Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you take her pain?

• 31-01-2013 11:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭

Would you volunteer to take it if it was possible to do a transfer and give your partner a pain free delivery? I don't mind a certain amount of pain but I am not sure I would do this. How do women do this again and again?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

I thought it was grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

No no no no nope.

Cuttin my own toenails is barely below my max-pain threshold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

My wife went through labour and delivered our daughter naturally without so much as a paracetamol for pain relief. I have never felt so in awe of anyone in my life. Were it possible to transfer the pain, I would take it next time as I definitely owe her one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

in before it cant be all that bad if they do it again and i never heard of someone wanting to get kicked in the balls twice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

greenflash wrote: »
    My wife went through labour and delivered our daughter naturally without so much as a paracetamol for pain relief. I have never felt so in awe of anyone in my life. Were it possible to transfer the pain, I would take it next time as I definitely owe her one.

I did this with my first and learned not to go through this hardship for my second. Epidural was amazing. No point in going through pain when there are drugs out there to ease it - nobody gets any brownie points for being a martyr to pain and the end result is still the same with the drugs only a less-stressed and less sore mother!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

That was funny.

I wouldn't fancy it though.

I did this with my first and learned not to go through this hardship for my second. Epidural was amazing. No point in going through pain when there are drugs out there to ease it - nobody gets any brownie points for being a martyr to pain and the end result is still the same with the drugs only a less-stressed and less sore mother!!

I didn't want pain relief, not to be a martyr..I managed fine. I was completely mobile and virtually pain free straight after. Whereas other mothers who had the epidural were in bed for hours. Just my personal reason for not wanting it.

Also it reduces the chances of having to use vacuum or forceps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

No problem! I'll gladly take it.
    Sure women complain about everything, don't they?
    Back pain, foot pain, pregnancy pains, all sorts of pains.
    I'm allowed to drink myself to the point I can't feel anything, right?

Shouldn't be a bother at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,688 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Pffft. Try losing an accumulator with a last minute equaliser.

I've never felt pain like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I didn't want pain relief, not to be a martyr..I managed fine. I was completely mobile and virtually pain free straight after. Whereas other mothers who had the epidural were in bed for hours. Just my personal reason for not wanting it.

:eek::eek: I am sorry but WTF?!! The thought of them anywhere near my lady parts makes me want to vomit from fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Plus it also reduces the risk of tearing and other damage. When you're all numbed up sometimes you can't feel just how hard you're pushing. Happened to my mother. Still though I've never experienced it so I can't say for sure, but I'd probably take whatever drugs I could get my hands on to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

My missus reckons it's all in the head, delivered two naturally, had pethidine towards the end, no wailing etc, my sisters who have both had two and are a little on the dramatic side :rolleyes: at the best of times had significantly more difficult births so I reckon there is something in it ok, if you go in to give birth full of fear etc your body isn't going to relax, but I'm a guy so wtf do I know, would I swop places, you must be joking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

My wife nearly died when giving birth to our first child. She had pre eclampsia and spent two weeks in hospital prior to the birth. On the day she was in pain and even with drugs was in severe distress. At one point she was screaming in pain to the extent she crushed my fingers against the bed. It just went on for hours. The midwife told me to get some rest in another room which of course I didn't. Then it all went crazy with an emergency caesarian. The whole ER thing.

We had a beautiful little boy but I was exhausted.

Later my wife told me she remembered nothing until two days after the whole event. She thinks the whole thing was magic. That is not what I remember.

I remember the terrible fear of losing my my wife and child. It was that close. I didn't suffer her pain but it wasn't nice.But I remember her screaming. She remembers nothing.

Would I swap? I think so.

It wasn't so bad with the second child but maybe I was ready. She remembers nothing either.

Yeah, us men have it easy.:mad:

Itwasntme. wrote: »

:eek::eek: I am sorry but WTF?!! The thought of them anywhere near my lady parts makes me want to vomit from fear.

Yeah, don't Google them. Honestly the fear is that It's so unknown and once it starts, you can't stop it.
    Don't let the fear of pain put you off having children. Educate yourself, knowledge is power. It honestly isn't that bad, its different for everyone though. For me it was like someone was tearing my spine apart, while having really bad cramps.

A lot of women poo as well. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

For me it was like someone was tearing my spine apart, while having really bad cramps.

I like how you casually say that.
    Kinda like: for me, it was like ordering the destruction of a few million civilians and then having a nice brandy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

She wasn't being a martyr, the nurses fkucked up in pre-labour and she was 9cm upon arrival in the delivery room after completely skipping the labour ward. Nurses kept trying to do traces and she wasn't examined for five hours. By the time they realised what was going on it was time to push. Her recovery and healing was extremely quick as everything was natural but I'm fairly sure she'd take the epidural next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

bluecode wrote: »
    My wife nearly died when giving birth to our first child. She had pre eclampsia and spent two weeks in hospital prior to the birth. On the day she was in pain and even with drugs was in severe distress. At one point she was screaming in pain to the extent she crushed my fingers against the bed. It just went on for hours. The midwife told me to get some rest in another room which of course I didn't. Then it all went crazy with an emergency caesarian. The whole ER thing.

