Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision 2013

• 21-01-2013 4:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Only a couple of weeks to go now until the late late show eurovision program. Does anybody know what singers the 5 "mentors" have? It is funny that RTE said in the press release this year that the mentor format has been a big success, didnt jedward finish in 19th place or something last year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

JDunphy wrote: »
    the mentor format has been a big success

It is a big success. It ensures that Ireland don't have a chance of winning it, and means RTE don't have to cough up a few million quid to produce it and host it next year.

Meep Meep.....

• Site Banned Posts: 224 ✭✭SubBusted

Chris De Burgh should be representing us. More talent than all those RTÉ tossers put together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 JDunphy

Fecking Derek mooney and his sidekicks will be going on about it for months saying how we will win this year and what a great song we have then he'll keep is mouth shut when we come 22nd place again. Same shít every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I wish Johnny Logan would enter for us again :o

But (in all seriousness) he's probably too busy in Oslo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 JDunphy

I would like to see johnny logan enter again too so that smug look would be wiped off his face when he would do poorly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

JDunphy wrote: »
    I would like to see johnny logan enter again too so that smug look would be wiped off his face when he would do poorly.

Hey!! Some of us our biggggg fans of Johnny on this board! *shakes fist*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

I can't help but wonder if RTE will ever consider pulling out of the thing...

It would save them a bit of money if they did, after all. ;););)

One might wonder why the BBC doesn't consider pulling out either - but then the UK is one of the "big 5"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

Are Jedward entering again? May as well just send them like, the theme of familiarity might eventually get Europe voting for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

How about a "supergroup" of Logan, Jedward and Niamh Kavangh? They could dress up like Bucks Fizz and a sing a song about a unified Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Ah no a supergroup of Crystal Swing and Donna & Joe wud have to win it.

roanoke wrote: »
    How about a "supergroup" of Logan, Jedward and Niamh Kavangh? They could dress up like Bucks Fizz and a sing a song about a unified Europe.

They'd probably get 12 points from the UK... but very little from the eastern nations. ;)

And they certainly wouldn't win if they were up against Ruslana, Lordi, Alexander Rybak or Loreen... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

The fix is in this year. A model from Mullingar called Zoe Bohorquez will win. Yesterday 1D's Niall Horan told all his Irish fans to vote for her, and so did Bressie. She even has the stage name, Alexis(apparently Bohorquez wasnt showbizzie enough...)

The song is a lame attempt at last years song Euphoria, that never really gets off the ground. I can't say I dislike her though lads, she is sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

^ Isnt she on Take Me Out Ireland

Remember Cascada? They'll be representing Germany:

http://www.dw.de/cascada-to-represent-germany-at-eurovision/a-16600824

The already long odds of Ireland winning are surely even longer now.

Remember Cascada? They'll be representing Germany:

http://www.dw.de/cascada-to-represent-germany-at-eurovision/a-16600824

The already long odds of Ireland winning are surely even longer now.

Everytime we touch was a great dancefloor track:D

Edit : Just listened, crap song. I thought we were going down the Euphoria like route, but this is ridiculous, the chorus in her song Glorious is way too like Loreens song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭dcmm

I've heard a 16 year old girl called Amy with a really good voice singing one of the pre- eurovision entry songs,twice on the radio,can't remember song name ,but it was a very pleasant sound all round.
    One to watch and listen to.....:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

It's time to give ''My Lovely Horse'' a chance, we've tried everything else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭marcus2000

I seee Niall Horan tweeted about a fellow mullingarian, and included a link to the video on youtube....hits shot up 100,000 apparently!! or 100,001 after i heard it......awful awful song!! (may I point out that I saw the link in the indo, and not via Niall :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Ahh didn't realize there was a thread for this. With all the begrudgers in this country, I should have expected it.

Really like Ryan's song, not to mention that surprisingly he can actually sing the song live, which I some how doubt will be the same for Zoe. Seems like it's going to be the battle of the endorsement. Team 1Direction vs Team Jedward (endorsing Ryan). 5 songs are slightly above average this year for RTE (except for Son Kez and Kiss Me which are both terribly poor)

I'd like to see Only Love Survives go to europe but, unlike previous years, this competition is going to be quite close. It's between Crashing Down, Fire (or should I say "This is the night - Malta from eurovision 2012 ;)) and Only Love Survives

Looking forward to the live show on the 22nd.

