Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First rabbit today.

• 15-02-2013 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭

Started shooting about 2 months ago after purchasing cz452 today I shot my first rabbit paced off at 150 yards give or take bit of a strange feeling killing for the first time was anyone else like this?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It can affect some more than others. I remember my first rabbit, ever. Bit of an odd sensation, but it soon passes.

Plus i bring home pretty much everything i shoot so it's not like it's indiscriminate. Serves two functions. Rids the farmers of some pests, and i get a nice stew or curry out of it.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

If they have Myxomatosis or what ever it is called can it make you ill??
    Anyhow rabbits are vermin like a rat or mouse..Blast away.Just do not watch water ship down afterwards..Always brings a tear to the eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Eating mixy rabbits won't make you ill but the sight might turn your stomach.

I saw it this one time covered in flys and not able to run proper.They are better off shot than living that way.
    Our dogs used to eat them after they were hunted.I never hunted myself but I learned how to skin a rabbit.
    I was the only one of the kids who could take the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Started shooting about 2 months ago after purchasing cz452 today I shot my first rabbit paced off at 150 yards give or take bit of a strange feeling killing for the first time was anyone else like this?

What were you shooting at for the last two months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Nothing much few targets,this hunting business is completely new to me never had a gun,walking the land trying to get the feel for it,there's not much around at the moment ,it's a bit hard trying to figure out bullet drop,yardage etc its addictive though

Keep doing what you are doing. Walk the land, get to know your backstops, and effective range of your rifle.

Also try it at different times of the day. Try the morning, afternoon, evening. Hit different places at different times to find the best time to be out.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

juice1304 wrote: »
    Eating mixy rabbits won't make you ill but the sight might turn your stomach.
    Yeah it's more matter over mind
    Good thing the ferrets and hawk don't complain about mixxy rabbits

Cass wrote: »
    It can affect some more than others. I remember my first rabbit, ever. Bit of an odd sensation, but it soon passes.

Plus i bring home pretty much everything i shoot so it's not like it's indiscriminate. Serves two functions. Rids the farmers of some pests, and i get a nice stew or curry out of it.

Don't get me wrong i was delighted with the shot after missing 2 earlier ,but just like you said "bit of an odd sensation"

Keep doing what you are doing. Walk the land, get to know your backstops, and effective range of your rifle.

Also try it at different times of the day. Try the morning, afternoon, evening. Hit different places at different times to find the best time to be out.

Good advice always welcome thanks cass,I have to learn to hit 100 yards +,more regular cause the rabbits here are very jittery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Well done.
    What kind of cz452 you have, American, varmint, lux, scout? Has anyone got one and what's the useful range?
    Reason I ask is I'm going to get something for shooting rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭Mech1

Your ok, it happens to us all, 1st kill is strange, it takes a little bit of you that cant be put back.
    You yourself took the decision to pull the trigger I hope?

Now you have to deal with the "aftermath" of that trigger pull.

You have to work out if it was, Hunting or Vermin control or sport.

You have to consider if you are "ok" with the decision to shoot.

All are ok with me and my shots would of been a wide mixture of above 3. I hunt when im camping out. I do vermin control with 3 farmers, I would attempt a long distance prone off a bipod shot on a rabbit for sport.

Once you consider the facts of what happened you should be able to accept it. Otherwise choose target shooting as your sport.

M three wrote: »
    Well done.
    What kind of cz452 you have, American, varmint, lux, scout? Has anyone got one and what's the useful range?
    Reason I ask is I'm going to get something for shooting rabbits.

Cheers,it's the American ,I'd be fairly comfortable shooting out to the 150yrd range ,the bullet went through it and hit the tree behind him,probably be more reliably accurate at the 70-90yrd range but I can't seem to get near them

Mech1 wrote: »
    Your ok, it happens to us all, 1st kill is strange, it takes a little bit of you that cant be put back.
    You yourself took the decision to pull the trigger I hope?

Now you have to deal with the "aftermath" of that trigger pull.

You have to work out if it was, Hunting or Vermin control or sport.

You have to consider if you are "ok" with the decision to shoot.

All are ok with me and my shots would of been a wide mixture of above 3. I hunt when im camping out. I do vermin control with 3 farmers, I would attempt a long distance prone off a bipod shot on a rabbit for sport.

Once you consider the facts of what happened you should be able to accept it. Otherwise choose target shooting as your sport.

