Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is the place that you are most likely to have a heated exchange of words?

• 31-01-2013 8:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭

From observation, Boards.ie must rapidly becoming one of the most notorious places to have a heated exchange of words.

Other locations rapidly sliding down the popularity scale as a result must be:

On the phone to the bank, the tax office, auctioneer.
    In any number of queues, shop, soup kitchen.
    At the football/soccer game.
    After mass.
    At the crowded bar trying to get served.
    Vincent Browne's place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

Pub toilets. I seem to have a head that other girls like to punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

After Hours.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Work.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

On Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Burkey0

Car park wars and scenes of accidents/bad driving (especially where taxi drivers are concerned)

Outside Supermacs of a Saturday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Bingo.......feckin biddies trying to rob / swop bingo cards.

Lavender smelling feckers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Nightclubs. Alcohol and crowded dance floors are never a good mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

In bed with my wife-

"What do you mean 'wrong hole?'"

"It doesn't fùcking bend that waaaayaaaagh!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

youtubes comment section. /thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Squarewave

Sauna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The Scrabble World Championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

A courtroom? Isnt that where rich people argue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Talk to Joe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 407 ✭✭Noel Kinsella

In after hours usually with nodin or wiley coyote or both lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Nightclubs.

Restaurant kitchens.

Airports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

In my head, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

After mass always.
    I want to go to the pub and herself wants to be at home cuddling.
    Leads to a blazing row in the carpark and I end up walking to the pub.
    Like all good christians we forgive each other next morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Over an Icelandic volcano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Over an Icelandic volcano.

Fail, unless you, that is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

So this is how Family Fortunes does its research.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

I shout at UPC Customer Service a lot... don't have an account with them, just love shouting at their staff

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭IrishExpat

Back home in my small town where social de-evolution really has set in.

Particularly outside of a bar or nightclub at closing hours.

"Here, are ye looking at my woman?"

No = 'oh what, she's not good lookin'?' ... a great opportunity for a fight.
    Yes = puffing of chest ... and a great opportunity for a fight.

Fcuk you Newbridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

IMDB

Them lads really need to get out more and wonder what's beyond the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

Kettleson wrote: »
    From observation, Boards.ie must rapidly becoming one of the most notorious places to have a heated exchange of words.

Other locations rapidly sliding down the popularity scale as a result must be:

On the phone to the bank, the tax office, auctioneer.
    In any number of queues, shop, soup kitchen.
    At the football/soccer game.
    After mass.
    At the crowded bar trying to get served.
    Vincent Browne's place.

1)Boards
    2)Work
    3)While driving directed at other motorists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Either the pub or the bedroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Smoking area of a pub/club. Crowd of drunk people and no music to drown out the stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

On the football pitch. Easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭The Road Runner

Cedrus wrote: »
    IMDB

Them lads really need to get out more and wonder what's beyond the horizon.

Ah its not the worst, though it can be annoying to navigate but i think the format is good that it generally keeps trolls and soapboxers away. youtube is probably the worst of the common sites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Traffic peak times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

The sauna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

IrishExpat wrote: »

Fcuk you Newbridge.

Swifts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

The street. I'll be on my own / they won't :/ go figure.

Actually I won't even say anything back by now for obvious reasons. Because is you squint our eyes enough, chavs don't actually exist. Well actually you'd have to have em sewn up but it's a telling trait I truly despise. look, we outnumber that person walking alone let's make them feel uncomfortable at the very least. when I was a youth I'd almost go out of my way to do the opposite! So what kind of cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Fail, unless you, that is all.

It's time to reasses my life.

ETA: And spelling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Out the car window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Ah its not the worst, though it can be annoying to navigate but i think the format is good that it generally keeps trolls and soapboxers away. youtube is probably the worst of the common sites

IMBD is fairly troll free but there's loads of soapboxers on the films I'm checking out.
    Youtube attracts the lowest of the low in commenters and the Drudge Report runs a close second, but I've given up reading them so I don't exchange heated words.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

On the phone to people telling you turn something off and back on again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The space encompassing a bowl of Alphabetti Spaghetti and a person's mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Nightclubs, easily. As I'm getting older, I'm learning to tolerate eejits that would've annoyed me previously on the net more and tolerate drunken kids trying to show off to their mates less. I wouldn't be a rowdy person, generally, but nearly every night out in one of these spots these days usually ends with me having to tell some idiot to shut up.

I just feel a bit sorry for trolls today...it's so widely discussed and documented how empty the lives of these people tend to be, when they're uncovered, that it comes across a bit cliché and desperate when I see them at it. However harsh their words may read appears to be equally proportional to the lack of...anything else to fill their time with, so it's difficult to take them seriously with that in mind. They obviously have their own troubles if that's how they get their kicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 794 ✭✭✭bluecode

At home with my wife, which only implies that I never go anywhere anymore. Over the usual things, which hardly matter.

God be with the days when it all kicked off. The taxi queue when taxis were rare. When someone tried to accuse me of taking his fecking taxi. I gave him the whole psycho thing, nose to nose. He backed off. Him and the taxi driver who took his side.

The following day when I told my friends, they were horrified, warning me about psychos, knowing me as a mild mannered nothing scared of my shadow. I just said he met one. Mainly because they had all gone home with their girlfriends and I had none and was really pissed off and frustrated.

Never undersestimate a man who is going home alone.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

bluecode wrote: »
    At home with my wife, which only implies that I never go anywhere anymore. Over the usual things, which hardly matter.

God be with the days when it all kicked off. The taxi queue when taxis were rare. When someone tried to accuse me of taking his fecking taxi. I gave him the whole psycho thing, nose to nose. He backed off. Him and the taxi driver who took his side.

The following day when I told my friends, they were horrified, warning me about psychos, knowing me as a mild mannered nothing scared of my shadow. I just said he met one. Mainly because they had all gone home with their girlfriends and I had none and was really pissed off and frustrated.

Never undersestimate a man who is going home alone.:mad:

You should have tried the chipper on the way home. It always worked for me. It just was'nt worth thumping someone and running the risk of dropping your double portion of battered sausage and chips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

IrishExpat wrote: »

Fcuk you Newbridge.

Ahh Newbridge, the many times I've passed through on the way home at night and any lit building there does be fights outside them, it's the style sure, have a few drinks before you go out, go out and have a good oul fight and get a take away, a successful night for most of those who do go out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Amárách in me Da's house

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

Opening time at the big box sports store when the ammo is limited.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

SPAM above.

AVOID

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

A courtroom? Isnt that where rich people argue?

Not so much?

The place I have most heated words is when I am online with my laptop and I am watching the big bang theory on telly, or some other such sh1te, and my (pesky) OH is talking sh1t to me all at the same time.

I do be quite testy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Vincent Browns place......lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

PPI callers who have my name and mobile number. I called her a "**** faced whure" earlier. Must have took her a while to work out that one!