Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Points for Racing

• 31-01-2013 7:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

I've been cycling for a year or so now, joined the club, doing the training, totally addicted, you get the idea.
    I am hoping to start racing this year in A4 and would like to know are points available for ALL the races on the cycling Ireland racing calendar. I know that they'll vary depending on numbers, distance etc. I am well aware that this may not even be relevant to me yet, I might not be really competing! :P
    I am obviously getting really excited for the start of season.

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

I hate to spoil your enthusiasm, but I see some very talented ex A1 and A2 riders sandbagging A4 races. In my humble opinion, these guys have absolutely no business riding what are essentially beginner events..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

yes points for every race If I recall 8 down to 1 for races below 100km and 10 to 1 for races over 100km.

No points for club races though
    (a) In road races up to 50km, points to be awarded 3-2-1;
    (b) In road races over 50km and up to 100km, points to be awarded: 8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1;
    (c) In road races over 100km, points to be awarded, 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1;
    (d) National League road races points will be awarded 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1;
    (e) In any road race with 20 riders or less points to be awarded 3-2-1;
    (f) National Senior Road Race Championship – Double points as detailed in (d) above;
    (g) National Veterans and National A3 Road Race Championship, National Junior Championships,
    National Women’s Championships 12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3.
    (h) National Time Trial Championships 6-5-4-3-2-1;
    (i) National Hill Climb Championship 6-5-4-3-2-1;
    (j) National Criterium Championship 12-10-8-6-4-2;
    (k) International Calendar single day races – Double points awarded as (d) above;
    (l) Stage races – per stage as (a), (b), (c) above in respect of road stages and time trial stages 3-2-1,
    final general classification - points to be awarded: 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1.;
    (m) International Calendar stage races – per stage as (f) and (h) above, final general classification
    points to be awarded 34-32-30-28-26-24-22-20-18-16-14-12-10-8-6;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 slowmoving

Thanks for the replies lads. Clears up my confusion. We'll see about getting the points down the road. Will just try to keep enjoy/suffering as much as I am at the moment and see how things pan out.

I hate to spoil your enthusiasm, but I see some very talented ex A1 and A2 riders sandbagging A4 races. In my humble opinion, these guys have absolutely no business riding what are essentially beginner events..:rolleyes:

Names please? by pm if you wish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Cayo

Just wondering,

how long does it generally take for points to show up on the cycling rankings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

Cayo wrote: »
    Just wondering,

how long does it generally take for points to show up on the cycling rankings?
    mine changed within few days,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Pawlie wrote: »
    mine changed within few days,

Probably cos ya rang them every 30minutes shouting excitedly 'wheres my a3 licence, butty?!!'.............

padjo5 wrote: »
    Probably cos ya rang them every 30minutes shouting excitedly 'wheres my a3 licence, butty?!!'.............

Good one Padjo,yea should take up comedy aswell,seen as you a top cyclist too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Slo_Rida

Oooof sounds narky! All that A3 stuff must be getting you down budgie :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

.Hope you're not off on one of your rants again.Respect for fellow cyclists is what gains respect from fellow cyclists.
    And sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.

Slo_Rida wrote: »
    Oooof sounds narky! All that A3 stuff must be getting you down budgie :mad:

Lmao 😜 yea doing aqua race Sunday

wav1 wrote: »
    .Hope you're not off on one of your rants again.Respect for fellow cyclists is what gains respect from fellow cyclists.

Firstly Mr 1, who wants respect from fellow cyclists?
    Secondly, did we not all enjoy the old "bowld as brass" Pawlie more than the new Pawlie with this respectful professionalism vibe about him?

He or she was getting smart not me,I could not care less if fellow cyclists don't respect me,more important things to be worrying about Wav.

Lmao 😜 yea doing aqua race Sunday

Nah it's too hard to suck wheels going up those hills :pac:

Goway yea be grand lad,yea doing Nenagh classic next week

Deffo. I live down that way. I threw a team in for the TTT too, just need to fill the last few places. You doing the TTT? Should be something different at least.
    Hope me legs aren't tired for the Sunday though...

He or she was getting smart not me,I could not care less if fellow cyclists don't respect me,more important things to be worrying about Wav.
    You'll learn.Attitude like that and in the sport a wet day.Stinks to be honest.
    A very famous now deceased cyclist had a theory that if you didn't have friends in the bunch you'd get nowhere and he raced for 40 plus yrs.Not a wet day.

