Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sheep stolen...any advice?

• 10-02-2013 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

tearing my hair out here...i run 100 ewe flock along with sucklers on my 83 acre farm.i run them on 35 acres along the motorway between kildare/monastrevin.this is my 3 year in sheep and things were goin well with my small flock producing 1.5 lambs per ewe to slaughter....until september

i was checking the last 10 lambs i had left when to my surprize i found the gate between the weaned lambs and ewes open and the lambs back in with the ewes..."no biggie".i thought so i just sorted them but when i did i noticed i was minus 3 of the best lambs.so on inspecting the premiter of the field i noticed marks on the timber railing motorway fencing and a flattened grass path up the slope of the motorway where the lambs were dragged up

this happend again with a nice suffock breeding ram in november which was with the ewes..same style job. Now last week i notice some sheep penning gone too
    problem is this land is my best grazing ground and its the only ground on the farm fenced for sheep...the rest of my grazing is only fenced with electric fence and would cost huge money to sheep proof...i dont want to go back to a beef only farm but fear for my lambs due the end of the month!

anyone else exsperience this or simuler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Report them stolen anyway to keep your flock register right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Report them stolen anyway to keep your flock register right.

did that soon as i noticed them gone..but the ways things are going im afraid i wont have a flock to register!

Good @ reported.

There's a lot of stealing going on. Local man to me has 25 gone since November. Another is complaining of missing some as well but I didn't find out how many.

You could maybe try a trail/game camera or two pointed at gateways, if you have good cover to hide them. They can be got for handy enough money now.

Sorry, none of that is any consolation to you I know.

Good @ reported.

There's a lot of stealing going on. Local man to me has 25 gone since November. Another is complaining of missing some as well but I didn't find out how many.

You could maybe try a trail/game camera or two pointed at gateways, if you have good cover to hide them. They can be got for handy enough money now.

cheers for the advice,problem is the theives are jumpin the motorway fencing and have a choice of 2 kilometers of fencing to jump over..so it would be impossable to put up any camreas over such an area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

Shower of bastards, I know what I would suggest but not sure the mods would too happy with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭micky mouse

grazeaway wrote: »
    Shower of bastards, I know what I would suggest but not sure the mods would too happy with me.
    Plus one.Did a judge not say two weeks ago on a daily paper that you dont want to be going out to those people with only a hurley in your hand.And garda stations being closed down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sounds like it could be foxes. Do you have a shotgun that you could shoot at them with? :pac:

=-=

As said, get a trail cam, and see if it helps you ID the people stealing your sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Why don't u put up a good electric fence over the timbr fencing. It will stop them hopping over the fence

Whats a trail/game camera,sorry if its a stupid question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Whats a trail/game camera,sorry if its a stupid question.

These sort of things:
    240498.jpg

Many types to be seen here:
    http://www.trailcampro.com/

They're outdoor/rugged cameras that are put in place to photograph whatever activity occurs in front of them, usually used to keep an eye on game by hunters, but very useful for general security too, as suggected here.

There are a lot of threads on them over in the Hunting forum.

thanks for all the suggestions lads,unfoutunitly there is way to much of an area for trail cams.i could try the electric fence but have my doubts in them not just breaking it down with a large branch or somting

was thinking about raising the post and rail fencing with 2 strands of barbed wire but a small wire snips would get them through this also!.As far as i can see i have only 2 options

1 graze my cattle on this land and spend a few €1000s on sheep fencing on the rest of the farm

2 reduce my flock so i can just use the fields around the house/farm yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Rovi wrote: »
    outdoor/rugged cameras that are put in place to photograph whatever activity occurs in front of them, usually used to keep an eye on game by hunters, but very useful for general security

The one that texts you the image when activated is a good job, as they allow you the chance of catching them in the act.
    They really come into their own if you have a set-up with one very defined access point. 2k of access limits their use.
    I like the sound of a good electric fence though!

