Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday 26th January

• 25-01-2013 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭

4.10 Cheltenham Mr Watson 6/1 NAP. Write up to follow but price won't last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Graupel

Anyone any opinions on the cleeve hurdle? I think Kauto stones a good bet at 7/1. OW still has to prove he stays 3m well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The ones I like:

Hell's Bay 1.15 Cheltenham 50/1

Talented hurdler/chaser who was one of the bargains of the century when leaving Paul Nicholls' yard for £3,000 in August 2010. A frustrating type, he had some good form to his name as a novice hurdler, winning a Grade 2 over 2 and a half miles at Chepstow in 2008, but was inconsistent before and after that, finishing well behind Diamond Harry in a couple of Graded novice hurdles at Cheltenham and Newbury, before again being well beaten at odds on in a weak novice back at Chepstow and Kempton. Was sent novice chasing after this following a break, and his comeback run/chasing debut in November 2009 resulted in him being pulled up in a 2 and a half Ludlow novice, before running again seven months later at Worcester, running better than his sixth place finish suggested, travelling ok before making a bad mistake two out. Finally hinted at his true ability next time out in a Newton Abbott beginners', being bang there two out before frustratingly running out at the second last in a race won by Swing Bill who has won three valuable handicap chases since.

It was after that he was put through the ring, and the change of scenery clearly did the trick for this horse, winning his first start over an extended three miles at Newton Abbot in a very easy manner. Looked a blatant non stayer over the more testing trip at Cheltenham, but went from strength to strength back down in trip, running an excellent second at big odds in a 2 and a half mile Cheltenham novice, finishing eight lengths behind Time For Rupert, before filling the same position over two miles at Newbury behind the Champion Chase winner Finian's Rainbow (though he was an easy winner). He followed that run up with probably his best run to date, winning a Grade 2 Novice over this course and distance, beating Medermit by half a length, with over 20 lengths back to a smart horse in Reve de Sivola.

Hasn't been as good since following a long break, not being seen for nearly a year when pulling up behind Aerial in a Graduation Chase,before disappointing in an ultra competitive handicap over this course and distance off a high mark of 156, a run littered with jumping errors. Fared much better than the result suggests in this race last year, off a mark of 152. He travelled well throughout (did make a few mistakes) before making an absolute howler of a mistake four out, hitting the fence hard. Practically tailed off after that and it seems that hit really took a lot out of him, but that run was still promising given that the runaway winner was no less than The Giant Bolster, who Hell's Bay was giving seven pounds to.

Hasn't been as good since, making multiple mistakes before pulling up at Ascot last season, and returned to racing this season with what was an ok run behind Ghizao at Kempton given he probably needed the run, but did pull up last time out in the Paddy Power which I wouldn't worry too much about given about 99% of the runners. No doubt he's a risky proposition, but 17 pounds lower than his promising run in this race last year, he could well outrun his odds, or he could look like one for the glue factory. 16 runners at the moment but no doubt there'll be a non runner leaving just the first three home for each way purproses, but hopefully not. May be a back to lay in running as he does tend to be a strong traveller (even in the Paddy Power he went to 26 in running from a Betfair SP of 92). There'll be worse 50/1 shots than him, though.Call me unoriginal, but Bold Sir Brian and Katenko are two massive dangers.

Carlingford Lough 2.45 Leopardstown 8/1

A big field for this Grade A handicap chase, but there are a fair few horses who are short enough in the betting with a few question marks hanging over them. Thi horse comes into the race one pound out of the weights effectively running off a mark of 125. Lightly raced, he won a 2 mile Roscommon maiden hurdle back in July 2009 before proving his opening hurdle rating of 109 to be totally wrong when winning a shade comfortably in a 2 mile Galway handicap next time out, before running a very good race over the same distance in a big Grade B handicap hurdle at Killarney in May of last year following a 10 month break off a mark of 119, finishing sixth behind Satu, beaten just over four and a half lengths (well backed: and the runner up, Rattan, is a dual winner since while the third,forth and fifth have all won over fences or on the flat).

