Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where you watching the festival?

• 20-01-2013 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭

As it says where will you be watching Cheltenham this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Why has Dublin so few comfortable bookies. Maybe the Ladbrokes off Grafton St, only round the corner from that tiny PP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

At home

We'd an electrician in the fist day of the 2011 festival so couldn't watch it at home. Watched it in the bookies, was not far off the worst day of my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

At home

We'd an electrician in the fist day of the 2011 festival so couldn't watch it at home. Watched it in the bookies, was not far off the worst day of my life

Which one Colonel, we only have the Saorview stations in the apartment

Place out in Glasnevin, went home depressed even though I finished the day ahead

There might be a few decent places to watch in town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Hard to find a good pub in town that make an effort for the festival.

Cassidy's on Camden St will put out a few sambo's etc.
    The Lotts off Abbey St will run a few competitions with losing dockets.
    Grand Central tend to have some affiliation with Ladbrokes, few free bets here and there, but its a horrible pub to watch sport in.
    The Sackville off O'Connell St is a good racing pub, but its a kip and the stout is horrible.

Why has Dublin so few comfortable bookies. Maybe the Ladbrokes off Grafton St, only round the corner from that tiny PP

Don't want to attract bums and junkies or students :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Don't want to attract bums and junkies or students :pac:

Its the students that annoy me. They are only their because its warm and can nab a few free coffees, while putting 50c ew on 7/4 shots !! Grrrrr :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭unir1916

Last year on day 1 and day 4 I went to a pub in ongar,Kelly's,had the place looking great with all the PP gear, 3 big screen TVs in a small pub so no issues there,done soup and sandwiches all day, draws after every race,ballads straight after last race and a poker game from 8.30, great day.Day 2 was a pub mentioned earlier the sackville of o Connell st,bit of a regular there and was meeting up with some friends,as said bit of a kip but always good craic and a real racing pub,but needs to get into the spirit and get ladbrokes on board with free bets, bunting ect,day 3 was the Glimmerman in manor street... ****e

I might go to Walshes on Manor Street for one of the days. One of the best pints of Guinness in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭tipster

at home would love to hit over but finances wont allow it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Arctic89

Tuesday and Wednesday - From the bookies beside my office.
    Thursday and Friday - From the Tattersalls Enclosure at the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

From the Club Enclosure grandstand or the Mandarin on Tue, Wed and Thurs. Back to Shannon on Thurs eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

Will be watching it at home, always book the week of the festival off from work. Can't get to travel over as the OH leaves for work every morning before 8.00 am & I'm responsible for leaving the kids off to creche & school then, so midweek festivals are of no use to me... Maybe in around 16 years time when the nippers are legally old enough to be responsible for themselves I'll get to go :( ... I'll have to be sure to keep all breakable objects out of arms reach too, smashed a coffee cup & cracked the sitting room table when Sizing Europe was beaten in the QM last year, don't want a repeat of those shenanigans this year... Have a Paddy Power and Boylesports within 4 minutes walk of home though, so I'll be well set if I want to do a few cash bets....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Can't make it over this year as all my mates are either broke, emigrated or under the thumb :rolleyes:

So into the bookies nice and early place my bets for the day and out to the local for a day of boozing :D Rinse and repeat 4 times and I'll be in some state come Friday night, bring it on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

At home, like to hear the build up to each race properly.

Maybe spend Friday in the pub.

Can't make it over this year as all my mates are either broke, emigrated or under the thumb :rolleyes:

So into the bookies nice and early place my bets for the day and out to the local for a day of boozing :D Rinse and repeat 4 times and I'll be in some state come Friday night, bring it on!!

Very similar to myself.
    Although a lot of my mates have no interest in racing and tend only to bet at the festival.

Funny thing is, my phone does be hoping with lads that i have not heard from since the year before :D

Slattsy wrote: »
    Very similar to myself.
    Although a lot of my mates have no interest in racing and tend only to bet at the festival.

Funny thing is, my phone does be hoping with lads that i have not heard from since the year before :D

lol ah yeah hate that, my local has no phone reception = heaven, its one of the reasons its my local!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

heading over monday night and back thursday morning then ill go straight to cassidys on camden street..great place to watch it..good tv's, atmosphere, pints and bookies next door just to get some exercise in between races!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

going over mon-saturday.... cant wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

I work in a very large organisation and everyone of them knows I punt. I'm plagued by them ringing for tips festival week. People I haven't seen for years still ring. I've had to turn off my phone at 8.00 am on opening day and can only be contacted thro my punting mate whose unknown to my work mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Usually I would take a few days off work and watch it at home, in absolute peace and quiet. The idea of watching it in a bookies is a real turn off, having to put up with eejits all round you giving out about Ruby messing up the race/taking a pull/not havign a clue, when in reality he was beaten by a better horse.

However, I will have no holiday days to spare, so it will be C4 reply that evening for me.

Boo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭dicky dunne

Thankfully I'll be watching the 4 days from the track but if I was to stay at home I'd advise any of the following - the Goat, Cassidys on Camden st or the Eden...all are located beside bookies and cater for the racing crowd for the week, big tvs, volume up so everyone can hear and finger food, the Eden tends to have drink promos and free bets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭unir1916

Might give cassidys a go seems to be getting a good shout Here ðŸ‘ðŸ‘

Gonna propose The Dame Tavern.

Great stout, bookies close by, always a good athmosphere and a great stout :D:D

There's a good chance I'll be here on the Tuesday, if anyone is around drop in :)

Slattsy wrote: »
    Gonna propose The Dame Tavern.

