Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going rate for slatted shed rental?

• 23-01-2013 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭

Hi was just wondering if anyone knew of the going rate of renting a slatted shed these days?. It would have good facilites and accomadation for 150 head. Is it so much per animal per week/month?
    How does it work with the dept of Ag?. any isues?
    Could there be other farmers cattle in different sheds in the same yard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

I know it was costing around the €1.50 mark per animal i think last year but I'm sure that has went up with the lack of fodder. Ya have to transfer the cattle into the owner of the sheds herd no. for the period their in the shed and switch back when their out. Not sure but I think ya can have other peoples cattle in the same sheds, I'm nearly certain their is different farmers with seperate pens in hanly bros sheds in laragan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

if other cattle in host farmers herd regardless of where they are you have to test in and out, if he has none you dont need too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

when ye are talking about herd numbers , what is the story if my father has herd number and x amount of animals and im in my twenties without a herd number and want to get into buyin a few stock, would there be an issue me owning say 10 cattle but on his herd number , they would all be on the family farm, down the road i will end up with the herd number so i thought it would be a waste of time getting one myself and all hassle associated , thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Get named on a joint herd number with this. Then whatever regulations change or come down the line for new entrants are avoided as you are an existing farmer would be my advice.

Other than that there is no problem having a few in your dads herd it is just an accounting issue if you want to submit separate accounts but it is easily done. Went on here for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

I'd say the exact opposite.

Keep them in your father's herd number if you can, installation aid may return after 2015 and you'd be a new entrant then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

+1 on this dont put anything in youre name until you have to or just before it may be transferred into youre name

I applied in 2009 for national reserve for entitlements but was refused because i had transferred the herd name to me a few years before as i was going to keep 2 or 3 calves on a small field beside the house that wasnt rented out with the rest of the farm at the time, but didnt get around to it and it went dormant again not long after transferring it, but they still classed me as being an "active farmer" for the previous few years as i had the herd no in my name.

So buy a few cattle leave them in the fathers name I dont see any reason to get new/joint herd no yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

JohnBoy wrote: »
    I'd say the exact opposite.

Keep them in your father's herd number if you can, installation aid may return after 2015 and you'd be a new entrant then.

Interesting other side to the argument that I had never thought of. I will be over 35 in 2015 so installation aid will be gone for me anyhow so I never took it into account.

I also can't get the time off work to do a Green cert and as an existing farmer I have possibly avoided the need to do it to get a herd no. in the future as I think this will become a requirement.

If I had to bet on it I would say that installation aid won't come back though. More cuts would be more likely than anything being re-instated I would think.

young farmer measures seem to be a key component of the next cap, who knows what will come to pass, but I dont see any advantage in changing over at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Interesting other side to the argument that I had never thought of. I will be over 35 in 2015 so installation aid will be gone for me anyhow so I never took it into account.

I also can't get the time off work to do a Green cert and as an existing farmer I have possibly avoided the need to do it to get a herd no. in the future as I think this will become a requirement.

If I had to bet on it I would say that installation aid won't come back though. More cuts would be more likely than anything being re-instated I would think.

You could do the online version of the Cert In Agriculture - not that I'd be advocating it.

I actually think it would be no harm (depending on circumstances) to buy/rent land at this stage and some entitlements to put on it given the current talks on transition periods.

For anyone working, national reserve is nearly a waste of time anyway.

I can't see any installation aid either for a good few years yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

mantua wrote: »
    I know it was costing around the €1.50 mark per animal i think last year but I'm sure that has went up with the lack of fodder. Ya have to transfer the cattle into the owner of the sheds herd no. for the period their in the shed and switch back when their out. Not sure but I think ya can have other peoples cattle in the same sheds, I'm nearly certain their is different farmers with seperate pens in hanly bros sheds in laragan

BIg difference here in this DD add.
    With pit silage to feed he was looking €10 a head/week

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/beefcattle/3800341

Of course looking and getting are very different...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

bbam wrote: »

