Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident in Spar Dame St.

• 29-01-2013 11:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭

Im sure most of ye have heard about the incident that occured in Spar on Dame St...

I will be taking part in an Interview giving my opinion on the incident tomorrow morning on Cork's Red fm.at around 9.15...

I think it will be intresting to listen to :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Are the full facts of what happened now in the public domain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Are the full facts of what happened now in the public domain?

There was an eye witness account from someone in the store and it didn't paint the 2 guys in the prettiest of lights. If its true the guys are probably looking at criminal charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

I'd be more interested in the eventual outcome, though some of the reactions on Facebook were prehistoric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

There was an eye witness account from someone in the store and it didn't paint the 2 guys in the prettiest of lights. If its true the guys are probably looking at criminal charges.

If that's the case, then they were exceptionally out of order to try to make a gay rights issue of this.
    Between that, and the subsequent outpouring of retarded idiocy on Facebook, this has all-in not been the most edifying of moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

If that's the case, then they were exceptionally out of order to try to make a gay rights issue of this.
    Between that, and the subsequent outpouring of retarded idiocy on Facebook, this has all-in not been the most edifying of moments.

They were so out of order, they were the racists and the ones causing trouble.

Quote Eye Witness:

Ka Ca I was there, saw what happened. They seemed to have sorted out the problem inside the shop, or almost at least and the security guard walked away, then there was a huge crash and the blonde haired guy was flailing around the shelves trying to attack the guard, a spar employee then jumped to the security guards rescue and restrained the blonde guy who was still trying to fight back, once the blonde fella had calmed down he let him go but after only 2 steps he began to attack the guard again, at this stage there was loads of shouting and the spar employee retrained him again and escorted him out the door, where he held him on the ground. In the meantime another employee had rang the Gardai and as we were leaving the shop we heard the 'victim' shouting about how he was a doctor and making racial comments towards the employee holding him down"

If I owned that spar i'd be seeing at least one of those guys prosecuted for slander, assault, criminal damage and racism for good measure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

Hey

There is a chance I may not be needed but either way I think it will be interesting to listen to..

Well I wasnt there so if I am taking part I will comment generally,I would not give my opinion on one side or the other unless I had the full facts and specifics of what happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

We don't know what happened. Reposting comments from facebook is absolutely meaningless because we have no idea how accurate the original comments were and how accurate the comments of this eye witness are.

Lashing out allegations of homophobia and indeed slander, assault, criminal damage and racism based on a few facebook posts is not something that should be done here.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet