Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Handing Your Notice In

• 28-01-2013 9:48am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭

Today, I am handing my notice in at work. It's something I hate doing, I don't know why, I just hate confrontation and the whole process makes me really nervous. I always work myself up loads about it and then it's fine in the end.

So, people of AH, to calm me down a bit, has anyone got any stories of times when handing your notice in went really wrong? e.g. you were escorted out by security with all your possessions in a box shouting abise at your ex colleagues? or have you ever just told your boss to "take this job and shove it" (yes, I watched Office Space recently for inspiration) and walk out?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeah, only done it the once. The feckers still had me up on the next roster.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

I once handed in my. Notice as i was leaving for a competitor,i wasnt let log into the system anymore so I just sat there for 2weeks twidling my thumbs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Handing in your notice and half the country out of work, well ooh-la-di-da Mr Frenchman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

sfwcork wrote: »
    I once handed in my. Notice as i was leaving for a competitor,i wasnt let log into the system anymore so I just sat there for 2weeks twidling my thumbs

They didn't give you 'Garden leave'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i once handed in my notice and a portal to hell opened and for two weeks i had to battle whatever came through it to the death until it finally closed. be careful op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭whadafook

Someone once suggested to me that a good way to it would be to leave a nice pile of dung on your boss's table and stick your I'D card in it. Never said if the ****e should be your own or from another species

Sugar Free wrote: »
    They didn't give you 'Garden leave'?

Nope.made me sit there instead.Crazy mo fo's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I tend to smear "I QUIT!!" all over the wall in my poo and blood.

A dignified way to leave, I find....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Handing in your notice and half the country out of work, well ooh-la-di-da Mr Frenchman.

I is a woman! and yes, I know, how very bold of me :)

That's mad, Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭Franticfrank

I have absolutely no fear about handing in my notice. Its perfectly legal, legitimate and its how the system works. When you sign a working contract, it doesn't mean you have to stay there your whole life. Man up, give it to the boss and move on. If you get any hassle afterwards, just go out sick and blame it on stress or something.

Logically, my brain knows all that but I still hate doing it! Yes, I am a huge wuss :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    Logically, my brain knows all that but I still hate doing it! Yes, I am a huge wuss :)

look at it this way, if they wanted to fire you would they keep you on just cause they didnt like confrontation?

bgrizzley wrote: »
    look at it this way, if they wanted to fire you would they keep you on just cause they didnt like confrontation?

Possibly, my boss is not big on the aul confrontation himself! :)

I knew a guy who was moving to a direct competitor. He was hoping to be sent on gardening leave once he gave his notice but they made him work the full notice period.

Ah i see what you did there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The first time I did it I felt like I was breaking up with a girlfriend. Which was kinda true as I was sleeping with the bosses wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Last day working in Tesco when I was a teenager I ripped off the Tesco jumper, threw off the pants, and walked out through the shop. Thankfully it was early in the morning so there weren't many customers on the floor (I only remembered this fact when I was already on my way out through the shop, but there was no turning back!).

Did the opposite when I worked as a stripper- put my clothes back ON and walked out! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Czarcasm wrote: »
    Last day working in Tesco when I was a teenager I ripped off the Tesco jumper, threw off the pants,

Did the opposite when I worked as a stripper- put my clothes back ON and walked out! :pac:

Pics or it didn't happen........

squod wrote: »

Pics or it didn't happen........

Thankfully this was years before camera phones were invented! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Did it once after only 11 months in the job as I hated it and they offered me la much lower salary than I deserved as I was desperate for work after being made redundant.

They were really pissed off when I handed in my notice (for a job with the correct salary) and I had my going away speech thing at the same time as a lad that was leaving after 3 years.

So they had a whip round for him and gave him a gift and a card and gave me fuck all, just mumbled good luck at me as if I was a leper.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Two very conflicting sentences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Print it out a few times, make paper planes out of them and keep throwing them until one lands on your boss's desk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Today, I am handing my notice in at work. It's something I hate doing, I don't know why, I just hate confrontation and the whole process makes me really nervous. I always work myself up loads about it and then it's fine in the end.

