Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I nearly died this morning...

• 07-02-2013 10:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Decided this morning this will be the morning when I decide to leave the car sitting in the driveway and start the cycling stage!

A Bus pulled straight out in front of me! I was looking at the driver from a distance and I knew for a fact he was going to do it so I took him on (probably a bit stupidly) but i made my point when playing chicken when I had the right of way!!

Then a few mins later i was in a cycle lane and this black Bora, blatently pulled straight out in front of me! This was a very close call, I am talking centimetres!

And both drivers, hadnt an ounce of an apology in them! Its making me think that its inevitable now the more i cycle to and from work that I am going to get a bad slap!

Heading to the bike shop this evening to upgrade from my existing helmet after today! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Drama queen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭maloner

Assume every car is going to hit you and plan accordingly.

Playing chicken with a bus isn't a good plan. You may feel in the right, but that won't save you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Drama queen

*King

maloner wrote: »
    Assume every car is going to hit you and plan accordingly.

Playing chicken with a bus isn't a good plan. You may feel in the right, but that won't save you

I know its the wrong thing to do but if you let them do wrong, are they not going to keep doing it?

This town seems to have blatant disregard for cyclists

do the lotto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Cycling is perfectly safe, once you realise that absolutely everybody else on the road is a selfish idiot, and prepare accordingly. The benefit of this attitude us that when most people turn out to prove you wrong, you'll be pleasantly surprised. And you'll always be ready for those who don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You need bigger lights. If your lights are incapable of causing temporary blindness at 5m, then they're not strong enough and other vehicles will "not see" you.

Also watch out for traffic pulling into or out of roads on your left. Contrary to popular perception, the traffic coming from behind you poses minimal risk to you. It's the cars in front of you who are most likely to hit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Hatcho

ghogie91 wrote: »
    I know its the wrong thing to do but if you let them do wrong, are they not going to keep doing it?

This town seems to have blatant disregard for cyclists

Whilst your agument may have some credibility, that won't help you one bit as you lie on a hospital bed post incident.

Would you stand your ground with a charging bull in the hope he won't do it next time? The risk totally outweighs the benefits in both scenarios.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I won't be stopping them. My job is to stay alive and in one piece! I'm not the police. Nor do I aspire to be a vindicated 'splat'...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yesterday morning a taxi driver overtook me as fast as he could, only to pull into the cycle lane directly in front of me and stop. -_- Could barely stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭lg123

seamus wrote: »
    You need bigger lights. If your lights are incapable of causing temporary blindness at 5m, then they're not strong enough and other vehicles will "not see" you.

yes get big lights. i have 1000 lumens on the front. i am afraid to look directly at that light. get a big flasher for the back too.

I eventually realised that trying to change the behaviour of other drivers is folly.

Tomorrow it'll be a different bus driver. The day after that it's some random driver from another county. Trying to teach individual drivers a lesson is pissing in the wind because it will do nothing except get you into arguments with them. Changing one driver will have no impact on the rest of them.

Maybe if you have one person making the same mistake every day (say someone who keeps pulling out of their house in front of you), it's worth having a friendly chat with them. But if you're taking action against random drivers that you will never see again, then you're wasting your energy.

Ride assertively (not aggressively) and above all else imagine that every other vehicle on the road is being driven by a blind baboon. If they do something stupid, then a condescending head shake is the most effective way of displaying your annoyance, but if you stick with the image of the blind baboon in your mind you will find yourself getting less frustrated because you accept that blind baboons can't help acting the way that they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

lg123 wrote: »
    yes get big lights. i have 1000 lumens on the front. i am afraid to look directly at that light

I'm sure the other road users (including other cyclists) are delighted to be blinded by your paranoid safety delusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Decided this morning this will be the morning when I decide to leave the car sitting in the driveway and start the cycling stage!

A Bus pulled straight out in front of me! I was looking at the driver from a distance and I knew for a fact he was going to do it so I took him on (probably a bit stupidly) but i made my point when playing chicken when I had the right of way!!

Then a few mins later i was in a cycle lane and this black Bora, blatently pulled straight out in front of me! This was a very close call, I am talking centimetres!

They're looking for cars in the middle of the lane where cars should be. You, in near the gutter in a cycle lane, don't count. Stay out in the traffic lane where they'll be looking. Oh, and get lights as mentioned. I run two sets of flashing lights by day.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I eventually realised that trying to change the behaviour of other drivers is folly.

