Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Were You Afraid Of Your Parents?

• 10-02-2013 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

I was. Growing up I was also afraid of my teachers, the Gardai and adults in general.

Now I don't mean I was in fear of my life for getting the crap beaten out of me but I was afraid of getting in trouble or getting a smack for doing something wrong.

My parents rarely raised their hands to me but the fear of being punished was enough to put me off acting the bollix too much.

These days kids seem to have no fear, no respect for their elders and no fear of retribution. Being sent to your room now means you can bitch and moan to your friends on facebook about how unfair your parents are as opposed to solitary confinement. Parents seem to blame teachers for their childrens poor grades instead of looking closer to home.

I'm not condoning corporal punishment or child abuse but IMO it a lot of kids could benefit from a smack or two to keep them in line.
    Post edited by HildaOgdenx on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

The threat of the "wooden spoon" was enough to keep us in check:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I was definitely afraid of my dad. He's quite stern and always followed through with punishments, no matter what. He also had very little patience for nonsense, so I couldn't really get away with much before he snapped and sent me to my room or gave out to me or whatever. My mother is much more placid and would put up with a lot more before becoming angry. She used to threaten us with the whole, "If you don't stop that nonsense now, I'm going to call Dad!" or "You better get up those stairs, Dad's coming in the door any minute now!" or something to that effect. Dad was always involved in the threats.

I was a bit bolder in school. Kind of a smart arse.

You don't have to lay a finger on your kids for them to respect you. In fact, if the only way you can get your child to behave is by hitting them, you're doing it wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 170 ✭✭Oh hai

Somewhere between the last generation and this one respect has been completely lost. I'm not that ancient and I remember you'd sh1t yourself if you were given a telling off by a teacher or if a garda even looked at you. It's almost the other way around now, my sister works in education and she said the teachers are half afraid of the students there, they've almost taken over. It's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

You don't have to lay a finger on your kids for them to respect you. In fact, if the only way you can get your child to behave is by hitting them, you're doing it wrong.

Ultimately I agree, but how did this happen:
    Oh hai wrote: »
    Somewhere between the last generation and this one respect has been completely lost. I'm not that ancient and I remember you'd sh1t yourself if you were given a telling off by a teacher or if a garda even looked at you. It's almost the other way around now, my sister works in education and she said the teachers are half afraid of the students there, they've almost taken over. It's sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

My parents never raised their hands to me or my brother but we knew that when they told us not to do something it meant we did as they told us.

I only remember my father really loosing it on one occasion when I disappeared one winter evening when I was about 8 years old.
    I couldn't see why he was shouting at me but it was the time that the kids were going missing years ago and now I see he was afraid someone had taken me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Somewhere between the last generation and this one respect has been completely lost.

Quite the generatlisation there, plenty of kids have respect these days. Older people who demand respect off kids based solely on the fact that they are older would be a bigger problem than kids lacking respect in my experience. Kids should be taught to show others the level of respect they show to them no matter what age they are.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Ultimately I agree, but how did this happen:

Parents became softer, kids got spoilt, working parents felt guilty that they're not around as much. Exactly how you think it happened really, but violence never needs to come into it.

You think the young fellas that rob cars, disrespect their teachers, carry knives, break into houses etc never got a smack across the back of the legs?

Edit: And not all kids are like that, the younger generations will always get a hard time from the older ones, we just forget that we weren't always sweet and innocent ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

To be honest, I think in some cases it's gone full circle. It's gone from parents being very harsh on their children to parents being too soft. I think the softness is possibly a result of the strict upbringings some people may have had themselves, and so they decide they don't want to bring their own children up like that, and end up being way too lax. I've seen some kids walking all over their parents. My best friend's little cousin called his mother a c*nt one day in front of a room full of people and she just ignored him, didn't call him out on it or anything. If I ever called my mother a c*nt, I would have been locked away in my room and probably would never have seen the light of day again.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Quite the generatlisation there, plenty of kids have respect these days. Older people who demand respect off kids based solely on the fact that they are older would be a bigger problem than kids lacking respect in my experience. Kids should be taught to show others the level of respect they show to them no matter what age they are.