So, people of AH, to calm me down a bit, has anyone got any stories of times when handing your notice in went really wrong? e.g. you were escorted out by security with all your possessions in a box shouting abise at your ex colleagues? or have you ever just told your boss to "take this job and shove it" (yes, I watched Office Space recently for inspiration) and walk out?

Damn it feels good to be a gansta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

When I get on with the boss (which I usually do), I hate handing in notice because I feel bad about dumping that ****load of hassle on their desk.

The one time I hated the bitch in charge of me I was practically grinning giving my notice and skipped off delighted with myself. I loved working my notice period that time, I was in good form the entire time.

So, my boss was very good. I was so nervous about it because I'm leaving due to ill health and feel like I'm leaving them in the lurch (like Seamus said). He was really good and said the usual things that I had to look after myself and he'd noticed I was struggling working full time. I offered to work longer than my notice period (which is very short) so that helped.

So all in all I'm happy enough - except now I also have to go talk to the wagon of a HR lady who is unlikely to be as understanding.

Still, feeling a lot freer now. Hurray!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

^^ Good for you. I think I'll also have to do this soon and not looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Handed in my notice last Thursday. No disaster stories, though, just annoying that I have to work these next two weeks. Also have to set up an exit interview which should be interesting. Best of luck with the future OP, above all I wish you a happier future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

I have the rather dubious honour of having neither quit nor gotten fired from any job. Every single place I've worked has closed down. I tried to quit one previous job but they kept throwing money at me to stay. I'm back to work in a couple of weeks, I wonder how long it'll last. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭seven_eleven

Hooray for HR!

^^ Good for you. I think I'll also have to do this soon and not looking forward to it!

Good luck! I feel so much better already. I never really understood when people said your health is the most important thing. It's only when you don't have full health that you realise!
    Handed in my notice last Thursday. No disaster stories, though, just annoying that I have to work these next two weeks. Also have to set up an exit interview which should be interesting. Best of luck with the future OP, above all I wish you a happier future.

Ah, the dreaded exit interview, half an hour of trying to be as vague as possible. I'll be doing my best to get out of that methinks.
    Adyx wrote: »
    I have the rather dubious honour of having neither quit nor gotten fired from any job. Every single place I've worked has closed down. I tried to quit one previous job but they kept throwing money at me to stay. I'm back to work in a couple of weeks, I wonder how long it'll last. :P

Remind me never to employ you - definitely bad luck!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

So, my boss was very good. I was so nervous about it because I'm leaving due to ill health and feel like I'm leaving them in the lurch (like Seamus said). He was really good and said the usual things that I had to look after myself and he'd noticed I was struggling working full time. I offered to work longer than my notice period (which is very short) so that helped.

So all in all I'm happy enough - except now I also have to go talk to the wagon of a HR lady who is unlikely to be as understanding.

Still, feeling a lot freer now. Hurray!!

Once you have spoken to your manager I won't worry about HR, sure you are on your way out of there. Any issues just refer here to your manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I love resigning. It's the best feeling ever.

I was hoping there'd be lots of stories about AHers storming out after giving their bosses the finger but maybe everyone is too sensible!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Anyone fancie PM'ing me the places that they are handing in their notice to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Give them whatever notice period they require, within reason, and leave without fuss. Do not participate in an exit interview.

I was hoping there'd be lots of stories about AHers storming out after giving their bosses the finger but maybe everyone is too sensible!!

Well a reply in another thread had me thinking "Helicopter! I wish I'd thought of that! Right in his face!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My supervisor went out of his way to make sure I didn't come in for the 'exit briefing' that was company policy. He knew he wouldn't come out of it well. Got another two weeks pay for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

What's the story with an exit interview? Never done one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Odysseus wrote: »

Basically its the HR people trying to find out why you quit, as if your letter of notice isn't enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Ah ye, the aul "why are you the right person to leave this job?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Well done OP, I too handed in my notice where the job was getting me down. Health is wealth as you say. Each time I did it, I made sure to remove all my personal belongings in advance and clear personal stuff off my computer.

