Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How often do you clean your floors?

• 16-02-2013 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭

So this is an ongoing argument in our house (2 adults and 2 toddlers) where I would sweep and mop the floors once maybe twice a week unless otherwise required*.

Basically the OH will mop and sweep the floors everyday or every 2nd day. The floors are not dirty or grimy or anything close to requiring cleaning.

Now you might ask, "R0ot why do you care about having spotless floors everyday of the week?" Well for several reasons

- Waste of cleaning products/extra money, not a big deal but money to be saved
    - floors wet for most of the day meaning if I walk on them I get an earful
    - OH complaining about having to clean the house every day and when I say just leave it they are actually clean fine I again get an earful
    - more modified versions of the last one consisting of no time to do other things she wants or being tired from cleaning all day...

Am I just being a bastard here and should I just bite my tougne and leave it be. Also +poll

* required meaning a spill or muddy footprints or some other act of dirt.

How often do you sweep / mop your floors 116 votes

Once a week
    0%
    Twice a week
    33%
    BoB_BoTneilmMr. CooL ICE[Deleted User]Liam90Shenshencon1982cute_cowstanley1MadamLollipops23Mr BenevolentMy name is URLLiamariopaulgalwayMoragFerris_BuelleryellowlabradorMr. Managerd1980 39 votes
    Once a month
    20%
    IagoMagillM5pandaboyCrazyChick18OrangeDaisyPraetorian SaighdiuirScrambled eggtatabubblyVanishingActsrainbowdropgrizzlyadamspaulbokfussyonionLawrence18953ndahalfof6gingernut125akuraLiamKK1982Pumpkinseeds 24 votes
    Twice a month
    15%
    trishasaffron[Deleted User]callaway92cherryghostdonvito99lounakinvan_beanobigfluffycloudMcChubbinIcemancomethIngazZagnifitefuaiteEllie2008Maximus Alexandermikemac1Jennifer ParkerLiamalonenumnumcake 18 votes
    Everyday
    9%
    markfinnCliona99vickers209DeankoldyouthMiss Lockhartprettygurrlydark crystaljulias_jewelkinkygirlSh1tbag OToole 11 votes
    Atari flooryar
    20%
    PherekydescenaComer1smashIomega ManGran HermanoLatchyFraggle07She DevilcarolinespringharrreetaWhere ToLoopyliljupiterjackMs2011Sound of SilenceRunaway34carolmarxFr_Dougal 24 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Atari flooryar
    Vacuumed and swept every day, mopped once a week, bachelor, no kids, clean freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Twice a week
    They're cleaned when they're dirty, simple as. Quick sweep every other day or if waiting on something and nothing else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭TheBody

Twice a week
    Me and the Mrs give the house a good scrub every Sunday and tidy as needed during the week then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

when needed, the shit some people make routines out of :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Pain in my face with this one actually, my wife will sweep and vacuum the floors (some wood, some carpet) every day twice a day, the walls, doors and windows are washed once a week.

Now I like an orderly clean house as much as the next guy, and full credit to her for it, but come night time then as we slide under the fresh, crispy bedsheets that she just changed that morning- she's out like a light once she's reminded me not to put any stains on the covers!

It's depressing I tells ya! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Atari flooryar
    Hoovered every day and mopped most days which requires the doors to be left open in order to day quicker .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Every day? thats mental

Atari flooryar
    krudler wrote: »
    Every day? thats mental
    Lot easier to do if you do it every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

every 15 minutes, as required

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

never, although herself does do it occasionally.

I blame all that scaremongering ****e on TV with the whole 'kills 99% of germs" and the mammies must think "oh that means I have to spend 20 hours a week trying to clean the final 1% :)"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

How is hoovering easier if its done daily? It requires the same effort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Twice a week
    I wash them once a week and sweep / hoover when necessary. Have a dog which molts a lot and it does my head in when I can feel the hairs under my feet when walking around.

poll needs when needed option

Atari flooryar
    efb wrote: »
    How is hoovering easier if its done daily? It requires the same effort
    Na, requires far less effort, if you only hoover once a week say, you have to get yourself wound up to do it or whatever, and maybe you might put it off to the next day, then the next day and so on.

If you do it every day it's done every day and that's it, no hassle.:)

I only got my own house last Halloween and clean as required. Didn't Hoover last week but scrubbed the place this morning I feel great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

I do a good clean in the house once a week, wouldn't mop the floors once a week though, I only do that whenever I remember to. There's only me any my OH so it's not like there's kids walking around, I think if we did have kids, it'd be a different story though.

