Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Meeting Partners is Nightclubs

• 14-02-2013 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭

So you're in a nightclub/pub and you end up chatting to a member of the opposite sex. Presuming you get their number, do you text them the next day? Would you consider meeting up with them?

Personally, when I get a number from a girl I've met in a club I don't usually contact them the next day. The reason for this is because I don't think meeting somebody in a club is the right way to meet a partner, I like to be friends with potential partners first. You may ask why I even bother getting a phone number. Probably something to do with being drunk, you know how it is.

Anyway AH, what are your thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I met my girlfriend in a nightclub, we've been together for three years now.

You get to know each other on dates.

• Site Banned Posts: 71 ✭✭Zer0

Imagine how many possible relationships you missed out on by not texting them? Jeeze man..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Met my GF in a club 12 years ago.
    The sex peaked that night.
    Had many a night to relive it but alas no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

There's no right place or wrong place to meet someone...

Personally I don't give out my number if I don't think I'm going to text back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

Then I would say you have an insane idealistic and naive view of how things 'should' work.

There's no correct formula or scenario for meeting someone. If you meet someone and you click then at least see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 94Conor

Why not just text them and meet them some place that's not a club for a date and get to know them? :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

What harm would it do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭Stepping Stone

Met my OH in a nightclub 10 years ago. Only time I ever gave out my number to anyone. We kissed that night and only texted on the way home cos we were drunk. Best decision ever.

Sobered up, decided to chat by text out of boredom and discovered we had loads in common. Became great friends before we decided to give the dating thing a go.

Try it OP, it might work out well! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Runaway34

If ye get the roide on the first night don't ring..... Just conveniently lose the number....... If she doesn't put out unleash the beast on the date you arrange following the phonecall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

I prefer to be friends with somebody before anything happens between us. People might not agree and say that I'm missing out on a lot of potentially great relationship but that's just me. It's not that I'm closed minded and think that it's impossible to meet a girl in a nightclub. I just feel more comfortable if I actually know somebody first.

I have contacted girls I've met in clubs in the past and it's never worked out hence, I've come to the conclusion that it's not for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

You are incredibly close-minded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

I met the lad I'm with now last summer in a bar. We passed each other on the way to the jacks and then met at the bar again getting drinks and we got talking. He gave me his number and we became good mates and hung around for a good few weeks having the laugh.
    We met up for a coffee to catch up a while before Christmas and now we're going out properly.

I don't know why you're thinking you can't became friends first or think nothing will come of meeting people out in clubs/bars. I have met and know many people who've all met great people by doing so.

You're just limiting yourself by somehow thinking it's a waste of time, take a chance, what harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I met my wife in a night club , she was supposed to be minding the kids and I was supposed to be off fishing .
    That was some fcukin' row that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Met my GF in a club 12 years ago.
    The sex peaked that night.
    Had many a night to relive it but alas no.

Have you tried going back to the same toilets again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Wait three days. It's a rule. Why three days? Because Jesus wants us to.

Jesus waited THREE days to come back to life. It was perfect! If he had only waited ONE day, a lot of people wouldn't have even heard he died. They'd be all, "Hey Jesus, what up?" and Jesus would probably be like, "What up? I DIED yesterday!" and they'd be all, "Uhh, you look pretty alive to me, dude..." and then Jesus would have to explain how he was resurrected, and how it was a miracle, and the dude'd be like "Uhh okay, whatever you say, bro..."

And he's not gonna come back on a SATURDAY. Everybody's busy, doing chores, workin' the loom, trimmin' the beard, NO. He waited the perfect number of days, THREE.

Plus it's SUNDAY, so everyone's in church already, and they're all in there like "Oh no, Jesus is DEAD", and then BAM! He bursts in the back door, runnin' up the aisle, everyone's totally psyched, and FYI, that's when he invented the high five. That's why we wait three days to call a woman, because that's how long Jesus wants us to wait.... True story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

If I was ever drunk enough to give my real number out in a nightclub no I don't think I'd be returning a text sober.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Runaway34 wrote: »
    If ye get the roide on the first night don't ring..... Just conveniently lose the number....... If she doesn't put out unleash the beast on the date you arrange following the phonecall

Leave the 70s behind dear, it'll do you no good ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I met my wife in a club 11 years ago. If women you meet in clubs are not good enough then what the fuck are you doing there yourself?

Women don't have to sit in a box waiting for White Knight to come along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Wait three days. It's a rule. Why three days? Because Jesus wants us to.

Jesus waited THREE days to come back to life. It was perfect! If he had only waited ONE day, a lot of people wouldn't have even heard he died. They'd be all, "Hey Jesus, what up?" and Jesus would probably be like, "What up? I DIED yesterday!" and they'd be all, "Uhh, you look pretty alive to me, dude..." and then Jesus would have to explain how he was resurrected, and how it was a miracle, and the dude'd be like "Uhh okay, whatever you say, bro..."

