Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Five things you like about yourself...

• 30-01-2013 1:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Add to this as many times as you please. I'm going to try to do it every day. It's meant to be good for that whole self-esteem business! :)

1. I always try to be a good girlfriend, friend, daughter and sister (not all to the same person, because that'd be disturbing :D).
    2. If a patient is bored, I'll sit and chat with them and bring them a magazine or crossword book when I have to go away.
    3. I genuinely care about people.
    4. I persist.
    5. I'm reasonably good at Scrabble.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

1. I'm half-decent at art-ing. I still get surprised by the things I create.
    2. I'm kind.
    3. I has smarts, and I use them for good rather than evil.
    4. Nerd.
    5. I'm very open about myself and my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭pampootie

1. I'm very loyal to my family and friends and try to always be there for them.
    2. I'm caring in my job and try to help people, especially the elderly.
    3. I'm quite a good cook.
    4. I have a knack for writing stories, although I'm rusty at the moment.
    5. I can make people laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

My psychologist had me do 10 before, it was very tough :pac:

1. I am smart and good at what I study
    2. I am funny and make people laugh
    3. I'm kind, caring, friendly and nice
    4. I'm good at cooking and baking
    5. I'm good at arts and crafts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

1. I'm not afraid to try new things
    2. I do a lot of charity work
    3. I've haven't let life make me bitter or angry
    4. I'm a glass half full person
    5. I'm tactful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭julias_jewel

1. Genuinely care about people.
    2. I use my manners without realising.
    3. I can keep a secret, i will be bringing a book to the grave with me.
    4. Im enthusiastic in everything i do.
    5. Im a great listener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

1. Have no qualms about doing things on my own. Moved country not knowing anyone and not even having a job or place to live. Also travelled around a continent on my own for a year. I don't depend on anyone.

2. I take pleasure from really simple, non material stuff. I don't have many "things" like a smart phone, ipod etc.. The only thing I have of any value is my laptop, which I need for work but there's nothing I love more than walking and now running, a coffee on my own in a cafe with a book, acting the eejit, eating well....I really appreciate these things. Shopping depresses the hell of out of me. I'd say I'm quite non materialistic.

3. I've been told I'm quite funny. I've a good sense of humour, I think. I laugh easily and I don't mind making an utter gob****e of myself for the craic.

4. I'd be very principled to the point of stubbornness. I really try to practise what I preach.

5. I'm a pretty decent person. Can't say I've ever fooked anyone over.

1) I'm a very genuine, honest person. No games, no backstabbing, no calculating behaviour. I have no time for any kind of BS. I say what I think unless it would be really unnecessarily hurtful. I'll always give you an honest opinion!

2) I'm very independent - have moved to different countries on my own, learned new languages, made whole new groups of friends...I can't say I particularly enjoy doing it, as I suffer from anxiety and social anxiety, but that makes me all the more proud of myself that I've managed it.

3) I'm really objective in real life :p. I can always see 'the other side of the story' and consider other people's points of view. I am never too proud to admit I'm wrong or apologise. I'm whatever the opposite of stubborn is. Apparently this is infuriating when someone is trying to engineer an argument or fight with me by trying to assassinate my character and I just say, 'Yeah, maybe you're right, perhaps that was a bit rude, sorry.' :D

4) I'm a very loyal friend unless you seriously hurt or betray me. I'll do anything for those I truly care about and who truly care about me.

5) I think I'm good at prioritising what's important in life. No time for stupid frivolous things or pointless drama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭daenerysstormborn3

1. I am a top class girlfriend. Not tooting my own horn :P My boyfriend is very high maintenance and his friends admit that I have made their lives easier by being such a breeze with him.

2. I make up my own mind about people and create my own opinions. For instance if Mary tells me that Ann is a bit of a bitch etc. I don't go into the situation thinking "well Ann is a bitch so I won't like her", I always have a clear head and make up my own mind.

3. Kind of like No. 2, I don't join in the bitching just to conform. For instance, there is a local man that everyone in my office knows and they have all decided they don't like him based on the opinion of one person. He has always been pleasant to me and when people are giving out about him I always say "well he has always been nice to me so I have no problem with him". I hate bitching just for the sake of it.