Great stout, bookies close by, always a good athmosphere and a great stout :D:D

There's a good chance I'll be here on the Tuesday, if anyone is around drop in :)

What's the stout like though?

Terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Suarez20

Was in cassidys last year on gold cup day, great craic, good crowd racing and commentary on big screen, will be there on the friday again this year after a few days on course ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

anyone recomend a good place to watch the festival in wexford or waterford???? good racing crowd bookies nearby decent 3g coverage be a help!!!!

stretchaq wrote: »
    anyone recomend a good place to watch the festival in wexford or waterford???? good racing crowd bookies nearby decent 3g coverage be a help!!!!
    In Wexford:

Off the top of my head Gaynors at the top of hill street would be a racing pub (the Solwhit crowd's syndicate name was born out of that spot). There's an independent bookmaker beside it

Maybe The Bugler Doyle's on the Main Street, pretty sure they show racing & there's 3 bookies very close (Spoils, Powers & an Indo)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭carmanard

In Wexford:

Off the top of my head Gaynors at the top of hill street would be a racing pub (the Solwhit crowd's syndicate name was born out of that spot). There's an independent bookmaker beside it

Maybe The Bugler Doyle's on the Main Street, pretty sure they show racing & there's 3 bookies very close (Spoils, Powers & an Indo)

I concur with the Colonel, I've been in both these fine establishments, racing shown on several screens in Buglers & the independent bookie next door is owned by them too, so you'll be well looked after I'm sure. Plus the chipper across the road, The Premier, is an institution. Gaynors is great craic, free food dished out (soup, sandwiches & assorted hot nibbles), nice & reasonably priced beer & the bookies alongside usually have very enticing prices & specials... Haven't a clue about Waterford I'm afraid, haven't been out for a day/night there in years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Moon Dice

Any suggestions for pubs down in cork to watch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

I will be heading to Riordains Pub, Finglas Village with 3 bookies located beside it, plenty of TV's, big screen, big pot of coddle on the go €2 for a bowl with bread & nice pints.

Roll on the Festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Anyone ever find out why they don't do Guinness in the Mandarin Bar in the Club Enclosure? It's one of the best places for craic at the racecourse.

finbarrk wrote: »
    Anyone ever find out why they don't do Guinness in the Mandarin Bar in the Club Enclosure? It's one of the best places for craic at the racecourse.

Because Guiness outside of Ireland is sewerage??

Agreed great spot for a few scoops pre racing.

Blasphemy to drink Guinness outside or Ireland.

you're asking for trouble drinking it anywhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

Tuesday - Devitts on Camden st.

Weds / Thurs / Friday : On course for the first time ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

This kinda seems to be the thread for this post as i dont want to start a new thread, but goin to take a day off work during festival, will be watching most races everyday. Which would ye recommend is the best day for watching it from the pub/bookies?

So far I'm thinking not the friday as the gold cup is the only real big race that day so i'd be happy to go watch that on my break at work.

Thurs i'm not sure what big races are on.

think its between tues and wednes with tuesday having the better races but then goin back into work for the remaining 3 days sucks?

This is generally my routine:

Tuesday - half day. Then go on the beer hard. (Tuesday is always the best days racing)
    Wednesday off - dying. 50/50 chance of pints.
    Thursday - half day. Go on the beer.
    Friday - Depending how i am i'll either take a half or full day.

This year i actually have a wedding down the country to go to so will probably have to drive up early on friday morning, so wont be too many pints on the Thursday.

Tuesday= best racing day in the whole calendar..at 13.29.30 when the roar goes up my hair on my neck stands up!!!only 26 days 21 hours 23 minutes 30 seconds to go lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Just booked the whole week off work, I had to work during it last year and swore to myself I'd never do it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

At home probably, would love to be going. :(

Can't stand the crowd that does be in the bookies. I like to hear the build up to every race as well and enjoy the race in the comfort of my own home without a bunch of cunts shouting for horses to fall and who don't have a clue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Had a battle with Mrs Buck but have booked the four days off :D

Nothing planned yet, normally one day in my mates, one day in mine, Friday in town, usually Beans, then we'll see about the other day.

[Quote?=hucklebuck;83208565]Had a battle with Mrs Buck but have booked the four days off :D

Nothing planned yet, normally one day in my mates, one day in mine, Friday in town, usually Beans, then we'll see about the other day.[/Quote]

Beans??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Day 1 and 2 on track, day 3 a pub in bristol wuth a bookies next door and day 4 in my local!!! Cant wait!!!

we should all meet in Cassidys in Camden street on gold cup day and wear name badges and go on the lash for the day!!!!or should I say 5th night in a row!!!!!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Day 1 - The local
    Day 2 - home
    Day 3 - home
    Day 4- well I'm going to plant myself in cassidy's (giddy up). Never been there so going more out of curiosity as it seems to be getting a few votes here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

as per last 30 years,
    day 1 -pub
    day 2-home
    day 3-home
    day 4-pub
    day 5-pub for the midlands national at uttoxeter : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

as per last 30 years,
    day 1 -pub
    day 2-home
    day 3-home
    day 4-pub
    day 5-pub for the midlands national at uttoxeter : )
    I was wrong your not 19 you must be at least 48... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Do i take it that we feel that the best day for closely contested races and therefore best day to take off work and watch in the pub is the Tuesday? The wednesday would be nice to break up week but i've a feeling the races are a lot more interesting the Tuesday, looks like Sprinter Sacre is goin unapposed in the big race on the Wednesday, so thats a minus from a viewing perspective. I'm booking the day off by end of today so I need someone to make my bloody mind up for me :D.

Better than christmas!!!!

Friday's out due to other people at work being off and the gold cup is usually the only quality race that day.