Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2013 Prov1 & Prov1x

• 24-01-2013 7:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭

The titleist app updated this morning and as part of that it has the new Prov1 & Prov1x. They're not on the UK Titleist website but are on the US one. $62.00 for a dozen. No idea when they'll be out here.
    Anyone get to test them as they were sending them out to people to test for the last while?

http://www.titleist.com/golf-balls/Pro-V1x.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Is it just me or is 4 euro a ball, a bit mental.

Funny to see amateurs with bad swings going on about them in add.

Fair enough if you are very low handicap , low single digit.

But 4 euro is off the wall (IMO).

Tag Line on add

"For every player"

Should be "Rich, Stupid or Near Pro".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Tag Line on add

"For every player"

Not sure why you have to be stupid to buy them - if you don't think they're worth it then don't buy them but it's a bit sad to label anyone who does think they're worth it "stupid"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Tag Line on add

"For every player"

You can have a bad looking swing and have a low handicap. Its all about squaring up the club face at impact and plenty of people can do that without looking pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

I'm sure the handicaps will be tumbling down with the release of these.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Player Benefits:
    • Even more distance
    • Consistent ball flight
    • Low long game spin
    • Drop and StopTM greenside control
    • Soft feel on all shots
    • Longer lasting

Snigger...

The golfing equivalent of the legs, bums and tums classes.

Not sure why you have to be stupid to buy them - if you don't think they're worth it then don't buy them but it's a bit sad to label anyone who does think they're worth it "stupid"

Yes a bit harsh - but a lad off 18 + buying a 4 euro ball is a bit something. But yes a free world. I was not saying all are , but some are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Those Titleist R&D boys have done it again!

Can't wait to to enjoy the tangible improvements in results that this ball will no doubt deliver.

Low long game spin? You can take that to the bank!
    Better not be my bank though, 'cos my bank's gonna be so full of winnings it'll be closed for business!

Hockey-stick stat improvement, here I come.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSOurpWu29xDjyT39r0G_v1sFim6RbIPzCp0Ez0epGiKaUKJn7TFQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Mr. Larson wrote: »
    • Longer lasting
    Yeah, they last for ages once you keep them in the trees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

Do they float?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Do they float?

hahaha, laughed out loud at that, good one!!

Yes a bit harsh - but a lad off 18 + buying a 4 euro ball is a bit something. But yes a free world. I was not saying all are , but some are.

I actually don't think it's all that harsh. Maybe it's harsh to say that they are stupid, but it is definitely a stupid act to spend 4e a ball for the higher handicaps that use them.

blue note wrote: »
    I actually don't think it's all that harsh. Maybe it's harsh to say that they are stupid, but it is definitely a stupid act to spend 4e a ball for the higher handicaps that use them.

Nonsense......where do you draw the line, €2 a ball.........€1 a ball.......or commandos!

If people have the money and they are happiest using a ProV(placebo effect or not) then I would suggest it is not a stupid act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

I saw an old guy the other day driving a Mercedes S320. Petrol engine and all. I gave him a piece of my mind I can tell you. He should have been driving, say, a Ford Focus. Hopefully I wony have to deal with such tomfoolery again.

Seve, did he drive into a car park, crash the car, then not see where it is and say ah feck it , I'll get another one.
    You came along picked up the car and it was grand.

Only joking - have a sore back so I'm going to be grumpy (more than usual) for 3 to 6 weeks. :mad::(;)

Nonsense......where do you draw the line, €2 a ball.........€1 a ball.......or commandos!

If people have the money and they are happiest using a ProV(placebo effect or not) then I would suggest it is not a stupid act.

Ok if you had a friend (good friend) taking up golf and was losing 2 to 5 balls a round - what ball would you tell him to buy.

Would you say, it is your freedom to do what you want ?

I'd tell him you can buy prov 1s (NEW) when you are not losing any balls a round - or maybe one on a bad day.

Practical sense has to play a part for most people - In fairness they are great balls and I have used them - but not at 4 euro a go.

Srixons and Bridgestones are fine for my level, In winter it makes no difference in Ireland what ball you use. (IMO)

Some of the courses I play you could loose 3 balls a round on a bad day. But, some people smoke - so freedom is right.

I just think they have got too expensive for what they are - the technology has gone a bit simpler in core - just a mould. So manufacturing costs have reduced and price goes up and up.

You're right......you are grumpy ;)

Ok I'm on a grumpy roll;)
    The blokes in the add there don't have to buy any golf balls. So they want us "gob****es", to pay 4 euro to give millionaires free balls. You couldn't make it up.

Lol. I'm going to bed now. How many free balls do we pay for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Seve, did he drive into a car park, crash the car, then not see where it is and say ah feck it , I'll get another one.
    You came along picked up the car and it was grand.

