Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summarise the current state of the world in one sentence.

• 27-01-2013 8:17pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭

See I've been on Mars, in a cave, with my fingers in my ears for the past 20 years.

I now need your assistance to quickly formulate an understanding of what things are like right now.

I'll go with a TS Eliot quote. We live in a world "distracted from distraction by distraction".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Thank me, thank me, thank me, look at me, look at me, look at me, look at my pouty photos, look at me having the 'craic'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Mostly water, some land, no more dinosaurs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

"Th' whole worl's in a terrible state o' chassis" (Sean O'Casey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Flux.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

The rich shall continue to be rich the poor can eat cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Tomorrow, tomorrow and tomorrow, creeps in this petty pace from day to day.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

It's only a dogs bollícks of a planet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Death and destruction.

One word - Bankrupt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Its life Jim, but not as we know it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

It's terrible, Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

Well, it's quite wet in some places whereas other places are rather hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Sharon Curley's up the pole, did ye hear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Still the best place on Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Roundish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

Blue and green and goes round and round all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭KDII

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

In the 23rd Century, Earth is a member of the United Federation of Planets, a peaceful alliance of democratic worlds that runs a ‘Starfleet’ of space vessels to patrol the final frontier of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Same old ****e happening to new people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Well Cher won an Oscar and Sonny's a congressman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Sharon Curley's up the pole, did ye hear?

Hey Baby its the Georgy Porgey..... Let me tell ya where I been, Let me tell ya where I been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

The oil ran out, the Chinese overtook everyone, politicans are still crooked, and its warmer than it was, but thats not a good thing at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭An Coilean

Much ado about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,827 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I'm fooked, you're fooked, we're all fooked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

One step forward, two steps back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Jedward.

Can I join you on Mars ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Same ****, different decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Last stop for deep fried mars bars until Alpha Centauri.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Pig Benis

A shower of bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Thank me, thank me, thank me, look at me, look at me, look at me, look at my pouty photos, look at me having the 'craic'.

To those of you who have left thanks,...er...thanks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

O tempora, o mores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

We are all waiting for tomorrow but tomorrow never comes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭cosbloodymick

Jaysus, where did all those humans come from!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Odats

Robbing Peter to pay Paul but Paul is never paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

A lot done, more to do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Harry Truman, Doris Day, Red China, Johnnie Ray
    South Pacific, Walter Winchell, Joe DiMaggio

Joe McCarthy, Richard Nixon, Studebaker, television
    North Korea, South Korea, Marilyn Monroe

Rosenbergs, H-bomb, Sugar Ray, Panmunjom
    Brando, "The King and I" and "The Catcher in the Rye"

Eisenhower, vaccine, England's got a new queen
    Marciano, Liberace, Santayana goodbye

Joseph Stalin, Malenkov, Nasser aand Prokofiev
    Rockefeller, Campanella, Communist Bloc

Roy hn, Juan Peron, Toscanini, dacron
    Dien Bien Phu falls, "Rock Around the Clock"

Einstein, James Dean, Brooklyn's got a winning team
    Davy Crockett, Peter Pan, Elvis Presley, Disneyland

Bardot, Budapest, Alabama, Krushchev
    Princess Grace, "Peyton Place", trouble in the Suez

Little Rock, Pasternak, Mickey Mantle, Kerouac
    Sputnik, Chou En-Lai, "Bridge on the River Kwai"

Lebanon, Charlse de Gaulle, California baseball
    Starkweather, homicide, children of thalidomide

Buddy Holly, "Ben Hur", space monkey, Mafia
    Hula hoops, Castro, Edsel is a no-go

U-2, Syngman Rhee, payola and Kennedy
    Chubby Checker, "Psycho", Belgians in the Congo

Hemingway, Eichmann, "Stranger in a Strange Land"
    Dylan, Berlin, Bay of Pigs invasion

"Lawrence of Arabia", British Beatlemania
    Ole Miss, John Glenn, Liston beats Patterson

Pope Paul, Malcolm X, British politician sex
    JFK, blown away, what else do I have to say

Birth control, Ho Chi Minh, Richard Nixon back again
    Moonshot, Woodsto/ck/, Watergate, punk rock
    Begin, Reagan, Palestine, terror on the airline
    Ayatollah's in Iran, Russians in Afghanistan

"Wheel of Fortune", Sally Ride, heavy metal, suicide
    Foreign debts, homeless vets, AIDS, crack, Bernie Goetz
    Hypodermics on the shores, China's under martial law
    Rock and roller cola wars, I can't take it anymore

Wait............wait.......wrong Century, sorry OP! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

"Because I'm worth it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

That money was just resting in my account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

People now have more respect and admiration for "Reality TV celebrities" than people who actually contribute to the moving forward of civilisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Probably as bad as it always was only we've invented stuff now to rub it right in our faces in our own homes more often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭GoldenLight

In answer too the OP question.

"the world is like a bold parent, thinking they are right (and trying to prove it), even though it's children can actually see how wrong that parent is (it's like demanding respect, when we all know we earn respect).

End of my sentence. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

But there's no toilet in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jacob T

F u c k e d - u p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

But there's no toilet in here.
    sliding into mass extinction, the like of which we haven't seen for 65 million years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

See I've been on Mars, in a cave, with my fingers in my ears for the past 20 years.

I now need your assistance to quickly formulate an understanding of what things are like right now.

I'll go with a TS Eliot quote. We live in a world "distracted from distraction by distraction".

We're bollixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Ah_Yeah

'Tis a fine barn, but 'tis no pool, English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Evidently Chickentown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

"People would pay more to be entertained than educated." Jonny Carson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'm not really sure what's going on but for the most part it's ****ing boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Dr. B you are now the smartest person in the world-