Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland vs England, Sun 10 Feb 3pm, [MOD WARNING POST 1200]

• 08-02-2013 2:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

rbs-6-nations.png
    Ireland.pngVS England.png

Ireland:
    15 Rob Kearney, 14 Craig Gilroy, 13 Brian O'Driscoll, 12 Gordon D'Arcy, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Conor Murray,
    8 Jamie Heaslip (c), 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Peter O'Mahony, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Mike McCarthy , 3 Mike Ross, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healy.

Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Declan Fitzpatrick, 19 Donncha O'Callaghan, 20 Chris Henry, 21 Eoin Reddan, 22 Ronan O'Gara, 23 Keith Earls.

England:
    15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Brad Barritt, 12 Billy Twelvetrees, 11 Mike Brown, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Youngs,
    8 Tom Wood, 7 Chris Robshaw (c), 6 James Haskell, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tom Youngs, 1 Joe Marler.

Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 David Wilson, 18 Mako Vunipola, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Thomas Waldrom, 21 Danny Care, 22 Toby Flood, 23 Manu Tuilagi.

Date: Sunday, 10 February
    Venue: Aviva Stadium
    Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
    Referee: Jérôme Garces (France)
    Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Pascal Gauzere (France)
    Television match official: Iain Ramage (Scotland)

After a fantastic opening weekend of this year's Six Nations and a victoryfor both sides, the interest in the latest edition of Ireland versus England. With France and Wales already having lost a chance at a Grand Slam, this fixture could prove to be a Grand Slam decider. Both Ireland and England ended the autumn internationals on a high and continued in that vein with winning performances against Wales and Scotland respectively. Ireland managed to put up a high score that Wales couldn't manage to catch while England dominated Scotland to win the Calcutta Cup for the third year running.

Hopefully by Sunday evening many questions will be answered. Principally among those is the fear of another Irish false dawn. It is too early to dispel Ireland’s label of inconsistency. While the latest team selections by Declan Kidney have not drawn a significant level of ire compared to season’s past, caution should be urged before declaring the Irish side “reborn”. It will and should take many more positive performances to expunge the failures and disappointments of the recent past. The calls for a contract extension are premature. However, the recent signs have been very positive, with both young and experienced stars playing their respective parts in this so far mini-resurgence.

England’s decision to stick with Stuart Lancaster and his coaching panel following his ‘trial run’ in last year’s tournament look to have paid off. The disastrousending of the Martin Johnson era has been largely forgotten; with Lancaster building a new look England side with a noticeable lack of arrogance and swagger, typified by the captain Chris Robshaw. This visit to Dublin will be a massive litmus test for the English side, a win here and they are likely GrandSlam champions, since France must travel to Twickenham which has been their graveyard for many years. Arguably England’s roster doesn’t have the talent ofyears past, but the collective has been very positive. Ireland fans would have killed for a similar win over New Zealand!

Selections
    Gordon-D-Arcy-Ireland-v-England-SN-2012_2897609.jpgmahony_2885430.jpgJamesHaskell_2784292.jpgManu-Tuilagi-England-training-2013_2896265.jpg

Ireland: Unsurprisingly, there are no changes to the Ireland team. All of the injury doubts during the week, O'Mahony, O'Brien, D'Arcy and Earls have been passed fit.

England: Injury to number eight Ben Morgan means James Haskell starts in the England backrow with Tom Wood moving from blindside to number right. Manu Tuilagi is back fit but can only make the bench as Lancaster decides to stick with the midfield pairing of Twelvetrees and Barritt. Haskell perhaps offers a bit more mobility than Morgan.

Key Strengths of Both Teams
    brian-odriscoll-supported-by-gordon-darcy-1682011-3-390x285.jpg24076.2.jpg

Ireland's home advantage is a crucial factor, this is an enormous game and the home crowd will undoubtedly get behind their team. The experience of Ireland's centre partnership played a key role in their period of dominance last weekend and may have an advantage of the inexperienced pairing of Twelvetrees and Barritt, who will play together only for the second time. O'Driscoll's genius to exploit a moment of doubt in the 12/13 channel may prove critical.

England's pack is very strong and takes pride in its set-piece play. Ireland fans don't need to be reminded of the woes that befell Ireland last year. England will be confident of pressing Ireland in both the scrum and lineout, with Launchbury and Parling both impressing against Scotland. Both England scrumhalves will also be crucial, Youngs and Care have the breaking ability to create tries from nothing, their service from the breakdown also allows their teammates to run onto the ball at pace.

