Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hornady .223 V Max 65 grain

• 15-02-2013 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭

Hi lads , anyone used them ?or know who might stock them.
    Using the 55 grain v max, just like to try the 65 grain out, I know the 75 grain Tap's are readily available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭yubabill1

Hmm would like to know, too.

Looked v max up on hornady site - only 60gr available in 223 v max.

The 75 gr are HP, if I remember correctly. Used TAP precursor (identical, except for brass case - and a lot cheaper) very powerful, big recoil, big bang and got some muzzle flash.

bit slow (2800fps or so) for moving target at longer ranges IMHO

Federal make 64gr PSP, theoretical 3000fps. 4" drop at 200yds, 1" high @100. You need fast twist barrel to stabilise properly.

Think the v max superior for foxes, very deadly. Only minor drawback is the v max varmint config will not penetrate grass or brush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭LIFFY FISHING

yubabill1 wrote: »
    Looked v max up on hornady site - only 60gr available in 223 v max.

The 75 gr are HP, if I remember correctly. Used TAP precursor (identical, except for brass case - and a lot cheaper) very powerful, big recoil, big bang and got some muzzle flash.

bit slow (2800fps or so) for moving target at longer ranges IMHO

Federal make 64gr PSP, theoretical 3000fps. 4" drop at 200yds, 1" high @100. You need fast twist barrel to stabilise properly.

Think the v max superior for foxes, very deadly. Only minor drawback is the v max varmint config will not penetrate grass or brush.

Tks for that info, have you tried the 75 Taps yourself ? Suitable for foxing ?

when you asked about the 65gr v max I thought hornady had brought out a new round.

never used the 75 Taps, only the (identical on paper) 75gr HPs. i don't think you need that power for the average fox, but lots of guys use lots of different loads.

I don't think you will beat the v max or the general ballistic tip for foxes, the only drawback being, in varmint form, they won't penetrate grass/brush as well as your HP, PSP, etc. But that's a skill in itself and if you shoot open country, then you won't really notice.

The HPs, PSPs and certainly FMJs will not kill as well as the ballistic tips in 223 for foxes, IMHO.

Just remember, within any given calibre, shot placement is always more important than bullet choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

I changed from ballistic tip to HP as I found I was getting runners with the 55gr vmax.. Shot in the neck and high chest on 2 shots only to run one 30 yards and the other into the next field!!

I run the UMC 50gr's for the past week.. Just as accurate as the hornady from my 1in8 t3

Its knocked the them head shot,chest and side on and is a DEVASTATING round..

I am keen to try the federal rounds.. 25 quid a box from athlantic fishing.. meant to be a hard hitting round

used the 60gr TAP the chromey yokes with ballistic tips.. all my foxes are sub 250 yards so doesn't really matter long as they drop.

'hdz

hedzball wrote: »
    I am keen to try the federal rounds.. 25 quid a box from athlantic fishing.. meant to be a hard hitting round

used the 60gr TAP the chromey yokes with ballistic tips.. all my foxes are sub 250 yards so doesn't really matter long as they drop.

'hdz

I think the Federal 64gr is a bit too hard-hitting for fox, but that's a personal thing.

Could never see the point of the 60gr v max, probably slightly better in T3 1:8 than 55gr, but i thought would be near as makes no difference in the field, so just used the 55s, which seem more available. Only ever lost one critter with them, was a clump of reeds obscuring the vitals and even though I heard the hit and saw a reaction, never recovered the critter.

Last one I shot was at 150 yds, standing in high grass and brush - no bother to the 64grs, crashed straight through the foliage and knocked her upside-down where she stood. Reckon it got hold of the scapula.

Have found UMC a reliable round and reasonable price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭hedzball

yubabill1 wrote: »
    I think the Federal 64gr is a bit too hard-hitting for fox, but that's a personal thing.

Could never see the point of the 60gr v max, probably slightly better in T3 1:8 than 55gr, but i thought would be near as makes no difference in the field, so just used the 55s, which seem more available. Only ever lost one critter with them, was a clump of reeds obscuring the vitals and even though I heard the hit and saw a reaction, never recovered the critter.

Last one I shot was at 150 yds, standing in high grass and brush - no bother to the 64grs, crashed straight through the foliage and knocked her upside-down where she stood. Reckon it got hold of the scapula.

Have found UMC a reliable round and reasonable price.

Not much else you could use the 64gr for bar ferral goats I guess?.

Are soft points more devastating then HP's??

Ya my dealer is extortionate down here 55gr vmax are 34 quid a box..

While UMC are 17.60 a box (still in shock there) :D

Sent 3 rounds into a 2 cent coin with the umc so more then adequate for foxing.. must try em at a longer range in the next few weeks.

Furthest being 180 yards paced out to the chest a few nights back.

50gr umc.

the 75gr bttp's are up in murrays in cork but over 30 quid a box!

Not much else you could use the 64gr for bar ferral goats I guess?.

Are soft points more devastating then HP's??

Ya my dealer is extortionate down here 55gr vmax are 34 quid a box..

While UMC are 17.60 a box (still in shock there) biggrin.png

Sent 3 rounds into a 2 cent coin with the umc so more then adequate for foxing.. must try em at a longer range in the next few weeks.

Jeez...last time i bought v max paid 27.00, thought that was extortionate back then. Haven't used them in years..still have a couple of boxes.

i'd be using the UMC's at that price, think you can get similar stuff around 16.00 , but i'm out of touch with prices.

The 64's would do for fox, when v max are 34.00! I stocked up years ago on 64's, paid 20.00/box, grudgingly. as you say, good for feral goats - we have a few around here, but i generally like to just look. Hard to get near to, unless you know what you are doing.

The 75's are overpriced, quite simply. old tech, dressed up.

personally, I'm a fan of shooting cheap and often. Thinking of going for a couple of rabbits in the morning, using Tulammo 62 gr FMJ. Work well out of my T3 1:8 varmint. bloody cheap shooting!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 dogcityroller

I use nothing but the 60 gr vmax for foxing- over 200 this season and not one of them run on. Very good bc for a hunting round and cheap bullets to buy for reloading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cushcam

I use nothing but the 60 gr vmax for foxing- over 200 this season and not one of them run on. Very good bc for a hunting round and cheap bullets to buy for reloading.
    where in the name of god dis you find the time to knock 200 foxes this season? :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 dogcityroller

Actually me and my brother shot 227 foxes from last August time . We re both single so we can go out anytime we need to. We put in a lot of hours and cover a lot of ground. There is an awful amount of foxes round us and there's. not too many shooting at them. We have about 2000 acres to shot over so its not that many for the amount of ground we have to shoot over. There's another guy lives maybe 10 miles away from me and the last time I was talking to him ( last week) had shot 156 from just before Christmas. My record for 1 night is 8 foxes when the whole thing came together well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cushcam

sounds like a nice place to live :D