Thanks rovi,had sheep stolen on me too,on an outlying farm.Must look into those cameras.Have a fair idea who took them but with no proof have to keep me trap shut.Meeting the f...... every other day on the road.He works in the area,has a history of this sort of thing.The one thing that connects all the stealing is that there is always a local connection at some angle.Im also along a main road

Bizzum wrote: »
    The one that texts you the image when activated is a good job, as they allow you the chance of catching them in the act.
    They really come into their own if you have a set-up with one very defined access point. What name/type camera is that one bizzum.Dont know anything about security cameras .Saw one on donedeal with black led flash (i think it said) and the scumbags cant see the infa red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

How about sending him an anonymous letter, along the lines of 'Did you steal three lambs recently'? Or ask the guards to have a word in his ear?

What does he do with them? Would one man catch them, lift over a fence and put in trailer? Put a distinguishing mark on them and take photographs.

What name/type camera is that one bizzum.Dont know anything about security cameras .Saw one on donedeal with black led flash (i think it said) and the scumbags cant see the infa red

I'll tell ya in a day or two the make and model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I do not in any way mean to be smart but my neighbour bought a wicked jersey bull just for that purpose. Believe me a jersey bull that's wicked is like having a crocodile in the paddock, they will only go in once more
    We've had a quad stolen last year and I totally understand your frustration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

thanks for all the suggestions lads,unfoutunitly there is way to much of an area for trail cams.i could try the electric fence but have my doubts in them not just breaking it down with a large branch or somting

was thinking about raising the post and rail fencing with 2 strands of barbed wire but a small wire snips would get them through this also!.As far as i can see i have only 2 options
    Maybe put something not to obvious along the fence, and leave a "gap" near some trees that strap a trailcam to?

This "something" could be large boulders, a ditch, etc. Something to make it harder for them to get across, but at the same time, if you leave a gap, they should take the bait, and allow you to get some pictures of them. Try to ensure the patch is a well lit patch, so you can get some decent shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

delaval wrote: »
    I do not in any way mean to be smart but my neighbour bought a wicked jersey bull just for that purpose. Believe me a jersey bull that's wicked is like having a crocodile in the paddock, they will only go in once more
    We've had a quad stolen last year and I totally understand your frustration

a lad i used to play soccer with runs a small flock of sheep on a bit of land he got from an uncle. Its not really suitable for cattle and the fields are too small and awakward for tillage so he got himself about 20 sheep. The farm is squezzed inbetween 2 main raods. Like yourself things were going well until a few went missing. He tried everything even spent a few nights curled up in the ditch to catch the f**kers. Anyway the following summer a stray goat wandered into his place and took up reisdense. He had no luck finding a owner and was planning on trying to get it to the animal shelter. Long story short he was up one evening to check the lambs when he heard a big load of shouting from the other side of the ditch. the goat was after flattening some fella and was getting stuck in him on the ground. Yer man had a story that he only popped in for a piss and that the goat attacked him. No problem says the buddy we'll let the gaurds sorted it out. he couldnt prove that it was the same lad that was robbing the sheep but as he pointed out to the gaurds, you dont put on a pair of wellies and overalls to have a piss by the side of the road. Sheep have been fine since. Goat died over the winter so i think he going to get either another goat or maybe a donkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

You could put a bull in the field. He doesn't have to be wicked (..:D) but if they see him, it might be enough to put them off.

For the future, would you plant a hedge? Something thick and thorny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭brownswiss

Good @ reported.

''''''

This is no consolation either...http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/4780774/Ex-pal-of-Westlifer-convicted-for-handling-stolen-tractor.html

Why does a judge let someone like this walk away free? What is the deterrent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

I may be wrong, but if the perimeter of the field was breached, twice, both times for the same reason, I would be of the opinion it is the same person taking your animals.

can you spray the heep a distinctive colour - pink?!
    I think the suggestions of a bull or donkey in the field would help matters.
    lots of burnt oil on the railings also.

the other thing is, theres a crook butcher who is taking these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Signs to say that security cameras are recording along the perimiter. Even install a few dummy ones which have the littlr red led light flashing on them.

Put up a strong electric fence. Put pulse lights on it which flash with each tick of the fence.

