Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai & traffic control centre muppets

• 13-02-2013 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Small accident involving a fender bender yesterday morning on the Chapelizod bypass, about 400m from the Island bridge traffic lights on the way into town.

Guards closed 3 lanes and forced all commuter traffic into the bus lane!

What a complete joke, I feel I should be able to seek damages from the driver for the morning of work I missed out on in the queue to get past.

Its simply not acceptable to close a whole motorway for a fender bender.

To add insult to injury, all the traffic lights this morning where out of sync on the right hand turn for Kilmainham, further causing huge tailbacks on the bypass, but instead of directing traffic, muppet traffic cop was pulling people for using the bus lane to go left to the phoenix park....

What an absolute joke this city is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Small accident involving a fender bender yesterday morning on the Chapelizod bypass, about 400m from the Island bridge traffic lights on the way into town.

What a complete joke, I feel I should be able to seek damages from the driver for the morning of work I missed out on in the queue to get past.

Its simply not acceptable to close a whole motorway for a fender bender.

To add insult to injury, all the traffic lights this morning where out of sync on the right hand turn for Kilmainham, further causing huge tailbacks on the bypass, but instead of directing traffic, muppet traffic cop was pulling people for using the bus lane to go left to the phoenix park....

What an absolute joke this city is...

[pedant] Chapelizod bypass isn't a motorway[/pedant]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 denislaurie

[pedant] Chapelizod bypass isn't a motorway[/pedant]

Its a motorway in the sense its A controlled-access highway is a highway designed exclusively for high-speed vehicular traffic, with all traffic flow and ingress/egress regulated.

Its not a motorway as defined by the road traffic act... if thats what you mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

While I get you are angry OP there is hundreds of other people in the same position as you. Do you feel the time you wasted is any more important then everyone else's.

The traffic control centre have more information at their fingertips to see what they needed to mess with the traffic light sequence.

I'm sorry you were late for a meeting etc but I'm sure they needed to close the road for whatever reason.

It happens deal with it move on. Be angry sure but accidents happen and it would be a strange one for the cops to close a road with just a minor tip it must have required proper emergency assistance, I'm thinking ambulance and a tow truck all which need room to work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

A real highway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, I think you seriously need to chill out a little. Sh1t happens so getting all stressed out aint going to get you to work any quicker. Just deal with it and move on or you could end up in an early grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

How very dare they, don't they know your daddy is the richest portner in the world?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

What do you know? For all you know there could have been a fluid leak out onto the carriageway which merited the closures. In fact, there could be any number of reasons why they closed the road. It was hardly for the craic. Remember that the Gardai generally have to deal with the fall back of closures like that when it's reopened. They're hardly going to cause themselves heart ache if they don't have too.
    I laughed out loud to this one.

Imagine yourself standing in front of a judge telling him that you're entitled to damages from the liable party because you didn't leave work early enough.

Just try and imagine your argument and what he'd say to you. If it ends well for you in your head then you might need to start over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

OP maybe you'd be happier living somewhere else.