Bollix.

When I worked in hospitality I found most kids to be ignorant little sh1ts. I even had a 10 year old kid square up to me one day when I told him to sit down and stop running around. I'm not a small dude and I wasn't working in a sh1thole of a place either. I found kids that actually said please and thank you without being told to be the exception rather than the norm.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

Afraid of having my Commodore 64 taken away and not getting Xtravision money, sure - but not of violence.

Parents became softer

Why though?
    kids got spoilt, working parents felt guilty that they're not around as much. Exactly how you think it happened really, but violence never needs to come into it.

You think the young fellas that rob cars, disrespect their teachers, carry knives, break into houses etc never got a smack across the back of the legs?

Edit: And not all kids are like that, the younger generations will always get a hard time from the older ones, we just forget that we weren't always sweet and innocent ourselves.

I know I ended my OP saying a lot of kids could do with a smack but I actually don't condone violence.

Like some of the posters above I know I was afraid of the repercussions of acting the tit as a kid and I have the height of respect for my parents. Many kids these days don't seem to have that at all and I wonder where it all went wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

My mam used to scream blue murder at us and threaten us with sharp objects, we used to think she was hilarious! My dad, on the other hand, he is the quietest man, I've never in my life heard him raise his voice and he's never ever hit us but he has this look..... This awful look of pure disappointment. He'd just go silent and look at you.
    My ghod, you'd be hoping the ground would open up and take you. We never crossed him, not for any reason.
    He's a great laugh though, he'd do anything to make us turn purple with laughter! I couldn't tell you how he garnered this fear out of us, although my husband says I'm well able to do the look too. He claims I've turned it on him on more than a few occasions lol!

Why though?

Like I said, guilt. Parents feel bad for working full time. They want to be friends with their kids more than ever. I'm sure abuse scandals have a lot to do with it too - anyone in authority is now seen as a potential enemy. Parents want to be the ones who discipline their kids - a teacher does it they're the worst in the world.

I still think kids these days get a bad rap. There are a lot of great kids out there, and I know more lovely, friendly, polite kids than I do disrespectful ones.
    I know I ended my OP saying a lot of kids could do with a smack but I actually don't condone violence.

Well no, you ended it with saying you didn't agree with corporal punishment or abuse. Smacking a child is violence, so if you condone it, you condone violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Only during a full moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Bollix.

When I worked in hospitality I found most kids to be ignorant little sh1ts. I even had a 10 year old kid square up to me one day when I told him to sit down and stop running around. I'm not a small dude and I wasn't working in a sh1thole of a place either. I found kids that actually said please and thank you without being told to be the exception rather than the norm.

Probably should have tried treating him with the respect you were looking for in return.

Like I said, guilt. Parents feel bad for working full time. They want to be friends with their kids more than ever. I'm sure abuse scandals have a lot to do with it too - anyone in authority is now seen as a potential enemy. Parents want to be the ones who discipline their kids - a teacher does it they're the worst in the world.

I still think kids these days get a bad rap. There are a lot of great kids out there, and I know more lovely, friendly, polite kids than I do disrespectful ones.

Well no, you ended it with saying you didn't agree with corporal punishment or abuse. Smacking a child is violence, so if you condone it, you condone violence.

I guess you're right.

But the problem is the parents who want to do the disciplining don't seem to be doing it very well in a lot of cases.

If it takes a smack on the back of the legs to keep a child in check well then yes, I do condone violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭shrubs

As a kid/teenager I was but thankfully the fear turned to respect a long time ago!

But the problem is the parents who want to do the disciplining don't seem to be doing it very well in a lot of cases.

I agree, there are a lot of rubbish parents out there. I know some of them myself. Funny thing is, the worst of the kids I know, are the ones who've been smacked. One in particular will hit back!
    If it takes a smack on the back of the legs to keep a child in check well then yes, I do condone violence.