Depending on the type of job you do, it is understandable why employers would want to remove you from access to certain information.

Always leave on good terms, even if you haven't been treated well. It's a long road that doesn't have a turn and you might meet these people again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Few years ago, I went to HR and laid it on the line. Either they give me the promotion that I wanted or I leave.

They said: "see ya".

I lost it and went on a rant about how the HR person was completely incompetent and wasn't fit to run a chipper etc etc. Walked out the door telling them they could stick their notice up their arse.

I was out of work for nearly 6 months, the HR person is still there to this day. Lesson learned: f*cked if I know.

They're awful. You have to find a way of giving feedback about your job and management without badmouthing them and ending up with no reference. It's just the most pointless exercise. What on earth can people ever glean from them? I always want to leave on the best terms possible because you never know when it will bite you on the ass and exit interviews are so awkward.
    Hoop66 wrote: »
    Few years ago, I went to HR and laid it on the line. Either they give me the promotion that I wanted or I leave.

They said: "see ya".

I lost it and went on a rant about how the HR person was completely incompetent and wasn't fit to run a chipper etc etc. Walked out the door telling them they could stick their notice up their arse.

I was out of work for nearly 6 months, the HR person is still there to this day. Lesson learned: f*cked if I know.

Interesting - did you ever get a reference from them? :p I've often wondered what the consequences would be if I just hulked out one day and left a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

P_1 wrote: »
    Basically its the HR people trying to find out why you quit, as if your letter of notice isn't enough

I have little daydreams about saying, "It's rather difficult to put into words....so I would like to convey my feelings and emotions about the matter via the medium of dance" and then go all Kate Bush, a bit of Pat Benatar, a little bit of Beat It and maybe a little Praise You to cap it off.

3.22 is where my part will come in, in the PB video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Interesting - did you ever get a reference from them? :p I've often wondered what the consequences would be if I just hulked out one day and left a job.

Never got a reference from them, I always just said they "didn't give references" and used the job before that, where the guy I worked for was sound and did me a favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

HR mostly just want to see:
    • Is the salary they are paying for the position on par with the industry.
    • How you found the training program at the company.
    • Did you receive enough feedback about your performance.
    • What tempted you to another company.
    • How was your experience working there.

Most people like to think it's an opportunity to have a pop at your manager but HR mostly only care if there is anything in their processes they can make better to improve employee retention.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

That was a bit of spiteful revenge on the employers part.They didn't want to pay you for the 2 weeks notice and have you at home watching TV.

Can't understand why employers get all pissed off when people want to move on.Who wouldn't move if they got more money etc elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I handed in my notice to the local tesco there a few weeks ago.I was sick of the isolation and lack of communication and had enough. It didn't go too well tough, he said I didn't even work there. I said damn right I don't, and walked out with my head held high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

repsol wrote: »
    That was a bit of spiteful revenge on the employers part.They didn't want to pay you for the 2 weeks notice and have you at home watching TV.
    If security was their concern, then they wouldn't let him in the building at all, never mind just access to his computer. Disabling his logon but making him stay definitely just sounds like pure spite.
    Can't understand why employers get all pissed off when people want to move on.Who wouldn't move if they got more money etc elsewhere?
    I think it's a kind of brand loyalty. Like some people see criticism of <insert brand here> as a personal attack, so too some management see your wanting to go elsewhere as an attack on the company and therefore an attack on them.

If they just realised that no worker is going to remain in their job unless you give them a 10% increase every year along with a new concubine and an endless supply of pizza, then they'd accept that people are always going to leave and wish them well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I've never had to worry about handing in my notice anywhere I worked.