We had a beautiful little boy but I was exhausted.

Later my wife told me she remembered nothing until two days after the whole event. She thinks the whole thing was magic. That is not what I remember.

I remember the terrible fear of losing my my wife and child. It was that close. I didn't suffer her pain but it wasn't nice.But I remember her screaming. She remembers nothing.

Would I swap? I think so.

It wasn't so bad with the second child but maybe I was ready. She remembers nothing either.

Yeah, us men have it easy.:mad:

How are your fingers now? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Women are programmed to forget the pain, sure we would have to be...why else would you put yourself through it again and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I like you casually say that.
    Kinda like: for me, it was like ordering the destruction of a few million civilians and then having a nice brandy.

Haha. My thoughts exactly. Her first post was, "I thought it was grand." If your spine being torn with a side of bad cramps is grand, then excuse me but I think I will discard your advice on the whole 'don't let the fear put you off kids' bit :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

You can't compare peoples reactions to labour. I did my first 2 drug free. The pain was tough but manageable. The 3rd was horrendous and the epidural was a God send. It turned what would have been a traumatic experience into a quite relaxed experience. Positive for me.
    I don't think women who have natural births are martyrs but if they insist on doing it natural please don't go on about how horrendous it was afterwards (exceptions those where someone nearly dies).

How are your fingers now? :P
    Yeah good thanks, but the it's not the fingers that wake me up at night every now and then.

She gets a nice hug every now and then and she doesn't always know why.

I was terrified of losing her, not that she'll ever know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I have had a soccer ball full force to my cock so I pissed blood, and also pissed out several stones. After that, I can take it.

Itwasntme. wrote: »

I had vacuum when I had no pain relief and had no help with the delivery when I had the epidural!

greenflash wrote: »

She wasn't being a martyr, the nurses fkucked up in pre-labour and she was 9cm upon arrival in the delivery room after completely skipping the labour ward. Nurses kept trying to do traces and she wasn't examined for five hours. By the time they realised what was going on it was time to push. Her recovery and healing was extremely quick as everything was natural but I'm fairly sure she'd take the epidural next time.

Pretty much exact same thing happened to me. I wasn't talking about your wife when I said the word martyr...I was more using it in a general sense about people not wanting pain relief.

As for being immobile after an epi - yes but you are in bits after a baby anyway so even if you had no pain relief it's not like you are going to be off running around the place straight after having your baby! With the epi you don't even need to get up to go to the bathroom, it's all taken care of...so you can sit back, pain free, and enjoy your baby. I'm just comparing my experiences as I've been through natural no-drugs labour and epidural labour. No comparison!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Why in the name of flying f**k would I want to experience such pain? You'd want to get mentally tested if you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Its a complete myth thats often repeated by people that are critical of other homespun wisdom that woman have a higher pain threshold than men. Its simply not true (see links I grabbed quickly).
    That said if going to the jacks with a wide load can be uncomfortable I don;t think hours of pushing is really appealing :o

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0304395902003305

http://europepmc.org/abstract/MED/7771417/reload=0;jsessionid=kAPkmRmqiaXws1sMgpJq.30

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0304395901004274

bluecode wrote: »

She gets a nice hug every now and then and she doesn't always know why.

I was terrified of losing her, not that she'll ever know that.

That brought a tear to my eye. She's lucky she has someone who loves her like that. :)

And you're lucky your fingers recovered.:P

Candie wrote: »
    That brought a tear to my eye. She's lucky she has someone who loves her like that. :)

And you're lucky your fingers recovered.:P
    I don't know if they ever did.:D I'm nobody she did it all. I'm lucky not her. I'm no fecking hero. She is. I think you know what I mean. I am nothing, no false modesty. Why do you think I married her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

I am female I don't want to do this..no kids for me.

But it is the whole pregnancy for nine months as well.

As regards taking her pain......why not go halfsies??? And both get doped out of your heads with an epidural ???? Then neither of you remembers it anyway.

I think unwanted pregnancies would go down too and there would be state of the art maternity wards.

As regards taking her pain......why not go halfsies??? And both get doped out of your heads with an epidural ???? Then neither of you remembers it anyway.

An epidural is a local anesthetic, delivered to the epidural space in the spine. You get pain relief but no doping effect. Which might be a drawback to many. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 930 ✭✭✭poeticseraphim

I think unwanted pregnancies would go down too and there would be state of the art maternity wards.

