Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dracula [NBC/Sky living] [** Spoilers **]

• 18-01-2013 6:09pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭

Awesome casting news, she was terrific as Helena in Arrow....and a major hottie!

Australian actress Jessica de Gouw (The Dinner Meeting, Arrow) has landed the female lead opposite Jonathan Rhys Meyers in NBC/Sky Living’s 10-episode series Dracula. Described as “Dangerous Liaisons meets The Tudors”, the series is set in 1890s London.

Source: Deadline via Spoilertv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,017 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Merlin alumna Katie McGrath and Game of
    Thrones‘ Nonso Anozie can now count
    Dracula among their
    credits.

The pair have been cast as series regulars in NBC’s
    10-episode drama about the iconic vampire (portrayed by Jonathan Rhys Meyers),
    TVLine has learned.

McGrath will play Lucy Westenra, Aristocratic London’s
    sexy, social butterfly who has a penchant for gossip, flirting and all things
    glamorous. A best friend to Dracula’s muse, Mina Murray (Arrow’s Jessica De
    Gouw), Lucy gradually becomes entwined in a web of lies, lust and temptation
    that challenges the boundaries of their relationship.

Anozie, meanwhile, has been cast as R.M. Renfield,
    fiercely loyal confidante of Dracula’s alter ego, Alan Grayson. Renfield is the
    keeper of Dracula’s deepest and darkest secrets and the stabilizing force that
    allows his two personas to successfully coexist. In addition to playing Qarth
    merchant Xaro Xhoan Daxos on Thrones, Anozie co-starred in The Grey and will
    next appear in the new Jack Ryan pic.

The series, based on Bram Stoker’s novel of the same
    name, finds Dracula preparing to unleash hell on the Victorian society
    responsible for ruining his life. But he’s thrown when he falls for a woman
    who’s a dead ringer for his beloved, long-deceased wife.

NBC has yet to set a premiere date for
    Dracula.

More castings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

All indications point to this being horrendous I have to say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

FFS!....I loathe this fake wannabe airhead, now she got a feckin job :rolleyes:

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/nbcs-dracula-casts-jonathan-rhys-417655

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

that makes 3 Irish starring in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭irishthump

Well that looks like a steaming pile of sh*te....

Looks like a soap opera version of Coppola's film more or less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Looks like a soap opera version of Coppola's film more or less.

Do you know, I think I could handle Keanu over Jonathan Rhys Myers.

Yamanoto wrote: »
    Do you know, I think I could handle Keanu over Jonathan Rhys Myers.

:eek: pretty damming statement then for this tv show.

I actually don't mind Keanu's performance. Who couldn't love his delivery of "I knooow where the bastard sleeps!" :pac:

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Promo Trailer released by NBC

visually....very impressive and expensive. looks like the league of extraordinary gentleman, i like it....deffo watch :)

Sky Living airing plenty of short promos for his saying coming in Autumn so I assume they will show it near enough same start date as NBC

It starts on Sky Living the 31st of October 2013 at 9pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Callanutd

Has anyone watched this yet? It aired Sunday night in the states

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

i watched it and its very good :) Jonathan Rhys Meyers is excellent in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Yeah, its well worth a watch. Myers is no Gary Oldman but Victoria Smurfit is eh...very talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Yeah, its well worth a watch. Myers is no Gary Oldman but Victoria Smurfit is eh...very talented.

Smurfit is the reason I came a calling here.

I just watched the first episode.

Smurfit is Lady Jayne - Dracula talks to her about the opera and later they go at it in her box (at the opera, ya dirty pup ;)).

Is Lady Jayne also the blonde woman who brings Sir Clive's head to the guy under the military store?

And the the blonde who taunts the caged vampire woman towards the end?

I can't play it back and I honestly couldn't tell while I was watching it.

Cheers

Smurfit is the reason I came a calling here.

I just watched the first episode.

Smurfit is Lady Jayne - Dracula talks to her about the opera and later they go at it in her box (at the opera, ya dirty pup ;)).

Is Lady Jayne also the blonde woman who brings Sir Clive's head to the guy under the military store?

And the the blonde who taunts the caged vampire woman towards the end?

I can't play it back and I honestly couldn't tell while I was watching it.

Cheers

Yup, she likes go give head(s) and also enjoys working out while being observed by a caged vampire. Definitely an all round lady.

Fair play to her.:)

Thanks. I was fairly certain for her first conversation with Meyers, that her character was a vampire.

I think then I just assumed the burd with the head in a box was a different blonde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I watched it last night and I wasn't all that impressed I have to say. It's early days though, so i'll give it another episode or two, but my first impressions are very much same old, same old, only with more lavish sets.

Not sure what to make of the series itself.

I can't say there was anything bad about it all, but I wasn't eager for more.

Nice to get a different on the story though.