That's my point though, it shouldn't take a smack. It's lazy parenting. If it worked, you'd only have to do it once, but that's not what happens.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Probably should have tried treating him with the respect you were looking for in return.

LOL!:D

When you were a kid and were out in a pub / hotel / restaurant for dinner with your folks were you allowed run around the place or were you made sit by your parents and behave?

Exactly what respect do you think a 10 year old kid who is running around potentially causing havoc deserves?

If that was your child I had told to go sit down would you have taken me to task on it?

'If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Was prob more afraid of me Ma, used to hate her giving out to me, then the "go to your room and wait til your father gets home!" This would be 10am so I'd have to wait til 5pm for me Da to come up and give me the lecture, twas a long day I can tell ya......keeping a 30 year old in his room all day is not good for him :pac:

That's my point though, it shouldn't take a smack. It's lazy parenting. If it worked, you'd only have to do it once, but that's not what happens.

So any parent who gave their child a little slap on the back of the legs when they misbehaved is a 'lazy parent'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

My ma used to wear a duffel coat and those wooden heeled schol sandals so I was terrified of her.......

Turning up anywhere within a mile radius of school, that is.

kfallon wrote: »
    So any parent who gave their child a little slap on the back of the legs when they misbehaved is a 'lazy parent'?

In my opinion, yes.

I agree, there are a lot of rubbish parents out there. I know some of them myself. Funny thing is, the worst of the kids I know, are the ones who've been smacked. One in particular will hit back!

But to be fair it's lazy parenting in general that causes the problem. If kids aren't disciplined for wrongdoing they won't learn when they are wrong.

Also I bloody hate bad manners and parents that won't teach their kids to say please and thank you. :mad:

But to be fair it's lazy parenting in general that causes the problem. If kids aren't disciplined for wrongdoing they won't learn when they are wrong.

Fully agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 arboroia

"The children now love luxury; they have bad manners, contempt for authority; they allow disrespect for elders and love chatter in place of exercise. Children now are tyrants, not the servants of their households. They no longer rise when elders enter the room. They contradict their parents, chatter before company, gobble up dainties at the table, cross their legs, and tyrannize their teachers.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Realtine

Senna wrote: »
    The threat of the "wooden spoon" was enough to keep us in check:D

HA - indeed! I remember this well and/or the threat of 'boarding school'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Realtine wrote: »
    HA - indeed! I remember this well and/or the threat of 'boarding school'.

I wonder if that threat ever worked for some kids?

In my opinion, yes.

My Da did it to me a few times (prob no more than 3 or 4) when I was younger, the man was not a lazy parent, far from it in fact and I kinda resent your sweeping generalisations about people you know nothing about.

I was prob being a little shit and deserved it. No doubt I'd got a few warnings first, he didn't really have the time to lie me on the couch and give me a psychological evaluation as to why I was doing the 'bold' thing I was doing. It taught me right from wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

As someone above said,the threat of the wooden spoon was enough for us most of the time!
    My poor mother could have shouted until she was blue in the face but we knew we were in trouble when Dad was called! he very rarely even raised his voice to any of us but my god, if he ever did, that was enough to have us in tears!
    We're all the best of friends now :D

kfallon wrote: »
    My Da did it to me a few times (prob no more than 3 or 4) when I was younger, the man was not a lazy parent, far from it in fact and I kinda resent your sweeping generalisations about people you know nothing about. was doing the 'bold' thing I was doing. It taught me right from wrong

Actually, I take that back, it's lazy parenting - as opposed to only done by lazy parents. There are lazy parents who don't smack too. The act of hitting a child because they couldn't be bothered dealing with the behavior, is lazy.

A man possibly four times your size thought it was OK to inflict violence on you. That's not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm not condoning corporal punishment or child abuse but IMO it a lot of kids could benefit from a smack or two to keep them in line.

The problem is that too many people see that as license to abuse their bestowed right. I grew up in a very rough estate and know that when the wider society accepts something as normal, less people are likely to be concerned about others going too far.