Went one better next time out stepped up in trip at Bellewstown in a 2 and a half mile handicap, comfortably winning off a mark of 119, before making it two from two at Galway next time out off a mark of 129, again over 2 and a half miles, absolutely hacking up for an easy victory over Dancing Tornado (who he meets tomorrow, with Dancing Tornado giving him lumps of weight because of his higher chase rating). Earned himself a rating of 144 for that over hurdles, and went novice chasing after that, disappointing in his first run over fences at Galway over 2 and three quarter miles, being beaten at odds of 8/13 into third behind Westlife in what was one of the most unlikely wins of the season (winner was rated 90), but did hint at much more promise next time out in a much stronger race over the same course and distance, finishing a four lengths third to Lyreen Legend (rated 146).

Has looked like a bit of a handicap plot horse in his next two runs, running abysmally behind Aupcharlie back over what is probably his optimum trip at Gowran, before being given a generous handicap rating over fences of 124 before his run over 2 miles at Leopardstown. Wasn't even put in the race that day and comes in here with a racing weight of just 9 stone 10. Would be no surprise to see a much improved performance tomorrow back up in trip and he looks undeniably well handicapped against his hurdles form.

This does look competitive enough, though, and Hidden Cyclone could be potentially well treated off a mark of 150 following a promising run in the Lexus, but looked like a non stayer. The hat trick seeking Canaly is also respected, whilst Glam Gerry has always hinted at having a big win in him.

One last one for tomorrow in the shape of

Leah Claire 3.20 Leopardstown 20/1

Another typically competitive renewal of the Boylesports (formerly the MCR) hurdle tomorrow and I'm going for this filly who I've been following for over a year and has been hinting at having a big win in her. A five time handicap winner on the flat from distances between 10 to 12 furlongs, she is a bit frustrating in the way that she has only one win over hurdles to her name, that win coming in a two mile mares' novice hurdle at Wexford around 14 months ago, comfortably beating the long odds on favourite Ceol Rua (subsequent winner of a Listed hurdle) by a comfortable three lengths. That said, she doesn't strike you as an ungenuine mare, and has a brilliant record at Leopardstown since then, running a good third off a mark of 112 in her next handicap hurdle race over this course and distance, before running a brilliant second to Citizenship in this race last year off a higher mark of 114.

Has been relatively lightly raced over hurdles since then and was in the process of running a big race in a competitive 2 mile Fairyhouse Grade B handicap hurdle next start over jumps in April, moving well when falling three out under tomorrow's rider when a close forth. That mistake was uncharacteristic of her as she usually jumps kindly, and I still can't make sense of her next run two weeks later in a big handicap hurdle at Punchestown (7/1 fav), disappointing to be a distant seventh, though it's possible she doesn't act truly effectively on heavy ground.

Had a couple of spins on the flat prior to returning to hurdles at Down Royal in November, running fine when a ten length fifth to Beef to the Heels. Her next run was much more promising over Christmas back at her favourite track, running a four length third to Cairdin. She did run a bit funny that day though, given she was last for nearly the whole way round before picking off more than a dozen horses in the straight. Think it was a bit harsh to put her up three pounds for that (comes here off a mark of 122) but Brian Dalton is back on tomorrow and his five pound claim can come in handy, as well as some more positive tactics back at a course she has such a good record at.

Of the rest, Thomas Edison has always hinted at having a big run in him, but with connections it's difficult to know when, with the same applying to Sportsmaster. Edeymi and Joxer are other big priced alternatives, but you can back this filly each way with the first five home with Boylesports which is a decent bet I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Nice write ups Richie. My worry about Carlingford Lough is that he looks like he's been lined up for a punt at the Cheltenham Festival and may be a non-trier. More than good enough to win off this mark though. I do think Leah Claire looks huge at 20s as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

Texas Jack in 14.15 Leopardstown

Like this fella, ran a cracker last time out in the 3 mile Novice Chase at the course over the christmas. Didnt quite see the race out but this drop in trip will definitly suit him. He jumped well and travelled great in that race. Obviously its a hot race but i think it lacks a superstar and i feel if Texas Jack runs to a similar as his last time out he will go very close.