5 songs don't seem to be up here so here you go...

marcus2000 wrote: »
    I seee Niall Horan tweeted about a fellow mullingarian, and included a link to the video on youtube....hits shot up 100,000 apparently!! or 100,001 after i heard it......awful awful song!! (may I point out that I saw the link in the indo, and not via Niall :D )

Already posted this on page 1 of this thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

Damn that Alexis chick is smoking hot, But the song is Dog****. She's not a great singer either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

It may be the couple of cans of bulmers talking, but Only Love Survives is a tuuuuuune..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 obviousextra

It's a toss up between "Kiss Me There" and "Fire" for me.

No song seems to have winning potential though, unlike Jedward's songs (no matter what you think of them).
    They all seem to be Euphoria clones but they seem to be all "build-up" and they never seem to "arrive."

Though judging on the other songs which have been chosen, the Irish entries aren't too bad.

And is it just me or does "Song Kez" sound like they're saying "Sun Kissed" in a broad Donegal accent? Also, I can't remember any more than 5 words in it.

Surprising. You're the first person I have heard that likes Kiss Me.

I can't help but ask - is this choice based to any extent on how, um, good looking the singers are? :o:o;)

gavmcg92 wrote: »
    Surprising. You're the first person I have heard that likes Kiss Me.

I think I actually prefer it "Fire." Though it's hard to like anything that Mairead Farrell is behind - find her really annoying.

I can't help but ask - is this choice based to any extent on how, um, good looking the singers are? :o:o;)

:) Not particularly, but Zoe Alexis would almost put me off the song; too orange lol

Though I suppose if you're going for proper talent it would have to be "Crashing Down," though I'd prefer a faster paced track which is why I like Fire and Kiss Me

:) Not particularly, but Zoe Alexis would almost put me off the song; too orange lol

Though I suppose if you're going for proper talent it would have to be "Crashing Down," though I'd prefer a faster paced track which is why I like Fire and Kiss Me

Just wondering, and fair enough. ;)

None of these songs stand any realistic chance in Malmo, IMHO - but one of them has to be sent there, and if I had the choice, it would probably be "Only Love Survives".

Wouldn't be at all surprised if "Fire" won this coming Friday, though...

Just wondering, and fair enough. ;)

None of these songs stand any realistic chance in Malmo, IMHO - but one of them has to be sent there, and if I had the choice, it would probably be "Only Love Survives".

Wouldn't be at all surprised if "Fire" won this coming Friday, though...

Yeah, I don't think any have a chance of winning, and to be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't make it out of the semi-final. Fire will more than likely be the winner with Niall Horan backing it.

I haven't heard her sing live. I wouldn't be surprised if she flops. I can see Aimee getting a lot of votes. I can imagine her getting the grandparents vote. Hopefully Only Love Survives takes it. Think its the best chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭Dublin Red Devil

All the songs are terrible. So we might as well just send a hot chick.

Rarely have we put forward such muck for the Eurovision selection. It's all well and good to criticize Jedward, and I am by no means there biggest fan, but I would argue with anyone that their songs for the last 2 years were better than whats up for selection this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

What won last year was sh1te, all that dancey stuff is what the teeny boppers are voting for with their text votes. Lets face it pretty much no-one over 20 votes !!!!

I mean, people praising Jedward FFS !!!! They were terrible !!!! At least this year's bunch are more in tune with the kind of crap that wins !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

All the songs are terrible. So we might as well just send a hot chick.

Actually we need a hot young guy, one who also appeals to the gay vote, since far more girls under 20 and gay men vote than straight guys ....

professore wrote: »
    Lets face it pretty much no-one over 20 votes !!!!
    professore wrote: »
    far more girls under 20 and gay men vote than straight guys ....

Well, I'm pretty sure that there was a good proportion of straight European men around Loreen's age who voted for her... ;)

(None from Sweden, though, since of course they couldn't vote for their own act.)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Ryan Dolan is the favourite, so I guess he'll be picked. Although we might be missing a trick by not sending Inchequin.. potential for massive Turkish diaspora votes all over Europe.

buyer95 wrote: »
    Rarely have we put forward such muck for the Eurovision selection. It's all well and good to criticize Jedward, and I am by no means there biggest fan, but I would argue with anyone that their songs for the last 2 years were better than whats up for selection this year.

Have to agree, Jedward's two songs seemed like the only realistic opportunity we've had at winning in recent years.

And even though I didn't particularly like them at the time, I liked the songs.

As for this year, none of the songs really have a chance of winning, let alone getting through the semi-final

Have to agree, Jedward's two songs seemed like the only realistic opportunity we've had at winning in recent years.

And even though I didn't particularly like them at the time, I liked the songs.

