Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 9th February

• 08-02-2013 11:07am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

Looking at declarations Un Atout doesnt look to be declared :confused:

only 5 running in the Hennessey.

Wille Mullins running his two triumph horses against each other in the spring juvenile very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

SRFC wrote: »
    Looking at declarations Un Atout doesnt look to be declared :confused:

only 5 running in the Hennessey.

Wille Mullins running his two triumph horses against each other in the spring juvenile very strange.

Did Willie not give you a buzz during the week and let you know? Sure weren't you having a go at Chemical Nicky in the other thread about pulling 4/11 shots with little warning, pulling 11/10 shots without even a press release is every bit as bad.

Remember you saying during the week that Diakali would beat Our Conor by at least 6 lengths. Any interest in match bet at evens that Our Conor gets within 6 lengths of him? Won't be for massive stakes.

On another note,Aidan O'Brien's bumper horse was pulled too. Pity,was looking forward to seeing who was booked for the ride.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Arctic89 wrote: »
    Did Willie not give you a buzz during the week and let you know? Sure weren't you having a go at Chemical Nicky in the other thread about pulling 4/11 shots with little warning, pulling 11/10 shots without even a press release is every bit as bad.

Remember you saying during the week that Diakali would beat Our Conor by at least 6 lengths. Any interest in match bet at evens that Our Conor gets within 6 lengths of him? Won't be for massive stakes.

On another note,Aidan O'Brien's bumper horse was pulled too. Pity,was looking forward to seeing who was booked for the ride.

Rancid from Mullins pulling out un atout and leaving in champagne fever so dont think I'll only slate Henderson for it and not Mullins,treating punters with contempt with this sort of carry on and he's gone down in my opinion of him.

No I have enough on diakali as it is thanks he's an absolute certainty tomorrow if he runs if not ive my money back and it will be going on blood cotil.

Old kilcash will win the bumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Rancid from Mullins pulling out un atout and leaving in champagne fever so dont think I'll only slate Henderson for it and not Mullins,treating punters with contempt with this sort of carry on and he's gone down in my opinion of him.

No I have enough on diakali as it is thanks he's an absolute certainty tomorrow if he runs if not ive my money back and it will be going on blood cotil.

I can't imagine that being good for un atouts supreme experience. Interesting to find out if there's something wrong or if he's being aimed at another race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

It's bad form alright,but that's the risk you take backing Mullins ante-post. Id want to see them in the parade ring before I'd put my money down!

I know sure I backed Un Atout last night at even money,thats the risk of ante post betting.

Im all in on Diakali tomorrow and I dont care which one townend picks the forcast 100/30 is a joke will be lucky to get 2/1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

I know sure I backed Un Atout last night at even money,thats the risk of ante post betting.

Im all in on Diakali tomorrow and I dont care which one townend picks the forcast 100/30 is a joke will be lucky to get 2/1.

Both of Mullins are 7/4 PP have it priced up.

Will be looking more into it later but Baby Mix in the Betfair catches the eye at 33/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Going up tomorrow and sickened that Un atout has been pulled, Was close to backing him last night but didn't so at least thats a small positive to take.

I have absolutely zero sympathy towards the English when they complain about how poor the prize money is when you see graded races every other week in Ireland with a handful of runner. The big chase tomorrow has 5 in it

Surprised Bog warrior has been declared, Any reason why he's back over fences? Lack of options?

I take it he's been schooling well and possibly want to give him one more chance? If that's the case you could do worse than back him for small money 66/1 for the Gold Cup. If he were to run well tomorrow he could enter the picture

Thought he was a serious prospect for the WH and backed him accordingly, If it's as you say it is I hope he doesn't run too well tomorrow and heads for the WH :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Townend on Diakali & Emmet Mullins on Blood cotil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I have absolutely zero sympathy towards the English when they complain about how poor the prize money is when you see graded races every other week in Ireland with a handful of runner. The big chase tomorrow has 5 in it

The Hennessy is worth between 3 and 4 times what the Newbury race is. Makes you wonder.

Maybe the Irish racing authority don't actively recruit horses for these races. Not like Royal Ascot do, they go to great lengths to get overseas competitors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

On bog warrior any chance he is in there to bowl off in front to make sure of a test for flemenstar and bring sir des champs stamina into play!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Suarez20

Just seen the card there

http://info.hri-racing.ie/Content/RAS/entries/Microsoft_Word__ONOR027.PDF

Some days racing!

interesting blood cotil and diakali both running, could it be our conor is that good they need 2 to go at him? :p

Champagne fever v waaheb and no un atout! typical mullins yard, champagne was backed from 5s into 3s last night before decs came out!

The big one, toss of a coin flem v sdc!

Salsify v tammys hill, drier the ground more chance salsify has!

Old kilcash should win the bumper, a good mate of mine knows the shark and said a while back he'll win next time out

kiers47 wrote: »
    On bog warrior any chance he is in there to bowl off in front to make sure of a test for flemenstar and bring sir des champs stamina into play!!!

Doubt they'd use a horse who has had his problems over fences just as a pace maker. Surely wouldn't be there if they didn't think he stood a chance, too risky otherwise

ha only after seeing the other thread, MOD please remove this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

You'd have to be mad to back Bog Warrior over fences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

baraca wrote: »
    Thought he was a serious prospect for the WH and backed him accordingly, If it's as you say it is I hope he doesn't run too well tomorrow and heads for the WH :P

I will back him for WH too if ground's soft come race. Hope to God he doesn't run tomorrow...a lose lose situation for WH hopes as far as I'm concerned. If he was to win, they'd have to look towards GC but a more likely outcome would be a bad mistake/fall IMO, given his low head carriage, and only set the horse back in any Cheltenham preparations.

They've got him to the point where he is showing super form over hurdles in a year without Big Bucks, why risk ruining that opportunity by putting him over fences after previous troubles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

kiers47 wrote: »

I wouldn't be surprised if that was one of the advantages they see in running him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Doubt they'd use a horse who has had his problems over fences just as a pace maker. Surely wouldn't be there if they didn't think he stood a chance, too risky otherwise

I'm not saying he is purely a pace maker as he obviously deserves his place. But I think they will make full use of his and sir des champs stamina.

Ah yes I read it wrong first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Townend is on Diakali and Emmet Mullins on Blood Cotil.
    Price changes accordingly, Diakali now 5/4. BC 5/2

Fuming I didn't go in at 7/4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Johner wrote: »
    You'd have to be mad to back Bog Warrior over fences.

He does have a 50% strike rate including a Grade One and a € level stake of 1.32 ..........I wouldnt back him tomorrow but just saying I wouldn't completely dismiss him as a chaser.

any fancies for the 2 big handicaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Betfair Hurdle Newbury 3:35

Princeton Plains looks huge value in this race tomorrow going on his very decent form in these types of races over the last 18 months. He was an eye-catching 6th in the Ladbroke at Ascot last time, when having to race wide all the way and pushed even wider into the straight. He is much better off with the winner and 40/1 with 5 places looks a great price considering his liking for this type of race. He has been 5th and 6th in the Galway Hurdle as well. He looks to travel well in that Newbury race all the way and if he can find a better passage this time he will outrun his odds here.

1.5 pts EW 40/1 5 Place Bet365

I was originally siding with Flemenstar in the Hennessy but am starting to think Sir Des Champs is the one now. If he sorts his jumping out he should be winning this.

ft9 wrote: »
    I was originally siding with Flemenstar in the Hennessy but am starting to think Sir Des Champs is the one now. If he sorts his jumping out he should be winning this.

Agree. At the prices I'm going to put my money on SDC putting up a better round of jumping. If he does, he win IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Write up to come later on but quite fancy 2.50 Uttoxeter Kilcommon Pride 16/1

Do people think Boston Bob is value tomorrow?

If he runs to standard of his last race, then Lyreen Legend, Lord Windermere and Texas Jack have to be major dangers! Like the horse but just can't be confident till I see how he goes tomorrow.

And I see Champagne Fever has already drifted slightly from 7/4 to 2/1 with Paddy Power this evening. Anyone know how well he has recovered?

Both horses, at their best, should win but too many question marks for me.