Hidden Cyclone 14.45 Leopardstown

I know he is very highly thought of by the Shark who feels he could be good enough to run in the Gold Cup (pinch of salt) which would put him in the 165+ bracket, He runs off 153 tomorrow which i think is a lenient mark. He has always struck me as a horse that can carry a decent weight and i feel if he'll go very close tomorrow although he will need to jump better the LTO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 nevis7

i know for fact that carlingford lough has only one target, the galway plate, so save your dough until that day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

nevis7 wrote: »
    i know for fact that carlingford lough has only one target, the galway plate, so save your dough until that day.

Thats funny I was talking to a someone who is related to the McManus family and is also well alined with the francis flood and numberous trainers who jp has horses with and he was telling me its target is that race tomorrow and he said bet in accordingly and he's usually spot on but sure we'll see tomorrow.

Carlingford Lough won't be getting into the Galway Plate off his current mark so he'll need to do some winning between now and then. Whether or not that is tomorrow is a different story.

Any views on the Irish Arkle tomorrow will arvika confirm form with Oscars Well?

Personally think power gave it too much of a lead last time but still cant see him overturning the fav he might try keep up with it and Arvika does jump right at times but I think he'll make all again getting plenty of racing though 2 hard enough races this season another one tomorrow and he could be bottomed by Cheltenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

SRFC wrote: »
    Any views on the Irish Arkle tomorrow will arvika confirm form with Oscars Well?

Personally think power gave it too much of a lead last time but still cant see him overturning the fav he might try keep up with it and Arvika does jump right at times but I think he'll make all again getting plenty of racing though 2 hard enough races this season another one tomorrow and he could be bottomed by Cheltenham.

Oscars Wells jumping doesn't fill me with confidence. I think both of them should run in the Jewson at Cheltenham anyway, 2 and half miles is perfect for Arvika.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I'd hardly class 4 novice chases (one of which was in May) as being over raced or likely to bottom a horse. Nice gap before the Arkle too

Having said that I can't have him at Cheltenham over 2m

Bookies wont like the fact theres 9 runners and two 1000/1 shots in the Victor Chandler because of the ew theives and wont be a bit surprised if one if not two are Nr's tomorrow.

I'd hardly class 4 novice chases (one of which was in May) as being over raced or likely to bottom a horse. Nice gap before the Arkle too

Having said that I can't have him at Cheltenham over 2m

3 grade ones in the space of a month and a half on soft ground and especially the race last time was a very hard race for him will not help his chances at the festival im not saying he has bottomed out its a posibility if he has another hard one tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

rossom wrote: »
    4.10 Cheltenham Mr Watson 6/1 NAP. Write up to follow but price won't last

It didn't last too long!

Interestingly Timeform like Carlingford Lough and Leah Claire too

Edit: Also like Khelino in the next at Dundalk at 13/2. Was bitterly disappointing before being upped in trip to a mile a couple of starts back, winning her first start over a mile off a mark of 52 (won a shade cosily, had been boxed in,was value for more). Ran well next time out off a mark of 59, and ran similarly well dropped back to seven. Ran fine last time out back over a mile in a race she wasn't weighted to win and can hopefully go better tonight back in a handicap off a mark of 57

