Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what's the best/worst thing you have ever been called

• 20-01-2013 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭

Was out last night great night woke up on the couch this morning head busting feeling sorry for my self wife came down in awful humor took one look at me and spat this out at me "state of ye lying there ye rotten oul yoke ye" there was venom in it, v funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Some guy called me Philip once. That was pretty horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭PC CDROM

I was called white trash in England once and spat at from a passing car.

Not the worst but one of the more interesting ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

I was called 'Nazi' a few times in my former workplace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Daddy - Couldn't be mine, i'm still a virgin!

I have been called everything and anything, although the only thing that annoys me is being called a "wuss".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

N1gger or spic would probably be the worst. Wasn't even the words so much. But the anger and context they were used. One guy calls me boy genius in work and another older guy calls me dead eye. Nice compliments from some veterans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Oh wait, it says 'best' things as well. 'Heathen', 'Pagan' and 'Atheist', have to be added to the list, even if only the third one is true :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

My first day working a senior member of staff said i was working like a black man :D.
    I'm still unsure if that's a compliment or an insult. But I've always felt it was very endearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

On a night out once this drunk woman dropped her phone in front of me and I was genuinely trying to be nice by helping her pick it up.

She took exception though and called me a "curly haired f*ck". I was shocked.

pockets3d wrote: »
    My first day working a senior member of staff said i was working like a black man :D.
    I'm still unsure if that's a compliment or an insult. But I've always felt it was very endearing.

Compliment. Means you are hard working.

It is non PC to say it these days though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Best thing I suppose when I was called a sliver tongued charmer or the devils best friend for my ability to tempt people so well. Thought that was amusing :D

Worst? Probably a few things but who tf hangs onto that and keeps that in their head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Oh yeah some lesbian told me once that if she wasn't gay that she'd ride me. I wouldn't mind but I wasn't trying it on with her at the time and she just randomly said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I was walking down Abbey Street in Dublin one day when two heroin addicts walked passed. One remarked to the other when passing me,

"Look at this ugly f*cker!*

In my defense, I have to say that neither of them were oil paintings themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

My wife once said I was just like her ex-husband during a row once. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I hate being called early in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

PC CDROM wrote: »
    Compliment. Means you are hard working.

It is non PC to say it these days though.

Don't see how it fits in with the lazy black person stereotype though. :confused: Can' even keep our generalisations straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

That awkward situation that goes as follows after someone calls you by a different name:

Me: "My name is actually keith16"

Other person: "I'm really sorry about that"

Me (and everyone else in the Universe ever been in this situation: "Ah don't worry about it, shure I've been called worse"

*Awkward and insincere laughter from all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I was called back for a second interview

Don't see how it fits in with the lazy black person stereotype though. :confused: Can' even keep our generalisations straight.

That is because it was from the days of slavery.

"Works like a n1gg3r"

The whole lazy black person thing I know nothing about. Probably some new modern slant of why Lazy Irish people are better than lazy non Irish people and deserve the Dole more. Or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Someone at work calls me Starla…cos it's a mix of the word star and my name…I think it's really really nice :D

In fact…I wanna change my boards name to Starla ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

I was called a Dub once by a man from Kerry. Still sends a shiver down my spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Just once I'd like someone to call me 'Sir', without adding 'you're making a scene'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

somebody once called me a 'funny troll' on here, which is the best compliment and worst insult I've ever had rolled into one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fenian Bastard

I was only 11, had to ask me Da what a Fenian was :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Cuddly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭full_irish

kfallon wrote: »
    Fenian Bastard

I was only 11, had to ask me Da what a Fenian was :(

Surprised you knew your Da being a bastard an' all ;)

girl2 wrote: »
    Someone at work calls me Starla…cos it's a mix of the word star and my name…I think it's really really nice :D

In fact…I wanna change my boards name to Starla ;)

Your name is Larry? :pac:

full_irish wrote: »
    Surprised you knew your Da being a bastard an' all ;)

I was quite aware I was a bastard, twas just the Fenian bit I had to be enlightened by :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Your name is Larry? :pac:

Listen you - that doesn't even make sense :rolleyes: Larry indeed ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

A corporate wanker, which was just funny. and a customer called me a cnut once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

A homeless guy called me a 'fag*got' today on Wicklow St.

Delighted I was, people are finally starting to see me for what I am.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    My wife once said I was just like her ex-husband during a row once. :(

Next time you argue, tell her she's just like her mother.

That'll teach her. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

fkt wrote: »
    A homeless guy called me a 'fag*got' today on Wicklow St.

Delighted I was, people are finally starting to see me for what I am.
    Poor old fella was probably drunk. He meant "gotafag?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭a0ifee

postman once called me sir..I'm a girl...never did like that postman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Poor old fella was probably drunk. He meant "gotafag?".

No it was 'change for a cup of tea' he was looking for. He didn't like my response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Was walking my girlfriend back to her bus stop from mine today when some aul fella shouts "LESBIANS" as he passes... not the first time we've been mistaken for two women somehow! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 381 ✭✭Bad Santa

This is a true story (no really).

Was in town one night a couple of years back and these fools were trying to pull the metal strings off the guitar on Phil Lynott's statue beside Bruxelles there. Myself and a friend pointed out that it wouldn't be too appreciated if they succeeded and least of all by members of his family.

The lads stopped but started mouthing off then and it was getting very close to punches being thrown and then one of them called me a "Ginger Cunt!"

Now, I swear not a ginger hair do I have but what was funny (afterwards at least) was that in the midst of this row, with bouncers trying to separate us, I said (with venomous anger):"Hey, my hair is blonde, alright!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

im the BIGGEST wanker in the world :D:D:D

krudler wrote: »
    A corporate wanker, which was just funny. and a customer called me a cnut once.

It's amazing how accurate customers can be at times...... :pac:

A client once called me "Amy" in an email, even tho it was in a reply to an email I sent originally that had my real (male) name as the sender in her inbox and in my signature at the end :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

A client once called me "Amy" in an email, even tho it was in a reply to an email I sent originally that had my real (male) name as the sender in her inbox and in my signature at the end :rolleyes:

Maybe it was just a polite way of calling you a B!tch???? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I wouldn't worry about it Amy.

racso1975 wrote: »
    Maybe it was just a polite way of calling you a B!tch???? :p

I'm no bitch, I maybe a cunt alright but I'm no bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

too mature, by schoolyard bullies at age 13 or so.

Thought that was just odd.

Bubbly.

I'd rather be called a bitch than bubbly. I'm still angry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Best: "the best teacher I've ever had"

Worst: "Dónal"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

I was once called a "Black & Tan Bast**d" i wouldn't mind but i am more Irish then a bag of Taytos!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

The answer to both questions would have to be fried green tomatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

It's an insult
    All the ones in my job are lazy ba5tards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Isolt

I was walking into Stephen's Green SC before, minding my own business and a junkie roared ''go back to your own country, you n!gger loving cnut''.

I'm from Kilkenny. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Isolt wrote: »
    I was walking into Stephen's Green SC before, minding my own business and a junkie roared ''go back to your own country, you n!gger loving cnut''.

I'm from Kilkenny. :confused:
    You misheard him, he said digger-loving.