My own opinion is that hitting a child is bad.. not because most people are bad; but because most people are less likely to see harm when something is widely accepted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

In my experience, the definition of lazy parenting is giving in. Letting them have another biscuit, that packet of sweets at the till. That's when the rot sets in and that child grows up being spoilt and unafraid of consequences.

I can remember getting a smack on the arse twice (my brothers got more). It was usually the threat that worked though. It worked for us. We needed that bit of fear, not to be talked to or put in a corner. They're were 6 of us, more including neighbours running wild on big farms, in forests and bogs. The bolloxing we done was unreal. But more importantly, the messing we could have done, if not for the fear and humiliation of a slap, was huge too. It worked for us, but I you shouldn't call parents lazy for putting manners on us a different way than you had. Lazy is no manners at all.

The problem is that too many people see that as license to abuse their bestowed right. I grew up in a very rough estate and know that when the wider society accepts something as normal, less people are likely to be concerned about others going too far.

My own opinion is that hitting a child is bad.. not because most people are bad; but because most people are less likely to see harm when something is widely accepted.

Hitting a child is wrong for sure but if a child is acting up and ignoring repeated warnings and alternative punishments how else can you escalate the situation?

As a child I was very rarely smacked but the fear of it happening kept me in check and I feel I am the better person for it now.

Actually, I take that back, it's lazy parenting - as opposed to only done by lazy parents. There are lazy parents who don't smack too. The act of hitting a child because they couldn't be bothered dealing with the behavior, is lazy.

A man possibly four times your size thought it was OK to inflict violence on you. That's not right.

A man nearly 20 times the size of me decided to give me a life when nobody wanted me, he didn't have to but he did! He then proceeded to work his hole off to put me through school and ensure his 4 children had a good quality of life and both my parents were supportive of us in everything we wanted to do. I was also taught never to pass judgement on someone I never knew.

I wouldn't call that lazy parents or lazy parenting. My parents are my heroes, without them I have absolutely no idea where I would have ended up or how my life would have turned out. I hit the jackpot the day they took me home and I resent anyone trying to label them lazy. My last post on it cos I've no intention on having an argument with someone on the internet about the merits of my folks.

As with most things on internet forums, we'll agree to disagree

Ah come on, there's a difference between hitting a child and a smack on the back of the legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

As a child I remember throwing the mother of all temper tantrums, I was eight and went into a right huff. I got 6 lashes across the arse with a huge spatula, no force spared. Straightened me out to be frank. Sister was a few years younger than me, got nowhere near the same treatment. Guess which one of us turned out to be the more troublesome one, not me!!!!. My father didn't raise a hand to us, but he went through with any threat he made to take stuff off us.

As a mother I am seen by other parents in toddler groups as cruel. If my son misbehaves I take toys and sweets away, on occasion I will just put him in his buggy and walk out of a place and straight home, I allow him scream and don't buckle to his demands, if he says "I want" the answer he gets before the sentence is even finished "I want gets nothing." The result, please and thank you are used when he requests and gets something, "Please may I have" is what gets something. He says excuse me if he has to interrupt a conversation. So I am the cruel one, while their brats are horrible and mine more often than not gets compliments for being well behaved. Still nowhere near the discipline we got though, so he still has quite the cheeky streak.

Rasheed wrote: »
    Ah come on, there's a difference between hitting a child and a smack on the back of the legs.

And there's too many people that think a smack on the back of the legs is child abuse. ;)

Hitting a child is wrong for sure but if a child is acting up and ignoring repeated warnings and alternative punishments how else can you escalate the situation?

As a child I was very rarely smacked but the fear of it happening kept me in check and I feel I am the better person for it now.

If an adult is acting up or ignoring warnings should they be smacked too? Who defines what the acceptable level of belligerence is before you hit someone... or what the acceptable level of force / violence is when you do so?