4. I love my dog and he is my best friend. I have a 3 year old great dane. I've had him since he was 12 weeks old. He is my best friend in the world. He always knows if I am upset and I always know if he is not himself. Everyone always says that we have a great bond. If anyone looks at him funny they get a dig and if anyone looks at me funny they get a headbutt into the crotch :P

5. I'm really good at my job. I absolutely hate where I work, my boss is a crazy horse but I'm so good at my job. I just seem to have a natural aptitude for law and that makes me happy because I enjoy the work too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

This is a lovely idea

1. I'm honest to a fault.
    2. I'm very empathic
    3. I go out of my way for people, and enjoy doing it.
    4. I love the simple things in life, nature, animals, an open fire. Very easily pleased.
    5. I have very strong morals about certain things and apply them to all areas of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

It's uncomfortable to think of these things, but maybe that's because of my first point!
    1. I'm modest, and have learned to accept a compliment gracefully but have to work hard not to undermine myself.
    2. I don't think that I am very materialistic, as I have relatively few possesssions, never go for trending products etc, and am never happier than when I am out enjoying nature's great gifts.
    3. Despite occasional wobbles, I am a glass half full type of person; it helps me to love life, and I think that I really can help to energise and lift people who need support or inspiration.
    4. I have a fairly strong moral compass, and value this in others.
    5. I don't hold grudges or sulk. I'm not sure whether this is because I have a short-term memory(!) or am easygoing, but I tend to forgive and reconcile fairly quickly. And it takes a lot to make me angry in everyday life, which I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Asbury Park

Great thread!

1. That people stop me in the street all of the time asking for directions etc. It even happens when I'm abroad. I know it would annoy some people to have it happen all of the time but to me, it shows that I have a trustworthy face.
    2. My ability to start over in new places or with new jobs/courses etc. I'm very introverted but for some reason I have no problem exerting myself or overcoming my introversion when I need to.
    3. My writing skills and my imagination.
    4. My sense of injustice.
    5. And a really vain one - that people meeting me for the first time say I look about seven years younger than I actually am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I LOVE positive threads :).

1. I care about people
    2. I like to share
    3. I like my insatiable curiosity
    4. I am not materialistic
    5. And like Asbury, people always think I am younger than I am. Probably because I is black and black don't crack :cool:. <---And there you have it folks, my stereotype quota for the day maxed out :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Linguo

Great thread! ok....

1. I'm very thoughtful with little gifts for loved ones and buy and plan a lot during the year so people feel loved and special

2. I'm a bit quirky but I think that makes me more interesting:)

3. I'm a good girlfriend and his best mate so I always invest a huge amount of time and thought into our relationship to make it special for him and make him feel loved

4. I'm very kind to all animals whether they're cute or not. Have been late for work many times picking snails and slugs off the path so they won't get stood on!

5. I'm me which is unique with all the perfection and imperfection and the older I get the more I like myself:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Perfect day for me to contribute to this thread:

1. I have a great sense of humour

2. I tend to get on with everyone - I'm a likeable person and try not to be friends with one type of "clique"

3. I'm open minded about people, views and how people see me

4. I have achieved a lot for my age, and have not lost my values in doing so

5. I don't let people walk all over me - I stand up for what I believe in, but equally I know how to admit when I'm wrong, and when it's better to walk away.

Wow, that got easier with each point I wrote, I could have kept going :)

Lovely thread PR, what a nice little boost for the day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

1. Im really smart (although I can be as dopey as anything sometimes!).

2. Im very emphatic and most people who know me would know I am a good person to come to with a problem, big or small, and that I am not judgmental - people feel they can tell me stuff I guess.

3. Im a lovely wife, I really look after my husband and do nice little things for him.

4. I get a lot of pleasure out of the simple things in life, I tend to be very easily pleased by little things.

5. Im endlessly curious about so many different subjects, I can never be bored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

I'm kind to animals.
    I'm loyal when people prove themselves.
    I'm laid back about most things in life.
    I'm not afraid to stand up for myself or for people I care about, despite the backlash I might receive.
    I have good taste in shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭OakeyDokey

1. I like that I have turned around my life MASSIVELY in the past few months because of my hard work and determination.

2. I like that I have a soft side but when needed I can switch to b*tch and stand up for myself etc.

3. I like that I have a cool creative side in me, I pick up on music really easy and have created some nice stuff through my art.

4. I like my independence and always try to do everything by myself but at the same time I'm not afraid to ask for help when I need it.

5. I like how my confidence has progressed and the type of person I've become :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I love when positive threads come up. Makes me happy.

1) I'm good with people. I can usually put people at ease fairly quickly, and can read people well. Not always, but often.

2) I'm a good cook and a good baker, and I love sharing what I make with my friends. It makes me happy.

3) I have nice eyes. They are a lovely chocolate brown colour with some gold kind of flecks, and my eyelashes are nice and long too. My girlfriend is very jealous of them. :p

4) I have managed to gather around me a marvellous girlfriend and group of friends. I think that reflects well on me as a person, that nice people want me in their lives.

5) I truly believe in altruism and live my life according to a kind of karma system. I volunteer a lot and feel very strongly about moral issues and social justice issues. I try not to do anything that hurts another person, and try to make life better for others if I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I'm independent. I don't mind doing things on my own and branching out, and even if it doesn't work out, it doesn't scare me off. I'm happy to say that I tried and will try again.

I think I have a sense of justice. I always try to make sure I'm doing the right thing and find it difficult to stand by and say nothing if I see something happening that I feel is wrong.

I think I'm pretty funny, or so I've been told by friends. I can take a joke, and dish out as good as I get.

I have an appreciation for aesthetics. I enjoy almost all aspects of the arts, from painting to music to film, and especially literature. I know that I am good at what I study and am grateful to say that I seem to have found an academic path that I want to pursue to my fullest potential.

I'm pretty honest and straight-forward with people, which I know some people don't take very well, but I think it's a good character trait to have. I far prefer people who are upfront rather than people who are passive aggressive or say nothing to your face and everything behind your back. I'd rather let someone know where they stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Ugh, I need this thread right now.

1. My integrity. I'll never treat anyone badly. I try to be as good as I can be, and when I do wrong I will always try to make it right. I'm not afraid to apologise.

2. I'm an open, honest person. It's taken me twenty odd years to get here, but I've learned from early attempts in life where I bottled up and muscled through on my own, that it will only set me up for a fall. I need people and I need to share. I will never underestimate the importance of being honest.

3. I'm fiercely ambitious. I always want to be better. I believe in my intelligence & capabilities and I'm not afraid to push to get to where I want to be. I've been successful at home and overseas and I truly don't believe there's anything beyond my reach. My mammy tells me so all the time :)

4. I'm a risk taker. I take risks on people, on places. Sometimes they work out (Canada was a pretty good choice); sometimes they don't (when I pick the wrong boy). But I always learn something along the way.

5. My love for writing. It dictated my career path & sometimes it gets me through the day. I love my writing voice and that's where I make sense of myself, my life and the world. I'll never stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭gillapino

I like positiveness ! Dont usually post here but thought this was a lovely idea :)

1. I'm well mannered, sometimes too much, too many thank you's!

2. I'm usually a pretty positive person.

3. I like the way i'm a lil different to most people my age,(early 20's) don't drink, not into nightclubs and dont have a facebook.

4. I always try to be nice to people and smile and pay a compliment.

5. I like the way i've been real focused at the moment in college, straight B's so far this year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

I love that this thread got such a nice response! :)
    1. I'm reasonably clever.
    2. I manage to see the funny side of most situations (where appropriate).
    3. I may not be conventionally socially skilled or charming, but I still manage to work well with others.
    4. I try to maintain a reasonably broad range of interests.
    5. I appreciate the joy of a nice cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

In no particular order...

1) I like that I've been able to transform myself from being a shy, introverted, anxious person into someone with true self-belief and self-reliance. It's been a journey that I wasn't sure I'd be able to make but I'm quite proud of the strong person I am although I am still in touch with my emotional self.

2) I'm great a problem solving. I have astounded myself in the past!

3) I'm dependable. I realise that not everyone means what they say but I'm not someone that's in the habit of letting people down in any sense. You can take me at face value even if that makes me a bit of a bore. I like that I can be there for my friends.

4) I like that I'm a physical person. I like being out and about. I like knowing how to use tools and being able to fix things and make things really well if I put my mind to it. I like that I can play music. I took that for granted for too long.