Put signs up over the fence which say that it is a 240v fence and contact with it will result in death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,494 ✭✭✭harr

Seems to happening a lot in recent weeks,was talking to a lad who has sheep just outside monastrevan in a field off the motorway(portlaoise side) and he has had 6 go missing and even found the fleece and guts of one where they skinned and gutted them beside the barrow :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

harr wrote: »
    Seems to happening a lot in recent weeks,was talking to a lad who has sheep just outside monastrevan in a field off the motorway(portlaoise side) and he has had 6 go missing and even found the fleece and guts of one where they skinned and gutted them beside the barrow :eek:

I don't mean to be racist about it or anything, but weren't the guys who did that caught with unstamped whole lambs over a BBQ? They turned out to be Eastern European's and some of them worked in irish meat factories so they had the necessary skills to slaughter the animals!

The camera I was talking about is the Ltl Acorn Mobile Scouting Camera. The Ltl5210M series can be bundled with an MMS module and this set-up will text you a picture message when activated. I think it's about €250 for the set-up.
    You would have to specify that MMS is required otherwise they record what they see onto an SD card, which isn't as good because you would only have the info after the event (when you'd check the card).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭tony007

Check out Irish websites online that sell sheep. They may pop up there.

thanks for all the suggestions lads....what im thinking of doing now is putting up a strand hi tensile barbed wire (the type with the barbs close together) and connecting it to the mains fencer...ill put it about 8 inches over the top rail of the fence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Xbow i believe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

I remember something from a program maybe ear to the ground or countryfile around christmas 2011, a fella with a load of turkeys had them in a field and had some stolen and so he set up a lazor barrier around the field they were in and anytime the beam is broken an message is sent to his phone something like that might be useful, thats all the info i have on it.

The camera I was talking about is the Ltl Acorn Mobile Scouting Camera. The Ltl5210M series can be bundled with an MMS module and this set-up will text you a picture message when activated. I think it's about €250 for the set-up.
    You would have to specify that MMS is required otherwise they record what they see onto an SD card, which isn't as good because you would only have the info after the event (when you'd check the card).
    Thanks bizzum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

would be a pity not to have a picture when they put there hands to that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

thanks for all the suggestions lads....what im thinking of doing now is putting up a strand hi tensile barbed wire (the type with the barbs close together) and connecting it to the mains fencer...ill put it about 8 inches over the top rail of the fence
    Would be a waste of time, your ordinary fencing pliers is insulated and would cut that

rancher wrote: »
    Would be a waste of time, your ordinary fencing pliers is insulated and would cut

ill give it a go...only thing is if the fence is cut or broken a siren goes off on my fencer unit alerting me of a break...hopfully the hi-tensile barbed wire will fly when cut wraping around the intruders heads while still live and they might reckon tescos meat counter would be a safer place to get there lamb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

rancher wrote: »
    Would be a waste of time, your ordinary fencing pliers is insulated and would cut

ill give it a go...only thing is if the fence is cut or broken a siren goes off on my fencer unit alerting me of a break...hopfully the hi-tensile barbed wire will fly when cut wraping around the intruders heads while still live and they might reckon tescos meat counter would be a safer place to get there lamb

Wouldn't mind seeing that, the siren sounds a great idea, usually learn about a broken fence when the livestock disappear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

hiya, does anyone here have a beam alarm on the go for their yard? i am looking to get an alarm that rings my phone/ sends a text when someone breaks the beam.
    i'll be able to plug it into the mains but wont have a phone line to use so it'd have to have a sim card. i want about 150 yards of a beam.
    does anyone have one - recommend them, recommend a supplier etc, cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

doctor couple cartridges with rice and salt get couple your buddys to wait there with u but get dropped off so no car or that around let them in field and watch them chase them and then when they grab one open fire they.ll prob **** themselves you.ll have a laugh and you.ll sort the problem...reason i prefer rice and salt is rice wil graze them then salt wil burn the graze that was my method for neighbours dog that was attacking my fowl...and he didn come back....

deano2882 wrote: »
    doctor couple cartridges with rice and salt get couple your buddys to wait there with u but get dropped off so no car or that around let them in field and watch them chase them and then when they grab one open fire they.ll prob **** themselves you.ll have a laugh and you.ll sort the problem...reason i prefer rice and salt is rice wil graze them then salt wil burn the graze that was my method for neighbours dog that was attacking my fowl...and he didn come back....

You could be waiting a while;)