Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zx-10 being overtaken by an audi at 300kmph

• 24-01-2013 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭

Nutters.... I appreciate fast cars and bikes, know that there are derestricted sections on the autobahn, but this is fast......
    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=9d9_1358963331

What ever chance the RS6 has if things go wrong, the biker has none..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

skibum wrote: »
    Nutters.... I appreciate fast cars and bikes, know that there are derestricted sections on the autobahn, but this is fast......
    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=9d9_1358963331

What ever chance the RS6 has if things go wrong, the biker has none..

I can't watch that video :eek:

You're right whatever chance the car driver has in a crash, the person on the motorbike has zero chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

..........dont know what to say about that....fast...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I think at those speeds. The biker might have the better chance. Slimly. With a lot of caveats about not tumbling, hitting anything or having a decent set of gear on him.

Car driver will be trapped in a disintegrating wreck and be crushed and crumbled by the remains of his own car all trying to concertina together. He's dead as dead. Racecars can take a hit like that... just about. Regular cars just can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

A ZX10 is pretty old now, quick but not the quickest.
    Besides its comparing apples with oranges.
    A semi-custom car worth how much vs a bike worth €3000?
    You can't say the biker has no chance, its certainly a lot less than the car but at speeds like that on a road its likely to be immaterial whatever you are travelling in or on if you hit something.
    Blackbirds are fast as well.
    http://youtu.be/jw2mRSVEaFI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

CJhaughey wrote: »
    Besides its comparing apples with oranges.
    A semi-custom car worth how much vs a bike worth €3000?

I dont think its a competition, just two people dicking about on the Autobahn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Bike's digital speedo seems to stop at 299km/h, even when the bike sounds to be still accelerating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

ha ha .. nutters. looking for death.

Anan1 wrote: »
    Bike's digital speedo seems to stop at 299km/h, even when the bike sounds to be still accelerating.
    I think you'll find that was a way for the factories to claim that their bikes didn't go over a self-imposed speed limit.
    It was that way for a while then the Blackbird and Hyabusa came along and no-one seemed to care after that.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    I dont think its a competition, just two people dicking about on the Autobahn.
    Just reading the captions on the liveleak page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Dartz wrote: »
    I think at those speeds. The biker might have the better chance. Slimly. With a lot of caveats about not tumbling, hitting anything or having a decent set of gear on him.

Highly unlikely that the motorcycle driver will come off better. Crash a car, a lot of the the kinetic energy will get dissipated into the body of the car reducing the force directly exposed to the driver. On a motorcycle, Most of that force is going into you.

Dartz wrote: »
    Car driver will be trapped in a disintegrating wreck and be crushed and crumbled by the remains of his own car all trying to concertina together. He's dead as dead. Racecars can take a hit like that... just about. Regular cars just can't.

Not necessarily in a modern car. This M5 took a crash of the autobahn at a reported 300km/h

bmw-m5-300-km-h-186-mph-autobahn-crash-photo-gallery-44288-7.jpg

Both passengers survived. On a motorbike? Your toast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

BX 19 wrote: »
    This M5 took a crash of the autobahn at a reported 300km/h

Both passengers survived. On a motorbike? Your toast.
    That car didn't hit anything immovable at 300km/h, or anything like it. You're right though, a car can cartwheel along, protecting its occupants and absorbing several impacts as it gradually slows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭KT10

That looks like recent model Ninja to me, probably 2011 judjing by the tacho and forks/triple clamp, so not so old, even the original '04's are still regarded as utter demons.

Jap sportsbikes like the ZX10R are limited to 300kph by a gentlemans agreement between the various Japanese bike manufacturers, the restriction can be easily removed though, usually with the use of a TRE (timing retard eleminator) so while the bike will go beyond 299kph, the tacho is not designed to display a higher figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

There's 4 vids in the liveleak page.

This is the overtaking vid for us with zero attention spa.... oh look a bird!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ToYApwhHsIg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 bm69

Ive seen videos of 2 guys survive crashes from motorcycles at 180+mph at the TT and surviving. Havent seen any car crashes at that speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

That car didn't hit anything immovable at 300km/h, or anything like it. You're right though, a car can cartwheel along, protecting its occupants and absorbing several impacts as it gradually slows.

An 80kg object travelling at 300km/h has the potential energy of about 275,000 Joules. 1000J can fracture your pelvis. Yea, I'd prefer to be in a protective cage at that speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Wow. The tears are streaming out of my eyes, and my face is cold just watching that video!

Anything happens that biker, and it's good night. Not a hope leathers and whatnot would protect him against a thump into the back of a car that he didn't spot/didn't spot him.

Wow. The tears are streaming out of my eyes, and my face is cold just watching that video!

Anything happens that biker, and it's good night. Not a hope leathers and whatnot would protect him against a thump into the back of a car that he didn't spot/didn't spot him.
    Understand that in an impact often a bike rider is thrown clear of the collision and apart from the impact with the ground, once you slide all that kinetic energy is used up as heat from friction.
    No-one is saying that leathers protect from impact, what they are saying is that if the biker slides and doesn't tumble or roll and hit anything else then chances are good that they will survive.

