Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to still go to college during Rag Week??

• 17-02-2013 2:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

I am going out on the Tuesday night only, and have college the next day, but I don't want to take the day off because I have already used up my absences, but at the same time, I haven't been out for weeks. So I think I am entitled to go out for Rag Week at least. The problem is though that I live with relatives who leave for work earlier than me, so it's up to me to get up for college except I am not a morning person even with a good night sleep so imagine what I am like after a night out. I think I even slept through my very loud alarm one weekend!

So just wondering if anyone has any tips on how to get myself in for college in the morning?

Just want to point out as well that is is my first Rag Week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just get up and go in roaring hungover. That's the way we used to operate.

Put your alarm over the other side of the room. Make yourself get up.

Puke in the shower as you wash the stink off. Then rock into class with a coffee in one hand and a manky jambon in the other.

Excuse yourself after 10 minutes and take a massive dump in the toilets.

Then fall asleep at the back of the lecture.

Simple really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Man up,do an all Nighter. Go in still drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

OP, I'm so grateful that my problems aren't as complex, worry inducing and longlasting as yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

whats the point of going if youre just gonna be dying anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Just go in hungover to fúck. Set your alarm and leave it in the bathroom. When ya go in to turn it off take a shíte/puke then have a shower. Two solpadienes for breakfast and you'll be good to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

T'was my rag week last week. Went out every night. Got absolutely sh*tfaced and still went in everyday.
    I just stay in mcdonalds all night and head into college when it's open (around 7:30) and have a half hour nap. Then have another nap when all lectures are finished and head out again.

In short; don't go home at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Maybe just don't drink that much? R&G is a week long event so you could drink loads another night

T'was my rag week last week. Went out every night. Got absolutely sh*tfaced and still went in everyday.
    I just stay in mcdonalds all night and head into college when it's open (around 7:30) and have a half hour nap. Then have another nap when all lectures are finished and head out again.

In short; don't go home at all.

Hello fellow .UCC student :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Spunge wrote: »
    whats the point of going if youre just gonna be dying anyway.

Coz if I don't go in, I'll be kicked off the course for having too many absences. It's grand on my course anyway, the teachers I have (fyi I am doing a PLC) don't be breathing down your neck for the work, you can sleep through the classes and they won't say a word to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

rox5 wrote: »
    I haven't been out for weeks. So I think I am entitled to go out for Rag Week at least.
    Student logic.
    So just wondering if anyone has any tips on how to get myself in for college in the morning?
    Don't get wasted.

danslevent wrote: »
    Hello fellow .UCC student :P

DIT Actually :P

Coz if I don't go in, I'll be kicked off the course for having too many absences. It's grand on my course anyway, the teachers I have (fyi I am doing a PLC) don't be breathing down your neck for the work, you can sleep through the classes and they won't say a word to you.

Sure just get kicked off. There is nothing more important than getting pissed on a memorable night out.

Seachmall wrote: »
    Student logic.Don't get wasted.

Look obviously I am not gonna get wasted (been there, done that..never getting that drunk again) just one or two drinks. It just the late night and getting hyper with my friends is what I am worried about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Never heard of an absence quota in college. When I were a lad we could turn up as and when we pleased. No roll call etc.

DIT Actually :P

Oh, thought you were cause I see you were in the last ten visitors on my page list and I comment on the UCC page.

Now I know you are just a true negative creep :P

It just the late night and getting hyper with my friends is what I am worried about.
    If you can't trust yourself to get up then don't go out.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

Never heard of an absence quota in college. When I were a lad we could turn up as and when we pleased. No roll call etc.
    I remember there being a roll alright in 1st year but for remaining years it was come and go as you please

PerrinV2 wrote: »
    I remember there being a roll alright in 1st year but for remaining years it was come and go as you please

PLCs are usually more routined, 9-5 and roll call kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Seachmall wrote: »
    If you can't trust yourself to get up then don't go out.

Its RAG week, nobody expects you to be in.