Fully my decision I had plenty of time to think about it after factoring in safety etc,I used to fish a lot and it didn't take long to get used to giving them the last rite's, I accept it jobs done now just wondering what other hunters opinions were

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Cheers,it's the American ,I'd be fairly comfortable shooting out to the 150yrd range ,the bullet went through it and hit the tree behind him,probably be more reliably accurate at the 70-90yrd range but I can't seem to get near them

Good shooting and it sounds like you know what you're at - watching your background. I haven't shot but I know rabbits are jumpy little feckers with a good sense of smell. You try covering up and making sure you're down wind so they don't smell you and try getting closer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

M three..mate has a daystate pcp .22,ample enough for rabbits up to 120yd i think..well worth your while sussing them out,will get more info off him and get back to you...glenbulldog you say bullet went through and hit tree,what if the tree wasnt there?listen i never fired gun in my life so dont get me wrong ..

M three wrote: »
    Good shooting and it sounds like you know what you're at - watching your background. I haven't shot but I know rabbits are jumpy little feckers with a good sense of smell. You try covering up and making sure you're down wind so they don't smell you and try getting closer?

Yeah im doing that,they're jumpy alright,I think the land is being lamped to death I think that's why they are jumpy IMO ,my general rule of thumb if I don't feel comfortable taking the shot I won't full stop

Ape Owners wrote: »
    M three..mate has a daystate pcp .22,ample enough for rabbits up to 120yd i think..well worth your while sussing them out,will get more info off him and get back to you...glenbulldog you say bullet went through and hit tree,what if the tree wasnt there?listen i never fired gun in my life so dont get me wrong ..

No problem,behind the tree there was a thick backstop,part of checking the land out first like I said if I'm not comfortable i won't shoot

Ape Owners wrote: »
    what if the tree wasnt there? ..
    But it was. That was the backstop. Keep thinking along those lines, and you'll never fire a shot because of what if's.

When shooting you have seconds to judge the area, know where the bullet is meant to go, where it might go, and then decide to take the shot or not.

All you can do is make the safest, best decision at the time.

A .22 is not great for body shots even on rabbits. Does not carry enough energy. Hence the head shot is best. I would improve on your stalking. Try getting closer. Remember that you may not fire a shot, and that's okay. Practice on your accuracy. Also get to know your rifle inside , and out. A .22 will drop 6 inches from 50 yards to 100 yards. So at 150 yards you could be looking at 12 inches or more with a 50 yard zero.

OPractice on some paper with marked drops on it. Fire at 50, 75, 100, 125, and 150 yards. Find how much your bullet drops at each distance. Then decide on the best zero based on the type of land you shot. It's no harm to keep a dope chart on you to make sure you don't make a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

thanks lads..very informative..

But it was. That was the backstop. Keep thinking along those lines, and you'll never fire a shot because of what if's.

When shooting you have seconds to judge the area, know where the bullet is meant to go, where it might go, and then decide to take the shot or not.

All you can do is make the safest, best decision at the time.

A .22 is not great for body shots even on rabbits. Does not carry enough energy. Hence the head shot is best. I would improve on your stalking. Try getting closer. Remember that you may not fire a shot, and that's okay. Practice on your accuracy. Also get to know your rifle inside , and out. A .22 will drop 6 inches from 50 yards to 100 yards. So at 150 yards you could be looking at 12 inches or more with a 50 yard zero.

OPractice on some paper with marked drops on it. Fire at 50, 75, 100, 125, and 150 yards. Find how much your bullet drops at each distance. Then decide on the best zero based on the type of land you shot. It's no harm to keep a dope chart on you to make sure you don't make a mistake.

I know it stopped at the tree but behind the tree there was a 15ft mound of clay so I made my decision based on that,I have been out on a lot of days without firing off a single shot but that's ok I assume everyone goes through this thanks for the advice will get practicing more

I know it stopped at the tree but behind the tree there was a 15ft mound of clay so I made my decision based on that
    Exactly my point. You made the decision, and knew it was safe. So no point second guessing or wondering what if.
    ,I have been out on a lot of days without firing off a single shot but that's ok I assume everyone goes through this
    Yup.