Edit no joy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Graupel wrote: »
    Anyone any opinions on the cleeve hurdle? I think Kauto stones a good bet at 7/1. OW still has to prove he stays 3m well.
    reve de sivola for me, think its about 9/4 atm. more importantly, the way he runs tomorrow will obviously have a bearing on his stayers price,so its all eggs in the one basket for me. his long run hurdle was very impressive, he didnt beat much, but the manner of the win was superb. heres hoping:)

thought i seen midnight chase somewhere this morning priced at 8/1, just checked p.p its actually 14/1. as i said in another thread earlier i think the horse may have lost its way a bit, but he loves cheltenham and won it last year in good style. 14/1 looks tasty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

thought i seen midnight chase somewhere this morning priced at 8/1, just checked p.p its actually 14/1. as i said in another thread earlier i think the horse may have lost its way a bit, but he loves cheltenham and won it last year in good style. 14/1 looks tasty.

Said it myself on another thread earlier that Midnight Chase was a cracking price, I would ignore his last run as he didnt jump one fence well on the day and was pulled up, I fancy him to go well tomorrow especially as there is some question marks over the market leaders.

How far does Imperial commander win by tomorrow lads I'll go 4 `1/2 eased down :cool:

4.10 Cheltenham

Mr Watson 6/1 NAP

Won't have as much time as I'd like to write this but I've got to start with the most glaring fact which is A P gets down to 10-3 for this ride which, according to the RP, is 1lb below his lowest riding weight in the past 12 months which I think says all you need to know about this ones chances. Looking at the horse himself, Jonjo O'Neill purchased this 6 year old for £215,000 in April last year after running a very nice 3rd in a valuable bumper in Fairyhouse over in Ireland and based on his hurdling form to date for his new handler I think he could easily be a handicap blot off a mark of 127. He made his debut over hurdles for Jonjo O'Neill when sent off the 6/4 favourite over 2m3f at Market Rasen last November on the back of a 7 month absence where he was keen throughout when buried in behind runners. He travelled very well into the race and looked the winner all over but he found absolutely nothing off the bridle which I would put down to a lack of race sharpness and using up too much energy from the pulling. With the winner of that race yet to reappear, the form of that race looks modest enough but it was still a pretty decent effort. His 2nd hurdles start came at Cheltenham which looks a very hot novice hurdle and I think he ran extremely well to finish as close as he did given how hard he pulled as he was green throughout. Again under McCoy, Mr Watson set off from the front on soft ground over tomorrow's C+D at a pretty pedestrian gallop and he pulled the arms of McCoy for pretty much the entire race. Despite this, he travelled extremely well from the front and was level going over the final hurdle before his exertions throughout the race had taken their toll as McCoy wisely let him come home in his own time after that as he ended up finishing a 6.5L beaten 5th. The form of that race looks very strong with the winner Melodic Rendevouz subsequently landing the Grade 1 Tolworth Hurdle. Although the others in that race haven't gone on to confirm that form, they all came in with a very high level of form so there is no doubt in my mind that this was a very good race. It must be noted, however, that the slow pace certainly caused the runners to finish in a bit of a bunch. Mr Watson really struck me as a horse with a serious engine that day given he was bang there at the last despite being so keen throughout. It was no surprise to see Jonjo O'Neill stick on a hood for his final start and it certainly helped an awful lot as he seemed to settle an awful lot better (was still a bit keen). Once again, Mr Watson attempted to lead from pillar to post under McCoy at Plumpton earlier this month and he did so in very impressive fashion as he absolutely blitzed the field to score by an eased down 8L on the bridle. He probably beat little of note that day but he did so in very taking fashion and his £215,000 purchase certainly made quite a bit more success. Mr Watson is the sort of horse that I think is going to improve significantly with racing and I think he'll improve significantly again from his last run as he should again settle even better and I really think he could be chucked in here off a mark of 127. I know what I've said seems very rushed (because it is) but given that McCoy has gotten down to 10-3 for the ride tells me all I need to know about his chances and if improving again I think he could turn what looks on paper a very tough contest into a procession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Does anyone know if the Cleeve Hurdle is run on the new track or Old track?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Does anyone know if the Cleeve Hurdle is run on the new track or Old track?

