Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are hipsters taking over?

• 19-01-2013 3:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

It seems like theyre absolutely everywhere at the moment. Dunno what are worse, them or skangers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

I'd link you all to the "Being a dickhead's cool" video, but unfortunately, it's way too mainstream now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Here we go again, another person jumping on the "I hate hipsters" bandwagon. Personally I've hated them for years, long before it was fashionable to do so. It's starting to get a bit tiresome now that it's become so commonplace. The early years of hipster hating were far better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

Not one persons the same:rolleyes:

Stop judging people on their choice of clothes or musical preferences op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Bronze Wolf

I hated hipsters before it was cool.

It's ok though this doctor says it's normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

I'll believe it when we have TD's with Victorian moustaches cutting taxes on handcrafted cocktails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

thank me. ironically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭taytothief

thank me. ironically

Thanks frozen. Thanks so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Are they modern day punks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

Eventually, being ironic will become ironic, ending the hipster cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I don't know what a hipster is. I thought they were those jeans that sit so low your knickers are showing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I was using limewire back in 06. The modern day hipsters used to get me to make CDs for them. I was very wrong then, I now champion the physical copies of recordings. I'll do the exact opposite even if that means reverting. I'm a traditionalist now.. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I actually enjoy 80's music.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I actually enjoy 80's music.

A hispter would have written that sentence with a question mark at the end.

You can imagine that little inflection, the plea for validation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

It's the death of taste... (takes drag from camel cigarette and resumes watching foreign language movie about people struggling with their ordinary existence).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

A hispter would have written that sentence with a question mark at the end.

You can imagine that little inflection, the plea for validation...

Someone has to post that LCD Soundsystem vid "Losing My Edge".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Abracastabya

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

Where To wrote: »
    I don't know what a hipster is. I thought they were those jeans that sit so low your knickers are showing
    Google is your friend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

jimpump wrote: »
    Google is your friend
    The day I believe everything Google tells me is the day I start giving free rides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

It's a great paradox. As hipsters continue to take over they will reach a point where they will become 'mainsteam' and thus, cease to be hipsters.

I offer classes on this twice a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Keno 92 wrote: »
    It's a great paradox. As hipsters continue to take over they will reach a point where they will become 'mainsteam' and thus, cease to be hipsters.

I offer classes on this twice a week.

You mean it'll eventually become cool & trendy to have genuine opinions on things & to wear jeans that don't cut off circulation to your nads? I can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

The day I believe everything Google tells me is the day I start giving free rides.
    Local or further afield. Just dont put me on the meter, I know what u taxi riders are like yo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

The main thing that bothers me about "hipsters" is the price of converse and vans runners have sky rocketed cause of em!
    I used to get slagged for wearing them shoes, now they all wear em!!!

And camouflage 3/4 lengths in the summer. >:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The main thing that bothers me about "hipsters" is the price of converse and vans runners have sky rocketed cause of em!

You can buy cheap imitation converse in Dunnes, I'm wearing a pair at the moment. I did invest in a pair of flair styles in the summer on a trip to Venice at heavy cost. They only get outing on special occasions though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Lies. No-one has ever paid to ride ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

To be fair to the feckers, at least they take more care of how they dress. The only other kids I see are wearing tracksuits and spitting everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I never fully understood what a hipster actually was?

Can somebody spell it in dummy English for me? :confused:

Some pretty great bands/music have come out of hipsters though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

py2006 wrote: »
    I never fully understood what a hipster actually was?

Can somebody spell it in dummy English for me? :confused:

This.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Give it a rest. There's probably one or two on Wexford st. I was home for Xmas and all I saw was people in grey cloth tracksuits, I'd rather look at trendy people than that lot tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Geri Male

Can we have examples of hipsters in Irish media / music circuit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Some pretty great bands/music have come out of hipsters though.

hahahahahaha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Geri Male wrote: »
    Can we have examples of hipsters in Irish media / music circuit?

Any of those wan*ers who are on before The Simpsons on RTE i would say

As annoying as these Hipster folk are i must confess to being a fan of black rimmed glasses,in fairness though i had them like ages ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

It seems like theyre absolutely everywhere at the moment. Dunno what are worse, them or skangers

It's just you,

......and the places you hang out! ;)

Want to come down the 'Weist' and hang out with us lads, up to our tits in cow sh*te?

It'll make a man of ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I think you're a bit confused about what a hipster is.

Think 1950's working class America with stupid moustaches. On the girls too.

Edit: Or 40's even, I can't keep up... Or back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

What's funny is 6 years ago or so everyone was bitching about emos. In another 6 years time people will be bitching about something else.

I always thought hipsters were jazz fans in the 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The emos are now the hipsters. They just move with what ever trend there is.
    I was guilty of this but gladly I've copped on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I'd describe a hipster as a gobshite who dresses like a knob because it's the current "cool and underground" way to be. They aren't doing it to express themselves, they are doing it to be part of some kind of posse and to get hot women who also think it's "cool and underground".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I'm pretty sure skangers are a lot worse, ffs.

What a useless thread. OP stop being bad at posting :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Damn those hipsters with their big money and their long cigarettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Standman wrote: »
    I'd describe a hipster as a gobshite who dresses like a knob because it's the current "cool and underground" way to be. They aren't doing it to express themselves, they are doing it to be part of some kind of posse and to get hot women who also think it's "cool and underground".

This.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i think the line between hipster and skangers is getting blurred. know loads of skanger type lads who wear "hipster clothes" on nights out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

kneemos wrote: »
    Are they modern day punks?

Not quite, they are linked to Jimmy Savile and Freddie Hamstar though. Danger stranger danger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Actually, OT, I really hate the 'Mumford and Sons' style. It annoys me so much that these cnuts come out on stage/interviews etc in these 'Grapes of Wrath' period clothes, when you know full well its all bollox and they have no interest in dressing like that day to day, just because it 'fit' with the theme of the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Standman wrote: »

Hang on a second, I can get hot women by dressing like hipsters?

Sold!

Master of the Universe

Hang on a second, I can get hot women by dressing like hipsters?

Sold!

They'll be hipster women though. So they'll probably wreak your head with stupid hipster nonsense before you get anywhere with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Republic of Telly have done a sketch about 'hipsters'?

That's it, it's officially terribly uncool to complain about them now.

Although this is the best description I've heard of what a hipster actually is:

"Hipsters are artsy kids who aren't actually good at art."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

The hipster hating bandwagon jumping (by people who probably aren't fully sure what a hipster is, since it's pretty ambiguous) annoys me way more than a bunch of teenagers/20 somethings thinking they're alternative, which is nothing new.

Master of the Universe

Madam_X wrote: »
    The hipster hating bandwagon jumping (by people who probably aren't fully sure what a hipster is, since it's pretty ambiguous) annoys me way more than a bunch of teenagers/20 somethings thinking they're alternative, which is nothing new.

Being annoyed by people being annoyed by hipsters?

That's pretty hipster, you'd want to be careful.