Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where do i stand .... tricky situation

• 05-02-2013 5:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

ok folks here is one for ya ..
    im just after spending a small feckin fortune getting the gearbox ,brakes and and backend done on the tractor (the further i went in the worse it got..and dearer!!!!! ) so got a fella close enough to do the work seemingly knows these inside out and he promised me it wouldnt take long .... over a year after YES A YEAR i got her back with spending 6k on parts and ..(wait for it ) 3k on labour on the day of collection was told id have no problems and that she is pulling like a train .. FOUR WEEKS LATER AND....
    THE F********* thing is slipping in first and all the low range .
    now i have left it back to him but i was informed today that the cab has to come off and go into the box again
    so here is my question (at last i here you say)
    DO I HAVE TO PAY TWICE FOR THE SAME JOB???? where do i stand.. i dont want to row with the man but i dont want to be takin for a mug .... again maybe !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Is it a business yer man has or is it a side job sort of situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 farmer x

it would be his bussiness i suppose . he does a bit of hire work but has his garage as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I wouldnt be paying twice anyhow . What kind of a tractor is it ? 9k is an awful lot of money ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Jcb1968

Sounds like he doesn,t know how to fix the prolem the first time round, and has got away with ripping you off,
    I. Would cut my ties with him, get someone else to fix the tractor, and you,ll find them a lot cheaper and quicker
    I would also ask for some of the money paid back

its a 7840 sle talk about a horror story . . nothing cheap in these should have just got rid but by the time I realised it we had gone to far to turn back .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

would you sell it as is, and get another tractor and never darken that mechanics door again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

No, you don't have to pay him twice. He agreed to do the job to a certain standard and didn't deliver. Don't be a soft touch. A year to do a job like that is a joke.
    What exactly was wrong with the back end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

A year? :eek:
    What did you do in the meantime, did he give you a replacement for that year? :confused:

I'd get him to fix it again, and then offload it if you could.

Don't pay him second time around, if it only lasted a month after him saying it should be grand, then I would say the fault lies with him...

EDIT - 3k on labour. How many hours work would this be? I know working on those is a big job, but that seems very steep is it?

no replacement had a very understanding neighbour only for him to be honest ..... the more im reading in replies the more im getting annoyed ive been a right mug .... 3k does seem alot but i was listening to him explain alot of work... ????!!!! Answering whelan1 i would be losing out too much money what would it be worth without fixing then trying to come up with cash to buy another ... i just thought if i spent the money on this and it was right at least i know what i have .... does this make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Something a miss here, have you a more detailed breakdown of what you did with the tractor?

I know SLE's can give trouble with synchro's etc but no way should the bill for parts come to 6k, half of that should be enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Makes a lot of sense. I wouldn't give him one cent more though.

hyraulic pump included in this price .... 1500 double gear for pto 375 ... bearings on main shaft had collapsed it was a complete mess inside . i ordered a ball of stuff out of dealer carbon washers o rings some plates for the packs and other stuff didnt really know what i was ordering i was just given a list this came to 1900 thought and it all fitted in a small box even the man behind the counter got a shock

there was more stuff ordered just trying to find receipts .... even sent the ecu to england as it was suggested this maybe a problem that was over 300 the more i write this the more i hope this sends a messge to people stay away from sle's .... maybe ill buy a 165 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

farmer x wrote: »
    there was more stuff ordered just trying to find receipts .... even sent the ecu to england as it was suggested this maybe a problem that was over 300 the more i write this the more i hope this sends a messge to people stay away from sle's .... maybe ill buy a 165 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

was it blue or white cab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Well you could take it back and let him fix it, then take it for a test drive, (working the load) tell him you will let him know if it seems to be working well and leave it at that, then when he knocks looking for his money you can explain why you think your wallet is shut tight,

I have had a similar problem, but with a merc van, I felt I got screwed and when I went back after 3 months with a broken up engine (which was supposed to have been reconditioned), he was going to fix it but I had to pay for everything, I told him to go for it, when it came time to settle the bill (after my test drive) I told him we were quits, the work he had done before never lasted more than 3mts,

he backed down and I payed him half the labour costs, he sucked up the rest, I am not sure you would be comfortable doing this, but it seems he was in the first instance.

A neighbour o mine has one, and something went in the gearbox as well, and it cost thousands and thousands to fix it.
    So its not just you that has spent a lot repairing them...

What you have spent, you have spent. Let yer man fix it again, but don't pay him for it... and then, don't go back to him again ;)

its a white roof ...

Well you could take it back and let him fix it, then take it for a test drive, (working the load) tell him you will let him know if it seems to be working well and leave it at that, then when he knocks looking for his money you can explain why you think your wallet is shut tight,

I have had a similar problem, but with a merc van, I felt I got screwed and when I went back after 3 months with a broken up engine (which was supposed to have been reconditioned), he was going to fix it but I had to pay for everything, I told him to go for it, when it came time to settle the bill (after my test drive) I told him we were quits, the work he had done before never lasted more than 3mts,

he backed down and I payed him half the labour costs, he sucked up the rest, I am not sure you would be comfortable doing this, but it seems he was in the first instance.
    im seriosly thinking of taking this route

simx wrote: »
    was it blue or white cab?
    white roof :mad:

A neighbour o mine has one, and something went in the gearbox as well, and it cost thousands and thousands to fix it.
    So its not just you that has spent a lot repairing them...

What you have spent, you have spent. Let yer man fix it again, but don't pay him for it... and then, don't go back to him again ;)
    would i be covered legally doing it this way :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

do you have proof you paid him the first time? like did you pay him by cheque?

would i be covered legally doing it this way :confused:

I think the best thing is to have a chat with him. you could leave it til the work is done, and then say you thought twas all the same issue, and twas covered as part of the original work.

Or - you could as the poster above suggested, take the tractor, and say nothing til he comes looking for money. Then have it out with him...

As for the legal position - not sure.

Did he say how long it would take to fix this time round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Normally, you would have to say to give the mechanic 'the benefit of the doubt', but the fact that it took him a year, I think you are dealing with a chancer there.

I think the best thing is to have a chat with him. you could leave it til the work is done, and then say you thought twas all the same issue, and twas covered as part of the original work.

Or - you could as the poster above suggested, take the tractor, and say nothing til he comes looking for money. Then have it out with him...

As for the legal position - not sure.

Did he say how long it would take to fix this time round?
    no didnt say but is supposed to be taking the cab off at the wkend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭case885

its a white roof ...

oh oh not a good tractor..