Even when presented with an easy shot i sometimes find myself not bothering. Second last day of the deer season 2 years ago. Big red just sitting there. Stalked within 35 yards. Had the crosshair on the head, but decided against taking the shot. (if i'm honest it was a long drag, and i said feck that :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭session savage

Well fair play to you. You have the right attitude IMO. Your conscience after killing the rabbit shows that you respect them. And the fact that you took the time to familiarise yourself with your rifle before hunting and made sure it was safe to shoot before you pulled the trigger shows you have respect for your surroundings and the potential danger. I say fair play. That's the way to start and that's the way to continue.
    I do think however that you should concentrate more on stalking to get in close. I can't tell you the amount of times I stalked into within 20 yds of a rabbit and didn't bother shooting because the stalk was enough for me.
    I had a cz452 for a few years and its an exceptional rifle but I traded it in for a PCP so now all my rabbits are 30 to 50 yds and I find it easy to get in that close because of all the practice.
    Keep it up lad you have the right attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

first thing i shot was a rabbit and i just stood there for 5 mins looking at it saying right what the **** now! i was slow in picking it up even:D

but ever since that day i was bitten by the "bug" and i feel my life has followed a different road i have made some of my best friends through shooting and had some of the best days in the countryside. as im typing this my friend is on route and we are running the dogs and hunting with the ferret after.got ten rabbits alive last week...long way from the first day when i wouldnt pick a dead one...its upwards and onwards from here lad and enjoy every minute of it. learn how to skin them and gut them this is the next step and keep the pelt for dummies or whatever . never waste anything u shoot .looking forward to seeing pics of your future kills. stick them up on photos thread no matter how big or small.

charlie10 wrote: »
    first thing i shot was a rabbit and i just stood there for 5 mins looking at it saying right what the **** now! i was slow in picking it up even:D

but ever since that day i was bitten by the "bug" and i feel my life has followed a different road i have made some of my best friends through shooting and had some of the best days in the countryside. as im typing this my friend is on route and we are running the dogs and hunting with the ferret after.got ten rabbits alive last week...long way from the first day when i wouldnt pick a dead one...its upwards and onwards from here lad and enjoy every minute of it. learn how to skin them and gut them this is the next step and keep the pelt for dummies or whatever . never waste anything u shoot .looking forward to seeing pics of your future kills. stick them up on photos thread no matter how big or small.
    Thanks Charlie definitely bitten by the bug,love the 1st part of the comment I was exactly the same hahahahha

believe me lad u will remember that rabbit for a long time ! just goes to show u have respect for your quarry which u have, if u felt awkward so thumbs up. i bought cz452 as my first rifle and sold it prematurely them nights when ur lamping and rabbits bouncing around saying jasus i wish i had it back. so much so that i bought an air rifle to accompany the .17hmr on the lamping trips! so in future if funds allow keep it regardless if u go to a bigger caliber or not.

I remember my first rabbit and was more important to me as I had shot two beside each other with the shotty
    so first one went down and I shot the second as he ran
    Was pretty special to me as I done it when I was 10 and with my dad so he was pretty proud of it
    Been shooting with him since real young and already knew how to gut and skin so shootin them made it complete
    He even wiped the blood off the rabbit on my face and said it was tradition so I wore that blood till I got home
    Same year shot first pheasant and woodcock
    These are the moments you'll always remember and can only get better mate
    Atb

What do I have to do to get a gun to shoot rabbits.I do not know a farmer.But I know lots of places full with rabbits and nobody seems to own the land and it is just wasteland.I would not shoot a fox but they are there also.

There's a thread somewhere on this about what the requirements are for a gun with the new licence laws that was brought in
    Dunno what way it works to shoot on wasteland maybe council owns it you'd have to find out yourself
    Joining a gun club also helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Don't really get that thinking about what you just killed, it just is part and parcel of shooting for me ,i first shot a rabbit when i was 6 with my da holding and pointing the gun ,well i just really pulled the trigger but it was just normal for me ,i couldn't wait to go shooting properly ,i used to go with my da training the dogs during the summer months and feed the pheasants and then cry when he would bring me out with him shooting till i was old enough:o, as soon as he felt i was old enough though i was out every day and i would just carry anything him or my uncles would shoot,it then progressed when i got older to him walking behind me while i used his gun so any little mistakes i made i was pulled up on straight away, but i have never gave anything a second thought that i shot just the ones i missed:D.
    With regards to the back stop , don't ever chance a shot that might even be a little bit risky, not worth loosing all your guns for a poxy pheasant , rabbit or fox,but as you get to know your land you will not even have to think about whether a shot is safe or not you will just know.I was frustrated so many times during the years were you would call a fox in and he would get to a certain distance and sit looking at you and you could not take a shot because it was in line with a house or barn , they might be 4 or 5 fields away but still in line so you have to just leave it.
    But judging by what you said you will have no problem you knew you had a tree and a clay bank behind the target so keep going like that with your judgment and observations and you will have no problems