Understand that in an impact often a bike rider is thrown clear of the collision and apart from the impact with the ground, once you slide all that kinetic energy is used up as heat from friction.
    No-one is saying that leathers protect from impact, what they are saying is that if the biker slides and doesn't tumble or roll and hit anything else then chances are good that they will survive.

But that's a big IF on an Autobahn. In that 31 second clip, he overtakes 9 vehicles. Not factoring in the Audi that passes him.

Include centre divider, traffic that is coming up behind him as friction slows him, possibility of being throw across the divider (oncoming traffic seems heavier) and that's an awful lot of stuff to avoid when you can't stop or turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭LLU

Wow, I'd describe that as 'optimistic' driving. You're grand as long there's nothing unexpected way ahead in the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

Its amazing that 300km/h doesnt look that fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats not a stock RS6. I think its an RS6 ABT, 700bhp. Awesome car but what they did was very stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭LOTTOWINNER

ofcork wrote: »
    Its amazing that 300km/h doesnt look that fast.

If you were broke down on the hard shoulder and they drove past you, you might change your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

bm69 wrote: »
    Ive seen videos of 2 guys survive crashes from motorcycles at 180+mph at the TT and surviving. Havent seen any car crashes at that speed.

The Zonda has been in a few high profile crashes above 180mph. This article doesn't show it but the car was totalled. The point could be made that its probably a bad car to have a crash in given the lighter frame and lack of additional bracing present in more commercial cars. I'd take the RS4 or RS6 any day.

http://www.motorauthority.com/news/1055607_pagani-zonda-driver-crashes-at-199-mph-lives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Did someone trap a hive of wasps in a tin can or what? Most annoying fúcking sound I've ever heard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Nuts - couldn't do it here - some micra-driving biddy would be sitting in the overtaking lane doing 75kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

born2bwild wrote: »
    Nuts - couldn't do it here - some micra-driving biddy would be sitting in the overtaking lane doing 75kph
    With her granny in the middle lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭dieselbug

I once was in a high spec merc taxi on the autobahn with the driver (d**khead) and three other passengers travelling at 220klm, any slight sudden movement on the steering wheel caused the car to twitch. If anything went wrong there was going to be no reaction time.
    Not something Id want to experience again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

Idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Ah come on lads... while there is the clause that if you're thrown clear and hit nothing then you should hopefully survive, you can't say for a second that bikes are safer to crash in than cars.
    http://www.motorcyclenews.com/MCN/News/newsresults/General-news/2013/January/jan2313-kevin-ash-obit/
    Almost every famous biker out there gets killed at some point from a bike.
    ironclaw wrote: »
    The Zonda has been in a few high profile crashes above 180mph. This article doesn't show it but the car was totalled. The point could be made that its probably a bad car to have a crash in given the lighter frame and lack of additional bracing present in more commercial cars. I'd take the RS4 or RS6 any day.

http://www.motorauthority.com/news/1055607_pagani-zonda-driver-crashes-at-199-mph-lives
    You'd be wrong to take an RS4 or 6 instead of a proper hypercar. The carbon monocoque is incredibly safe, the car might disintegrate around you, but you're in your safety cell. You're many times more likely to survive a crash in a Zonda, Enzo, McLaren F1 even than in a super saloon.

"Almost every famous biker out there gets killed at some point from a bike"

What a stupid comment. You obviously dont follow bike racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I think its sad on a motoring forum that all people here talk about is how dangerous this was and how these lads were idiots, while projecting crashes that didn't even happen or nearly happen.

It just goes to show how well the media campaign has worked on the motoring public of today. No wonder this country's roads are blighted with clowns trundling along at 70kph in the wrong lane being "safe" - people are scared witless of even watching a video of someone going fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Even at 300kph they move into the slow lane after passing, now that's lane discipline! Guess you never know when a Veyron is going to come flying by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I was up to 290kph on the A9 just outside Munich a couple of times. I was driving a ZZR1400 which is built for those speeds and was rock solid on the road. The weak link in the chain was me, the pressure on my helmet (a good Arai) was tremense and I backed off fairly quickly, than and I was racing a Audi S5 and he was leaving me for dust :D

KTRIC wrote: »
    I was up to 290kph on the A9 just outside Munich a couple of times. I was driving a ZZR1400 which is built for those speeds and was rock solid on the road. The weak link in the chain was me, the pressure on my helmet (a good Arai) was tremense and I backed off fairly quickly, than and I was racing a Audi S5 and he was leaving me for dust :D
    Must have been a modified S5? They're quick but not ZZR1400 quick!

"Almost every famous biker out there gets killed at some point from a bike"

What a stupid comment. You obviously dont follow bike racing.
    Almost as stupid as implying that crashing at the TT race is safer than crashing in a car... When was the last TT weekend where no one was killed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭tu2j2

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Almost as stupid as implying that crashing at the TT race is safer than crashing in a car... When was the last TT weekend where no one was killed?

Pretty sure nobody was killed last year over the two weeks.