As for this year, none of the songs really have a chance of winning, let alone getting through the semi-final

I think that's a very pessimistic way of looking at the competition so far. I have listened to a good few songs up for selection in other countries and from that we have a slightly better than average selection of songs. Whether you like the songs or not is besides the point. It all depends on what the rest of Europe thinks. What this year proves from this early stage is that RTE are going down the right direction of staying away from the selection and composition of material and instead leaving it to professionals.
    I'm quite pleased with our selection and I think we have 3 songs that could potentially place quite high.

I think that's a very pessimistic way of looking at the competition so far. I have listened to a good few songs up for selection in other countries and from that we have a slightly better than average selection of songs. Whether you like the songs or not is besides the point. It all depends on what the rest of Europe thinks. What this year proves from this early stage is that RTE are going down the right direction of staying away from the selection and composition of material and instead leaving it to professionals.
    I'm quite pleased with our selection and I think we have 3 songs that could potentially place quite high.

The songs from other countries so far haven't been up to much. Ours aren't bad, but I doubt we have a chance of winning

well tbh I think winning is beyond our capabilities and has been for 10/12 years now. However if any of my three favorites win selection, I will be proud of what we send.

So there we have it, Ryan Dolan - Only Love Survives going to Malmo. Very close voting but we have our song.

This performance is quite pitchy but his winning performance was much much better. Bit of work to do.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

So there we have it, Ryan Dolan - Only Love Survives going to Malmo. Very close voting but we have our song.

This performance is quite pitchy but his winning performance was much much better. Bit of work to do.
    I'm happy with the result, although there is obviously a lot of work to do. A performance on the Late Late is rock bottom, this is going to look/sound much better in Malmo.

I always thought the same! I think there is a new stage director because the lighting and visuals overall are much better than normal but the sound and the levels are terrible.

Hopefully the guys going over with Ryan (probably from RTE) think outside the box when they meet with the Swedish stage crew. Singer centre stage with 3 backing vocalists is way too conservative for eurovision. We need to think different.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Hate to rain on the parade, but do people really believe the Eurovision Song Contest has anything to do with singing ?

The infamous block voting between neighbouring countries and the Lordi, Dustin, Humperdink type offerings in recent years prove that few take it seriously anymore.

Ireland is the most successful country ever to take part in the competition. Can anyone tell us what good that has ever done for musical talent in this country in the last 20 years?

It says something when our best Eurovision related export came about as a result of an interval act.

And for those who argue that winning it puts Ireland on the map for tourism, I ask - How many of you have been to Azerbaijan in the last 18 months ?

The Eurovision is a money making racket for advertising merchants and nothing to do with talented music and song.

But we all love the voting bit.

Lapin wrote: »
    blah

Get outta here.

It's a bit of fun. As for the block voting, it's still a problem but no longer dictates who wins the competition. For the past 3/4 years, the best song always wins and by best song I mean the song that had the best overall appeal (Good vocals, great staging and a nice personality)

I'm sorry but winning this competition is all about tourism and putting your name on the map. The whole idea of hosting the competition is that you get to show off your lovely country to the rest of Europe on what is still the largest song contest in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Every year we hear this polical voting bollocks and how it's all about the Eastern Europeans taking over. Here's a list of the winning countries for the last 10 years....

2003 Turkey
    2004 Ukraine
    2005 Greece
    2006 Finland
    2007 Serbia
    2008 Russia
    2009 Norway
    2010 Germany
    2011 Azerbaijan
    2012 Sweden

A fairly wide mix there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Shakyfan wrote: »
    Every year we hear this polical voting bollocks and how it's all about the Eastern Europeans taking over. Here's a list of the winning countries for the last 10 years....

2003 Turkey
    2004 Ukraine
    2005 Greece
    2006 Finland
    2007 Serbia
    2008 Russia
    2009 Norway
    2010 Germany
    2011 Azerbaijan
    2012 Sweden

A fairly wide mix there......

exactly, it's a 10-15 point boost at most - maybe 30 for Russia - but it's unlikely to win or lose it.

Shakyfan wrote: »

And on top of that, the outright favorite at this stage is also from Denmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I really like Denmark's song! When they played a clip of it on the LLS I immediately thought it was a contender.

Bonnie Tyler's representing the UK... :eek:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-21697205

"Total Eclipse of the Heart" is one of the greatest songs ever, of course, and "Holding Out for a Hero" is also brilliant - but without any disrespect whatsoever to BT, this just suggests that the Beeb haven't learned any lessons from what happened last year with Engelbert Humperdinck...