Fairly sure it is run on the same course as the world hurdle so the new course!

kiers47 wrote: »
    Fairly sure it is run on the same course as the world hurdle so the new course!

Considering its called trials day that would make sense alright. Thanks

there was talk of running it on the old track depending on how the ground cuts up tomorrow. cant remember which website i seen it on.

How far does Imperial commander win by tomorrow lads I'll go 4 `1/2 eased down :cool:

Is hardly a betting proposition at the current prices but would be silly to dismiss him.
    Im struggling to find a bet in the race to be honest but i might have a small(very small) bet on the quirky Weird Al if the price is right.
    Fairly lightly raced for a 10 year old. Has had his fair share of problems having burst a blood vessel in the previous 2(yes 2) Gold Cups.
    I might be crazy but considering the doubt surrounding the top 3 in the betting i could surely place worse bets.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Is hardly a betting proposition at the current prices but would be silly to dismiss him.
    Im struggling to find a bet in the race to be honest but i might have a small(very small) bet on the quirky Weird Al if the price is right.
    Fairly lightly raced for a 10 year old. Has had his fair share of problems having burst a blood vessel in the previous 2(yes 2) Gold Cups.
    I might be crazy but considering the doubt surrounding the top 3 in the betting i could surely place worse bets.

I might have a small few quid on IC incase he still has a reasonable amount of ability and with the allowences he gets,he obviously will improve for the run but hes had racecourse gallops at 2 racecourses already and the yard are no mugs and I doubt they would waste their time getting him back if he didnt seem to retain a decent bit of ability,I guess time will tell but he'd destroy them recieveing weight if he does retain some.

Ya he'd cream them alright. I just couldnt bring myself to back a horse at 6/1 who hasnt run in 680 days.

Saying that my selection has had more than his fair share of problems. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭tipster

the bets for me at cheltenham are irish saint katenko reve de sivola and dildar.sprinter will obviously win and so should tidal bay.at leopardtown arvika should win handily ive backed king of queens for the big hurdle and marito in the 2m5 novice chase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Picking out horses while drunk, similar to changeing my fantast football team before the deadline - seemed like a good idea at the time :D:D

In no particular order :

Reve De Sivola
    Dildar
    The New One - NAP
    Irish Saiint

L'town:
    Avrike Legeionaire
    Marito
    Hidden Cyclone
    Gentleman Duke

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Cheltenham

1.50 Sprinter Sacre
    3.00 The New One

Leopardstown

1.45 Arvika Ligeonniere
    (Sunday) Hurricane Fly

Fourfold @ 3.6/1

Cheltenham

1.15 Fruity O'Rooney 14/1 : Put in a gutsy performance when 3rd last time out and although Katenko beat him easily, the drop in distance may suit my pick. Dropping down the weights (his lowest in over a year) and showed a liking for Cheltenham with a super effort at last years festival. Game front runner who will give his all and hang on for a place, hopefully!

2.25 Tidal Bay 11/4 : If he turns up I'll trust that he's fit. Imperial Commander has to be respected if anywhere near his best but can't be having Grands Crus or Hunt Ball over the trip and ground.

3.35 Reve De Sivola 9/4 : Oscar Whiskey is obviously the class horse in the race but would you rather take 5/4 about a horse who has never won over 3m or 9/4 about a horse that has proven form over the distance and going. If he wins, Oscar Whiskey will likely do it in fine style but I'm willing to go against him in soft ground.

jimjamcos wrote: »

3.35 Reve De Sivola 9/4 : Oscar Whiskey is obviously the class horse in the race but would you rather take 5/4 about a horse who has never won over 3m or 9/4 about a horse that has proven form over the distance and going. If he wins, Oscar Whiskey will likely do it in fine style but I'm willing to go against him in soft ground.

I'd rather take 13/8 about Oscar Whiskey.

1)There's a decent chance that last years 5th in the World Hurdle would be good enough form to win this either way.