lb1981 wrote: »
    Don't really get that thinking about what you just killed, it just is part and parcel of shooting for me ,i first shot a rabbit when i was 6 with my da holding and pointing the gun ,well i just really pulled the trigger but it was just normal for me ,i couldn't wait to go shooting properly ,i used to go with my da training the dogs during the summer months and feed the pheasants and then cry when he would bring me out with him shooting till i was old enough:o, as soon as he felt i was old enough though i was out every day and i would just carry anything him or my uncles would shoot,it then progressed when i got older to him walking behind me while i used his gun so any little mistakes i made i was pulled up on straight away, but i have never gave anything a second thought that i shot just the ones i missed:D.
    With regards to the back stop , don't ever chance a shot that might even be a little bit risky, not worth loosing all your guns for a poxy pheasant , rabbit or fox,but as you get to know your land you will not even have to think about whether a shot is safe or not you will just know.I was frustrated so many times during the years were you would call a fox in and he would get to a certain distance and sit looking at you and you could not take a shot because it was in line with a house or barn , they might be 4 or 5 fields away but still in line so you have to just leave it.
    But judging by what you said you will have no problem you knew you had a tree and a clay bank behind the target so keep going like that with your judgment and observations and you will have no problems

It's probably a bit different for you cause you were reared on it ,but I can see where you're coming from and fair play I'm just new to it I'm sure ill get used to it thanks for the reply

Well fair play to you. You have the right attitude IMO. Your conscience after killing the rabbit shows that you respect them. And the fact that you took the time to familiarise yourself with your rifle before hunting and made sure it was safe to shoot before you pulled the trigger shows you have respect for your surroundings and the potential danger. I say fair play. That's the way to start and that's the way to continue.
    I do think however that you should concentrate more on stalking to get in close. I can't tell you the amount of times I stalked into within 20 yds of a rabbit and didn't bother shooting because the stalk was enough for me.
    I had a cz452 for a few years and its an exceptional rifle but I traded it in for a PCP so now all my rabbits are 30 to 50 yds and I find it easy to get in that close because of all the practice.
    Keep it up lad you have the right attitude.

Thanks session savage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Snowc

It like everyhing you do op the more you do it the less you thing about it,keep at it and soon you will be able to kill without any probelms;)

Snowc wrote: »
    It like everyhing you do op the more you do it the less you thing about it,keep at it and soon you will be able to kill without any probelms;)

Cheers mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Cavan duck buster

Very same for me too. Shot a couple of crows i didn't get any thing and the first time when i shot a rabbit i got a mixd feeling of happyness and sorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

if you shoot the bunnies for the pot and are respectful of your quarry than it shouldn't bare too heavy on your mind. i do know what you mean though as when i had my .22 i found it less craic than hunting them with the dogs or ferrets, but that is a personal thing.

Cheers mate

No prob,just try to kill for food or pest control,I know some lads who shoot robins,wagtails ,blackbirds ets (basically anything that moves):mad: with their air rifles which is the other end of the scale

i see a fella shooting into a flock of starlings one day and it made my blood boil i felt like running down the field and kicking the head off him 1)the fact of shooting a starling 2) for being such a ****ing idiot

Ya even do starelts are dirty F**king birds its illelgal to shoot them and anybody doing it sould face the law:mad: gives everybody a bad name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 shertheman

Hi All,

Will you be willing to let go of some of that rabbit - need me some good rabbit stew :)

pm if willing to trade some of that game for a few bop

Thanks!

20+ rabbits later ,all is good thanks to everyone for their kind words will be posting pics soon thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

:D I did the EXACT same thing the first time i nailed a rabbit! 5 minutes of hmmmm... :eek:

OP, you were right to feel the way you did, it makes you human. Best of luck with all your future hunting.

It's get easier. If you do not already feel this way it won't be long till it's second nature to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 benjii187

I bought mine last summer, i shot one rabbit, felt really bad after it, and ive never shot another one since. :/

Hi All,

Not sure if this the right thread but I do need some of that rabbit if anyone's been out hunting today or intend to be out later this week - Me need some rabbit stew for me bday this weekend and will delightfully reciprocate (€) if you can get me a 2 or 3 by Fri/Sat

Many thanks
    And wish me a hbday with a rabbit!

Where are ya?
    And I doubt very much any of the lads here will charge ya for a rabbit or two.
    Some sound lads on this should be able to sort ya out.
    Might help if you out up your location

I am in Newbridge County Kildare but willing to travel within a reasonable distance if anyone is willing to sort me out

Many thanks in advance