Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first car for 17yr old?

• 29-01-2013 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭

Its time to start looking for a car again :( We bought his brother a 2006 1.4 Peugot 206 3 years ago for his 17th now its the young ones turn and unlike his brother who didn't care he's pulling faces when we said something similar. He will ultimately get what we choose but we'd like to go some way to meeting what he'd like.

Budget is €4000 less is better but being realistic unlikely, age nothing older than a 2008, not a small car, engine no bigger than 1.4. Reasonably low on insurance, he likes things like Bora's and Civics.

Any suggestions as we are going around in circles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

First car, so I'd look at something in and around a grand. And a Punto would be my car of choice tbh. No point spending big money on the car, when you still have insurance to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭kristian12

First car, so I'd look at something in and around a grand. And a Punto would be my car of choice tbh. No point spending big money on the car, when you still have insurance to pay.

I agree it's daft to spend a lot, to be honest we messed up a little we bought the eldest his car just after we came into a bit of money and now in the name of sibling fairness we've made a rod for our own back :o

kristian12 wrote: »
    Its time to start looking for a car again :( We bought his brother a 2006 1.4 Peugot 206 3 years ago for his 17th now its the young ones turn and unlike his brother who didn't care he's pulling faces when we said something similar. He will ultimately get what we choose but we'd like to go some way to meeting what he'd like.

Budget is €4000 less is better but being realistic unlikely, age nothing older than a 2008, not a small car, engine no bigger than 1.4. Reasonably low on insurance, he likes things like Bora's and Civics.

Based on the above I'd recommend a 2006 1.4 Peugeot 206 or cheaper.

Honestly, I'd go for a 90s Honda Civic.

• Site Banned Posts: 26 imontheprotein

4gs will get you an old but not too old audi or bmw around 02-03 ...he'll thank you after all the spins he brings his female friends on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

polo 1.2. It's like a bora ;).

Dónal wrote: »
    Based on the above I'd recommend a 2006 1.4 Peugeot 206 or cheaper.

Honestly, I'd go for a 90s Honda Civic.

:D Already suggested that and my old 92 micra my old mom is driving.

Get him something flash let him enjoy hes youth!!

4gs will get you an old but not too old audi or bmw around 02-03 ...he'll thank you after all the spins he brings his female friends on
    polo 1.2. It's like a bora ;).

I like the idea of the audi but what sort of insurance would we be looking at?

The Polo 1.2 sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭FridaysWell

Fiesta, Polo, Clio, Punto, Yaris. 206, Saxo.

Get something along those lines, something cheap and easy to drive, let him build up his experience and insurance for 2 years.

I like the idea of the audi but what sort of insurance would we be looking at?

The Polo 1.2 sounds good.

im 22 my audi is 06 insurance is a grand...so maybe 1700 for him just a guess though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Pulling faces while someone is buying him a car at 17? Get him a pushbike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

What is it they say about gift horses, beggars and choosers? When he can pay for his own scobe wagon he gets to choose. Until then he gets the car he is given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It will be difficult enough to get a good 08+ car on a 4000 budget. Imo I think you should drop back a few years, you will have a far better range of cars to choose from.

im 22 my audi is 06 insurance is a grand...so maybe 1700 for him just a guess though
    Pedro K wrote: »
    Pulling faces while someone is buying him a car at 17? Get him a pushbike!
    mitosis wrote: »
    What is it they say about gift horses, beggars and choosers? When he can pay for his own scobe wagon he gets to choose. Until then he gets the car he is given.

Thanks imontheprotein that's not as bad for the Audi insurance as i thought.

Pedro and mitosis we have told him he'll get what he's given.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

LT4991.jpg

In reality though if you're buying him a car and previously bought a 7-10k car for your other son, his expectations will be high.

08 car for 4k? Hyundai Getz is the only thing that springs to mind.

Taylor365 wrote: »
    ]

In reality though if you're buying him a car and previously bought a 7-10k car for your other son, his expectations will be high.

08 car for 4k? Hyundai Getz is the only thing that springs to mind.

His brothers 06 cost €5000 and we were working on the principle that 3 yrs ago when we bought it was 4yrs old so the 08 plate will be 5yrs old so perhaps slightly cheaper? Wrong logic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

His brothers 06 cost €5000 and we were working on the principle that 3 yrs ago when we bought it was 4yrs old so the 08 plate will be 5yrs old so perhaps slightly cheaper? Wrong logic??

Cars newer than 2008 are going to be more expensive due to this countries obsession with spending thousands in an effort to save a couple of hundred quid on tax.