The voice of wisdom...

Trying to educate other road users is like that Greek myth where they had to "fill an ever-draining barrel with water which they carried in sieves".
    => You'll be there til the cows come home at least :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why play a game of chicken with a bus? Proving a point won't be much good to you when they're scraping you up off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

It's becoming a daily occurrence for me.

Low enforcement and bad weather are a potent mix, the Rock road bus lane has turned into a "I need to get to Blackrock shopping centre from Sandymount as quick as possible" lane.

Carysfort avenue is the worst though, I really think that section of road by the Avoca pub should be one way only and not a major throughput from Blackrock to the N11 (that's what mount merrion avenue is for!). The other day I had someone over take me at speed only to be halted by traffic. I went past them, they seemed to take offence and tried to forcibly squeeze me off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭DavyD_83

If you know for a fact a bus is gonna move into a space. Don't be in that space!
    Being in the right or having right of way doesn't change the fact that you're going to come of worse in any collision with car, bus, van etc.

My rules of the road when cycling:
    1. Know the 'real rules' and use them to interpret and predict the likely movement of traffic (never 100% accurate).
    2. Don't get hit by traffic.
    3. Ensure making eye contact with drivers before acting as if they know you are there.
    4. If in doubt, assume every person driving a vehicle is a blind moron, and act accordingly.

Everything else is just a matter of balancing these with a little bit of common sense and judgement.

DavyD_83 wrote: »
    If you know for a fact a bus is gonna move into a space. Don't be in that space!
    Being in the right or having right of way doesn't change the fact that you're going to come of worse in any collision with car, bus, van etc.

My rules of the road when cycling:
    1. Know the 'real rules' and use them to interpret and predict the likely movement of traffic (never 100% accurate).
    2. Don't get hit by traffic.
    3. Ensure making eye contact with drivers before acting as if they know you are there.
    4. If in doubt, assume every person driving a vehicle is a blind moron, and act accordingly.

Everything else is just a matter of balancing these with a little bit of common sense and judgement.

Good stuff. I would add my own personal rule: "5. Try not to act like a moron yourself when cycling."

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Tomorrow it'll be a different bus driver. The day after that it's some random driver from another county. Trying to teach individual drivers a lesson is pissing in the wind because it will do nothing except get you into arguments with them. Changing one driver will have no impact on the rest of them.

Maybe if you have one person making the same mistake every day (say someone who keeps pulling out of their house in front of you), it's worth having a friendly chat with them. But if you're taking action against random drivers that you will never see again, then you're wasting your energy.

Ride assertively (not aggressively) and above all else imagine that every other vehicle on the road is being driven by a blind baboon. If they do something stupid, then a condescending head shake is the most effective way of displaying your annoyance, but if you stick with the image of the blind baboon in your mind you will find yourself getting less frustrated because you accept that blind baboons can't help acting the way that they do.
    If it's buses on your route there is probably a smallish pool of drivers. I always run into the same drivers when getting the bus on my route. So could have a chat with them but tbh buses are generally the best drivers around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

IMO cyclists seem to think they own the road, just the other day I was crossing through a yellow box into the petrol station, traffic was back up from the lights (red light) through the box. A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station. He then followed me into the petrol station and began to beat on my car, calling my girlfriend a C**t etc scaring the **** out of her in the car.

Everyone in the petrol station and traffic was watching like WTF is up with this guy. 2 people approached me afterward saying they saw the whole thing and the cyclist was definetly in the wrong, flying down the inside lane not looking ahead at all, when the light infront of him were red and almost causing an accident.

Pretty sure cyclist have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping before the yellow box in traffic? am I wrong.

And how many times a day do you see cyclists breaking red lights/filters etc?? A HELL OF A LOT MORE THEN OTHER VEHICLES!!

Its an absolute joke and then, they come on hear and moan about car users....

No car user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But cyclists do ALL the time.

get over yourselves

rant over

and here we go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Also watch out for traffic pulling into or out of roads on your left.

Yeah, this nearly had me laid out the other evening on Barton Road. Lad in a Yaris approaches the main road from the left as I'm heading west. With my multiple flashing LEDs and high-viz strips, I'm convinced I've locked eyes with him as I usually try to do as he approaches his 'Stop' sign, so he's going to stop, right? Wrong. A frank exchange of views was had.

srumball wrote: »
    No car user had the intention of goin out an causing an accident, purposely breaking lights, road signs etc. But cyclists do ALL the time.