2)He will be ridden to get home and has no Big Bucks to worry about keeping up with. All in all there's a different ride will see an improvement on the World Hurdle form, which will improve his chances even more.

3) Henderson and Geraghty are adamant that he wasn't right at all in the World Hurdle. If that is the case, then he is likely to put up a much improved performance on his 5th there, making him a virtual certainty.

13/8 looks big imo

I'd rather let him win or if you fancy him tomorrow back him for the WH instead because his price will contract significantly if he bolts up over 3mile and proves he stays.

The ground could be changed to heavy tomorrow so I will not be surprised if Sprinter Sacre is withdrawn from the race and it certainly wont help OSCAR WHISKEY stay with the ground heavy.imo

I'd rather let him win or if you fancy him tomorrow back him for the WH instead because his price will contract significantly if he bolts up over 3mile and proves he stays.

I backed him already at 7's when Big Bucks got injured. Was surprised to see the price still available in one place this week

For some reason Irishracing has it down that Hell's Bay pulled up last time. He unseated

I backed him already at 7's when Big Bucks got injured. Was surprised to see the price still available in one place this week

You will know how you stand with that bet come tomorrow will be either a great bet because he will be cut into 3s at least if he wins well and proves he stays 3 mile at cheltenham up the hill on that soft ground,if he doesnt well you can throw it away :) personally its a no bet race for me will just watch.

The victor chandler is a nice race for ew thieves if the rags stay in it will look through it in the morning try get an place bet on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

1)There's a decent chance that last years 5th in the World Hurdle would be good enough form to win this either way.

2)He will be ridden to get home and has no Big Bucks to worry about keeping up with. All in all there's a different ride will see an improvement on the World Hurdle form, which will improve his chances even more.

3) Henderson and Geraghty are adamant that he wasn't right at all in the World Hurdle. If that is the case, then he is likely to put up a much improved performance on his 5th there, making him a virtual certainty.

13/8 looks big imo

Yea, I take those points on board (Henderson says he was dead on his feet after last years WH) but as SFRC hints, the ground (maybe heavy) tomorrow will not be to his advantage over 3m regardless of him being ridden to get trip. Too many questions to answer at this moment for my liking.

If he does win tomorrow, anybody with him antepost for WH will be laughing as he will only get better for slightly better ground come March in my opinion!

The victor chandler is a nice race for ew thieves if the rags stay in it will look through it in the morning try get an place bet on.

I like Somersby but will probably go for 5/2 w/o the fav instead of the 1.7 you'll get for coming second or third in an e/w bet

13/8 looks big imo
    Imo 13/8 is a poor price. Reve de sivola is not trained by a "fashionable" trainer but is a classy horse ,main difference is rds is proven to stay 3m and proven on soft , which the going will obviously be. Rds realisticly should be fav, i,m glad he,s not, obviously i would prefer 5/2 for rds.dont be surprised if ow takes a walk in the market.

2 Non runners already in the Victor Chandler no surprise there id a bet it to be ew 1-2 last night at any price available disgusting thing to happen for ew punters doesnt surprise me one bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

4:10 Cheltenham
    Solix was one of my favourite horses at the beginning of last year, and although he finished poor enough in his chase run at Ascot, a couple of mistakes really put paid to his chance there. He is back over hurdles here over a shorter trip on heavy ground, and it’s possible he may be able to get involved here at a huge price. He has had 2 decent runs in France this year and 66/1 looks far too big . He should be able to carry 11:07 over this trip and id hope to see him prominent and staying on at the finish.
    1 win Betfair 85 1 Point Place 9.7 Betfair 4 Places
    12:40 Cheltenham

Vino Greigo has a lot of very decent form over fences and I’m surprised to see him in here at 18/1 in a few places. He is probably the most experienced in the field ran a very good 2nd in a hot novice chase last time out and wouldn’t need to do a lot more to have a great chance here. He looks a very solid EW shout with his soft ground form and experience.