Spending anything more than a grand on a 17 year old is madness. Get him a late 90s/early 2000s Micra or something; small engine, reliable car, great for learning in and building up experience. Or maybe one of the early 2000s 1.25 Fiestas or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

You're under no obligation to buy him a car. When my best friend's brother turned 18 they had to share the car my friend (the eldest) got after his 18th, it's now his sister's car and neither of the boys have one, but have access to the parents larger cars.

That's a family that spent €16k on the first car 5 years ago, but its been learner for 3 now, and beyond that its up to them to provide for themselves.

If you're intent, give the younger one the brother's car and reward the older guy with an upgrade for not being an arse about getting a free car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭Taylor365

And there still priced at 4-7k ....3 years later. Nice deal you got there OP.

You'll be pushed to find any 08 cars 4k or under (without astronomical mileage)

who cares how much a family spend on there kids cars??its there money they earned it...

get your own house in order before worrying about how people that are doing well for themselves spend there cash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

What about a reasonable size car. I learned to drive a year and half ago. And my parents wouldnt of bought anything that small for me. All that seems to be suggested above is tiny cars. I wouldn't of have been allowed buy anything like that to drive. You should at least buy something of astra megane size at the smallest and idealy octavia 406 size. My dad always said it was better to drive in a decent size car as there is a bit of metal around you if god forbid you had a crash. At the end of the day if a yaris/ fiesta size car had a head on crash with a octavia/ 406 size car I know which car I would rather be in. Im not saying small cars are unsafe but they are small and have shorter bonnets etc. I learned to drive in an octavia and seen the size no disadvantage. I'm just trying to suggest something other than a typical car for learning to drive car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

One of these'll do him grand, all the rage in Poland with young lads. Auld bangers they can learn to drive in, Basic engines really easy to mend, low on power so they can't kill anyone and he'll get all the chicks coz they'll know that his schlong is massive since he doesn't need to impress them with a small-d!ck car like an audi/bmw/suv etc etc.

IMG_4744.jpg

One of these'll do him grand, all the rage in Poland with young lads. Auld bangers they can learn to drive in, Basic engines really easy to mend, low on power so they can't kill anyone and he'll get all the chicks coz they'll know that his schlong is massive since he doesn't need to impress them with a small-d!ck car like an audi/bmw/suv etc etc.

IMG_4744.jpg

lol "small d!ck car like an audi/bmw/suv "

someones jealous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Bpmull wrote: »
    What about a reasonable size car. I learned to drive a year and half ago. And my parents wouldnt of bought anything that small for me. All that seems to be suggested above is tiny cars. I wouldn't of have been allowed buy anything like that to drive. You should at least buy something of astra megane size at the smallest and idealy octavia 406 size. My dad always said it was better to drive in a decent size car as there is a bit of metal around you if god forbid you had a crash. At the end of the day if a yaris/ fiesta size car had a head on crash with a octavia/ 406 size car I know which car I would rather be in. Im not saying small cars are unsafe but they are small and have shorter bonnets etc. I learned to drive in an octavia and seen the size no disadvantage. I'm just trying to suggest something other than a typical car for learning to drive car.

Small cars are popular to learn in for a reason; they are generally cheaper to insure, which is a major factor when talking about a 17 year old male.

Also for a complete novice its easier to get the very basics in a smaller car and then work up to something a bit bigger when youre a bit more experienced/confident.

lol "small d!ck car like an audi/bmw/suv "

someones jealous

Isn't that what they're known as? :p

maybe if the owner has a peanut d!ick

so why don't you have one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

Tell him his budget is €5k including NCT, tax and insurance. Get him to shortlist a few cars, get the quotes himself and that you'll go look at them. Get the brat to do his own leg work - you're paying for it which is more than good enough - let him figure out the rest himself. If he's old enough to drive he's old enough to learn to appreciate the true cost of buying, maintaining and running a car.

An octavia is in the same class as an astra/megane, the 406 is a bigger car and is in the class above with the likes of a superb/passat.

I kinda agree with you though on learning to drive in a bigger car but small cars are pretty safe these days and even some are much safer than some older larger cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Someone needs to lay off the protein. :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

A fiat panda. You could easily get an 08 for €4/5k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

. My dad always said it was better to drive in a decent size car as there is a bit of metal around you if god forbid you had a crash. At the end of the day if a yaris/ fiesta size car had a head on crash with a octavia/ 406 size car I know which car I would rather be in. .

Utter nonsense.

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/skoda_octavia_2004/206.aspx

http://www.euroncap.com/results/toyota/yaris/2011/458.aspx

A bigger car doesn't mean your any safer. Granted the NCAP isn't the end all of crash survivability but its nonsense to suggest that a physically bigger car will always win out.