Prediction: This is set to be a tense, close game with everything on the line. Both teams will be confident of a victory but they will be grounded at the same time. With the weather set to be less than pleasant, we may be treated to a dogfight. The impact of the benches may prove crucial, with Tuilagi waiting on the wings to inflict pain that New Zealanders discovered to their detriment. Ireland look to have more quality on paper and the superior experience could be key. Ireland by a score.

Player images - INPHO Photgraphy, Getty Images.
    RBS Six Nations copyright Six Nations Rugby Ltd,
    Ireland logo - copyright Irish Rugby Football Union 2013
    England logo - copyright Rugby Football Union 2013
    Images under "Key Strengths" section - INPHO Photography, Getty Images

Everything else is my own work.

Prediction? 237 votes

Ireland
    0%
    England
    76%
    mewsoMy name is MudPaulwdreginmoby2101AkrasiacruiserweightRaiserMeleftoneOtaconmoneymad[Jackass]melekalikimakajamiehelefantRoanmorethebmanbarry181091connemara manFeeder 181 votes
    Too close to call
    23%
    pickarooneyCrowdedHouseyeraulonekollegeknightevil_seedTristramtolosencmarkestmickey1979dobsdaveFratton FredThe CavemanheebusjeebuswandatowellpappyodanielNofflesRoyMcCcml387heybabynewballsplease 56 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

England
    Ireland by 14

Home advantage will count and so will our superior team (hopefully)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭ssaye

South-Park-nice.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭SebBerkovich

England
    Always the game i look forward to the most, as well as the game i feel the worst losing. (last year was the saddest paddy's day ever)

Ireland by 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭redmca2

The bad weather and the bad pitch surface concerns me.

We could have an awful lot of scrums and that does not point to a home victory.

I would have England slight favourites in those conditions but I hope and pray I will be proven wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭The Caveman

Too close to call
    I am going to jump in here and say England by 2 scores...

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

England
    Great review, the real excitement can start now. :D
    In terms of Jérôme Garces any matches anyone can point too to see his style, the name isn't ringing any (alarm) bells for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭MikeCork2009

England
    I am going to say Ireland by 10-12 points, with tries from Gilroy, BOD and Zebo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Great write up Thomond as usual.

Hoping to see the Ireland from the 1st half last week. They have to get out of blocks fast and play with the intensity of 2 years ago against England. I think I remember the first scrum going to Ireland that day and there was a massive cheer from the crowd. Really layed down a marker for the game. If we can do that again we'll have a great chance. Just hope Mike Ross can last the full 80.

Sort of hope if Lawes and Hartley come on, POM, SOB and Best put them in their place too.

Im so petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Unfortunately I can't see past an England win. I think they are going to target Ross big time and scrum every chance they can get and after last week I think there ae going to be too many tired bodies

England
    Unfortunately I can't see past an England win. I think they are going to target Ross big time and scrum every chance they can get and after last week I think there ae going to be too many tired bodies

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSYLfLBAjMutPZOVdtjHaA5UBcUgR6maCtazCobEeiF-PmYek-ytg

Let's hope Ross has other ideas!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

England

True, but if they target him and he gets an early penalty or two his way; it'll work against them and boost us, get the crowd going massively.

I've no idea which way this is going, still voted for Ireland though.

Sexton to win it for us with a 100% kicking record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

England
    Team lineups, refs/dates from Planet Rugby. Player images from Planet Rugby/Sky Sports. RBS Six Nations logo from www.cmdsports.co.uk, Ireland/England logos from www.therugbyforum.com Images under "Key Strengths" from www.thescore.ie and www.espnscrum.com
    Everything else is my own work.
    Just a tip for you, mate.

Should read as follows:-
    Player images - INPHO Photgraphy, Getty Images.
    RBS Six Nations copyright Six Nations Rugby Ltd,
    Ireland logo - copyright Irish Rugby Football Union 2013
    England logo - copyright Rugby Football Union 2013
    Images under "Key Strengths" section - INPHO Photography, Getty Images
    Don't have to mention where you got team lineups as it is open information sent on general release.
    Should always cover your keyster when using this kind of stuff, just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

England
    Nice write-up T2006.

While I think we're all getting too excited about Ireland's performance last weekend, I can't see this England team having enough craft or invention to do serious damage.

