Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bayside Train Station

• 29-01-2013 8:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 769 ✭✭✭

This station used to be my local station (now its clongriffin) but IMO i think its an absolute kip. Theres always knackers hanging around in there smoking. And at night when your walking under the tunnel to baldoyle is dangerous as youths would hang there drinking and waiting for a fight. Happened 2 weeks ago to my mams ex friends husband

What are people opinions and bad/good experiences about this station and other stations. I Dont want to sound to negative but cant help it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭jam08

Howth Junction would give it a serious run for its money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Twoandahalfmen

jam08 wrote: »

It probably would amount of knackers around donaghmede is ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

are you talking about the underpass or the station itself?

Hilly Bill wrote: »
    are you talking about the underpass or the station itself?

Well both, the station is a kip IMO and I wouldn't go near the underpass after dark

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

You can't expect the poor deprived dears to bush and smoke in the rain, surely! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    You can't expect the poor deprived dears to bush and smoke in the rain, surely! :cool:

Maybe the Welfare should isse them with umbrellas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

jam08 wrote: »

As would kilbarrack at the best of times

thomasj wrote: »
    As would kilbarrack at the best of times

Never been to kilbarrack station

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Used to walk to Howth Junction from Baldoyle Industrial Estate at 10.30pm in Winter a few years ago. No bother...very lonely place maybe

dfx- wrote: »
    Used to walk to Howth Junction from Baldoyle Industrial Estate at 10.30pm in Winter a few years ago. No bother...very lonely place maybe

Guess it depends on wrong place wrong time. But ye alot of stations need uppgrading and more security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Guess it depends on wrong place wrong time. But ye alot of stations need uppgrading and more security

They "upgraded" Howth Junction just over 10 years ago and made it much worse. There are now 10 times as many places for scum to hide and hang out. Junkies live in the over pass at night and the place is covered in piss and **** every morning because of it. It takes twice as long to get around it too. It was much better the way it was. All they had to do was add 3 lifts to bring it up to code. You can't walk around the stairs or ticket areas during the rain as the floor tiles turn into a surface worse than icy glass to walk on. Disaster of a station.

Yea sounds awful. Howth station or sutton or very safe. howth is very old looking but its grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

ENOUGH OF THIS TALK !!!...Howth Junction,Kilbarrack,Donaghmede....have you no idea of the damage you people are causing to the reputation of......BROOMBRIDGE !

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

[QUOTE=AlekSmart;83111281have you no idea of the damage you people are causing to the reputation of......BROOMBRIDGE ![/QUOTE]

Just wait till "Pelletstown" station ( discreetly funded by Varadkar ...shhhhhh) opens next to it and INEVITABLY becomes an air rifle magnet. :D

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Maybe the Welfare should isse them with umbrellas :)

Or borrow Deco's brothers golden ticket which would let them get out of the cold and into a train. They could smoke and drink to their hearts content as the poor checker would hardly dare to give out (let alone ask for photo ID) in case he was savagely assaulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,258 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

parsi wrote: »
    Or borrow Deco's brothers golden ticket which would let them get out of the cold and into a train. They could smoke and drink to their hearts content as the poor checker would hardly dare to give out (let alone ask for photo ID) in case he was savagely assaulted.

The fecking ticket checkers at the station. One was a spoilsport and took away yer mans cans and hash pipe while he fined your man just because he was using a golden pass. The other sat back and did nothing while these piss heads drank away and intimidated the passesners, no doubts traveling on fake passes while he turned a blind eye to.

Jokes aside, it's a fact that certain stations in certain parts of towns worldwide are infested with vermin who abuse stations while other parts have tidy safe stops. Dublin is no different to anywhere, including those cities with transport police.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Alexanderplatz in Berlin is a case in point . Very dirty, full of dodgy people , quasi-regular atabbings in the vicinity and a permanent police presence.

They cleaned up (broadly) Bahnhof Zoo but so far they haven't done it in Alex despite it being a prime tourist spot.