People wouldn't get away with battering someone their own age because they were belligerent.. it should never be an excuse for hitting a child. Just my own opinion... and I'm not at all opposed to good parents using good judgement... just opposed to enabling some to do so through laws which should protect the integrity of kids rather than allow for others to remove that integrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

My dad was a pussycat(never smacked any of us - four brothers and me), my mum for such a small woman had a real knack for that smack across the back of your knees you wouldn't believe who sore it was and how quickly it was done:eek:

If an adult is acting up or ignoring warnings should they be smacked too? Who defines what the acceptable level of belligerence is before you hit someone... or what the acceptable level of force / violence is when you do so?

People wouldn't get away with battering someone their own age because they were belligerent.. it should never be an excuse for hitting a child. Just my own opinion... and I'm not at all opposed to good parents using good judgement... just opposed to enabling some to do so through laws which should protect the integrity of kids rather than allow for others to remove that integrity.

Since when is a smack on the back of the legs battering?

Also if you have a child it is your responsibility to teach them right from wrong and good manners. It is not your responsibility to teach an adult on the street right from wrong - if they've grown up to be a scrote that's their parents fault IMO, not mine. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

it really depends on the child whether a smack actualy works, those of us with classic autism; or intelectual disability [aka learning disability here] do not have the capacity to understand the association and why its being used.
    was beaten every day by dad with his fists,slippers,hardback books,belts etc as his way of controling behavior and difficulties of mine but the only thing it ever created was to have no relationship with him what soever,we lived in the same house but was not aware of him and never recognised him as a dad until in twenties,the only time he interacted was to use his fists.mum had self medicated with alcohol when was a toddler as she coudnt cope and she had been blamed by the doctors for causing the disabilities so she never spoke to anyone for help, was neglected and felt totaly hated,more so by dad as mum never ever hit when not drunk.
    didnt find out until diagnosed with it in twenties but as a toddler the neglect and lack of attachment with dad; and daily onslaught of physical abuse had triggered a lifelong severe condition called reactive attachment disorder.

some people really do think hitting does no harm because it done them no harm but not everyone has the same mentality to understand or deal with it.
    there is much better ways of dealing with childrens behaviors now,jo whatshername from supernanny has shown some good ones on her 'extreme parenting' shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 baaah

Madam wrote: »
    My dad was a pussycat(never smacked any of us - four brothers and me), my mum for such a small woman had a real knack for that smack across the back of your knees you wouldn't believe who sore it was and how quickly it was done:eek:

You could be almost describing my situation ...small mam, soft dad! A little tap of the wooden spoon on the bottom administered by mum followed by a stern look from dad was enough to bring us back into line :-)

If an adult is acting up or ignoring warnings should they be smacked too? Who defines what the acceptable level of belligerence is before you hit someone... or what the acceptable level of force / violence is when you do.
    An adult had judgment, a child has little or none. Would I smack a naughty child in a supermarket? No, if course I wouldn't. The onus is on the parent to do whatever they need to do to discipline the child and teach right from wrong. This is to improve that child's judgement for later in life.

Since when is a smack on the back of the legs battering?

Also if you have a child it is your responsibility to teach them right from wrong and good manners. It is not your responsibility to teach an adult on the street right from wrong - if they've grown up to be a scrote that's their parents fault IMO, not mine. ;)

Well that's the point. Unless you can define what a 'smack on the back of the legs' is, and how forceful it might be; then nobody else can really say whether it's right or wrong objectively. Therefor it's better, imo.. to err on the side of caution and not resort to violence at all when it comes to children. I can't condone one person smacking their kid while decrying another for smacking theirs, and nor should the law attempt to do so.

Scruffles wrote: »
    it really depends on the child whether a smack actualy works, those of us with classic autism; or intelectual disability [aka learning disability here] do not have the capacity to understand the association and why its being used.
    was beaten every day by dad with his fists,slippers,hardback books,belts etc as his way of controling behavior and difficulties of mine but the only thing it ever created was to have no relationship with him what soever,we lived in the same house but was not aware of him and never recognised him as a dad until in twenties,the only time he interacted was to use his fists.mum had self medicated with alcohol when was a toddler as she coudnt cope and she had been blamed by the doctors for causing the disabilities so she never spoke to anyone for help, was neglected and felt totaly hated,more so by dad as mum never ever hit when not drunk.
    didnt find out until diagnosed with it in twenties but as a toddler the neglect and lack of attachment with dad; and daily onslaught of physical abuse had triggered a lifelong severe condition called reactive attachment disorder.

some people really do think hitting does no harm because it done them no harm but not everyone has the same mentality to understand or deal with it.
    there is much better ways of dealing with childrens behaviors now,jo whatshername from supernanny has shown some good ones on her 'extreme parenting' shows.

I'm very sorry to hear this, this is abuse and way over the top.

Too much is too much in terms of discipline but no discipline at all is just as negligent as serious abuse IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Fully agree with the OP on this one - great thread btw

Put simply, I think parents today are afraid to be parents. Since the late 80s/early 90s, coinciding with the rise of global TV and media and then the Internet, parents have been conditioned to think that they're emotionally scarring a child by enforcing rules and instilling a basic sense of right from wrong and respect in them.

Then of course they hear the reports of kids suing their parents, or nosey do-gooders reporting others to social services.. any wonder then that the current generation of parents just plonk the kid in front of the TV and leave it to the schools to teach them more than just history and maths.

I'm not talking about beating kids black and blue for the slightest transgression by the way but I don't see anything wrong with a little fear/respect for your parents when you're growing up. It's the lack of this that has schools in chaos in some cases, old people being terrorised by gangs os 12-15 year olds that the Gardai can't/won't do anything about, and it only gets worse as they get older believe me.

All this PC do-goodery, nanny-state bulls*t has a lot to answer for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Then of course they hear the reports of kids suing their parents, or nosey do-gooders reporting others to social services..

I'm not talking about beating kids black and blue for the slightest transgression by the way but I don't see anything wrong with a little fear/respect for your parents when you're growing up.

All this PC do-goodery, nanny-state bulls*t has a lot to answer for!

I had someone report me to social services for allowing my child tantrum and not give into it. I picked him up off the floor (we were at a outpatients Dept of a hospital) and there was a warfarin (sp?) clinic on, so he was in danger of a person tripping over him. But I did nothing to placate the tantrum (give in once and the game is up IMHO) Social Services laughed at the explanation. They told me not to even bother worrying, but they have to be seen to follow up complaints.

On another occasion there was a discussion on here about smacking children and I admitted on rare occasion to smacking mine. I was getting lasagne out of the oven and my son came over and tried to grab the garlic bread, which was still in the oven. I told him to get back, no good. I yelled at him to get back, no good. The lasagne was starting to get heavy and the heat was going through the towel and still he went for the bread, I had no choice, I had to smack his hand, not brutally, not with a crack that resounded around the room, but a smack. As far as some boardsies were concerned, I should have been lynched. I should never have touched him. I asked would they rather my son was left alone and was burnt by a 200-230 degree oven and left with scarring and a trip to Crumlin. Their attitude....."Oh well what you did was worse":confused:

Some people need their head examined. He could have had permanent scars on his hand and horrible agony, instead two minutes later he was eating his food, no tears and watching TV. I know which I'd rather!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Usually the threat of the wooden spoon was enough to keep us in line. We very rarely had any physical punishment, when we did it would've been a few slaps on the bare back legs and it was always, always deserved. We were brought up to treat adults with respect, no back chat.

In our teens we would've been grounded if we were in trouble for something and our pocket money would have been stopped for anywhere between a week and a month. My dad was the operations manager of a business and I remember once when I was about 16, I honestly don't recall what I'd done wrong, but he brought me up to the factory that weekend and made me scrub both the womens and mens toilets:eek:

This current generation worries me, what with the general lack of manners and the serious attitude problems they have I dread to think of what kind of kids they'll spawn in years to come.