Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wilsons auction Ferrari f355

• 24-01-2013 1:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

Just curious, anyone know how much the Ferrari F355 sold for at auction? Wilsons, last mon or tues. It was a lovely looking car, from the photos anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

It went for 45 plus commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Lurching

Any photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

was it yellow by any chance???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

It was red. It could be a bigger risk than that yellow one your thinking about as this one was seized by the guards through CAB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

Risky car to. Buy at auction any service history ? What was background to cayenne ? Did the Aston sell ?

Hope the locks were changed after being seized ! Anyone know if it was trade / private buyer ? Seems pricey not much market for them in this country !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

goochy wrote: »
    Seems pricey not much market for them in this country !

Pricey compared to what?

Pricey compared to uk prices and since there's. No real market here also as its import ?? It wont be straightforward reselling in uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Mick0

Not cheap for an auction. But pobably bought by someone who knows the car and if it's clean then probably is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

I would love to know the number plate of that car, I was in one a couple of years ago when I was buying a car in Dublin, the car was not ready so the owner took me for a spin in a 355, he was bringing it to a garage. It broke down on the way, it was great for me , first time in a Ferrari and first time pushing a Ferrari. I took photos. Best experience buying a car I have ever had. Car I bought turned out to be a gem, 3 years and not an ounce of bother.

goochy wrote: »
    Pricey compared to uk prices and since there's. No real market here also as its import ?? It wont be straightforward reselling in uk

Pricey compared to the UK but what about VRT? I don't know how much VRT is on an F355 but I would say it is a substantial sum of money which effectively means bringing one in from the UK isn't an option. If you wanted an F355 on Irish plates I reckon this one was a bargain.

My brother (who is a good judge of a car as he does all of the buying in our place) had a look at it when he was in Wilson's one of the days and he reckons it was spotless.

I would love to know the number plate of that car, I was in one a couple of years ago when I was buying a car in Dublin, the car was not ready so the owner took me for a spin in a 355, he was bringing it to a garage. It broke down on the way, it was great for me , first time in a Ferrari and first time pushing a Ferrari. I took photos. Best experience buying a car I have ever had. Car I bought turned out to be a gem, 3 years and not an ounce of bother.

96-D-355

The Aston is now at Kelly's car centre for almost 68k anyone know how much it sold for ?

Yes ur probably right but you would need to be able to see the service history with a Ferrari looking spotless is just a minor point of buying one fact it doesn't have uk reg as well as irl reg bound to effect value also as you could more more easily and for nominal cost

The Aston made around €40k plus fees but I'm not sure if it was sold for that. It was an ex AIB lease car, it wasn't one of the unreserved Garda seized lots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

I assume this article refers to the same car:
    These included a red Ferrari F355 car, which was sold off for €41,900, a Robinson R22 helicopter for €15,000 and a Range Rover Vogue for €12,000.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/cab-seizes-100000-from-car-dealer-over-revenue-claims-3367236.html

Interesting about the chopper fetching only 15k. Granted it is tiny but I wonder if the chopper market in this country is analagous to high end cars - prices at rock bottom because the cost of ownership is prohibitive for most?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Clicked on the done deal link and saw the Lexus rx was up too. I wonder did they seize that from the nidge weasel? : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

96-D-355

No just looked at the photo and the licenece was 96 D 24355 on the car I was in . As I was looking for the photo there was one of a lilac Gallardo spider that we passed out in the 355.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That was a bargain for 45 k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

€45k is a bargain for a 17 year old 355? Can someone please enlighten me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

If the Ferrari was bid to 45,000, but Wilson's pay over 41,900 to the revenue, sounds like they keep 3100 plus the buyer's fees (just under 3000 if a retail buyer), Ricky Wilson should be very happy with his week !!!!

See on wilsons website something about new auction place . Boot rd are they moving or Is this 2nd site ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭laois hibby

they are in the process of moving to the new premises. they had their first auction yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Suasdaguna1

[/QUOTE]

Interesting about the chopper fetching only 15k. Granted it is tiny but I wonder if the chopper market in this country is analagous to high end cars - prices at rock bottom because the cost of ownership is prohibitive for most?[/QUOTE]

It was probably time expired on its maintenance and required a full over haul ---that can run into tens of k if the chopper was neglected, especially if it needed a new engine and blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭El.duderino

Done the boards deal drive a ferrari day. I arrived at wrong place and sat into a 355. Maybe this auctioned car was different but these are old 80,s mobiles. Climbing into it POC dodgy old seat, buttons hanging out, Steering set in stone. Rather a fiesta than a 355. I went out in a 360 and it was an animal! It was 12 years old but a completely different car. Need deep pockets to feed petrol and bits to these mobiles. Cant beat the noise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Done the boards deal drive a ferrari day. I arrived at wrong place and sat into a 355. Maybe this auctioned car was different but these are old 80,s mobiles. Climbing into it POC dodgy old seat, buttons hanging out, Steering set in stone. Rather a fiesta than a 355. I went out in a 360 and it was an animal! It was 12 years old but a completely different car. Need deep pockets to feed petrol and bits to these mobiles. Cant beat the noise!

The 355 is mid 90s era. From the description I'd guess it was a 308 you drove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭doctorchopper

Interesting about the chopper fetching only 15k. Granted it is tiny but I wonder if the chopper market in this country is analagous to high end cars - prices at rock bottom because the cost of ownership is prohibitive for most?[/QUOTE]

It was probably time expired on its maintenance and required a full over haul ---that can run into tens of k if the chopper was neglected, especially if it needed a new engine and blades.[/QUOTE]

It was lucky to get that, it sat for months unpreserved and i highly doubt that the log books were obtained making it useless, end even if they had them i wouldn't trust the a/c, if they are crooked enough to have CAB seize the heli i highly doubt the log books are legit or any over torque, over speed incidents were reported or maintenance schedule followed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Done the boards deal drive a ferrari day. I arrived at wrong place and sat into a 355.
    What..??
    Maybe this auctioned car was different but these are old 80,s mobiles. Climbing into it POC dodgy old seat, buttons hanging out, Steering set in stone. Rather a fiesta than a 355. I went out in a 360 and it was an animal! It was 12 years old but a completely different car.
    You didn't drive a 355.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

That lad that owned the Ferrari was a used car dealer in Ballaghaderreen. He had a driving ban so he bought a helicopter! A Robinson R22 would cost about a hundred grand and then a few more grand for flight lessons. He had that 3 or 4 years but only had the Ferrari a few months. It was only a matter of time before Revenue got suspicious with that fleet....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

These all owned by criminals?

Do you know what name he operated business under ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭El.duderino

porsche959 wrote: »
    The 355 is mid 90s era. From the description I'd guess it was a 308 you drove.

My mistake it was a 348 TS.:eek: I didnt drive it thankfully. The 360 was a million miles from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭stedabee

The price paid for the F355 is standard and not a good price, been in the car business for a few years and you can pick up a good mint F355 from a dealer with a years warranty for €40-50k. This one did looks like it was kept well but i wonder when the cam belts where done last as there a fortune to replace.