If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread - 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Brandy in yer morning coffee TV. Settles the tummy and the nerves in one fell swoop. 'Tis the only way to go on a morning like this....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

Welcome Home Sam :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

Great win, I think I'll steer clear of this place for a few days till the numpties clear off.

Up The Dubs! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Congrats Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

well done dublin the better team won. 2.4 from Brogan, cant beat that and on its own is enough to win a match!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭themandan6611

kev mc got fouled, clucko kicked the winning free again :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done Dublin - best team in the Championship this year and deserving winners..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭sasta le

What players are gone from the 2011 winning squad?Eamonn Fennell on the team this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Mossy Quinn and Barry Cahill are gone too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

0007e593-960.jpg

The look on Enda's face... Priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Why is enda so far back he should be down beside both the presidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,740 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Fair play Dublin. 3rd time seeing ye play against my county this year and ye were the better team every game. Fully deserved champions and ye'll only improve too. See ye in the west again come 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭corny

I hope Brennan can prove me wrong, and we're talking on Sunday night of the pacey, calmed composed Ger Brennan who kept his half-back line in shape against pace Mayo midfielders and forwards.

I thought Brennan was fantastic today. Bar maybe O' Carroll he was Dublins most assured defender. Delighted for him he proved the muppets wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

corny wrote: »
    I thought Brennan was fantastic today. Bar maybe O' Carroll he was Dublins most assured defender. Delighted for him he proved the muppets wrong.

Disagree, thought McMahon was fantastic.
    Scored a dinger though.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Disagree, thought McMahon was fantastic.
    Scored a dinger though.

No Philly had a good game but he didn't have to compensate for weak links beside him. Cooper and O' Carroll played well.

McCaffrey on the other was completely lost and Brennan and McCarthy did well to compensate for him. Like i said, just pleased he proved the muppets wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Cooper and O' Carroll played well.

Hope Cooper is okay, that looked a fierce collision

He'll be fine. Semi final and today, he seems a hardy sort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

UP THE DUBS!!! FÚCKING GET IN THERE!!!

She wasn't pretty, but the result was all that mattered.

Maybe not the most assured, but fúck me, Ger put in some shift. I really was delighted for him that he was so confident and so imperious when called upon. Scored a daisy of a point too.

And my god, avoid that match thread too. The amount of bitterness and hatred for Dublin at the moment is quite shocking. I know it was meant to be 31 v. 1 today, but that thread is a bit more than ridiculous at this stage.

I'm sore, I'm sunburnt, I'm half-cut... And I'm the happiest chappie in the world at the moment!!! Ath Cliath abú! Sam's home. And god willing he's staying for longer than a year this time!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

Hi guys mayo man popping in. Yer fans in our section (davin) were a pleasure, and conducted yerselves with grace and class after the game.

While i may not recover from this properly for yonks ye were by far the better team and fair play to ye- enjoy it!

Most of my aunts/uncles "emigrated" to Dublin in the 70s/80s and I have a great soft spot for ye! Drinkin with my dub cousins before the Game with a load of their mates- as the only mayo man at the time I was made welcome and everyone in the bar was friendly and up for the craic. As much as I tried to convince them mayo for Sam they held firm- they wre right I guess :D Enjoy it guys. I travelled to dub thinking this was the one but it didn't work that way and Dublin had no time for sentiment. Sam was to be won and simply ye went and grabbed the thing in more convincing fashion than us (metaphorically)

Enjoy gents!!!

...but watch out were coming next year ;)

Haha

#believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Gerry91

And whilst id give anything. And I mean anything for my county to win Sam, you guys will be in the way and that Is a testament to how hard ye work, the team ye have, and the players ye have! A young team yel be the most dominant team for the next decade! I've no problem with that enjoy it lads! Hopefully we may get ye on the hop ;) haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Dublinmackem

Gerry91 wrote: »
    Hi guys mayo man popping in. Yer fans in our section (davin) were a pleasure, and conducted yerselves with grace and class after the game.

Fair play Gerry 91, I was beside a Mayo lad and pretty much surrounded by ya's cusack upper 701 and there was great sportsmanship and banter even with passions running high, I'd be bawling me head off then he'd be bawling his head off then we'd sit down and give honest opinions on the incidents and funnily enough agreeing nearly all the time, hand shakes before and after the game, yous were gracious in defeat, wouldn't get it anywhere else in the world, I'm bleedin buzzin tho, we are some squad, the lads didn't only look like team mates at the Gibson last night; they looked like best mates, it think this is just beginning, Up the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Dublinmackem

p.s. Gerry91 it's the CANAL end, always will be ;) right I'm off to dry me jersey for merrion square tonight, Up the Dubs

Jeez lads the hatred towards us in the match thread is unreal. Not from Mayo fans, who have been very honest and not making excuses, but the 'nuetrals' as they call themselves.

