the current mess.