I don't drop in to the Motoring forum to rant about the drivers I see everyday breaking speed limits, driving erratically, on the phone, and yes, breaking red lights (yes, a common occurrence despite what you think). Why's that? Because it's a minority of road users, and tarring everyone with the same brush helps nobody and doesn't help get sympathy on your side for your unlucky incident. Get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Pretty sure cyclist have to obey the rules of the road also, this would include stopping before the yellow box in traffic? am I wrong.
    Yes, you're wrong. Go look up the rules regarding yellow boxes. You're only not allowed to stop in it. If you can get through it, you can. You were 100% in the wrong by not anticipating a cyclist who was legally passing slow moving or stationary traffic and cutting them off. You were the one performing the turn, the onus is on you to ensure your way is clear. You wouldn't do it to a bus travelling in a bus lane, why do it to a cyclist?

Trolls get hungry too, ok?

IMO cyclists seem to think they own the road, just the other day I was crossing through a yellow box into the petrol station, traffic was back up from the lights (red light) through the box. A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station. He then followed me into the petrol station and began to beat on my car, calling my girlfriend a C**t etc scaring the **** out of her in the car.

Everyone in the petrol station and traffic was watching like WTF is up with this guy. 2 people approached me afterward saying they saw the whole thing and the cyclist was definetly in the wrong, flying down the inside lane not looking ahead at all, when the light infront of him were red and almost causing an accident.

And how many times a day do you see cyclists breaking red lights/filters etc?? A HELL OF A LOT MORE THEN OTHER VEHICLES!!

get over yourselves

rant over

It's a cycling forum. Your attitude makes me question your ability to get behind the wheel of a car. "Get over yourselves"? Have some fool in a car cut across you without looking and see how you react.

His comments to your girlfriend were out of line, but given your knowledge of the rules of the road and your attitude to people on this forum, I'd have to question the accuracy of your recollection. Did he have pointy horns and a barbed tail too?

God forbid your lack of awareness ever actually causes an accident. Say what you like, the way was not clear for you to proceed, but you did. You would have caused it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I particularly like this bit actually
    It's a well known fact that people only ever get on a bike with the sole intention to cause an accident. Sure it's great craic, really takes the boredom out of the whole malarky. I like to set up cameras around the location too, just so I can view the accident from many angles.
    I also ensure to bring an angle grinder in my back pocket so I can break the road signs as well. Tell you, some buzz out of this cycling lark when you do it properly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

get over yourselves

rant over

Two wrongs don't make a right. It seem's that you and the cyclist are both at fault. He didn't keep a proper watch for other traffic: you in this case. However there is the point that he was travelling in a straight line on a cycle lane, with the red light farther down the road.

You, however, were turning off the road and moving across his traffic lane. You are as equally obliged to pay due care and attention to other traffic as he is. The rules for using junction-boxes boxes is that you don't enter such boxes unless you are certain you can exit the box without having to halt on it.

Though if srumball poster was turning right into the petrol station through the yellow box, then he'd have been entitled to stop in it while waiting for a gap in traffic. But as has been pointed out, not entitled to cut off oncoming traffic.

I suspect the main problem here is having your missus called a c*** - nobody needs that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

kenmc wrote: »
    I particularly like this bit actually

It's a well known fact that people only ever get on a bike with the sole intention to cause an accident. Sure it's great craic, really takes the boredom out of the whole malarky. I like to set up cameras around the location too, just so I can view the accident from many angles.
    I also ensure to bring an angle grinder in my back pocket so I can break the road signs as well. Tell you, some buzz out of this cycling lark when you do it properly!

I meant the braking of red lights not causing accidents, my bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

....A Bus pulled straight out in front of me! I was looking at the driver from a distance and I knew for a fact he was going to do it so I took him on (probably a bit stupidly) but i made my point when playing chicken when I had the right of way!!...

Thats not chicken, thats Russian Roulette.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

lg123 wrote: »
    yes get big lights. i have 1000 lumens on the front. i am afraid to look directly at that light. get a big flasher for the back too.
    Lumen wrote: »
    I'm sure the other road users (including other cyclists) are delighted to be blinded by your paranoid safety delusions.