High class racing tomorrow but tricky enough cards

A few I have no interest in backing at the prices but in no rush to oppose either

Our Conor looks a similar horse to Blood Cotil on a line through Stockton's Wing but I just have a feeling Blood Cotil is a lot better than the bare performance. Officially rated the same as Diakali, the change in price is purely down to Townend picking him. Despite Mullins saying there's nothing between them I've a feeling Diakali will be punted off the boards tomorrow

Champagne Fever needs to bounce back after something was obviously amiss last time out

Boston Bob is a fascinating runner in the Moriarty but I can't be taking a short price on a horse with only the one chase start. Having said that he destroyed Lyreen Legend last year giving 10lbs with Texas Jack further back. One to watch for me with regards to his RSA chances

I'm of the opinion Flemenstar is a better horse than Sir Des but for my eyes failed to stay in the Lexus. If Sir Des can get his jumping together his stamina might win the day tomorrow

Old Kilcash puts the Moyle Park form to the test again in the bumper.

My Tent Or Yours finds himself rated 149 & favourite for the Betfair hurdle despite having never run in a graded race over hurdles. Chatterbox puts his form to the test in the opener and anyone backing him is surely doing so on a line through Tarquin Du Seuill, where MTOY received 5lbs.

Timeform go for Blood Cotil. From their blurb on the Betfair market:
    This should prove to be a hugely informative renewal of this Grade 1 juvenile hurdle as the three best juveniles seen out in Ireland so far this season go up against each other. It looks significant that Paul Townend has chosen to ride Diakali over Blood Cotil, but the latter's form is stronger so he gets the nod. Our Conor and Ruacana are others with very strong claims.

Yet RP ratings have Diakali 9lbs ahead :confused:

Although I'm still not counting out the possibility that one of Willie's is pulled out tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

This interview with Peter Casey is interesting. As someone commented under the video it's almost like Casey favored going for the Dial a Bet at Christmas rather than the Lexus. Sounding more and more like it's the owner who wants to persevere in pursuit of the Gold Cup, with the trainer already resigned to the fact that he won't stay the trip.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38e_qwIBs-k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Looking at the Betfair Hurdle the 2 that stand out for me for each way money but could run big races are Cotton Mill & Baby Mix.

This interview with Peter Casey is interesting. As someone commented under the video it's almost like Casey favored going for the Dial a Bet at Christmas rather than the Lexus. Sounding more and more like it's the owner who wants to persevere in pursuit of the Gold Cup, with the trainer already resigned to the fact that he won't stay the trip.

Don't really understand all this talk about the owner wanting the horse to go to Gold Cup as in this video @ 2.10 ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkZGM4QQPk0&list=UUUiL8HPhvqMY5zpYLQDiscw&index=4 ) he doesn't seem to give a fiddlers feck if his horse even goes to Cheltenham let alone the Gold Cup.

Casey was originally adamant that Flemenstar was a Gold Cup horse but post Lexus has clearly changed his mind and now wants him to bowl along against Sprinter Sacre in Champion Chase. Judging by the ATR video it's Andrew Lynch who's trying to keep the dream alive that he truly gets 3m. He hardly has an ulterior motive in trying to keep the horse away from Sizing Europe could he?? :p

jimjamcos wrote: »
    Both horses, at their best, should win but too many question marks for me.

I'd be of the same opinion. If all 8 stand their ground Bright New Dawn could be the each way play

Thanks for posting that, should be in the 2 miler but the owner didn't want to

Similar to Sizing Europe, seemed to be the owner trying to turn him into a Gold Cup horse

I'd be of the same opinion. If all 8 stand their ground Bright New Dawn could be the each way play

Similar to Sizing Europe, seemed to be the owner trying to turn him into a Gold Cup horse

But does anyone really think he doesn't stay 3 miles?? Especially around leopardstown. He pulled Andrews arms out for a good portion of the lexus and was still cantering all over everything coming to the last. Started to fade but still stuck to the task well and was only beaten a 1/2 lenght or so.

With a change of tactics and hopefully he won't be so keen tomorrow, I see no reason why he won't get the trip. And win.

Watch the video I've posted...it must be the Andrew Lynch factor! ;)

baraca wrote: »
    But does anyone really think he doesn't stay 3 miles?? Especially around leopardstown. He pulled Andrews arms out for a good portion of the lexus and was still cantering all over everything coming to the last. Started to fade but still stuck to the task well and was only beaten a 1/2 lenght or so.