I do feel though that Dracula meeting Mina was a bit "meh" - shouldn't it have been an earth shaking moment for him to see her?

I watched it last night and I wasn't all that impressed I have to say. It's early days though, so i'll give it another episode or two, but my first impressions are very much same old, same old, only with more lavish sets.

I disagree.

It didn't wow me, but to be fair it was a unique take on the story.

How often has Dracula been a millionaire industrialist inventor and the "good guy"?

I disagree.

How often has Dracula been a millionaire industrialist inventor and the "good guy"?

Not often - if you don't count Batman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I quite enjoyed it. I haven't read the book nor would I be very familiar with previous incarnations so a lot of it is new to me.

The costumes and sets are stunning and I thought the chemistry between Jonathan R-M and Victoria Smurfitt was excellent.

I'll certainly be tuning in next week.

ncmc wrote: »
    I thought the chemistry between Jonathan R-M and Victoria Smurfitt was excellent.

Actually, that's very true.

Granted, Dracula and Mina didn't have much time together but that whole plotline fell apart in seconds - he stared across the room and just got on with his scheme.

Shouldn't his whole plan be in turmoil upon seeing her?

Actually, that's very true.

Granted, Dracula and Mina didn't have much time together but that whole plotline fell apart in seconds - he stared across the room and just got on with his scheme.

Shouldn't his whole plan be in turmoil upon seeing her?

I'd agree except for one thing that might be to come. In Coppola / Oldman's Dracula its clear he was stalking Mina for quite some time through his eys and those of others. The lack of interest might be because he see's her every little heartbeat of the day.

I think it's fairly obvious that the party was the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I disagree.

I assumed the good guy thing was just a plot gimmick. I'm guessing he's a baddie really!

Dracula as a character isn't really a baddie - more a tragic figure cursed by doomed love. Thats the modern Gary Oldman take anyway...Christopher Lee would have had his end off already and better fangs. Nosferatu would not look like JRM (more like Nidge). We're promised a "how he became Dracula" episode for part 3 anyway. I'll be there for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭bluesfan

I remember the makers of the Death Wish films talking about the main character of their films. The main thinking was that they could have him act as depraved and inhuman as they wanted, as long as the bad guys were shown doing worse he'd still be the hero. I think we may be getting an element of that with Dracula. He's probably an inhuman monster but the people he's going after are even worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I can't tell yet if this is good or terrible. It's really overblown and cheesey in places without the element of tongue in cheek that some shows use to make the cheese more palatable. Yet I find myself looking forward to it each week and choosing to watch it before some other shows I have waiting. JRM seems to be holding back a bit though, which I guess could be the character, but he's a better actor than he appears to be if you only saw him in this.

iguana wrote: »
    I can't tell yet if this is good or terrible. It's really overblown and cheesey in places without the element of tongue in cheek that some shows use to make the cheese more palatable. Yet I find myself looking forward to it each week and choosing to watch it before some other shows I have waiting. JRM seems to be holding back a bit though, which I guess could be the character, but he's a better actor than he appears to be if you only saw him in this.

Yup, in general theres nothing wrong with JRM as an actor. It just he's constantly miscast (but if I was his bank manager I'd be delighted with miscasting). Put it this way, Ray Winstone was Henry VIII - JRM was a lad playing dress-up. Colin Farrell couldn't do Dracula. Gabriel Byrne and Tom Cruise could (watch Collateral before you jump on me). Its that little dangerous edge that some guys have. Gary Oldman nailed the part for me but as usual Keanu Reeves had to show up in the same movie.
    JRM assuming he doesn't drink himself to death in the meantime will probably come into his own when his hair gets a little greyer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Watched the first 2 episodes, probably won't bother with any more. Just a bit too naff for me, overblown sex scenes that aren't really very sexy and remind me of American soaps from the 80s, overblown dialogue and not much else going on. Maybe it will get better, I will have to keep an eye here to check!

I am still in shock that Dracula and Van Helsing are working together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I am still in shock that Dracula and Van Helsing are working together

wait till you find out that Mina is actually their love child ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Anyone kept up to date with this? Was enjoying it up to episode 9, but the season finale was poor for the most part imo.

I can see how it divides opinion and while it's not great it gets the job done for an hour's entertainment. The relationships between certain characters are way off in relation to the original story but it's to be expected really as with most Dracula adaptations.

Episode 10
    Didn't like the whole Van Helsing going rogue and losing the plot and thought it could have been handled a lot better. But at the very least it's set up well for season 2 (if there is one) with Harker and Van Helsing teaming up and taking a role more akin to the book.

The Huntsmen, blood of Christ, seer thing was total bollocks and was several bridges too far. Disliked pretty much every scene with Jayne Weatherby who I thought was a decent character at first but seemed to become less believable each episode.

Thought Rhys-Meyers did quite a good job though that may not be a popular opinion.