Exactly. Theres some idiot who goes though the park around 7pm with lights that blind everyone. Brighter than a cars full head light. Not only can you not look anywhere near him, if it does catch your eye. You're blind for a a good few seconds afterwards. Once you pass him, if it catches your mirrors your not expecting it either. An accident waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

What about speed limit signs? I drove to work today just under the speed limit on the M50. Loads of cars flew passed me. Whats going on? You said motorists obey signs? They weren't obeying signs. I'm confused. Please can you explain this to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

IMO cyclists seem to think they own the road, just the other day I was crossing through a yellow box into the petrol station, traffic was back up from the lights (red light) through the box. A cyclist was FLYING down the cycle lane not looking ahead and nearly slammed into the side of the car as I was pulling into the petrol station.

He then followed me into the petrol station and began to beat on my car, calling my girlfriend a C**t etc scaring the **** out of her in the car.

lucky you had your girlfriend to take the brunt for ya

* snigger *

Case proved:

Just in after my cycle down the Rock road and a man (?) driving a black CLK cabriolet drove from the Texaco all the way as far as Blackrock college (before he went out of view) down the bus lane because he didn't feel the need to sit in with the other traffic.

No, excuse me, I'm far too important to obey the law.

Having said that, he didn't overtake me dangerously, but his flagrant disregard for the law is something I'm seeing more and more of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

there are laws and then there are laws.
    I'd be very tempted to use the completely empty bus lane on that Rock Road myself.

And even further off topic which self righteous Strava user decided to flag the segments along the Rock Road and into Ballsbridge as dangerous? Feckin busybodies.

I quite liked seeing the leaderboard times on that one, I never got close, even with a good run sequence on the lights there. And now that little pleasure is gone too.

Peterx wrote: »
    there are laws and then there are laws.
    I'd be very tempted to use the completely empty bus lane on that Rock Road myself.

And even further off topic which self righteous Strava user decided to flag the segments along the Rock Road and into Ballsbridge as dangerous? Feckin busybodies.

I quite liked seeing the leaderboard times on that one, I never got close, even with a good run sequence on the lights there. And now that little pleasure is gone too.

It's not completely empty, I was in it.

And as I'm sure you are aware, from the Texaco to the next junction at Trimleston avenue the road is in pretty poor shape and requires a lot of dodging of deep potholes, manhole covers, etc.

And since the majority of traffic looking to break the law by dropping into the bus lane is doing so to speed past traffic, the potential for an accident is high.

And the attitude of picking and choosing which laws you want to obey when it suits you is endemic in our society, the "ah sure it will be grand" h'attitude.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

maloner wrote: »
    It's not like a car where the driver pays for the insurance and an accident would increase his premium. CIE is it's own insurance company. IIRC the excess is one million. So their insurance won't go up.

If it helps you can at least console yourself that the driver would probably have to fill in a few forms afterwards.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Be aware that during the day and especially at dawn / dusk lights may actually be hiding you if your illumination matches the background.

I *hate* cars with bright lights in well lit areas. You can see the car, but don't see anything else. It's an effect you can easily see if you look both ways before crossing a road with one way traffic. Looking into the headlights you don't see the sort of detail as when looking the other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭tfrancer

get over yourselves

rant over

Has your username been misspelled here, s*umba*?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    It's not completely empty, I was in it.

And as I'm sure you are aware, from the Texaco to the next junction at Trimleston avenue the road is in pretty poor shape and requires a lot of dodging of deep potholes, manhole covers, etc.

And since the majority of traffic looking to break the law by dropping into the bus lane is doing so to speed past traffic, the potential for an accident is high.

And the attitude of picking and choosing which laws you want to obey when it suits you is endemic in our society, the "ah sure it will be grand" h'attitude.

I think once you get past Booterstown Avenue the bus lane is no longer wide enough for safe overtaking until you get up near Blackrock Park again. I usually sit just to the right of the broken cycle track line along this stretch which avoids the worst bit of the road and takes the lane to minimise dangerous overtaking. I take your point on the stretch from Merrion gates up to trimelstown Ave.The road is in poor condition and the bus lane is just wide enough to encourage dangerous overtaking.

There was guard on that stretch last night as well just at the old Bryan S Ryan building. First time I have ever seen one there

Seaswimmer wrote: »
    I think once you get past Booterstown Avenue the bus lane is no longer wide enough for safe overtaking until you get up near Blackrock Park again. I usually sit just to the right of the broken cycle track line along this stretch which avoids the worst bit of the road and takes the lane to minimise dangerous overtaking. I take your point on the stretch from Merrion gates up to trimelstown Ave.The road is in poor condition and the bus lane is just wide enough to encourage dangerous overtaking.