Where To wrote: »
    Na, requires far less effort, if you only hoover once a week say, you have to get yourself wound up to do it or whatever, and maybe you might put it off to the next day, then the next day and so on.

If you do it every day it's done every day and that's it, no hassle.:)

Bizarre logic- I certainly don't have the time to Hoover every day in at 7.30, food TV bed

Clean when needed. How often that is depends how messy you are. Some people can't even make a sandwich without spilling crumbs all over the floor.

Atari flooryar
    Bizarre logic- I certainly don't have the time to Hoover every day in at 7.30, food TV bed
    Hoover in the morning before you go to work.:)

I don't think my neighbours would appreciate me hovering before 7am!!!

You would sweep the kitchen floor once or more daily

Atari flooryar
    I don't think my neighbours would appreciate me hovering before 7am!!!
    You only have to do your own floors, no need to do the neighbours'.

Lol

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Twice a month
    Cleaned when its to be cleaned. Hoovered about once a week, mopped about once a month, sometimes more if we had friends coming over/had a party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Once a month
    If you have outdoor cats, you have to clean the floor every day...especially, if one cat enjoys, bringing in big chunks of moss :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Vacuumed and swept every day, mopped once a week, bachelor, no kids, clean freak.

That doesn't sound like a clean freak to me, sounds pretty normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What brand of "hoover" do people here use? We did have a Dyson Hoover, but it was sh1t so we got a Vax Hoover. We had a Hoover Hoover once, and that was also sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 bigfluffycloud

Twice a month
    Sweep kitchen every eve (messy toddlers) & Hoover every 10 days or so depending on state of floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Derinda

Atari flooryar
    Sweep and vacuumed every morning, swept and washed at night-time.

I don't want to be sweeping and washing everyday but with a toddler, a dog who sleeps in the house at night time and a husband who always seems to drop bits of crud and drag in huge amounts of the country side with him when he comes in I've no choice in the matter!

But before the husband, dog and child arrived - sweep, vacuumed and hoovered twice a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

ejmaztec wrote: »
    What brand of "hoover" do people here use? We did have a Dyson Hoover, but it was sh1t so we got a Vax Hoover. We had a Hoover Hoover once, and that was also sh1t.

I've gone through loads of different makes of hoovers in my lifetime. The worst was definitely the Dyson, bad suction, constantly having to clean it out, felt more like a child's toy.

Henry is your only man. The tradesman's hoover of choice. Had one for years now and still on the go, great suction etc.

Sweep kitchen floor every day. Hoover carpets once a week. Wash kitchen floor as needed.

Would love to get me one of these robots:
    http://www.irobot.com/global/en/store.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Twice a week
    Live on my own, hoover/mop once a week. Hardwood floors are a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

Twice a week
    When I see mould growing on the mould..... Then I burn the house out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

R0ot wrote: »
    So this is an ongoing argument in our house (2 adults and 2 toddlers) where I would sweep and mop the floors once maybe twice a week unless otherwise required*.

Basically the OH will mop and sweep the floors everyday or every 2nd day. The floors are not dirty or grimy or anything close to requiring cleaning.

Now you might ask, "R0ot why do you care about having spotless floors everyday of the week?" Well for several reasons

- Waste of cleaning products/extra money, not a big deal but money to be saved
    - floors wet for most of the day meaning if I walk on them I get an earful
    - OH complaining about having to clean the house every day and when I say just leave it they are actually clean fine I again get an earful
    - more modified versions of the last one consisting of no time to do other things she wants or being tired from cleaning all day...
    Am I just being a bastard here and should I just bite my tougne and leave it be.
    Also +poll

* required meaning a spill or muddy footprints or some other act of dirt.
    No, you're not being a bastard, and no she's not being a fussy bitch.

If you have two toddlers, they are forever picking things up, dropping them, hands in their mouths.

Until they get out of toddler stage at least she's right in doing what she's doing. It's either that or doctors bills if the house isn't up to scratch in terms of cleanliness.

Once their out of that stage then it can be relaxed a little, so compromise for now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Twice a week
    Give the floors a good sweep and mop once a week, I live alone so it's easy enough to keep tidy.

I hate the thought of cleaning before I do it but feel good when there is a nice clean house afterwards.