I think if we can close down (Ben) Youngs and limit him to passing or kicking, then we're on the right track; it's when Youngs gets the ball in his hand with a disorganised defence in front of him that we need to be worried.

I don't like the look of England's back line; Brown is a class act at FB but just looks out of place on the wing, Barritt does a job but is a bit limited and I'm not convinced by Twelvetrees (yet).

My only concern would be Ireland getting beaten up in the tight exchanges so if we look to keep the tempo up, we can win this.
    Ireland by 5-10 points I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭AlreadyHome

Too close to call
    England by 5.

I think a lot will come down to how England kick off. If they're pegged back and can't get their offload game going, like they did against Scotland, then they'll get frustrated and bitty.

I don't see the scrum being a huge issue for Ireland - England hardly blew Scotland off the park in that department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

England
    Very nervous about this game. Not sure if it's because I'm worried about England beating us or because I'm worried about being stung again by another false dawn. Not sure which would hurt more. So I've voted for Ireland to win and I'm going to stick with that for now. We have the ability.

COME ON IRELAND!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Too close to call
    The opening sentences don't really make any sense as they're written, Thomond. The first line seems to be missing the end.

Also, this line is missing something:
    " Launchbury and Parling looking strong against weekend" - is it "again last weekend" or "against weakened opposition"?

Nit-picking aside, this will be a game of attrition with low scoring and some bad blood. England by 3 with a late Farrell penalty to seal it.

England
    molloyjh wrote: »
    Very nervous about this game. Not sure if it's because I'm worried about England beating us or because I'm worried about being stung again by another false dawn. Not sure which would hurt more. So I've voted for Ireland to win and I'm going to stick with that for now. We have the ability.

COME ON IRELAND!

Surprisingly, I am alot less nervous about this match than last week. Don't know if that is a good or bad sign :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

JustinDee wrote: »

Don't have to mention where you got team lineups as it is open information sent on general release.

Actually, all the images above are hosted on their own relevant sites, meaning that neither boards.ie or thomond2006 have used these images, they simply re-directs. He actually doesn't need to credit them at all. If he had downloaded them and then used boards.ie to host the images that'd be another story.

But enough of that, back on topic. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

The confidence makes me nervous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Too close to call
    England should have enough to beat you, I was wrong last week so you never know I could be again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

England
    JustinDee wrote: »

Can you become my copyright consultant? :D

Thanks for the advice.
    The opening sentences don't really make any sense as they're written, Thomond. The first line seems to be missing the end.

Also, this line is missing something:
    " Launchbury and Parling looking strong against weekend" - is it "again last weekend" or "against weakened opposition"?

Nit-picking aside, this will be a game of attrition with low scoring and some bad blood. England by 3 with a late Farrell penalty to seal it.

duly noted, cheers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭pynchy

England
    Worried about the weather and the scrums but other than that i think things are looking good for us.

I expect to see a good bit more clever kicking in this with Kearney coming into play a more often.

I think McCarthy and Ryan are going to mince same goes with the backrow.

Murray needs to be very very aware ... i'd say sexton will be eyeballing for any snipes.

In general id say the spirits are really high in the camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭cuddlycavies

England
    Too close to call. Home advantage should count for something although the Aviva is a tad dare I say ........Soul-less. The centre partnerships will be crucial. BOD and Darcy will need to dominate there as the bench is going to be used by the Poms and they have depth there. I think we can win by a score but it's going to be uncomfortable to watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

.ak wrote: »
    Actually, all the images above are hosted on their own relevant sites, meaning that neither boards.ie or thomond2006 have used these images, they simply re-directs. He actually doesn't need to credit them at all. If he had downloaded them and then used boards.ie to host the images that'd be another story.

Yeah but then a copy of the image is cached onto my PC and I could be sued for theft of that intellectual property...!

So what I mean to say is COME ON IRELAND!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭sweetthing

So excited/nervous for this. The expectation is worrying alright. England should beat us, but the home advantage means so much. If it was a neutral venue or Twickenham, I'd say England for sure. Instead, I think it'll be iReland by a score. It'll be very important to keep the ball in hand, as I'm England have a far superior set piece than Wales, and our lineout wobbled worryingly at times last week. I'm sure that was a freak as we have superb lo operators, but freak occurences can happen twice. Come on Ireland, with a great win over a very good team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

England
    .ak wrote: »

Is that the case? Oh well it's too late now anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭chippers

Too close to call
    England to dominate at scrum time and take full advantage of penalties. England to win by a score

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

Too close to call
    Think England's win over NZ was best performance from any NH side in last few months. If England match that intensity hard to see us winning. England also made Scotland look worse than they are.