Touche FDP! Ah, look, you're probably right, technically speaking, they are designed for lower handicappers. But sure golf is the ultimate game of needless excess isn't it. You could apply the Pro V argument to the clubs we use, clothes we wear, flash women we bring with us to the captain's dinner, etc, etc.

Some auld lad, probably pissed, once told me, 'You'll never regret extravagance'. Now, he may have been off his head, but the man had a point.

Touche FDP! Ah, look, you're probably right, technically speaking, they are designed for lower handicappers. But sure golf is the ultimate game of needless excess isn't it. You could apply the Pro V argument to the clubs we use, clothes we wear, flash women we bring with us to the captain's dinner, etc, etc.

Some auld lad, probably pissed, once told me, 'You'll never regret extravagance'. Now, he may have been off his head, but the man had a point.

Any chance that was circa 2003 up to 2007 - then he woke up and was in NAMA - only joking.

No - I've been know for a bit of that myself- but in this day and age, you can't tell too many, you spent 4 euro on 1 golf ball. Lost it on the 3rd.

Lads, as I said, in bad form. May go for a pint or buy myself a dozen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

....you spent 4 euro on 1 golf ball. Lost it on the 3rd.

Lads, as I said, in bad form. May go for a pint or buy myself a dozen.

At €4+ for a pint... I'd recommend a few cans ;)

ajcurry123 wrote: »

Savlon, we need savlon here stat!

ajcurry123 wrote: »

Yes going out now to drown me golf sorrows , no answer in that.

I'm going to buy 12 prov1x online when I come back, to live in hope. 70 euro down one night. :p

At least when "I spin back", I'll be happy and have low long distance spin.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

It's all relative, if you can afford it and you feel it's worth it then there's no issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

slave1 wrote: »
    It's all relative, if you can afford it and you feel it's worth it then there's no issue.

If all people who get little or no benefit from Pro V1s, stopped buying them and started using a cheaper alternative, then the Pro V1 price would tumble. There always will be premium products in any marketplace, but frankly €4 a ball isn't premium, it's extracting the urine.

For a huge percentage of the people that use them, they don't hit the ball hard enough or well enough to get the low spin from the tee or the high spin near the green. They would actually benefit from using a cheaper ball.

We don't buy drivers set up like Rory mcilroy because we know that would actually be a disadvantage. But we do try to use the same ball. Stupid in my view (for many).

And I tend to get something low spinning and soft for under 2e a ball for whoever asked. Makes very little difference tbh though.

i use a premium ball because i see a difference, if you don't actually see a visible difference in your game, don't bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭LinksLad

I'll post my review on these new ones once I've found a few of them.
    Duck-hooks exist to fill the ball pocket of my bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

"The multi-component Pro V1x™ golf ball utilizes a new ZG process dual core technology to create a large high velocity dual core, features a responsive ionomeric casing layer, and an improved high-performance Urethane Elastomer™ cover system with a 328 tetrahedral dimple design."

snake_oil_salesman2-369x225.png

Seriously though, I started playing golf 3 years ago, I hover around 95. The best balls I play with are a cheap set of hard Dunlops or hard Srixon balls. I find the less concerned I am with loosing the things the better I hit the shots.
    I lost 3 prov's in one friggin round once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭Gin77

Don't mean to sound like a know all but if you use a 3 or 4 piece ball its going to spin more. Thats great for the low handicapper who can hit the ball straight (or fade/draw) off the tee.
    For a high handicapper who has a slice of hook of the tee using a proV1 is only going to make it worse hence the words hi spin!! Even playing in the wind your shots will be all over the place (hence the phrase in the breeze swing with ease) wind will make a hi spin ball spin off target more.
    The amount of proV1's I find on the course is amazing I have to laugh when I hear people going on about them.
    I use a 2 piece srixon AD333 it works well off the tee and its not too bad on the greens either. You can buy them secondhand too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

I am over at the PGA Show in Orlando at the mo, hit about 20 of each on our range and for my ability (11) i could tell no difference to the current x's i am playing with now.

tried to get some freebies but all the big names are very stingy this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Ronney

Got a sleeve of the new prov1X's to test back around the start of November.

Had registered on the titleist site at some stage(don't recall when) and got an email saying they would be arriving in the post in a day or two. Nice freebe I am well aware they dont give a sh1t about by opinion and its just a PR exercise hoping I'll rave on sites like this about them.

Course conditions dont really aid evaluation in Nov/Dec but definitely noticed they are alot more durable. Used one for about 7/8 short rounds 9/12/15 Turkey comps and held up will, not shredding on the wedges.

Also Putted well and drove them well but wouldn't but it all to the ball