1pts EW 18/1 Stan James/Coral

1:15 Cheltenham

Tartak has been running really well this year, and is in here with 9 lbs less than his good run over c&d earlier this year when 6th in a very similar race. This is probably his best trip and I was expecting his to be shorted than 20/1. He has got a huge turnaround in weight with Katenko from his last run but will probably need it.

2pts EW 20/1 Various

2 Non runners already in the Victor Chandler no surprise there id a bet it to be ew 1-2 last night at any price available disgusting thing to happen for ew punters doesnt surprise me one bit.
    Yeah seen that, had an ew bet wrote out on kumbeshwar but when i got to p.powers seen the 2 non runners it went in the bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Leopardstown 3:20

I’m going to go with 3 horses against the field here with 5 places EW. Il Fenomeno has some very decent novice form and hopefully today has been the plan for him for a while. This is more of a gut feeling selection and 40/1 looks value. De Valira has a good record fresh, was nearly as good over fences as hurdles and is in here of a great mark if he can recover any of his hurdles form. I’m also going with Shadow Catcher who surly has been laid out for this race. He has some 4yo form right out of the top drawer and hasn’t been seen since from a canny stable.

1pt EW Il Fenomeno 40/1 EW Bet365 5 places
    1pt EW De Valira 50/1 EW Bet365 5 places
    1pt EW Shadow Catcher 22/1 EW Bet365 5 places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Am I bonkers in saying I fancy Carruthers in The Cleeve, can there be a case made for him dont think hes run over hurdles ever and im thinking it might spark a bit of improvement in him. Maybe its heart over head with this horse as it won me a few quid in the hennessy a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I will stick with Fruity O'Rooney in the 1.15. I think 16/1 is pretty fair although he's up against some dangerous looking horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭MoscowFlyer

Irish Saint turned over in the 1st at Cheltenham. Not a great start to the day :(

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Am I bonkers in saying I fancy Carruthers in The Cleeve, can there be a case made for him dont think hes run over hurdles ever and im thinking it might spark a bit of improvement in him. Maybe its heart over head with this horse as it won me a few quid in the hennessy a few years back.
    Maybe not bonkers,but possibly a bit optimistic : )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Irish Saint turned over in the 1st at Cheltenham. Not a great start to the day :(
    I had him doubled with the new one so that's up in flames. Yuck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

aidankkk wrote: »
    Vino Greigo has a lot of very decent form over fences and I’m surprised to see him in here at 18/1 in a few places. He is probably the most experienced in the field ran a very good 2nd in a hot novice chase last time out and wouldn’t need to do a lot more to have a great chance here. He looks a very solid EW shout with his soft ground form and experience.

Great tipping Aidan. Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

aidankkk wrote: »
    4:10 Cheltenham
    Solix was one of my favourite horses at the beginning of last year, and although he finished poor enough in his chase run at Ascot, a couple of mistakes really put paid to his chance there. He is back over hurdles here over a shorter trip on heavy ground, and it’s possible he may be able to get involved here at a huge price. He has had 2 decent runs in France this year and 66/1 looks far too big . He should be able to carry 11:07 over this trip and id hope to see him prominent and staying on at the finish.
    1 win Betfair 85 1 Point Place 9.7 Betfair 4 Places
    12:40 Cheltenham

1pts EW 18/1 Stan James/Coral

1:15 Cheltenham

Tartak has been running really well this year, and is in here with 9 lbs less than his good run over c&d earlier this year when 6th in a very similar race. This is probably his best trip and I was expecting his to be shorted than 20/1. He has got a huge turnaround in weight with Katenko from his last run but will probably need it.

2pts EW 20/1 Various

Good call on vino griego

Surprising that rolling star went off at 5/2 considering he is fairly fancied for the triumph... Hindsight is great!! Woulda shoulda coulda. :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Tiny ew double on Fruity O'Rooney and Crack Away Jack