Has to be mistake , 300 to keep a bullock for a month :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

moy83 wrote: »
    Has to be mistake , 300 to keep a bullock for a month :rolleyes:

would it not be €40 a month :o.. €10 a week for 4 weeks is €40

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Sorry I'm a clown I thought the ad said 10 yoyos a day :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

at e10 a week per head. say 18 week winter it works out at 180 per head for winter. a 4 bay shed would hold 10 light weanlings per pen or 40 head.
    Thats gives a grand total of 7200 for wintering 40 light stores.
    Shed cost at 10k per bay comes to 40k
    silage needed would be aprox 126 ton or 3780 @ 30 per ton

This option leaves 3420 to pay for shed and labour

18 week winter with 28 strong animals works out at 180 per head or 5040 for winter
    shed cost stays the same
    151.5 ton needed at e30 or e4533

This option leaves e507 to pay for shed and labour

I may be open to correction on any of the above figures.

I was kinda thinking allowed here but is there any kind of rules or agreements on the size of animals or amount of silage to be fed or is it just a sure it will work out grand kinda arrangement?

With that logic would you be better off pricing it on a per pen basis so?

using the same numbers, and pricing on the basis of the small cattle.

charging 1800 per pen, costing 945 in silage per pen, leaving €855 per pen for labour, shed and machinery etc

with the bigger stock, but still charging 1800 per pen, costing 1133 in silage per pen, leaving 667 per pen for labour, shed and machinery.

It makes for a much more stable pricing model

Optimum would probably be to charge a price per ton of silage consumed, with a margin for labour, shed and machinery. But without a weigbridge it's not easy to charge either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭ally k

I am feeding 150 cattle for local farmers running alongside feedin my own cattle ....I had them in on a b& b system but this was too problematic with testing and afraid of my herd going down if there was a problem .....Keep them now in seperate slatted sheds that way you can operate a seperate holding and if one goes down in the test it wont affect your herd ...working great ..... I charge one euro per head per day thats me supplying the silage and feedin them... The owner supplies the meal they are on 4 kg of meal per day...bulls around 450 to 500 kg they go out to a fattening unit at the end of feb to an ad lib meal diet and he refills the sheds with lighter stores again to start the process all over again.I get paid every 2 months without fail really happy with the agreement ....

From a dept point of view, how much extra did you have to do to create the seperate holding?

do you have a second crush/yards and the like? seperate entrances, fences between yards etc?

or do you just have to keep them in 2 seperate sheds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

bbam wrote: »

Sorry meant to put in €1.50 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭ally k

The owner of the cattle tests the 150 cattle before they come in then they are with me for 4 months.. We run 3 batches per year of 4 month stages just have it done that he has the sheds rented off me as long as the sheds are seperate theres no problem ..my own cattle are in a seperate shed.....l

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

Going rate for summer sileage ground:
    Sorry if I'm going slightly off-topic but I am going to let out about 25 acres for meadow this year.
    However I'm a greedy type and will be keeping these acres on my area aid form.
    Any idea on a price per acre from Mid March to 1st September ? Top quality ground re-seeded in 2009. Will come with/without a coat of slurry but not fertilizer.
    Would 120e per acre be realistic ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Going rate for summer sileage ground:
    Sorry if I'm going slightly off-topic but I am going to let out about 25 acres for meadow this year.
    However I'm a greedy type and will be keeping these acres on my area aid form.
    Any idea on a price per acre from Mid March to 1st September ? Top quality ground re-seeded in 2009. Will come with/without a coat of slurry but not fertilizer.
    Would 120e per acre be realistic ?
    I have a bit taken this way till 1st cut is done or first of june. i put light weanlings on it a couple of weeks ago and hope to get at least 2 grazings and 1 cut. Good heavy cover on it at the moment. got it for 70 an acre an reckon its about as much as i would spend. but there are plenty of lads out there who would surprise you with the amount they will spend on ground. its a bit steep for my liking.

I reckon if it's good ground you're getting it very cheap.

given the bulk of the year's grass is grown in the first half of the year, and the best grass too then up to first cut should be bringing in 60-70% of rental value imho.