Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donal Og not in Cork panel

• 01-02-2013 12:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭

Looks like it may be the end of a career that saw him win three All Irelands. I thought he was a good goalie who improved quite a bit throughout his career, thought he was better in the last few years than he was around 03-05.
    While I didn't think much of some of his behaviour around the time of the strikes the fact that he came out while still playing was fantastic and I think that many of us who didn't agree with him at certain times would have praise for him for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Looks like it may be the end of a career that saw him win three All Irelands. I thought he was a good goalie who improved quite a bit throughout his career, thought he was better in the last few years than he was around 03-05.
    While I didn't think much of some of his behaviour around the time of the strikes the fact that he came out while still playing was fantastic and I think that many of us who didn't agree with him at certain times would have praise for him for that.

Wasn't he the first openly gay inter county player? Fair play to him I say **** the begrudgers..

Great player too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

The first? Do you know of any others? Incredibly brave thing (nevermind as a keeper, a position where you get constant abuse at the best of times) to do but it shouldn't distract from a great career as a player.

If Jimmy Barry just dropped him that's pretty classless, players that reach that level deserve a little more consideration than that. Until there's an announcement I'd hold off on the eulogies, lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Syferus wrote: »
    The first? Do you know of any others? Incredibly brave thing (nevermind as a keeper, a position where you get constant abuse at the best of times) to do but it shouldn't distract from a great career as a player.

If Jimmy Barry just dropped him that's pretty classless, players that reach that level deserve a little more consideration than that. Until there's an announcement I'd hold off on the eulogies, lads.
    Harsh enough on JBM, one thing you could never accuse him of is lacking class. Cusack is injured isnt he? Whats he meant to do, hang onto an injured keeper when he has an All Star goalie to work with?

I have a lot of time for Donal Óg, but he's 35 and the end comes to us all at some stage. I don't blame JBM, and lets be honest, if any man can show Sean Óg, Gardiner and Cusack the door in Cork and escape unscathed, it'll be JBM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

What other way is there of doing it though? Who's to say that JBM and DOC didn't have a long discussion prior to his being left out of the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Harsh enough on JBM, one thing you could never accuse him of is lacking class. Cusack is injured isnt he? Whats he meant to do, hang onto an injured keeper when he has an All Star goalie to work with?

I have a lot of time for Donal Óg, but he's 35 and the end comes to us all at some stage. I don't blame JBM, and lets be honest, if any man can show Sean Óg, Gardiner and Cusack the door in Cork and escape unscathed, it'll be JBM.

Brian Cody always says he's not managing Kilkenny to be admired as a nice fellow.
    Its a pity though if this is the end for Donal OG not only a great goalie but also a great leader. Anthony Nash All Star goalie last year makes it a very hard choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

Do Cork really need 3 keepers on a panel of 24 for the league with one of them injured? They also have the current all star keeper so there is one slot gone.

Seems a smart and obvious decision by JBM to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

MfMan wrote: »
    What other way is there of doing it though? Who's to say that JBM and DOC didn't have a long discussion prior to his being left out of the squad.
    Exactly. People love to jump on an aul scandal. Usually the player will come out and announce it himself in such circumstances, but maybe Ogie couldnt give a fúck? Who's to say.
    mccarthy37 wrote: »
    Brian Cody always says he's not managing Kilkenny to be admired as a nice fellow.
    Its a pity though if this is the end for Donal OG not only a great goalie but also a great leader. Anthony Nash All Star goalie last year makes it a very hard choice.
    I would have thought Nash being an All Star goalie made it a very easy choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

If Jimmy Barry just dropped him that's pretty classless, players that reach that level deserve a little more consideration than that.

JBM job is to put Cork hurling in the strongest possible position to win silverware, he doesn't feel Donal Og has a part to play what else is he supposed to do??

And what level he reached is completely irrelevant, using your logic the fact that Ray Cummins and John Fenton have been left out is very classless :confused:

Time waits for no man, Donal Og has been a wonderfull servant but Cork are well served with Keepers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Wasn't he the first openly gay inter county player? Fair play to him I say **** the begrudgers..

Great player too...

who's begrudging anyone here?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

Simply put you don't drop from the first-choice keeper to bellow back-up over the summer. Donal Og, if he was dropped, should have been given an option to return and fight for his place, with the implicit understanding a starting spot wasn't garenteed.

It's called respecting a veteran, something you see far too little of in the GAA, and based on the treatment of Sean Og a few years ago, far too little for comfort in Cork GAA. It's an amateur sport do more than any other managers shouldn't be kicking long-serving players to the crub as coldly as this.

And again, any confirmed reports of what, if anything, has happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Simply put you don't drop from the first-choice keeper to bellow back-up over the summer. Donal Og, if he was dropped, should have been given an option to return and fight for his place, with the implicit understanding a starting spot wasn't garenteed.

It's called respecting a veteran, something you see far too little of in the GAA, and based on the treatment of Sean Og a few years ago, far too little for comfort in Cork GAA. It's an amateur sport do more than any other managers shouldn't be kicking long-serving players to the crub as coldly as this.

And again, any confirmed reports of what, if anything, has happened?

Anthony Nash is first choice keeper simple as, Donal Og is considered surplus to requirements its very straightforward.

There is no controversy and no scandal, the manager feels that having a sub keeper aged 36 come championship time is not in the squads best interest and quite frankly he is 110% correct.

Not sure what the GAA's status as an amateur organisation has to do with any of this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭dzer2

Last years all star goalie wouldnt be a great accolade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

I believe Cusack was informed some months ago that he would be at best number 3 goalkeeper this year. Obviously he didn't get the message. With Sean Og also getting the bullet you can't help wondering how Denis Walsh and Gerald McCarthy would have been treated had they acted like JBM.