An epidural is a local anesthetic, delivered to the epidural space in the spine. You get pain relief but no doping effect. Which might be a drawback to many. :)

What a gip!.....I demand the finest drugs known to humanity for my fellow sisters....they should see through time! :D

Seriously though I really feel that medical science is not pushed to improve the whole thing.

The gas dopes you up though right??

What a gip!.....I demand the finest drugs known to humanity for my fellow sisters....they should see through time! :D

Seriously though I really feel that medical science is not pushed to improve the whole thing.

I haven't been through the process, but I'd say the gas is gas.:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

I survived the manflu this winter with only Lemsip for relief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

The gas and air can make you very sicky, lots of women try to use it but it can be too sickening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I just demand a set of earplugs next time so I can read my newspaper in peace beside her without being constantly interrupted! :p

Yep, I don't know what it's called, but my wife was on another planet altogether giving birth, she doesn't even remember "accidentally" busting my nose when she lashed out. I have my doubts! -_- :D

Now while a straight on nose punch was painful, there's no way in hell I'd fancy passing a rugby ball out my back passage, which is the closest comparison I could make for a guy. There really isn't enough drugs! I wouldn't envy my wife one bit, and no way would I "take her pain", laughable idea tbh! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I should never have clicked on this thread, childbirth is my one major fear, it scares the living daylights out if me. I can't watch it, hear about or read about without feeling faint and getting the gawks. It's not even the pain it's the whole of concept of a living thing growing inside of me and then having to push it out of me, seriously it's like alien or something,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I would NEVER take her pain. I've watched a lady bring up the seventh son of her family. she watched that lad grow up...believe me, he wasn't an easy mission. She listened to his dribble when he was 17, she sat by him when he was still trying to figure "WTF" is it all about But from all that energy from the past, to this day...I carry it...because....we are all but one...all the time .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

I would NEVER take her pain. I've watched a lady bring up the seventh son of her family. she watched that lad grow up...believe me, he wasn't an easy mission. She listened to his dribble when he was 17, she sat by him when he was still trying to figure "WTF" is it all about But from all that energy from the past, to this day...I carry it...because....we are all but one...all the time .

Actually lads, that's my Mam....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I, would take her pulsating placenta in my mouth.

Actually thas kinda spooky considering how I value nutrition over taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Gee_G

Epidural and the gas and air, only way to go :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Videos like this freak people out for no good reason. I was scared ****less of childbirth. Wanted to be knocked out. I gave the epidural a go and sure it was grand altogether. Had a nice snooze totally painfree and read a magazine. Midwife gave me a nudge when it was time to push, i was freaked out that it would hurt, so asked for an epidural topup. Got that, pushed away for 20 minutes, no pain, but a feeling of pressure alright. Out came the baby, no forceps, no vaccuum. I was happy, husband was happy. No screaming people in my delivery room. I can easily say it was one of the best experiences of my life. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

My birth plan:

Give me an epidural immediately - anything else happens, I don't care.

Succint and to the point :)

Although I read yesterday that 83% of women who have a forceps delivery have some kind of incontinence afterwards :eek: so maybe I do care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

If there is a next time i will just go to a different hospital. I wouldn't let the fools in Tralee General wash a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Pethidine.....what a feeling! Had a shot during both of my labours and it gave me a real understanding of how people get strung out on heroin.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

They should have pumped them full of pregnancy hormones as well, for the gallery.

sadie06 wrote: »
    Pethidine.....what a feeling! Had a shot during both of my labours and it gave me a real understanding of how people get strung out on heroin.

I'll put a reminder in my phone for when/if the day comes. At least there's something to look forward to. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭madmammy

I'll put a reminder in my phone for when/if the day comes. At least there's something to look forward to. :)

just becareful because it could make you sick too
    gas and air doesn't take the pain away it makes you feel like your floating and drowsy
    i've gone through labour 4 times, i'd go through that again no problem but its the pregnancy that'll freak you out

madmammy wrote: »
    just becareful because it could make you sick too
    gas and air doesn't take the pain away it makes you feel like your floating and drowsy
    i've gone through labour 4 times, i'd go through that again no problem but its the pregnancy that'll freak you out

I don't think it's going to be an issue. After this thread I don't think I'll be having kids.

At least not until they invent a painkiller that dupes you into thinking you're on a beach in the Seychelles lying in the sun, instead of beached on a table, lying in pain. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

At least not until they invent a painkiller that dupes you into thinking you're on a beach in the Seychelles lying in the sun, instead of beached on a table, lying in pain. :)

For me, pethidine was that drug. I couldn't have cared less what was going on. The only bad thing was the fear of it inevitably wearing off. From bliss to panic.