5) I can accept people as they are. I like being able to call all kinds of people from all kinds of backgrounds my friends. I'm just interested in their unique story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

It's taken me years to admit that there are things i like about myself! Great thread PR :)

1) I love helping people no matter how big or small a problem may be.

2) I don't base my opinions around what other people think or say about something/someone. I like to make my own informed opinions.

3) I have bright blue eyes that i like.

4) I think that i am a kind/honest person. Im possibly too blunt at times but these things happen.

5) I like that i have regained confidence that i lost years ago and i that i am determined to get my life back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

1) I will always help an animal in need, no matter how inconvenient it may be
    2) I've become a pretty awesome cook
    3) I'm surprisingly good at college work (seriously, I never did well at school)
    4) I get on really well with anyone
    5) I am unbeatable at Jenga :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭lilium inter Spinas

1) I believe in and live by 'The Golden Rule'
    2) I try to keep an open mind and always try to see the other person's perspective of things
    3) People say I'm easy to talk to and though it can sometimes be awkward and unexpected, I like that they feel comfortable around me
    4) I'm a collector/keeper of secrets and stories which I plan to take to my grave (your secret's safe with me)
    5) I love with every ounce, every fiber in my being... up to a fault

No regrets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Roesy

This is hard!

1. I'm trustworthy. Tell me a secret and it stays in the vault.
    2. I try to see the best in people.
    3. I'm a good cook.
    4. I have nice eyes.
    5. Apparently I'm funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

1. I'm reasonably witty.
    2. I try to be a good daughter/friend/person.
    3. I'm thoughtful and try to do little things to brighten someone's day.
    4. I've been told by boys that I'm very easy to talk to.
    5. I have lovely boobies.:D

Addition number 3. :)

1. I'll always admit that I'm wrong if I am.
    2. I work very hard to rectify my faults.
    3. I try to make the lives of everyone I love easier.
    4. I can honestly say that my apex beat is in the 5th intercostal space, midclavicular line (my heart is in the right place).
    5. I'm a curious person, which makes study less laborious and makes me good at medical investigations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭SueBoom

Such a nice idea. :o

1. I'm extremely honest, it can seem like a bad thing at times but you'll never hear lies from me. I'll always tell the truth, no matter what. I take a lot of pride in that.

2. My passion. I can't do anything I don't care about, I need to have passion for what I do because a defining factor of my character is how passionate I am. I care a great deal.

3. I'd like to think I'm funny. I enjoy making people laugh and smile.

4. I strife to gain as much knowledge as I can throughout my life. I have no intention to ever stop learning. I value intelligence so much.

5. I'm a good friend. I'm reliable, in that if I say I'm going to be somewhere at a certain time I will be etc. I care so much about my friends, I make every effort to be there for them as much as I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

1. I am very smart
    2. I look for the best in people and try to meet people with an open mind
    3. I like helping people and making people smile
    4. I can find something humorous in just about any situation.
    5. I am good at baking and I like sharing what I have made :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭2rkehij30qtza5

I'm very honest, as in I would never have the conscience to steal, cheat etc.

I'm very loyal- to family, friends and of course my husband (I know he comes under family too!)

I don't engage in b*tching...I hear it in my office, people constantly slating others and I just don't engage because as my mother always says "if you have nothing nice to say, then don't say anything at all". I just don't like that trait in people - the b*tching trait I mean.

I like how I present myself - I take care of how I look, have pride in my appearance and I like that about myself.

I am driven and academically accomplished and I guess I like that about myself.

Can I add a 6th?...
    I like that I am a mother to my amazing children who I adore and they are by far the thing I like most about my life..them and my husband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

1. I am logical
    2. I can walk forever. Come any sort of apocalypse I'll be able to walk away from the bad stuff
    3. I like nice things & I have decent taste. I like food to be well presented & will spend time making bento for lunch, arranging how food is layed out for brunch, searching out nice table accessories etc.
    4. I'm a bit of a McGyver if I don't have the right tool/implement for something.
    5. I have gorgeous friends & the side of my family that I'm close to would pretty much commit murder for each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Been putting off answering this question for days - I don't know why it's so hard to say nice things about myself.

1. I am intelligent, and more than that, I have common sense.
    2. I am ambitious and focussed. I know where I want to go in my career and have worked very hard to get where I am.
    3. I am independent. If I want to do something (take a class, start a new hobby etc) I'll go for it, whether someone else wants to do it or not.
    4. I am resilient and strong. I went through a tough time a few years back, and instead of letting it beat me, I came through it.
    5. I am a good mother. I may get frustrated or impatient at times, but my daughter is cared for and loved.

Actually, one more:
    6. I am tolerant, open-minded and have a social conscience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Today I'm going to do the very tough one, 5 things about my appearance!

1. I have amazing hair! It's natural light blonde, and really strong, healthy and soft and I always style it well.
    2. I like my eyes. If I look super close in the mirror there's a small shape of a heart in the left iris.
    3. Awesome boobs, not too big or small :p
    4. Despite my bad teeth I think I have a nice smile
    5. Long lovely eyelashes.

vitani wrote: »
    - I don't know why it's so hard to say nice things about myself.

Yep, it's true! If it was a "5 things you dislike about yourself" I'd say a lot of us could post a lot more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭missyb

Not able to state 5 specifically but I think (and I have been told that.....)

1: I always try to give people a chance and see who they really are. I rarely categorise someone immediately based on stereotypes or put people in boxes, my family have said they cant believe how diverse my friends are (heart of gold me, heart of gold!)

2: You wouldn't know it by my posts on boards for some reason, but in person I'm a damn funny lady, epic comic timing, oh yeah ;)

More people should be posting here, we all have our good points!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Five things I like about myself:
    • My stubbornness
    • The fact that I'm unbeatable at Mario Kart on the N64
    • My integrity
    • My green eyes
    • The fact that I have the most amazing family, some very brilliant close friends, and a sexy roide of a boyfriend ... I must be doing something right! :cool:

Here come some more. :) I'll be getting too big for my boots shortly!

1. I have a really, really good memory and can remember long lists of useless information for the entertainment of myself and others.

2. I'm quite well read.

3. I'm quick with puns (which isn't necessarily always a popular trait, but I like it). :D

4. I have very soft skin and hair.

5. I still enjoy most stuff I liked when I was little, which makes my life a whole lot of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

Another 5 to boost me for the day:

1. I have thick, curly hair that some people would kill for

2. I am really good at listening to people and cheering them up

3. I'm quite clever!

4. I don't hold grudges - I think life is too short to be holding on to bitterness and anger, I can let it go and move on

5. I always try to see the best in everyone, even if they aren't displaying their best side at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

1. My eyes are pretty and expressive
    2. My hair is really thick, full and healthy
    3. My creative streak
    4. My pureness of heart/ kindness/ sensitivity
    5. My sense of humour is witty and filthy

I want to keep going now!! Initially was really embarassing, but then was hard to whitle it down to 5 once I got started. Go team awesome me!

I'm in bad form, so this might cheer me up.

1. I have nice top teeth.
    2. I like my hair colour.
    3. I am open minded
    4. I'm very aware of some of my faults and I try to work on them
    5. I'm reliable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,273 ✭✭✭✭TommieBoy

Easy to name a million good things about my friends... More difficult to identify good things in yourself with that active inner critic at work, but will give this a try...

I am grateful to have been given...
    1 – sight enough to see the good in others.
    2 – a mind that actively makes connections.
    3 – enough perspective to appreciate different sides of the story.
    4 – a silly sense of humour to show me the joy in almost everything.
    5 – a heart that loves unconditionally and harbours very few resentments.
    And enough understanding to realise I did nothing to deserve any of the above.

1. I'm hard-working.

2. I'm always trying to improve myself (while accepting myself as I am).

3. I'm good with babies.

4. I come up with great medical quiz games.

5. I can be a bit overenthusiastic, which isn't always the best trait, but when it's helpful it really is helpful. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

I'm good at writing when I can sit down and focus on it...

I have a good ear and a good eye..

I have a creative mind.

I am generally quite kind to people, like to make people feel good

I am a kinda good cook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Mod

Hi dartboardio,

Bringing up very old threads is against the Boards charter. We welcome you setting up a new thread if you wish to do so. :)

Mars Bar