With a change of tactics and hopefully he won't be so keen tomorrow, I see no reason why he won't get the trip. And win.

He might get it around at Leopardstown but no way will he get Gold Cup trip IMO. Similar to Oscar Whiskey, his class will get him so far!

The stable are expecting Boston Bob to win doing handstands tomorrow if I can get evens im having a good bet on him.

cheers, what about CF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Getoffmytrain

He's 6/5 in Ladbrokes.

Cheers I'll be paying them a visit in the morning.

cheers, what about CF?

He never mentioned him my mate had a quick word with Patrick Mullins an he said one for the weekend Boston Bob,I know its no dark horse so not claiming inside info or anything but I know for 100% it came from him and will be backing it accordingly,might do a double with fago at Warwick.

He's 6/5 in Ladbrokes.

Great price, Wonder if I'll be lucky enough to get anywhere near that in the ring tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

Of he's that sure he'll win doing handstands why don't you lump onto him for the RSA before the price goes

Agree. At the prices I'm going to put my money on SDC putting up a better round of jumping. If he does, he win IMO.

I've changed my mind again and siding with Flemenstar. Final decision.

ft9 wrote: »
    I've changed my mind again and siding with Flemenstar. Final decision.

Great choice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Going through the card, here's my verdict on Leopardstown tomorrow.

1:15 - Dalasiri is a horse that definitely deserves a second look considering the massive price it's going off at. It was only narrowly beaten by a very good Dogora in its last race. It could very well nab a place tomorrow. Our Conor is a horse that I think is a bit overrated in this race. While it has won its last two races over this trip, I wasn't at all convinced by the opposition. I also think it needed a run sooner to this race. The same concern over previous form also applies to Diakali and Blood Cotil. While both are good horses, I think the value lies in taking on Ruacana at 10/1, the only horse in the race that has won a group 1 race.

1:45 - A tough one, no doubt. Can't see Summer Star winning this, the ground just won't suit. Blazing Sonnet is suited to both distance and going, but odds are a little skinny. Is Herself About About strikes me as a horse of similar ability, but is available at a much bigger price of 12/1.

2:15 - Wingtips, Umpact, Legal Exit, Minsk and Buthelezi all look to varying degrees short of the mark for this one. Bright New Dawn has shown promise, but at the current odds, looks too short. That leaves Champagne Fever and Whaaheb as my front runners. Would favour Champagne Fever slightly in terms of class, and the fact that Townend is on board seals it for me. Champagne Fever at 9/4.

2:45 - Easy one for me, it has to be Boston Bob. The trip and the ground should suit it perfectly. It also is the only horse to have group 1 success out of this field. Considering it has beaten the second favourite quite handily over course last year, it's hard to see past taking on Boston Bob @ 11/10.

3:20 - A battle between the two favourites once again, and I expect the Mullins horse to come out on top, especially given the fact that when a Mullins horse has entered this race, it has won in 8 of the last 12 attempts. I think a straight shootout between the two favourites will stand in Sir Des Champs favour, and I am getting on at 11/8.

3:50 - Another shot in the dark, like the second race. Going for Discoteca at 10/1. Really, anything could win this race, so this is a low conviction pick.

4:20 - Have to go for another favourite in this race. Tammys Hill has beaten Salsify in the last two attempts and I can't see it losing this considering it loves the soft ground. There's a lot of unknown horses in this field, so think I am better off sticking with what I know - Tammys Hill at 7/2 is the bet.

4:50 - I have gotten the word that Azorian will run a very good race in the bumper tomorrow. Old Kilcash is the obvious favourite given its last run and the hefty price tag attached to it. Given the awful form of such horses, I think I will stick with Azorian if only for the fact that Nina is always good to me in the lucky last :P

ste2010 wrote: »
    Of he's that sure he'll win doing handstands why don't you lump onto him for the RSA before the price goes

Fancy Dynaste for it,not worried about anything bar Boston Bob so hope he wins tomorrow but not by too far and impressively as expected :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I don't think you need inside knowledge from the stable to know that :) The 6/5 and 11/10 on Boston Bob won't last, hoover it up while you still can.