England
    Think England's win over NZ was best performance from any NH side in last few months. If England match that intensity hard to see us winning. England also made Scotland look worse than they are.
    Much made of that win. Little made of the fact that the winter vomiting bug had swept the kiwi dressing room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

it will be interesting to see if Ireland can maintain the intensity from cardiff last week, lot of big hits given and taken, you'd wonder how much that will have taken out of bodies.

I'm actually far happier in the manner Ireland won for a finish, had they ran away with it like the 1st half there's be way too much hype imo. Also the fact that Wales tested them so much in the 2nd half defensively will hopefully stand to them. Better than going in 'cold' V England

England
    Hidalgo wrote: »
    it will be interesting to see if Ireland can maintain the intensity from cardiff last week, lot of big hits given and taken, you'd wonder how much that will have taken out of bodies.

Alan Quinlin's artical in the Times durring the week analized how the physical toll of the game would impact the players leading up to Sunday.. in short.. we're gonna be better for it, and England remaining untested may be their detriment. Hope he's right.

England
    I think the physicality of the match wont be a problem, they are pros.

We really need to keep an eye on the penalties alright, but i expect England to give away a few as well. SOB and Best need to be very careful at the rucks, a lot could depend on how this refereed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I think we'll need to reduce the penalty count - Farrell will punish us if we're complacent within striking distance.

Aside from that our pack showed last week that they've got grunt, and we know what each of our backs are capable of. Hopefully they click tomorrow and we get a good show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

I know the bookies have it close but, as long as Mike Ross stays healthy, Ireland are very likely winners for me. We're better in most areas and their 10,12,13 axis is fairly limited in an attacking sense. If their set piece doesn't yield too many chances for Farrell we'll win handy.

England

Joe Marler is far from a world class scrumming loosehead. He's very good, but Ross has gained parity and more with far better operators

Also worth noting that England have two really inexperienced props on the bench. Would have liked to have seen Court for this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

England
    I think we'll win if we get parity at scrum-time. England have a big, powerful pack but I don't think they'll bully us. Parling and Launchbury are good, but so are Ryan and McCarthy, SOB is probably better than any of their forwards and they have no one like Healy.

The scrum will be very important, the other big thing for us is discipline. England will take their points and build up a lead if we can. But I think we have the better team... if we learned from our mistakes last week, we can win this.

England
    has anyone got a link to an English forum where they are bantering about this match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭little173

Agree with much of what has been said about England - they dont scare me like maybe previous Eng teams from an attacking point of view especially no Tuilagi which is a bizarre selection for me. They tend to play a lot of structured back play deep with dummy runners and Farrell has a good passing game but I dont think Aston apart they have any real game breakers there.

Morgan is a big loss, firstly because he carried very well last week and is a bulky go to man who receives the kick offs and gives them impeteus off slow ball. Secondly, him being out means Wood has to move to 8 which he has hardly played and takes away some of his work at 6 and the connection with Youngs wont be the same. Haskell is a good athelete but not a great all round player. Launchbury is some prospect, great ability and they will use him to carry and Parling secures lineout ball.

I wont pay too much attention to last year's scrum, Ross got injured in the first play and the ref then gave everything their way then once they got a few early ones, we are generally fine now and Healy is better a year on and McCarthy gives good balast on the TH side as well.

I think if POM can use his pace to close down Youngs from the base and we get parity on set piece our running game and spark outwide will be too much for an efficient but unexciting English team.

Ire by 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

Alan Quinlin's artical in the Times durring the week analized how the physical toll of the game would impact the players leading up to Sunday.. in short.. we're gonna be better for it, and England remaining untested may be their detriment. Hope he's right.

It's funny but Shaun Edwards article in the guardian was similar except he said it would benefit the English.

I'd be more inclined to agree with Quinny especially at this stage of the competition.

