Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fakes on Done Deal Website

• 01-02-2013 8:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭

Just wondering what people's thoughts were on this, and who is ultimately responsible?

I was having a look on Done Deal - never been on it before, and noticed a huge amount of clearly fake watches - Hublot, Rolex, Breitling etc.

I reported some of them (there were too many to report them all) but got a response back saying that as it stated in the ad that they were replica's they don't have a policy against them

Surely this is wrong - now i know nobody is stupid enough to think they're getting a real Big Bang for €130 but still......

Anytime I've spotted a fake on Adverts.ie and reported it, it's been removed, so i guess the question is, is it up to Done Deal to police clearly counterfeit goods?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yea it seems to be down to the individual company. Well until they get lawyers from the original companies on their case. Adverts.ie is very good on that score(gets banned for shilling:)). Like you say they will act on reports of fakes PDQ. Ebay can be variable on that score. Sometimes they do sometimes they don't. Obvious "rolex" stlyee stuff yea, but less obvious stuff no. EG it would be hard to find a genuine watch coming from the Ukraine.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

Its exactly why I will avoid donedeal like the plague. The fact that the admins couldn't care less about the merchandise being sold on their site would make me wary that they would care even less about any potential disuptes between buyers and sellers. ultimately the fact that they charge to place adverts means that they wont care what is listed as long as they are making money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Homer wrote: »
    ultimately the fact that they charge to place adverts means that they wont care what is listed as long as they are making money.
    Not entirely true.. A year or so ago there was a huge thread in hunting about done deal, they removed any ad which mentioned hunting be that for a lamp, a dog, a horse, a rifle scope, animal trap ect because they got bombarded with complaints from a few anti hunting folk on a very regular basis, infact they changed there policy because of it!

If you really want to stop it you need to keep complaining and get everyone you know to keep complaining, if the complaints out weigh the ads they will stop it.

Thats exactly how a few mad antis got them to do it with anything that mentioned hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭paddyh117

that's possibly the case - they replied to me saying they would pass it on yadda yadda yadda - doubt they care though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I always wonder what happens to those obvious fakes on ebay that get sold as genuine watches. You see some going for $2-3000.
    Personally I would be sick to the core if I saved up and spent that on a watch that turned out to be a fake.
    For omega lovers there is a great 'fakebusters' subforum on the omega section of the WUS website. Some of the fakes are very good, some are just pathetic. But the worst is those frankenwatches.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's a big problem in the vintage market too, especially frankenwatches. Omega are again one of the names the fakers go for. (Pre TAG)Heuer another. Heuer are a charm for it as their records are sketchy, their serial numbers don't seem to follow any pattern and they used bought in movements.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

sorry to drag this up again, but it's starting to bug me

it relates to this ad http://www.adverts.ie/mens-watches/patrick-phillipe-genuine-auto-watch/2742198

which I've reported twice over the past two days, and it remains there

the watch is either a fake or stolen, so why would adverts leave it there?? - they are normally on the ball......sorry if boring but I'd hate to see some (idiot) get stung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

and if i'm not mistaken the highest offer is from somebody who has the power to remove the advert!

Homer wrote: »
    and if i'm not mistaken the highest offer is from somebody who has the power to remove the advert!

Really?? ah here - i give up. no more reporting ads - people can buy whatever they want - what do i care??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Merl1n

paddyh117 aka the watch police
    Get a life do you not have something better to do, why would you waste your time reporting the ads if someone is dumb enough to think they are getting a real watch for the advertised price that also states that its a replica it wont be your problem

Merl1n wrote: »
    paddyh117 aka the watch police
    Get a life do you not have something better to do, why would you waste your time reporting the ads if someone is dumb enough to think they are getting a real watch for the advertised price that also states that its a replica it wont be your problem

I've many many better things to do, but as I love watches i occasionally come across fakes, and i occasionally report them so as fools and their money aren't so easily parted - and you want to know why? because it's the right thing to do that's why.

Also - it doesn't state it's a replica - I've no problem with people wasting their money on replicas at all

Where does it says "replica"? The only description I read is "genuine". On that score I'd put money down it's as fake as a politicians smile.

PS Merl1n, dial back the "get a life" stuff in this forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

Says Patrick Phillipe in the ad although the dial seems to say Patek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

tis strange ok..I was selling a Vintage Seamaster, Someone questioned its authenticity....

I said that I have been assured by vendor i got it from its authentic but I could not guarantee it, I was reported and the add taken down...

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

tis strange ok..I was selling a Vintage Seamaster, Someone questioned its authenticity....

I said that I have been assured by vendor i got it from its authentic but I could not guarantee it, I was reported and the add taken down...

That is a bit harsh to be honest. They should only take down adds that can be demonstrated to be fakes rather then ones that cannot easily be demonstrated to be authentic. Best way to demonstrate authenticity is to have a local jeweler take the back off and allow you to snap a few pics. Once you have the back off it is very easy to authenticate, especially OMEGA who have signature marks on it and the model numbers and internal movement is referencable on OMEGA database website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

That is a bit harsh to be honest. They should only take down adds that can be demonstrated to be fakes rather then ones that cannot easily be demonstrated to be authentic. Best way to demonstrate authenticity is to have a local jeweler take the back off and allow you to snap a few pics. Once you have the back off it is very easy to authenticate, especially OMEGA who have signature marks on it and the model numbers and internal movement is referencable on OMEGA database website.

I may do that....Cheers

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Moderators Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

paddyh117 wrote: »
    sorry to drag this up again, but it's starting to bug me

it relates to this ad http://www.adverts.ie/mens-watches/patrick-phillipe-genuine-auto-watch/2742198

which I've reported twice over the past two days, and it remains there

the watch is either a fake or stolen, so why would adverts leave it there?? - they are normally on the ball......sorry if boring but I'd hate to see some (idiot) get stung.

Just had a look. Im assuming it didnt get removed because theres nothing to prove its fake. Your report didnt really give any explanation other than "Fake". Adverts mods/employees arnt watch experts (as far as I know) so the more detail you can spare as to why you think its fake the better suited they are to act on it.

I may do that....Cheers

Below is the link you need.
    If any problems then post a picture of the back of the watch here and the inside of the cover and we will help you!

http://www.omegawatches.com/spirit/history/vintage-omegas/vintage-watches-database

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 6,527 Mod ✭✭✭✭sharkman

RE the Patek , I diddnt make an offer but did request more information on the watch and was giving the seller time to reply , however they have failed to update the advert and once I see that they have been online and failed to do so I shall be taking action .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

FWIW, I saw an ad for a car on Donedeal, it was a private sale and was priced competitively - not a stupid price but a good price for a private sale. I asked the vendor to meet so I could have a look, he suggested the car park of a well known pub on the N11 so I met him there. It quickly transpired that it wasn't his car but that he was selling it 'for a client'. I asked to see the vehicle registration cert. and he made some lame excuse as to why he didn't have it so I said I'd think about it and get back to him.

Went home, paid money to motorcheck.ie to suss it out and lo and behold it had finance outstanding! Phoned the guy back and he made yet more feeble excuses so I told him he wouldn't be hearing from me again.

Reported it to DD, expecting them to either take down the ad or flag it as having finance outstanding, they didn't want to know. They told me to report it to the Gardai but of course that was no good because there would be no crime or fraud committed until someone handed over the asking price for the car and that someone was not going to be me.

Worth bearing in mind if you think they're going to withdraw ads for watches with misleading brand names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

They used to be quite good at removing scanger bangers with the wrong engine listed on the VLC etc, but they don't give a toss any more.