And he's not gonna come back on a SATURDAY. Everybody's busy, doing chores, workin' the loom, trimmin' the beard, NO. He waited the perfect number of days, THREE.

Plus it's SUNDAY, so everyone's in church already, and they're all in there like "Oh no, Jesus is DEAD", and then BAM! He bursts in the back door, runnin' up the aisle, everyone's totally psyched, and FYI, that's when he invented the high five. That's why we wait three days to call a woman, because that's how long Jesus wants us to wait.... True story

:pac::pac::pac: I am still laughing and I am going to wait three days from now on because Jesus wants me to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭tiny timy

10 years ago today I met my now wife at a nightclub,text her two days after and we're together ever since.married 5 years with kids!

The_Gatsby wrote: »

I have contacted girls I've met in clubs in the past and it's never worked out hence, I've come to the conclusion that it's not for me.

Until the day you meet "the one" (if that exists), no situations have ever worked out for you.

Everyone has a 100% relationship failure rate up until their current partner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

OP you are what is wrong with the world! Give me those feckin numbers, you dont deserve them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

anncoates wrote: »

But if he really wants me and feels he deserves all this love I have to give, surely he'll stop me one day as I walk down the street, take me by the hand, and I'll fall for him there and then and it'll be wonderful and magic and sparkles and omgmyprince is out there, I just know he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

The rules are...

1)there are no rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Two people I know are happily married to partners they met in Coppers. You're missing out OP.

Sauve wrote: »
    But if he really wants me and feels he deserves all this love I have to give, surely he'll stop me one day as I walk down the street, take me by the hand, and I'll fall for him there and then and it'll be wonderful and magic and sparkles and omgmyprince is out there, I just know he is.

Pffft, unless he knows all the words to the song you just made up in your head about him, then he isn't the one for you.

Sauve wrote: »

And then I go and say to to you something stupid like 'I love glue '.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

stedfast rules on meeting someone only limit your chances of meeting the right person, if you adhere to some silly notion of meeting someone in the "right environment" many wonderful potential partners may slip through the cracks. i met my missus in a cheesy bar and it is a source of lighthearted jokes among both us ourselves and our friends. but to this day i am glad I went there that night:)
    if you meet her in coppers of in the queue in Aldi, it doesnt matter, what will matter alot more if the opinion you form of her over the first 2 dates, after that you will be in a position to decide wether you want to pursue her further

First of all, I didn't say women specifically. That's the reason I said partners.

Secondly, to everyone who thinks I'm close minded or whatever, I'm not. I'm a huge fan of online dating, speed dating, joining new clubs and the sort.
    what the fuck are you doing there yourself?
    Thirdly, with that comment you're assuming I go to nightclubs just to meet women. That's not the case

All I wanted was peoples opinions on whether they think a nightclub/pub is a good place to meet somebody. I left my own opinion to generate some interest and hopefully get people to share their own opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

All I wanted was peoples opinions on whether they think a nightclub/pub is a good place somebody. I left my own opinion to generate some interest and hopefully get people to share their own opinions.

Either the person is 'right' or they are not. Where you meet them has little or nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Two people I know are happily married to partners they met in Coppers. You're missing out OP.

Me bollix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Me bollix!

I'm uninterested in, and thankfully unfamiliar with, your bollix.

Thirdly, with that comment you're assuming I go to nightclubs just to meet women. That's not the case

That's not the point.

If you think you won't meet anybody decent in a nightclub, does that mean to a woman in the club that likes you, that you're not a decent option?

That's not the point.

If you think you won't meet anybody decent in a nightclub, does that mean to a woman in the club that likes you, that you're not a decent option?

I wouldn't go looking for somebody to start a relationship with in a nightclub so why would I think that a woman would do the same?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I wouldn't go looking for somebody to start a relationship with in a nightclub so why would I think that a woman would do the same?
    That kind of mind set means you'll discount a lot of opportunities. why not just see what happens?

smash wrote: »
    That kind of mind set means you'll discount a lot of opportunities. why not just see what happens?

If I met a girl in a club that I liked enough I probably would. As of yet, that hasn't happened.

OP , you're right there are many places you could go to meet a potential partner
    Weightwatchers, funeral homes , nudist colonies all should give you a variety of possible partners.

I wouldn't go to a bus stop or a library looking for a girl to have a relationship with either but it might happen.

The fact of the matter is that you are assigning a certain level of not-relationship-material judgment to women in nightclubs when you yourself are there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

When I was single, I never did.
    Usually because the girls I'd meet when I was drunk weren't "keepers"...

Somehow alcohol managed to impair my judgment...