Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What country?

• 26-01-2013 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

I hope this gets treated seriously. I know you lot can be very helpful when the mood takes ye...so here goes.

Im seriously thinking about leaving this country, this social welfare life isn't for me at all. So as a lad on a budget of say 8 grand where can I go? My education only goes as far as leaving cert and I have a few years experience working on the farm. I reckon that means Im pretty much stuck inside the EU?

The only requirements I seek are a country with some nice sunny weather (or at least something better than Ireland :p ). And somewhere where I have a reasonably decent chance of getting work. I dont really care what kind of work so long as its decent hours (9-6 Mon-Fri) and a decent wage.

So any ideas AH..? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

pack sunscreen and a jumper where ever you end up :)

edit - and would it kill ya to write home every once in a while?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I hear there's farmland up in Northern Ireland... try there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Stay at home. Plenty of huge dairy farms in the Cork region could do with someone like you. Try it before you emigrate.

Dunno exactly how to look for jobs in these places. I'd try contact the co-ops maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Do a bit of research on it, if you want to stay in farming I'm sure places like Canada and OZ have positions for somebody with experience in the industry. For instance there's some huge cattle operations being run in both countries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭sfwcork

Valencia island?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

sfwcork wrote: »
    Valencia island?
    Where's that? Off the coast of Spain somewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

NEW ZEALAND!:) Its like Ireland but better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

I know of a few lads gone down to new zealand to draw silage/work on dairy farms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭solas111

Keep trying for a job at home unless you really want something different. The faraway hills are nowhere near as green as they look.

I know nothing about looking for work abroad but someone I know is talking about going to Australia. He is looking for €5,000 up front so that he doesn’t have to get an employer to sponsor him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 tonymantana

sell your hole in the Phoenix Park

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Theyre mad looking for people to herd crocodiles in South Africa.
    How different can it be from dairy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭bgrizzley

i hear theres gold in the Klondike...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

sell your hole in the Phoenix Park

Do you enjoy anal sex, tony? I only ask seeing as quite a few of your posts refer to the activity :D

To the OP, Canada has a great network in place to help Irish immigrants settle in and find work, iirc. If you're worried about education limits, would you be able to take any courses before you go? Or even a trade? Do FAS still do courses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

I've heard the UKs quite nice.:D V V V V!! V V V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Pottler wrote: »
    I've heard the UKs quite nice.:D

and they speak irish since Mrs Browns Boys became so popular

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Pottler wrote: »
    I've heard the UKs quite nice.:D

It has its moments but the weather isn't all that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

All I can suggest is go to a country where English is the first language. My boyfriend (Irish) tried his luck where I'm from (the Netherlands, and he tried in Belgium) and it's really hard to find a decent job when u don't speak the language. You can get sh'tty seasonal work, but they don't pay well, treat you like a slave and provide no stability or job security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Maybe teaching English in China or Japan.

Was talking to a lad who is in China and you don't need any 3rd level qualifications or speak Chinese. He doesn't. Do it for a year and if you get homesick then just head home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Saw this over in YLYL thread OP thought it might help.

adventure.jpg

*not to be taken seriously btw! :)*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Cambodia.

I went there recently on travels, and if I was young(er), on the dole position, Id be off there.

Defo better weather, but the infrastructure isnt very good, so lots of job opportunities there. Knoew a few Irish there myself, and they are living the life of riley cause its so cheap over there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I know of a few lads around here go to Canada for the harvest, maybe you should look into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Theyre mad looking for people to herd crocodiles in South Africa.
    How different can it be from dairy?

I've heard its quite difficult to milk a crocodile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Zimbabwe ticks all those boxes OP.
    Have fun .o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭CollardGreens

Have you thought about the US?

Pick grapefruit & oranges in Florida or Peaches in Georgia, both warm to hot weather.
    Now on the 9-6 weekend off, ain't going to happen in many places in the states, only bankers get those kinds of hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 155 ✭✭jay92

Holland... Amsterdam to be precise only an hour and 15mins away by flight and plenty of work in the tourism industry..restaurants,irish pubs,cafes etc...Been there done that...

good luck

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

Unless you have a degree or a marketable skill I don't think its worth emigrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

AdamOHare wrote: »
    I hope this gets treated seriously. I know you lot can be very helpful when the mood takes ye...so here goes.

Im seriously thinking about leaving this country, this social welfare life isn't for me at all. So as a lad on a budget of say 8 grand where can I go? My education only goes as far as leaving cert and I have a few years experience working on the farm. I reckon that means Im pretty much stuck inside the EU?