Have an open fire though that I burn coal in and its hard to keep the sitting room clean when burning coal, one good thing is that at least I don't have carpets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Atari flooryar
    Hoover once a day & go over the floors with a steam mop.
    I have 3 dogs, a cat & a baby at the craweling stage so floors need to be kept clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Twice a week
    I steam clean the kitchen and hall floors (Karndean flooring)once a week, I vaccum carpets 2 or 3 times a week(unless there's been a spill). Can't see the need to do more if your all adults in the house - besides no one notices unless its really mucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Atari flooryar
    With all the snow and rain we have had of late and a large dog that likes to pop in and out when it suits ( he can open the back door with his paws ) we have to mop up after him but my OH will insist on mopping most days anyway .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I hoover the kids and dog when she's in work , its much easier than the house..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Pain in my face with this one actually, my wife will sweep and vacuum the floors (some wood, some carpet) every day twice a day, the walls, doors and windows are washed once a week.

Now I like an orderly clean house as much as the next guy, and full credit to her for it, but come night time then as we slide under the fresh, crispy bedsheets that she just changed that morning- she's out like a light once she's reminded me not to put any stains on the covers!

It's depressing I tells ya! :pac:

Was about to say that I wished I had a wife like your's but then after reading to the end.... I've decided to say nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

R0ot wrote: »

If there are two adults and two kids in the house, trust me, the floors are dirty AND grimy by lunch time of the FIRST day, never mind the second. Especially so in the kitchen and eating areas where food gets dropped and spilled & where people are coming in from the outside.

We have carpets upstairs. They get vacummed once a week, but will usually get a quick going over if we have people coming over, as the bog is upstairs. The wood floors downstairs get swept once a day, but the kitchen floor gets swept after every meal. All the crumbs & sticky stuff underfoot would drive me nuts if it was left there for an entire day, much less days. The floors will get mopped once a week, and maybe once again if we've had a lot of people over and its been raining & dirt and muck has been trekked in by lots of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

Once a week, sweep and mop. There's three of us in the house and I'm the only one who actually does it.
    I used to hire a carpet cleaner from B&Q once a year, that did a great job.

Have to agree Henry's are the dogs dangley bits, best vacuum cleaner I've ever used.

My ex used to Hoover everyday and was anal about the slightest bit of dust, bleedin annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

This thread is coincidental.

I mopped my floors today. Second time since I moved in a year ago! It only needed it because one of my mates spilled some water which got walked around the place leaving dirt marks.

Otherwise it would've been grand with its hoovering every 2 or 3 weeks.

OP your OH sounds like my da he mops the place twice a day sometimes and then gives out if someone drops a crumb its gas but its possibly a touch of obsessive compulsive disorder perhaps?

I didnt vote as theres no twice a year option!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Everyday
    I don't know how ye find the time. If I was to hoover more than once or twice a week there'd be noise complaints because I'd have to do it before 7am or after 10 at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Once a month
    We have 2 cats and an open fire that we use a lot. So I sweep the floors twice a day and mop them 2/3 times a week depending on the weather. I hoover 3 times a week but thats mostly just the living room due to bits of briquette falling on the carpet. We have oil central heating but you just can't beat the cosiness of an open fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Clean...... The.... Floor?? Um....... I think it might have been last summer, or was it the summer before that....... ?
    I may have been drunk.

I live alone and its a vacuum every other day, wash twice weekly. All the floors are hardwood or tile. I tend to kick off my shoes when I come in and I think that really keeps the dirt down.

Bit of a clean freak I know, but I get a peaceful feeling from having the place clean and tidy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Twice a week
    We vacuum and mop all the floors once a week, and vacuum or wash bits in between as necessary.
    Himself keeps insisting that the floors only need washing every other week, but I disagree.
    We pretty much take turns at the housework.

How on earth do people have enough time to vacuum or wash the floor daily or even more often?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭prettygurrly

Everyday
    i think the poll should be...i have a stressful job where i leave the house at some godforsaken hour, arrive home when it's dark and use the weekend to recover from the week so moving from a chair or not going to see friends is not an option and therefore my floors get cleaned when I have the energy...i.e. pretty much never. I'm pleased to say that today is never but it's been weeks...possibly christmas when I had time off that the floors were last clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Twice a week
    I have black floor tiles and white ones on the wall in the bathroom and they are a nightmare to keep clean