Hahaha

Oh, I have 12. I own them ironically. :P

Anyway, yea, get the wee Fiat there, he'll soon learn how to drive safely.
    Imagine having parents cool rich enough to buy you a car :cool:
    Wanna be my auld pair? I'll walk the cat and let out the dog every day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFk5SBh8fv4

you mad??

IMG_4744.jpg

some audi/bmw/suv driver obviously robbed your bird off you and is banging her senseless in the back of his car right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Jesus the sh1te in this thread is unreal.

Putting a 17 year old with absolutely no experience on the road in anything that moves faster than a dole queue looking for work is madness.

Make sure he can drive properly before you even consider buying anything with an Audi or BMW badge.

I'd suggest spending as little as possible on the car, let him learn his trade in that and spend the balance on a good advanced driver training course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Andy_Dublin

First car you need to buy a cheap car so if you have any mishaps it won't cost you the world. Best first car ever is a K11 Nissan Micra 1.0 petrol, 40-45 mpg, cheap tax, tyres, parts the lot. I spent a fortune on my first car and wrecked it within 8 weeks, lesson learned. Start cheap work your way up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I love the way you posted this....

Then realised you had a comeback:

Then spent 10 minutes thinking up what you must have thought was a better comeback:
    some audi/bmw/suv driver obviously robbed your bird off you and is banging her senseless in the back of his car right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭JBokeh

I'd go for something with absolutely no power what so ever! If he is into boras and civics he will probably also be doing what youngfellas do when they get in a car for the first time,handbrake turns and wheel spins,because thats cool when you are 17!

I'd go for a matiz,that way he will learn to save up for his own machine because he will be too embarrassed to drive it anywhere,and can't do anything too mad,as it has no power. A suzuki ignis or wagon r wouldn't be a bad option either,nice nippy 1.3 engine,and they just need the usual maintenance which is cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

ironclaw wrote: »
    Utter nonsense.

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/skoda_octavia_2004/206.aspx

http://www.euroncap.com/results/toyota/yaris/2011/458.aspx

A bigger car doesn't mean your any safer. Granted the NCAP isn't the end all of crash survivability but its nonsense to suggest that a physically bigger car will always win out.

If you read all my post. I never said that small cars are unsafe most are very safe. I just dont see the point of starting to drive in a ting car and gradually building up to a bigger car. So ever time you get a bigger car it feels more difficult to drive as you are use to driving the smaller one. Ultimately op's son has never driven any car so if he starts to drive in a reasonable size car he wont know any difference. That way if he downsize he will always find the new car easier to drive as he will always have been use to the big one. in terms of price small cars are not a whole lot cheaper to buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Andy_Dublin

If you read all my post. I never said that small cars are unsafe most are very safe. I just dont see the point of starting to drive in a ting car and gradually building up to a bigger car. So ever time you get a bigger car it feels more difficult to drive as you are use to driving the smaller one. Ultimately op's son has never driven any car so if he starts to drive in a reasonable size car he wont know any difference. That way if he downsize he will always find the new car easier to drive as he will always have been use to the big one. in terms of price small cars are not a whole lot cheaper to buy.

I don't agree, start small work your way up. You're going to get used to whatever car you buy regardless of size, unless they're a bogey pilot as I like to call them. A small car may not be a whole lot cheaper to buy, but certainly a whole lot cheaper to run with road tax, fuel, tyres and servicing taken into consideration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Nissan_Micra_(K11)_front.jpg

And fit it with a lawnmower engine

Frisbee wrote: »
    I love the way you posted this....

Then realised you had a comeback:

Then spent 10 minutes thinking up what you must have thought was a better comeback:

you must be jelly aswell brah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Be really mean and buy him something with a naturally aspirated diesel engine.

you must be jelly aswell brah

Let to go... Brah.

CianRyan wrote: »
    Be really mean and buy him something with a naturally aspirated diesel engine.

I think you mean a Jaguar 420G or Range Rover with a BMC 1.5 diesel :pac::pac::pac:

dgt wrote: »
    Nissan_Micra_(K11)_front.jpg

And fit it with a lawnmower engine
    The best suggestion in this thread so far, the car that is, not the bit about fitting it with a lawnmore engine :-)

dgt wrote: »
    I think you mean a Jaguar 420G or Range Rover with a BMC 1.5 diesel :pac::pac::pac:

More so an SDI Bora or the likes, from the early 90's. :p

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The best suggestion in this thread so far, the car that is, not the bit about fitting it with a lawnmore engine :-)

I wouldn't have mentioned a lawnmower engine only that the 17 year old in question decided to pull faces :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    More so an SDI Bora or the likes, from the early 90's. :p

Brilliant! Sure you can fit a smaller plunger head on the injector pump and make it even slower, 25bhp sounds appealing :pac::pac::pac: