Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adams apologizes for past IRA killings of Irish Gardai and soldiers in Irish Republic

• 29-01-2013 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2013/0129/breaking56.html

“I am very sorry for the pain and loss inflicted on those families. No word of mine can remove that hurt. Dreadful events cannot be undone,” Adams said.

So in trying to advance from the current tragedy in his own constituency ; will it work, I suppose he can now avoid the obvious mud slinging on this issue in the Dail and can not be seen to have double standards.

I wonder what the reception will be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

About time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Podgerz wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2013/0129/breaking56.html

“I am very sorry for the pain and loss inflicted on those families. No word of mine can remove that hurt. Dreadful events cannot be undone,” Adams said.

So in trying to advance from the current tragedy in his own constituency ; will it work, I suppose he can now avoid the obvious mud slinging on this issue in the Dail and can not be seen to have double standards.

I wonder what the reception will be

Why is he apologising, I thought he was never in the IRA?

It might be a bit more believable as well if his party didn't provide a celebration when the killers were released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

philologos wrote:
    About time.
    Yeah well done for coming out and saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It might be a bit more believable as well if his party didn't provide a celebration when the killers were released.

Would it be better if he didn't offer any sort of apology?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Yup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

dammed when he did, dammed when he didint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Podgerz

bleg wrote: »
    Yup.

So you could cite him as a hypocrite for condemning the recent killing of the Garda in Dundalk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So does this mean he was in the IRA?

irish-stew wrote: »
    So does this mean he was in the IRA?

I suppose he has always stated that he was merely a spokesman for its political wing Sinn Fein; i dont think him making this statement is any different from any of Sinn Feins previous statements over IRA activity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Well, at least its a move in the right direction.
    btw the killers of Garda Donohue will be caught, i have no doubt.
    40 years penal servitude,for all 5 involved, no ifs or buts or deals with one to rat on another. preferably lock them up and throw away the key.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Shame it took the cowardly murder of another Guard 17 years after his mates did the same thing for him to say sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Some will never be happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

washman3 wrote: »
    40 years penal servitude,for all 5 involved, no ifs or buts or deals with one to rat on another. preferably lock them up and throw away the key.

All involved will get 40 yrs .........don't know about the penal servitude ... I think thats wishful thinking .

You must know by now, how these prisoners are treated .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

So you could cite him as a hypocrite for condemning the recent killing of the Garda in Dundalk?

I for one certainly would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

As a member of the defence forces it means something to me.

Not a whole lot mind, I'm not jumping for joy. But putting this country on the right path means pain for us all, yes including Adams & Co.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,968 ✭✭✭✭phog

17 years too late. Maybe he could give back the bodies of the disappeared now to their families while he's trying to sway some public support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

Ya well it doesn't mean much to those that suffered at the hands of dessidents .
    Why apologise if this was Garda killing was due to a criminal gang from up north . ?Using this sorry episode to bring up that sad era in Irish politics .

http://www.leaderpost.com/touch/story.html?id=7865302

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

All involved will get 40 yrs .........don't know about the penal servitude ... I think thats wishful thinking .

You must know by now, how these prisoners are treated .

Quite true, but hope you are wrong. time now to set a proper precedent.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

They haven't gone away you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

He must have been inspired by Lance Armstrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I've got very little positive to say about Gerry Adams, but this is definitely a big leap forward. Fair fecks. It's been a long time coming, but it has come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Not a whole lot mind, I'm not jumping for joy. But putting this country on the right path means pain for us all, yes including Adams & Co.

In fairness I agree it's time to move on and if GA manages to help hold the peace process and build on it then we'll be in a better place!

That's it. Reconciliation is always met with resentment. It's ironic that those opposing attempts to reconcile are often the ones who admonish others for 'living in the past'.

Time for everyone to move one from the civil war politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Why would the IRA need to apologize for operations they didn't supposedly sanction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

You cant begrudge an apology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In 2004 Adams was lobbying and campaigning for the release of Gerry McCabe's murderers. Forgive me if this 'apology' rings a little hallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Lone Stone wrote: »
    You cant begrudge an apology.

In a nation of begrudgers?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

Meaningless words from a known terrorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Redsquigy

Maybe the fact that he will be attending Detective Garda Donohoe's funeral tomorrow would be seen as hypocritical if he did not come out and apologise for Jerry McCabe's death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭In Exile

Janedoe10 wrote: »
    Why apologise if this was Garda killing was due to a criminal gang from up north . ?

This is something that crossed my mind the first time I heard it.

Maybe it is something I taught up daydreaming on the way to work, and it would be better served in the Conspiracy Theories, but could it possibly have been some sort of an IRA faction, whether dissident or whatever they call themselves who committed murder the other day?
    And Adams is getting in before the storm, apologising for McCabes killing, so if it turns out to be IRA, then it would be easier for Sinn Fein to distance themselves from the fallout?

All wild speculation, but a man who has gone out of his way for so long to not apologise suddenly does? For me, there can only be ulterior motives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

Get a life you ****ing Arsholes
    Gerry Adams is THE greatest Politician any of you creeps will see in your shallow lifetimes.

David Cameron wasn't on the streets of Belfast on Bloody Sunday.. why did he apologize a while back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

chipsdave wrote: »
    Gerry Adams is THE greatest Politician any of you creeps will see in your shallow lifetimes.

Hi Mary Lou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm a big boy now. See, I can curse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

taken in the spirit in which it was said. Thanks for the laugh.
    Quiet impressive number of posts in 5 months btw :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭murraykil

Without Gerry Adams the Provisional IRA would have still have come into existence. Without Gerry Adams they might still be in existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Fair play gerald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Dostoevsky

Adams apologizes for past IRA killings of Irish Gardai and soldiers in Irish Republic

I doubt it very much, given that the soldiers in question would have been British soldiers and there would have been no gardaí. The ignorance of the BBC has a lot to answer for on this point.

Irish Republic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Trying to gain a bit of political credibility by making a "timely" apology.

A despicably opportunistic statement from a despicable human being.

We all know you're dirty Gerry, stop pretending you're a peacemaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭EireGreg

Fair play gerry better late than never... 32

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    I doubt it very much, given that the soldiers in question would have been British soldiers and there would have been no gardaí. The ignorance of the BBC has a lot to answer for on this point.

Irish Republic

Im sorry ..what? He was apologising for attempts to injure Gardai etc in the 26 counties, not the north.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Trying to gain a bit of political credibility by making a "timely" apology.

A despicably opportunistic statement from a despicable human being.

We all know you're dirty Gerry, stop pretending you're a peacemaker.

So there was no peace process then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭roughneck

Lick arse to the fold ,how much is a vote worth in the ireland of the old .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭OCorcrainn

There is already a thread here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Yeah well done for coming out and saying it.

But why?

Next we'll have McGuinness apologising for some sin he himself wasn't involved in, though might have been involved in, though wait, what month was that exactly? Oh and what year?

What's he apologising for? Most Garda murderers were INLA or some other conveniently formed force.

The IRA didn't shoot unarmed members of the Garda Siochana in the back, while running away to get assistance, so they said.

Considering he's consistent and manipulating over everything, why the sudden admissal? Adams has a bit of a guilty conscience methinks.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

washman3 wrote: »

Penal Sevitude was abolished years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,867 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

David Cameron wasn't on the streets of Belfast on Bloody Sunday.. why did he apologize a while back?

Cameron could well have been in Belfast that day. Sightseeing or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Ah well we had the British apologising for Bloody Sunday, The Famine, Finucane's murder etc - why not the 'Ra for their atrocities:rolleyes: Get it all out in the open(much like picking a scab to see the nice new skin underneath;))