Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC on fuel 7: Barao v McDonald

• 16-02-2013 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

Good card on tonight. Facebook prelims start at 17.15 and the main card starts at 8 on ESPN. I#t's nice to have a championship fight back in the UK.

Bantamweight Renan Barão (ic) vs. Michael McDonald
    Featherweight Cub Swanson vs. Dustin Poirier
    Light Heavyweight Jimi Manuwa vs. Cyrille Diabaté
    Welterweight Gunnar Nelson vs. Jorge Santiago
    Light Heavyweight James Te-Huna vs. Ryan Jimmo
    Welterweight Che Mills vs. Matthew Riddle
    Preliminary Card (Facebook)
    Lightweight Terry Etim vs. Renee Forte
    Lightweight Paul Sass vs. Danny Castillo
    Featherweight Andy Ogle vs. Josh Grispi
    Middleweight Tom Watson vs. Stanislav Nedkov
    Bantamweight Vaughan Lee vs. Motonobu Tezuka
    Flyweight Phil Harris vs. Ulysses Gomez

Dana's blogs in case anyone missed them. The second one has footage of his trip to Dublin.

Excited to see Gunni fight again, I have put a single on him to win by sub and a double for Gunni by sub and Poirier by sub. Swanson and Poirier will be fight of the night too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

On a side note, it's great to see a full house for the first fight. Goes to show there's some great fans that appreciate the entire card and not just the big fights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Woke up for the prelims, took me a few seconds to recognise what the #10 beside Gomes was, derp :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I'm sorry but that is some of the worst judging in a long time. Honestly, could it be anymore fúcking rigged for the home fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Completely agree, home soil bias to the max

30-27? You're having a laugh.

Scud, I hope your mate was the one who gave a round to Gomez...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

balls anyway didnt realise the pre-lims were starting so early

Absolutely cracking round just there! Great finish from Nedkov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Well that was a fun fight :pac:

nice speech there from tom. testosterone eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Delighted to see Watson win the UFC. Always a good fighter to watch.

Great fight and nice finish by Tom. Gutted cause I had money on Nedkov but nice to see Watson get the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

just tuned in with a minute left of 1st, looked great, had Nedkov to win by TKO in 2nd, using a boost, thought it was in the bag :(

Watson's got some chin on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Leben / Watson anyone ?

good win for ogle. four losses on the trot for grispi -

sonic85 wrote: »
    good win for ogle. four losses on the trot for grispi -

Summed up perfectly
    Matt Bishop ‏@mbish86
    Ogle tells Grispi he's a bad man. Grispi responds "I was." That tells it all. #UFC
    Right in the feels man

My facebook feed just froze during the Phil Collins walkout music, then went back to the last 40 secons of Sass's fight????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Shazbot wrote: »
    Great fight and nice finish by Tom. Gutted cause I had money on Nedkov but nice to see Watson get the win.

same as that :(

fair play to ogle, delighted for him
    was thinking if it came down to who wanted it more then ogle
    would win
    not sure what happened to grispi though over the past couple
    of years

not one to be betting on so far
    a lot of doubles trebles and the likes gone south there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Good song about Renan Barao.

jaysus the ads :mad:

time to pause this fooker for a while

Motonobu Tezuka and Matt Riddle should not fight.

All they want to do is grind out a decision... Tezuka has 16 decisions!!! :eek:

riddle is just piddle to watch

How can Che's corner say it's 1 round each, why not be honest and say he's gotta finish it.

Very poor cornering

Not that I'm one for blood baths and broken bones but that shít pisses me off.

Not much to celebrate at the end IMO.

scudzilla wrote: »
    How can Che's corner say it's 1 round each, why not be honest and say he's gotta finish it.

Very poor cornering

thought i was missing something in round one when i heard that
    really poor alright

dont mind a lad on top doing some damage but that is dung

takedown after takedown after takedown. no real attempt to finish the fight - rubbish really.

jesus 29-28 mills....WOW!

Must be related
    two scores like that and you're talking the worst ever decision

Judges have been utterly fúcking useless tonight. How hard is it to score a 15 minute fight, seriously?

really tough fight that. great first round for jimmo but after that it was all te huna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Wow Nelson is very unorthadox

Strange to hear an Irish accent from Gunnis team

Does Nelson have an Irish coach?

That's john kavanagh from sbg

John Kavanagh from SBG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

gunni has a huge head

Holy shít. Absolutely vicious uppercuts!

Stupidly clumsy at the very end but a good overall performance

great on the ground but hell get KTFO one of these days. cant keep your hands that low all the time and it showed there. got clipped quite a bit

EDIT: some difference in scores 29-28 29-28 and 30-27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

30-27? nah, santiago definitely got the first imo. I think one of the judges is drunk.
    Gunnar deserved the win, but only just really, was very sloppy in the final round.

sonic85 wrote: »
    great on the ground but hell get KTFO one of these days. cant keep your hands that low all the time and it showed there. got clipped quite a bit

EDIT: some difference in scores 29-28 29-28 and 30-27

Not really a big difference, that's only 1 round different.

A big difference is he scores in Che Mills fight, 1 judge gave him a 29-28 win, and another gave him, (deservedly), a 30-27 loss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

30-27? nah, santiago definitely got the first imo. I think one of the judges is drunk.
    Gunnar deserved the win, but only just really, was very sloppy in the final round.
    A good wrestler with good striking would give nelson trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Dtp79 wrote: »
    A good wrestler with good striking would give

anyone trouble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

anyone trouble
    I was sure I included the word trouble!!

Dtp79 wrote: »
    A good wrestler with good striking would give nelson trouble

A lot of fighters in that division would give him trouble i think. Maybe give him rick story or someone and see how he copes.
    To be fair, he's still young and will improve. His machida impression isn't quite there yet though. You'd best be good at counter punching if you're going to hold your hands like that!

scudzilla wrote: »
    Not really a big difference, that's only 1 round different.

A big difference is he scores in Che Mills fight, 1 judge gave him a 29-28 win, and another gave him, (deservedly), a 30-27 loss

yeah youre right. i was just a bit surprised - thought it wouldve been 29-28 across the board

diabate seems to have hurt himself - ah jaysus!

mustve really done a number on it

If diabate had an eyepatch he could do a good sagat impression!

and then he goes and gets injured, i feel bad now!

sh!te way for a fight to end really. that was one of the fights i was most looking forward too aswel!

swanson looked good - especially in that last round. just had too much for poirier. that throw was excellent!