Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Chancer gets his Comeuppance

• 24-01-2013 8:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2013/0124/1224329226649.html

I love it when a chancer gets his cumuppance just like this asshole.
    Lucky for the real victim that two undercover gardai witnessed the whole thing.
    From the link:

Mr Justice Matthew Deery, dismissing a €38,000 damages claim by Mr Flanagan against Ms O’Brien, said she and the gardaí had been unable to detect any damage to either car.
    Awarding costs against Mr Flanagan, the judge told John Martin, for Ms O’Brien, that he was of the firm conclusion Mr Flanagan was trying to make a very large case out of an impact of little or no significance.
    Ms O’Brien, Inchicore, Dublin, said he was shouting at and intimidating her. When the gardaí got out of their car, they told him to “back off a little”. He had suddenly fallen to his knees complaining of pain in his back.
    Mr Flanagan, unemployed, claimed he had been “violently thrown forwards and backwards by the impact” which had injured his lower back.
    Mr Justice Deery said a Robert Doyle who had provided a letter for Mr Flanagan relating to loss of work opportunity turned out to be married to his sister.

Evidence was also given of a previous claim the chancer had made in which he got €18,000 and of how a letter he produced in court for this case, from an employer who claimed he was unable to offer him a job because of his injuries, was in fact written by his sisters husband!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Love your take on the title!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Guess who picked up the bill for his legal costs??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

They should have locked him up for a week while they where at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Thats like karma for a chupacabra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

He should get thrown in jail for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Guess who picked up the bill for his legal costs??
    Costs were awarded against him, so he will have to pay them himself as well as paying the Ms.O'Briens costs too!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

State should be able to counter him with a charge of attempted extortion for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I presume that it's too much to hope this chancer is charged with fraud or extortion?

A mate of mine suffered a similar incident, he tipped the back another car while queuing to exit the car park at dublin airport. Now he couldn't have been doing more then a couple of miles an hour. The guy in the other car leaped out, checked every inch of his car (not a scratch) and then fell over complaining about pains in his kneck.
    In the end the insurance company settled the claim against my mate which infuriated him, he wanted to fight this chancer in court but it seems the insurance company has the right to settle a claim without the policy holders permission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

He should be made payback the other €18,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

When Joe exaggerated his injuries, he put his hand, in your pocket. (thaaanks)

Most annoying ad on the wireless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

So he walks put of court after committing perjury and fraud and nothing is done about it.

He should have been arrested as soon as he walked out the door.

Costs were awarded against him, so he will have to pay them himself as well as paying the Ms.O'Briens costs too!
    The guy is unemployed!

Do you think a spoofer like that would not be on free legal aid??

By saying costs are awarded against him, it just means the other side do not have to pay.

The taxpayer picks up the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Isn't this insurance fraud that could land Mr. Flanagan in court on a charge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

shockwave wrote: »
    So he walks put of court after committing perjury and fraud and nothing is done about it.

He should have been arrested as soon as he walked out the door.

Hopefully, he'll be red-flagged by every insurance company for attempted insurance fraud.
    So he'll have trouble getting car insurance & house insurance, or has to pay through the nose for them in future.

The guy is unemployed!

By saying costs are awarded against him, it just means the other side do not have to pay.

Free Legal Aid is granted in Criminal Matters not civil, and I doubt if the the Legal Aid Board would grant any assistance for civil legal aid in a case like this.
    Most likely he was either on a no win no fee deal with his lawyers, or he was paying himself hoping for another big payday like he had before.

Free Legal Aid is granted in Criminal Matters not civil, and I doubt if the the Legal Aid Board would grant any assistance for civil legal aid in a case like this.
    Most likely he was either on a no win no fee deal with his lawyers, or he was paying himself hoping for another big payday like he had before.
    Cool, never knew that.
    He is looking at a 5 figure bill so, I would guess.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

The guy is unemployed!

Sorry to go bubble bursting, but Civil Legal Aid will not, be granted for a personal injury matter for a Plaintiff. So he now must pay the Defendant, if he refuses to do so then they can go after the Plaintiff in exactly the same way a debt can chased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Cool, never knew that.
    He is looking at a 5 figure bill so, I would guess.:D
    But what happens if he really can't pay? He's not working so I'm guessing its just the dole. Oh God, I hope the hoor doesn't get away with that either!

The poor girl having to go through court and everything.

He gives a bad name to every genuine person that needs compensation for a genuine loss of earnings/ injury/ trauma.

EDIT: ResearchWill answered the question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

What's a cupuppance?

Rasheed wrote: »
    But what happens if he really can't pay? He's not working so I'm guessing its just the dole. Oh God, I hope the hoor doesn't get away with that either!

He gives a bad name to every genuine person that needs compensation for a genuine loss of earnings/ injury/ trauma.

He gets is brother -in-law to write him a note from a bank:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

justryan wrote: »
    What's a cupuppance?

I think it's an primitive version of a jock strap

EDIT: ResearchWill answered the question!

The poor girl was more than likely no where near court, her insurance company did all the necessary work, if he has any of the 18k left from the last claim they will go after that, insurance companies don't leave this stuff go easily.

Reading the article it does give the impression that she gave evidence in court at some stage.
    Either way it is good to see chancers like this caught out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The kant should be pursued for insurance fraud, dirty compo rat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Your user name hurts my eyes, OP.

It looks like a jumble of the magnetic letters my kids play with and my eyes keep getting drawn to the jumble of it.

anncoates wrote: »
    Your user name hurts my eyes, OP.

It looks like a jumble of the magnetic letters my kids play with and my eyes keep getting drawn to the jumble of it.

:( *The coyote curls up in ball and whines mounfully*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

:( *The coyote curls up in ball and whines mounfully*

This is where you fall off the cliff and slowly hurtle downward until a small puff of dust emanates from the canyon floor. :pac:

(I couldn't think of a witty way to work a faulty ACME warhead into the reply)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

anncoates wrote: »
    This is where you fall off the cliff and slowly hurtle downward until a small puff of dust emanates from the canyon floor. :pac:

(I couldn't think of a witty way to work a faulty ACME warhead into the reply)

Aargh - now my brain is hurting!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

Delighted! i despise scumbags like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

From what I've learned of this gentleman by reading this thread, I'd imagine he probably is working, just off the books.

Insurance companies, Gardai & Revenue would probably all have something to gain by taking a closer look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭ratracer

The brother in law should also be investigated for his part in the attempted fraud. Two offers of work that just happen to come when the original fraudster is injured???

Reading the article it does give the impression that she gave evidence in court at some stage.
    Either way it is good to see chancers like this caught out.

She may be a witness, but the case was run and paid for by her insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

This happens every day to lots of people and nothing will be done about it...people think they have a right to hold their neck and cry whiplash, and claim damages with no thought for the person who has to fork out...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

any chance of him getting a few years for perjury ?

The maximum penalty is transportation, I kid you not its still on the Statute book, if I remember its the Perjury Act 1729 which is still law.

Oh I love it!:D

It's a maximum of 7 years down under, I want to get that punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Judges sitting in a court room, called in on short notice, but they move from the circuit court to the high court, it is laughable the decisions they make, I will send him/her to prison just to be on the safe side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭beanie10

Surely something should be done to his brother in law for his part in it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Only the fact that two Gardai happened to witness the incident stopped the insurance company paying out to this gobsh!te.

Sometimes there is one around when you need them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

OP, your sig beguiles your outrage somewhat I feel:
    Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.

On he goes to the ship with the rest if them so:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

The legacy of delboy

This culture where not faking it would apparently exhibit a lack of common sense needs Putdownance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The court should inflict the injuries he pretended to have on him.