Don't worry about it OP, in my experience lectures very rarely hold any value and all you need is on the internet. Be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Just dont go in. Its rag weeks....Jesus!

<insert facepalm pic>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭ViveLaVie

It's Rag Week. It's unethical to go in. Like having class at Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

If you cant trust yourself not to be in a state, dont go out. Simple.

You must be missing some amount of days to be worried about being kicked off. The new semester is a reset for us. Thats a max of six/seven weeks, assuming you were back shortly after the new year. How often do you take days off if its a worry already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Just get up and go in roaring hungover. That's the way we used to operate.

Put your alarm over the other side of the room. Make yourself get up.

Puke in the shower as you wash the stink off. Then rock into class with a coffee in one hand and a manky jambon in the other.

Excuse yourself after 10 minutes and take a massive dump in the toilets.

Then fall asleep at the back of the lecture.

Simple really.

Awwwww memories.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

It just the late night and getting hyper with my friends is what I am worried about.

Avoid sugary things, and ask your relative to pick you up at 10pm. No sleepovers for you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

I've never even heard of rag week, and I'm in college at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Did anyone say tampons yet?

Tampons and nurofen. Be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Amateur. Every week of college is like a rag week for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

I presume the OP means she has to turn up to certain classes where attendance is marked aswell, just turn up to those ones, fall asleep, attendance marked and go home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Grow up and realise that maybe sometimes you cant have your cake and eat it too?
    Go out and dont go in, or dont go out and go in, OR go out and go in. Theres 3 simple choices for you figure it out, its not that hard college students have been doing it for decades without the help of anonymous strangers

VinLieger wrote: »
    Grow up and realise that maybe sometimes you cant have your cake and eat it too?
    Go out and dont go in, or dont go out and go in, OR go out and go in. Theres 3 simple choices for you figure it out, its not that hard college students have been doing it for decades without the help of anonymous strangers

You sound like mad craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Student @ssholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭hames

used up my absences
    They mark your attendance?

The only time I ever witnessed a roll call in college was under one especially pedantic, spotty faced tutor.

Tell them you're paying heavily for your education, it's on your head, and to stop treating you like you're in primary school.

cloud493 wrote: »
    I've never even heard of rag week, and I'm in college at the moment.

What!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fookin' students...... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Just go out and go in hungover ffs. Its not that hard to do.

In college i used to get home at 8am and be back on for 9 in first year, after that it was more i'll turn up when i want to....im still surprised i graduated :pac:

He's right though. OP made it clear he has to go in so if he doesn't trust himself to get up he shouldn't go out. It's very simple logic and yet it seems to have completely gone over his head.

And the idea that he's "entitled" to go out is fucking absurd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Are you a ten year old having a sleepover with her friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Take the week off, or most of it. Thats what I'm doing. I'll go in monday and tuesday and thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

Rag week is fcuking sh*t in (dublin anyway).

Went out in first year on the "mystery bus tour oooooooooo", 5 of us ended up pissing down the emergency stairs of the bus. Half of everyone got refused from Tamango's in Portmarnock. Better off just going out the day after when your timetable is more relaxed.

MaxSteele wrote: »

Went out in first year on the "mystery bus tour oooooooooo", 5 of us ended up pissing down the emergency stairs of the bus. Half of everyone got refused from Tamango's in Portmarnock. Better off just going out the day after when your timetable is more relaxed.

It's only **** in Dublin though. It's actually amazing everywhere else. I suspect the poster who has never heard of Rag Week goes to college in Dublin.

MaxSteele wrote: »

Went out in first year on the "mystery bus tour oooooooooo",
    You shouldn't take part in any of those mass events for rag week.

I've had great rag weeks at university in Dublin. The best rag weeks are not the campus-wide ones (didn't even notice UCD rag week tbh, pretty sure it skipped a few years...) but the constituent college/ faculty rag weeks were mental. People in other institutions just don't know about them because they tend to be local affairs, not like the massive NUIG extravaganza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I dunno about that but I certainly managed to have fun in college and figure out this exact same problem numerous times all by myself.
    I wasnt saying dont have fun just grow up and figure it out yourself which is what college is all about

Are you a ten year I'd having a sleepover with her friends?