It must eat them up inside to see us win. Their picking on scraps over there at the moment.
    It does make it all the more sweeter though :)

Cant wait for next year COYBIB :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Dubliner28

Slattsy wrote: »
    Jeez lads the hatred towards us in the match thread is unreal. Not from Mayo fans, who have been very honest and not making excuses, but the 'nuetrals' as they call themselves.

It must eat them up inside to see us win. Their picking on scraps over there at the moment.
    It does make it all the more sweeter though :)

Cant wait for next year COYBIB :cool:

There is'int enough salt and vinegar in the world for the chips on their shoulders ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I remember 2 years ago, the DVD of the final was released, but also had a fascinating documentary on the whole run up to the victory that year.

Hopefully similar is done this year.

One of the most poignant moments of that Documentary was showing how in 2009, Dublin were absolutely hammered into the ground by Kerry. 1-24 to 1-07. I remember standing on the Hill for ages after the game, staring out onto the pitch in disbelief at what I'd just seen. Got my picture (standing alone on the Hill, head in hands, staring into the abyss) into one of the papers with the subtitle: a distraught Dublin fan after the game wondering where it all went wrong :o

This was in Gilroy's first year in charge. The change brought to that team in the ensuing 2 years was monumental. The pain in 2010 of missing out on the Final by a single point was sickening, especially after leading and being the better team for vast portions of the semi-final against Cork. But the experience and the determination of Cork told, the red card had a huge bearing, and in the end, Dublin fell short again. I sincerely would have fancied Dublin's chances in '10 against Down had Cork been beaten.

That said, 2011 was obviously spectacularly brilliant. To beat Kerry in that final was only the underlining of a spectacular Championship campaign that year. Stutter steps in the Leinster Championship against Kildare (poxy last minute free kick) and Wexford (goalkeeping howler gifting Dublin the win) aside, the remaining 3 games en route to Sam were brilliant tactically by Dublin.

Beating the old enemy Tyrone so comprehensively in the quarter-final (where Dublin had fallen to Tyrone so badly in 2008) banished a lot of the old demons and Diarmuid Connolly was absolutely spectacular that day. Dublin should have probably won by more than the 7 points in the end, but they still showed how much they had improved in the ensuing few years.

The infamous "Shi'ite football" game against Donegal was not pretty to look at, but it showed how mentally strong and determined Dublin were. The lowest scoring semi-final since the introduction of the 70 minute game in 1975. 0-08 to 0-06. It was a terrible game to watch, but I was no inclined to slam Donegal as others were. They had a system that was working for them. I love how people sometimes whinge about "not playing the game" or whatever when a team gets overly defensive. But if it is effective and it is working, why change it. In the end, Dublin dug deep, McManamon was decisive, and Dublin went into the Final. No other game in 2011 (barring the final) showed how determined, brilliant and mentally strong that Dublin were. It was an exhausting and desperate game, but in the end it paid off.

The final against Kerry needs no reminding, of course. The determination to fight to the last breath was unreal. Soft free against Kevin Mc or no, Dublin were the best team in the Championship that year and triumphed spectacularly.

In 2012, Dublin did not play well at all in any game all year. This cannot be denied. And yet came within a single score of reaching the Final again. Even as badly as Dublin played, they were still there to almost the bitter end. I don't think Dublin would have done any better than Mayo last year. I think 2012 was Donegal's year, no matter what. But we'll never know.

And this year, well. We all know what happened this year. Dublin probably weren't as "perfect" as other times, but... You don't have to be perfect to be a winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

What side of merrion square is this thing on this evening?

Update; It is on the Mount Street/East side

bazermc wrote: »
    What side of merrion square is this thing on this evening?

Follow the crowd and the noise :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Great win especially when you take the injuries into account. Mannion, O Gara, ROC, McAuley, Cooper all injured. Really dug in

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Great win especially when you take the injuries into account. Mannion, O Gara, ROC, McAuley, Cooper all injured. Really dug in

Mannion going off probably helped us as O'Gara probably came on and played his best game in a Dublin jersey. He won so much ball. If he can control his temperment he'll be a big player.

Also loved when AOS walked up to him and tried to give him a shoulder but he bounced back off him like a little fairy :D
    O'Gara is a brick.