Regarding Cusack "coming out" - it was a well known fact long before he sold the book. While he must be admired for writing about it I don't think any "straight" sportsman would have gotten away with detailing their sexual exploits like Cusack did in his book.

Best of luck to him.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Grats wrote: »
    I believe Cusack was informed some months ago that he would be at best number 3 goalkeeper this year. Obviously he didn't get the message. With Sean Og also getting the bullet you can't help wondering how Denis Walsh and Gerald McCarthy would have been treated had they acted like JBM.

Regarding Cusack "coming out" - it was a well known fact long before he sold the book. While he must be admired for writing about it I don't think any "straight" sportsman would have gotten away with detailing their sexual exploits like Cusack did in his book.

Best of luck to him.

Sean Og didn't get the bullet - he retired himself, was actually one of the better players from last season. Donal Og is not injured - he has recovered, to those posters who said he was injured. John Gardiner was the only one that was pushed, Niall Mac has been struggling with a back injury and is off to Australia

Going from team captain and number 1 keeper to completely off the panel is a huge slide, I know JBM and Cunningham were at loggerheads for quite a while with Donal Og stuck in the middle, but for a top class keeper and a genuine leader to be just dropped and not even considered is baffling. Its one thing to cut a panel for a league, but teams regularly carry extended squads - I really don't think the full story is out yet. The timing of it is funny as well - he's in New York, but not sure for how long. Did that have an influence on JBM's decision to leave him off the panel??

If it is actually the end for him, then its the end of a great era

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭Treble20

The correct call by JBM. Donal Og has been a great servant to Cork hurling for the last 15 years or so but he's time has come to an end,JBM needs to build a team for the future and move on from the players from the last All Ireland winning era in the mid 2000's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Regarding Cusack "coming out" - it was a well known fact long before he sold the book.

Correction – it was widely rumoured. The book confirmed these rumours. Big different – think about it, how may incorrect rumours goes around the GAA circle!

While he must be admired for writing about it I don't think any "straight" sportsman would have gotten away with detailing their sexual exploits like Cusack did in his book.

Good point.
    Seems strange a man who does 9 months recovery 5/6 times a week Dosnt evenget a chance to prove he's worth a place on a panel.

Based on Cadogan’s tweet, he was harshly dropped. He derserved more from Cork hurling who he done a lot for (although one can very fairly question his method for doing it!!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

...it I don't think any "straight" sportsman would have gotten away with detailing their sexual exploits like Cusack did in his book.

Best of luck to him.
    What's that got to do with anything?
    If memory serves me correctly, the detailing was a way to show to people the subterfuge and ends the lad had to go to to actually meet someone....did you expect him to walk down the main street in Cork hand in hand with another lad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭ManFromCheese

What's that got to do with anything?
    If memory serves me correctly, the detailing was a way to show to people the subterfuge and ends the lad had to go to to actually meet someone....did you expect him to walk down the main street in Cork hand in hand with another lad?

ah some of his 1 nite stand exploits did not have to be spoken about...what if henry shefflin started bragging in his book about having 1 nite stands with young wans around kilkenny, he'd be lambasted, but we are all so pc now that we have to say that if your gay its ok, its cool, we are all so understanding, say anything against it and your branded a homophobe.
    i couldnt care less what donal og gets up to but there shouldnt be rules or standards for 1 group and not for the other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭periodictable

ah some of his 1 nite stand exploits did not have to be spoken about...what if henry shefflin started bragging in his book about having 1 nite stands with young wans around kilkenny, he'd be lambasted, but we are all so pc now that we have to say that if your gay its ok, its cool, we are all so understanding, say anything against it and your branded a homophobe.
    i couldnt care less what donal og gets up to but there shouldnt be rules or standards for 1 group and not for the other
    When the playing field is level, then it won't be necessary to treat people differently. Alternatively, don't read the book if it offends you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

i couldnt care less what donal og gets up to but there shouldn't be rules or standards for 1 group and not for the other

He was writing his own book and wanted to come clean about his past in his own way, it is not fair to say that events in his life/book "did not have to be spoken about" just because they are unpalatable for you. Surely when you read the autobiography you wanted to get an idea of what the person was like as opposed to just the highlight reel?

When he is prepared to listen to **** like “He’s gay/ He’s bent/ His ass is up for rent/ Donal Óg.” coming from the terraces I dont think it fair for you to judge what is appropriate for him to say in his own autobiography

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

Is it not possible that he's been given the league off and he'll be back closer to championship? Happens a lot with veteran players these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Jimmy Barry Murphy had to drop him if he didn't think having him on the panel was in Cork's best interests, crazy to think otherwise.
    I would doubt Cusack thinks he should be on the panel if the manager thinks he isn't up to it. Players get dropped from inter county panels all the time, it's by no means unusual, and I'm sure Donal Og knew that there was a fair chance that JBM wouldn't want a 35 year old sub
    . The fact that hurling is an amateur game has nothing to do with it. Older players get dropped or don't have their contracts renewed all the time in professional sport too.
    I can understand people criticising Donal Og's descriptions of the circumstances of a couple of one night stands in the book, but in fairness to him he has shown a lot of bravery and shown that being gay needn't be a barrier to success in hurling.
    The fact that some of the selectors wanted to keep Cusack is interesting, and worrying for Cork. Are rumours that they are also disagreeing about the type of training to be done.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

mccarthy37 wrote: »

Simply confirms the rumour I heard a few weeks ago. Cork hurling is in the doldrums, and with Cahalane and Cadogen going to the football shows this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Seniors loss is the Cork Intermediates gain. Himself and Martin Coleman are eligible for the intermediate team, who would've thought! Any odds on the Cork intermediates for the all ireland?? :D:D