England
    Youngs v Murray will be very interesting. Two 9's who were in pretty bad form last season. But they're now both flying high and eyeing a Lions jersey

England
    pynchy wrote: »
    has anyone got a link to an English forum where they are bantering about this match?
    Facebook page England Rugby

England
    pynchy wrote: »

I can tell you BBC articals are just talking about how once Owen Farrell comes back from Walking around on water he's going to end us all through a prophesied rapture... so.. roll on Sunday

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

1224329823280.jpg?ts=1360340579

The Times could have ran with a better picture than this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Lot being made of that in fairness in typical England fashion. The flipside is that it was by far the worst i've ever seen an All Blacks side perform in a match. They were absolutely brutal, as seen by the fact that they got blown out. Even the most dyed in the wool English rugby fan doesn't think they're 17 points better than the all blacks. Even in 2003 they wouldn't have been. We'd have taken them that day too.

England
    Alex Goode vs Kearney: Kearney was slightly underrated last week given he didn't have much to do. Goode is a great footballer but I'm not too sure he's going to worry our defense in the same way that Kearney's fielding abilities and running game can do to Englands

Chris Ashton vs Gilroy: Ashton, for all his unlikable on the field characteristics is a top class international winger and one of the best finishers in the game. Gilroy really impressed me in defense last week but If I had to pick on player on my team it would be Ashton.

Brad Barritt vs BOD: Well there really isn't a comparison there. Barritt is solid, BOD is spectacular.

Billy Twelvetrees v Darcy: I'm a fan of 12 trees, he's a bit more of a footballer than Darcy but he's still pretty untested at this level in comparison to Darcy, who is playing decent rugby in the face of a very average season last year .

Mike Brown v Zebo: I think Brown is wasted on the wing. England's best 15 and should be played there imo. I'd like to see Zebo vary his game a bit more, like he does for Munster, popping up at first receiver and midfield to cause the likes of Barritt and 12 trees hassle and look for mismatches.

Owen Farrell v Sexton: For all the talk of Farrell being a flawless kicker many seem to be forgetting his woeful performance from the boot in Thomond last year. It will be interesting to see how he reacts to being away from the relative comfort of London. In terms of qualities elsewhere, it's hard to make an argument for Farrell trumping Sexton in any

Ben Youngs v Murray: When Youngs is bad, he's very bad. As is Murray. But when they're good they both have the ability to dictate and change the course of a game. Youngs is a better player when firing on all cylinders, but Murray isn't far off him.

Wood v Heaslip: TBH I haven't seen much of Wood this season, but one would expect Heaslip to get the better of this encounter

7 Chris Robshaw v SOB: I like Robshaw, the whole argument about whether he's a seven or not is pretty nonsensical considering it's only relevant as to the game plan employed, and he's been very good for England and Quins of late. Don't think he's the lions captain some have touted him as. O'Brien on the other hand is just a class above imo. The roles of each on Sunday will be dictated by how much leeway each team is allowed at the breakdown

James Haskell v POM: Interesting little match up, again haven't seen much of Haskell for Wasps this season but he must be doing something right to have forced himself back into contention for England. Both players certainly enjoy the "Passionate" side of the game anyway.

Geoff Parling and Joe Launchbury v D Ryan and McCarthy: Both second rows pretty much cancel each other out in terms of quality imo. Launchbury is young and inexperienced but it certainly isn't noticeable on the field. It's certainly the best lock combination England have had for a number of years imo.

Dan Cole vs Cian Healy: Mouthwatering clash. Don't be surprised to see them packing down with each other next June. Cole got a trimming on his last six nations visit to Dublin, but he's developed as a scrummager since then, although so has Healy. I think this is where the game could be won or lost. Best LH in the NH coming up against the best TH in the NH imo.

Tom Youngs v Rory Best: Considering what Hartley did to Best when being outplayed by him in the HC I was hoping Best might get another chance to show just how average that Northampton "gent" is, but alas, it's not to be. Youngs is a decent hooker, doesn't have the ground work of Best or the defensive capability but he does have a far better hand on his emotions that Hartley, which is a big part of his selection imo. And in fairness, he's just as good as Harltey.

Joe Marler v Ross: Marler is a bit like diet Cian Healy with worse discipline. Ross is solid in the scrum and will be lucky to touch the ball in the loose. I'd be very surprised to see either dominate each other at scrum time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    Our 15 V Their 15

I think the issue with doing a 1 on 1 comparison like that is that you are missing the big picture in that it isn't a 15 man game it is a 23 man game and I think their bench has a lot more fire power then ours and will make a hugh difference in the second half as I suspect like last week our second half performance probably won't match our first half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

I predict a fast confident start by Ireland, be leading at half tie but England pack to bludgeon us to death in 2nd half and take the lead between 60-70 mins, at which point we'll be too tired from last weeks exploits and have too weak a bench to respond.