There was guard on that stretch last night as well just at the old Bryan S Ryan building. First time I have ever seen one there

I (foolishly) tried to avoid the wind the other day and hit one of those potholed drains at speed. Thought I might have snapped my fork I got such a thud. They really are a nightmare, but silly me for riding behind the bus so close.

Yeah, I do the same, the Toyota garage must have too many cars or car transporters parking on the kerb, that bit of lane is really torn up, same further up ahead. Taxis seem to know this and will overtake properly I've found.

Another dangerous bit is just after Booterstown avenue heading south, I've found on a few occasions people will cut the road as it bends left and veer into the cycle lane. A motorbike nearly took me out doing this last year.

I'm quite in favour of marked lanes on roads, if only because they provide a visual indicator to drivers that firstly you are allowed to be there but also on roughly how much space they should give. My jaunt from the four seasons to St.Vincents is normally quite an enjoyable and event free cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

@Dirk.

not sure how long you are cycling along the Rock Road but I cycled both directions daily before the bus lanes. They are a fantastic addition for cyclists. Now if only we could get them put in along the Frascati Road section and beside Tara Towers heading into town.

There was talk of bus lanes on the Frascati Road section but seems to have died off.

So on the issue of lights, what would be good lights power wise? Could someone recommend some? Rechargable if possible

Also how effective would a reflective bagpack cover be?

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=70572

One is good at that price. Two is better because people will mistake you for a motorbike.

Reflective backpacks are pointless. Put two lights on there instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

I use a strong rear light (Smart 1W) and a strong-ish front light (Cateye HL 530).

What make the biggest difference for me in the scenario with which you started this thread (traffic waiting on your left pulling out suddenly) is moving nearer the centre of the lane if no motorised traffic is following behind me (if motorised traffic is following, the traffic waiting to pull out is much less likely to do so suddenly), and indicating straight on briefly and emphatically with a pointing motion. I find this is more effective at dusk and night when I wear wrist lights. It breaks the motion camouflage and makes you briefly the centre of attention.

I haven't found hi-viz jackets, raincovers or sashes make any difference in breaking motion camouflage, since how well or poorly you contrast with the background isn't what is causing the driver to miss you when they glance right (provided you have a reasonably strong headlight to begin with).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

tomasrojo wrote: »
    What make the biggest difference for me in the scenario with which you started this thread (traffic waiting on your left pulling out suddenly) is moving nearer the centre of the lane if no motorised traffic is following behind me (if motorised traffic is following, the traffic waiting to pull out is much less likely to do so suddenly), and indicating straight on briefly and emphatically with a pointing motion.

I think that is a very bad idea. Your hand signals could be misinterpreted as "you go ahead and pull out, I'm only a cyclist", and you may find yourself with legal problems in the event of an accident.

There are major legal issues with all give way signals. The classic case is where you give a "you go ahead" signal to a pedestrian on approach to a crossing, and they get run over by a car coming in the opposite direction. In that event you could be found liable for the accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Case proved:

Just in after my cycle down the Rock road and a man (?) driving a black CLK cabriolet drove from the Texaco all the way as far as Blackrock college (before he went out of view) down the bus lane because he didn't feel the need to sit in with the other traffic.

No, excuse me, I'm far too important to obey the law.

Having said that, he didn't overtake me dangerously, but his flagrant disregard for the law is something I'm seeing more and more of.
    That's been going through my head the past week and a half or so; I'm seeing way more infringement of the bus lanes by private motorists than previously. It seems quite recent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Lumen wrote: »
    I think that is a very bad idea. Your hand signals could be misinterpreted as "you go ahead and pull out, I'm only a cyclist", and you may find yourself with legal problems in the event of an accident.

There are major legal issues with all give way signals. The classic case is where you give a "you go ahead" signal to a pedestrian on approach to a crossing, and they get run over by a car coming in the opposite direction. In that event you could be found liable for the accident.
    I've never had any confusion with it, but I see what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

ciotog wrote: »
    That's been going through my head the past week and a half or so; I'm seeing way more infringement of the bus lanes by private motorists than previously. It seems quite recent.

There was a Garda stationed yesterday pulling in private motorists at the housing estate turn after The Punch Bowl and opposite the marshland sanctuary so presumably they thought there was a certain disregard for the buslane there as well.

It's a very similar situation on Clanbrassil St heading into town now that there is a full length buslane there.