Are you a retard? :mad: I mean that I find that even when I go out and have no drinks I tend to still feel very awake when I come home and can't sleep for ages.
    I think it has to do with the buzz of a night out or something. I don't actually mean that I would be hyper like a child.

hames wrote: »

The only time I ever witnessed a roll call in college was under one especially pedantic, spotty faced tutor.

Tell them you're paying heavily for your education, it's on your head, and to stop treating you like you're in primary school.

Unless the OP is from outside of the EU, that's probably un-true. Attendance should be counted since fee's are heavily subsidized.....

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Unless the OP is from outside of the EU, that's probably un-true. Attendance should be counted since fee's are heavily subsidized.....
    Depends. If you're paying €3,300 for an arts degree, you're going to be in a massive class, and unlikely to be using expensive materials.
    Obviously if you're paying the same amount for a Veterinary, Dentistry or Medical degree you're heavily subsidized.

However, the test should be whether or not an individual is capable of meeting the academic criteria for graduation, not whether she or he turned up on a random Tuesday morning in February, regardless of whether she or he paid attention or not. Roll call at University level is just silly, in my opinion.

Depends. If you're paying €3,300 for an arts degree, you're going to be in a massive class, and unlikely to be using expensive materials.
    Obviously if you're paying the same amount for a Veterinary, Dentistry or Medical degree you're heavily subsidized.

However, the test should be whether or not an individual is capable of meeting the academic criteria for graduation, not whether she or he turned up on a random Tuesday morning in February, regardless of whether she or he paid attention or not. Roll call at University level is just silly, in my opinion.

Do Universities not get subsidized the remained of the tuition for each student? E.g. If the full fee's are 6k and a student pays 3,300. The government foots the rest??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

you can repeat the exams, you cant repeat the party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

OMG, that's like sooooo cool? My friends on this course? and the tutors expect you to like, have your work done on time and pay attention in class? Sooooooooo lame!!

Anyway, I've found a great solution to your problem: act like the adult you are!

First of all: you're entitled to go out for Rag Week, but not at the expense of everything else in your life.
    I don't understand why anyone would want to go out for Rag Week anyway. A night out with lots of drunk students is unarguably a terrible thing, and it logically follows that a night with lots of students doing lots of stupid things is exponentionally worse. That's just fact.
    But you're an adult and you're free to go out if you want to. But you also have an obligation to attend your course and complete your assignments.
    It's not hard to do this while still finding time for your social life.

And you say you can't get up in the morning. Here's the solution to that: get the f**k up anyway, like people who work do every day, often to do jobs they don't care for.

Combining pleasures with responsibilities: welcome to the adult world!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Depends on the college I think. If the OP is in an IT I think that attendance can't dip below a certain level or else they don't get the money for that student. So if you don't go in enough you fail the year.
    Real Life wrote: »
    you can repeat the exams, you cant repeat the party

Course you can. Mid-Life Crisis baby!

OMG, that's like sooooo cool? My friends on this course? and the tutors expect you to like, have your work done on time and pay attention in class? Sooooooooo lame!!

Anyway, I've found a great solution to your problem: act like the adult you are!

First of all: you're entitled to go out for Rag Week, but not at the expense of everything else in your life.
    I don't understand why anyone would want to go out for Rag Week anyway. A night out with lots of drunk students is unarguably a terrible thing, and it logically follows that a night with lots of students doing lots of stupid things is exponentionally worse. That's just fact.
    But you're an adult and you're free to go out if you want to. But you also have an obligation to attend your course and complete your assignments.
    It's not hard to do this while still finding time for your social life.

And you say you can't get up in the morning. Here's the solution to that: get the f**k up anyway, like people who work do every day, often to do jobs they don't care for.

Combining pleasures with responsibilities: welcome to the adult world!!

Not if you are a student.