The only requirements I seek are a country with some nice sunny weather (or at least something better than Ireland :p ). And somewhere where I have a reasonably decent chance of getting work. I dont really care what kind of work so long as its decent hours (9-6 Mon-Fri) and a decent wage.

FearDark just creamed his pants.

TheUsual wrote: »
    Maybe teaching English in China or Japan.

Was talking to a lad who is in China and you don't need any 3rd level qualifications or speak Chinese. He doesn't. Do it for a year and if you get homesick then just head home.

Its true that you dont need 3rd level but you do need to do a TEFL course before hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

Lots of islands to the right of that Kangeroo place, try one of them, let me know if it works out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Jumboman wrote: »
    Unless you have a degree or a marketable skill I don't think its worth emigrating.

Not really, experience in a certain industry can negate the need. Many degrees which are given out willy nilly in Irish institutions are completely worthless in the real world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

I wonder could someone go to a foreign country and pretend to be a Doctor or something:D

Any qualification you want can be bought off the internet.

Somewhere that might be worth a shot is the land of our overlords, Germany. I've been over and back many times and have mostly only good experiences to recall. A few friends of mine moved over there to seek employment as you hope to do somewhere. With the exception of one friend who has qualifications coming out his arse and would get a job anywhere (the fúcker) the others picked up work in construction and pubs.

Germany is huge, and a fair amount of the countryside is covered in hops which are used for their German beer amongst other things. Maybe with your farming background you could pick up employment in this area. I know these farms employ a considerable amount of polish people, getting a job there should not be much of a problem since we seem to be the niveau Poles! They also have many coal mines that employ thousands of people and it pays well.

German cities such as Berlin and Munich have loads to offer in terms of culture and nightlife. Smaller cities such as Aschaffenburg in the centre and Rostock on the Northern coast have most that the cities have to offer, but obviously on a smaller more relaxed scale and are generally 'nicer' places for scenery and a taste of nearby rural life. Regensburg in the South is a vibrant college town, lots going on here, but also has some of the nicest architecture if you're into that sort of thing.

Wouldn't worry too much about the language barrier, a lot of German people speak English. Of course not all of them do, and that can be part of the fun. From my experience both in the cities and the bog-end countryside, there is a general affection and sense of welcome towards the Irish. They get hot hot summers and mild to quite cold winters. Depending what part of Germany you are in you could only be a small distance from Holland, France, Czech Republic, Italy, France, Poland, Austria. Denmark and Sweden are just a ferry ride across the northern sea.

Can't recommend Germany enough, did so much for my life. Whatever you decide, best of luck OP.

I am in no way an employee of or affiliated with the German Tourist Board :D

FearDark just creamed his pants.

Good one April, roflmbo...too funny, I busted when I read that! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

With 8 grand you can roam the earth like Caine in Kung Fu.

Somewhere that might be worth a shot is the land of our overlords, Germany. I've been over and back many times and have mostly only good experiences to recall. A few friends of mine moved over there to seek employment as you hope to do somewhere. With the exception of one friend who has qualifications coming out his arse and would get a job anywhere (the fúcker) the others picked up work in construction and pubs.

Germany is huge, and a fair amount of the countryside is covered in hops which are used for their German beer amongst other things. Maybe with your farming background you could pick up employment in this area. I know these farms employ a considerable amount of polish people, getting a job there should not be much of a problem since we seem to be the niveau Poles! They also have many coal mines that employ thousands of people and it pays well.

German cities such as Berlin and Munich have loads to offer in terms of culture and nightlife. Smaller cities such as Aschaffenburg in the centre and Rostock on the Northern coast have most that the cities have to offer, but obviously on a smaller more relaxed scale and are generally 'nicer' places for scenery and a taste of nearby rural life. Regensburg in the South is a vibrant college town, lots going on here, but also has some of the nicest architecture if you're into that sort of thing.

Wouldn't worry too much about the language barrier, a lot of German people speak English. Of course not all of them do, and that can be part of the fun. From my experience both in the cities and the bog-end countryside, there is a general affection and sense of welcome towards the Irish. They get hot hot summers and mild to quite cold winters. Depending what part of Germany you are in you could only be a small distance from Holland, France, Czech Republic, Italy, France, Poland, Austria. Denmark and Sweden are just a ferry ride across the northern sea.

Can't recommend Germany enough, did so much for my life. Whatever you decide, best of luck OP.

TY for posting that, very interesting. So the language is no problem? I have relatives over there in I think Frankfurt but have never considered visiting because of the language barrier. You are well traveled with the places mentioned, what a blessing! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

jay92 wrote: »
    Holland... Amsterdam to be precise only an hour and 15mins away by flight and plenty of work in the tourism industry..restaurants,irish pubs,cafes etc...Been there done that...

good luck

What about the language? Don't you have to have Dutch to work in bars/restaurants etc?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

kraggy wrote: »

What about the language? Don't you have to have Dutch to work in bars/restaurants etc?