Deffo. I live down that way. I threw a team in for the TTT too, just need to fill the last few places. You doing the TTT? Should be something different at least.
    Hope me legs aren't tired for the Sunday though...

I'd fall off a TT bike lad lol,not doing it,should be fun thou,Sunday should be a great day out,the wife and two kids are coming up for day too,

A very famous now deceased cyclist had a theory that if you didn't have friends in the bunch you'd get nowhere and he raced for 40 plus yrs.Not a wet day.

HA!
    I've seen this guy in the A4 group trying to break on windy days and working up the front at his ease, totally chilled and respectful in the peloton. That's where you win/lose respect, not a forum website IMO.

Wav whoever you are (a top pro,an amateur cyclist or some one that's needs to get a grip) cop the hell on and chillax,or go for a spin and get all that anger outha your system,jesus ye all haters and not lovers on this site,good look to yea.

Ooooh you're a lover eh Pawlie :p

Ooooohlalaaaaa baby

We are way too immature to own computers :)

You can give it Pawlie but you sure cant take it
    Im just someone that has been around this sport a long time and have many many friends all over the country in the sport.I have seen attitudes like yours loads of times and it gets you nowhere regardless of how much talent you have or how lippy you are.End of story.

We are way too immature to own computers :)

We shouldn't be racing either that's only for mature fella's.

Tom McGurk has Hookey, Bill O'Herlihy has Dunphy......Wav1 has Pawlie.

You can give it Pawlie but you sure cant take it
    Im just someone that has been around this sport a long time and have many many friends all over the country in the sport.I have seen attitudes like yours loads of times and it gets you nowhere regardless of how much talent you have or how lippy you are.End of story.

Wav piss off,look through the posts please and show me who was getting smart,I posted up "Mine came up in few days" how it gods name is that lippy.

If you have problem with me,meet me or come up to me anytime I am racing,if not piss of judging me when you know sfa about me.
    I will be at Aqua classic Sunday I hope your there.

Wav piss off,look through the posts please and show me you was getting smart,I posted up "Mine came up in few days" how it gods name is lippy.

If you have problem with me,meet me or come up to me anytime I am racing,if not piss of judging me when you know sfa about me.

Shootout at dawn methinks

Yehaaaaaaaw cowboy :-)

Wav piss off,look through the posts please and show me you was getting smart,I posted up "Mine came up in few days" how it gods name is lippy.

hate to butt in but wav1 is one of our top volunteers across all age groups of the sport and needless to say he has the respect of a huge amount of the community...

having reread your post can I ask if you are threatening another member of CI?

I hope you do very well at the aqua classic.I wont be there as I will be busy helping to run another event on the same day.Just running events for guys like you.

morana wrote: »
    hate to butt in but wav1 is one of our top volunteers across all age groups of the sport and needless to say he has the respect of a huge amount of the community...

having reread your post can I ask if you are threatening another member of CI?

Not threatening anyone,I am saying if he has anything to say about me say it person to person,just because he is a member of CI does that give him the right to mouth about me.

Just because he does work organising races which is great,well that does not give him a platform to judge anyone.

Not threatening anyone,I am saying if he has anything to say about me say it person to person,just because he is a member of CI does that give him the right to mouth about me.

Just because he does work organising races which is great,well that does not give him a platform to judge anyone.

Cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

jaysus lads, can't we all settle down hey! Pawlie, I have raced with ya and had cups of tea and banter with ya after races recently. My post seems to have been taken the wrong way, leading to others getting involved. I was only taking the Mickey, meant in jest.

While the ensuing posts have been entertaining to read, lets put it to bed!

OP has got more than he/she bargained for here!!

jaysus lads, can't we all settle down hey! Pawlie, I have raced with ya and had cups of tea and banter with ya after races recently. My post seems to have been taken the wrong way, leading to others getting involved. I was only taking the Mickey, meant in jest.

Entertaining indeed padjo!

its all your fault sooooooo :D,hate they way we have aliases names here :eek:,
    dont take up comedy then your useless lmao

Padjo5 you know I'll settle anytime.My pet hate is just to see cyclists put down in sarcasm.[maybe Pawlie did slag you in jest]If your cool then we're all cool.Never really fell out with anyone involved in the sport for too long anyway.Always temporary.

Never really fell out with anyone involved in the sport for too long anyway.Always temporary.

Only for 30 mins on this forum ;)

Alls good.Onwards and upwards

Likewise ;)

Make-up posts are the best kind of posts :o