Of course your more likely to be killed on a bike but every accident is different, people die in 80km/h car crashes and survive 100mph bike crashes. If you don't crash your not likely do die either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

I'd trust the read out on a bike's speedo as far as I could throw it. They generally overstate the mileage, often by ~5-10%.

Add this to the likelihood that the gearing has been changed on the bike, and it may have been traveling nowhere near that speed.

I'm not saying it wasn't, but the number on the speedo is not gospel.

Still, he's toast if anything at all goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭spiggotpaddy

I don't see what the big deal is. modern machines on a motorway with the throttle opened. Maybe we have been conditioned over the last few years to think that speeding is not only criminal but also an act of insanity. To quote Judge Patrick Moran;

He said "driving a ten-year old modified car at a speed of 160km/h approached insanity"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭LookBehindYou

They were travelling at average speed of 133 mph for the journey on the autobahn, whats the big deal ?

For anyone who follows Motorbike road racing, the UGP road circuit is done at the same 133mph average, difference is, ugp roads are not like autobahn roads.

Tea 1000 wrote: »

Fair play for picking the most extreme race to make all your assumptions about motorcycles.
    Name one weekend where a person wasn’t killed in a car. There’s an equally stupid comparison.
    I am not saying motorcycle racing is not dangerous. But comments saying that every famous motorcycle racer gets killed at some point is idiotic and untrue. FACT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Chippy01

Blackbirds are fast as well.
    http://youtu.be/jw2mRSVEaFI[/QUOTE]

And so was the drain on the fuel gauge!!!!
    Nearly half a tank gone in under 10 minutes, he wouldn't want to miss the chance to top up ........ lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

dieselbug wrote: »
    I once was in a high spec merc taxi on the autobahn with the driver (d**khead) and three other passengers travelling at 220klm, any slight sudden movement on the steering wheel caused the car to twitch. If anything went wrong there was going to be no reaction time.

Was he a d**khead because of something he done to you or because he drove at a speed permitted on the autobahn as most taxi drivers do in Germany ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭deandean

A brilliant video, obviously a very experienced car driver and a very experienced motorbike rider.

See how there is plenty of use of brake lights & indicators to keep the other party informed. Although the biker looked to have boxed the car in a few times in the early stages.

The lane discipline is first-class.

The speed differential though, between the car & bike and the drivers in the 'slow lane' is scary.

Suggest the Road Safety Authority could use this video as an example of good lane discipline :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Even at 300kph they move into the slow lane after passing, now that's lane discipline! Guess you never know when a Veyron is going to come flying by.

and was even using indicators as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

You were actually crying watching that video? Holy mother of god,the only instance in which that is actually not the gheyest thing i've ever read is if you tragically lost a relative in a ZX-10/RS6 autobahn related incident.If that's the case i am a cold hearted bastard and i apologize.
    dieselbug wrote: »

220kph is 136mph, One hundred and thirty six miles per hour.In a high spec Merc taxi (an S class perhaps? ) on an autobahn and he was a dickhead why....
    RobAMerc wrote: »
    I think its sad on a motoring forum that all people here talk about is how dangerous this was and how these lads were idiots, while projecting crashes that didn't even happen or nearly happen.

It just goes to show how well the media campaign has worked on the motoring public of today. No wonder this country's roads are blighted with clowns trundling along at 70kph in the wrong lane being "safe" - people are scared witless of even watching a video of someone going fast.

Is there a double thanks button?

tossy wrote: »
    You were actually crying watching that video? Holy mother of god,the only instance in which that is actually not the gheyest thing i've ever read is if you tragically lost a relative in a ZX-10/RS6 autobahn related incident.If that's the case i am a cold hearted bastard and i apologize.

220kph is 136mph, One hundred and thirty six miles per hour.In a high spec Merc taxi (an S class perhaps? ) on an autobahn and he was a dickhead why....

Is there a double thanks button?

Crying, no. I was referencing that with the helmet cam, I could almost feel the speed, and cold wind makes my eyes water.

It is an example of great driving, both on the RS6's part, and the ZX10's part. The lane dicipline, and braking (brake alerting as well) is great, even at 250kmph+.

My only point was that at 300kmph, an unforseen event would be terrible for the biker.

My whole family are, or were at one point, bikers. Except me. And yes, I have had a brother killed on a bike, but that was due to a drunk driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Crying, no. I was referencing that with the helmet cam, I could almost feel the speed, and cold wind makes my eyes water.

It is an example of great driving, both on the RS6's part, and the ZX10's part. The lane dicipline, and braking (brake alerting as well) is great, even at 250kmph+.

My only point was that at 300kmph, an unforseen event would be terrible for the biker.

My whole family are, or were at one point, bikers. Except me. And yes, I have had a brother killed on a bike, but that was due to a drunk driver.

My apologies i totally misread that then,sorry about your brother.Drink driving is a terrible thing that we've all been touched by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭tu2j2

Only watched this now as I was on the phone earlier.

Its all pretty tame and responsible as shocking speeding videos go. No dodgy undertaking, not even a single close call in the 4 vids. Hell the whole thing was probably legal.

I'm slightly disappointing that people are shocked by it.

If you want to see idiocy on a bike watch this and get upset http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwtZOMv74Ww