Few cans you'll be grand!

EDIT: No wait, that's Dutch courage. Not Dutch language

kraggy wrote: »

Unfortunately for Holland nobody gives a **** about the language and most the population speak english....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

sfwcork wrote: »
    Valencia island?

Where's that? Off the coast of Spain somewhere?

Don't think so, I hear it's an island owned by Antonio Valencia, the United guy. A land of milk and honey, if all accounts are to be believed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

All I can suggest is go to a country where English is the first language. My boyfriend (Irish) tried his luck where I'm from (the Netherlands, and he tried in Belgium) and it's really hard to find a decent job when u don't speak the language. You can get sh'tty seasonal work, but they don't pay well, treat you like a slave and provide no stability or job security.

I did Belgium and Holland a couple of years ago, ended up working in an Irish bar in Antwerp for a few months. The management were bastards who treated the Irish expats like dirt, and since we all lived above the bar they had us all by the balls, never again. Left there and got a job in an Irish bar in Amsterdam, great money but after the season ends and they don't need as many staff it's last in, first out. It was a great job and I enjoyed it, but not the kind of thing to actually move abroad for.

good luck

Almost impossible to find a place to live in Amsterdam though, and if you want to be there more than 4 months the registration process is a pain in the arse (medical insurance, bank account, yada yada yada). I was there over a year and spent the second half of that living under the radar, if I'd been caught or had an accident or anything I'd have been seriously fukked.

Maybe you had a better experience than me, but I found Dutch beurocracy to be a complete nightmare.
    Unfortunately for Holland nobody gives a **** about the language and most the population speak english....

Not necessarily, the people in the major cities speak English but not all Dutch people, and even then a lot of the older folks hate service staff not being able to speak Dutch. "You're working in our country, why haven't you learned our language?" kinda thing.

Irish immigrant service staff get it in the arse since there are so many of us, we're like the Mexicans of Europe :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I think, English was made compulsory in German schools in the late 1960s-early 1970s. From my experience, everyone younger than 40 speaks at least some basic English in Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

solas111 wrote: »

I know nothing about looking for work abroad but someone I know is talking about going to Australia. He is looking for €5,000 up front so that he doesn’t have to get an employer to sponsor him.

He needs $5000 as its the requirement for a holiday visa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

(9-6 Mon-Fri) and a decent wage.

Love the naive expectations. I don't have either of those working here for the last 15 years:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Au pair. Don't need to pay anything and bed & board included, so you get a job and somewhere to live all in one. Very easy for native English speakers to get an au pair job and if you don't like it, just come home. People with teenage boys seem quite keen on male au pairs these days as it's someone their kids can relate to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 natanne1

My friend went farming in saudi and he loves it over there,could be something to look into....best of luck whatever road you take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Send an email to one of the captains on Deadly Catch, it be great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Send an email to one of the captains on Deadly Catch, it be great craic.

Seriously, A lad in school with me left at 14 years old (old group certificate).
    He went North Sea fishing in America. Saw a photo of him at 21 and I didn't recognise him, he looked exactly like Quint in the Jaws movie.
    To be fair he was shaving at 12 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

Australia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

TheUsual wrote: »
    Seriously, A lad in school with me left at 14 years old (old group certificate).
    He went North Sea fishing in America. Saw a photo of him at 21 and I didn't recognise him, he looked exactly like Quint in the Jaws movie.
    To be fair he was shaving at 12 years old.

hahah good one!! I'd say you'd want to be mental to do it, especially if you're not used to it. I'm that unlucky i'd fall over board the first day and that's without even catching a fish!

orestes wrote: »
    I did Belgium and Holland a couple of years ago, ended up working in an Irish bar in Antwerp for a few months. The management were bastards who treated the Irish expats like dirt, and since we all lived above the bar they had us all by the balls, never again. Left there and got a job in an Irish bar in Amsterdam, great money but after the season ends and they don't need as many staff it's last in, first out. It was a great job and I enjoyed it, but not the kind of thing to actually move abroad for.

Almost impossible to find a place to live in Amsterdam though, and if you want to be there more than 4 months the registration process is a pain in the arse (medical insurance, bank account, yada yada yada). I was there over a year and spent the second half of that living under the radar, if I'd been caught or had an accident or anything I'd have been seriously fukked.

Yeah I got my sofi number (was piss easy to get) but I agree with you on all other accounts.. It's a pity because It's a beautiful city