If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)

Garda professional appearance

• 17-01-2013 11:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭ Armin_Tamzarian

I was recently stopped by male uniform Garda who was wearing an ear ring.
    It just seemed uncharacteristic.
    Is this allowed?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭ pa990

I was recently stopped by male uniform Garda who was wearing an ear ring.
    It just seemed uncharacteristic.
    Is this allowed?

whatever you were stopped for will be struck out in court

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭ feargale

pa990 wrote: »

It will in its ass. Would you come to any harm if you wore an earring in court?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭ KwackerJack

Its an ear ring??

As long as his uniform is clean, tidy and his gear worn correctly then what's the problem?

A big ear hoop is one thing but a stud etc. wont stop him being a good cop.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭ bravestar

Probably wont make it to court because he wasn't wearing his cap at the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭ Paulzx

bravestar wrote: »

and different coloured socks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭ Boombastic

I have no idea if it's allowed but would there be any concern that it might get pulled out and rip off his ear in an incident?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,956 ✭✭✭✭ Potential-Monke

Women are allowed stud type earrings, but it's not recommended. And, if women are allowed them, men should be too (there's also a bone of contention/sexism with regards to hair length, but that's a different story).

On the note of hair, I am quite surprised by some of the styles I've seen on female officers..... in a ponytail with the bed-head look - messy. (sometimes with a pen through it).

I would have thought there were H&S issues with earrings & long hair.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭ heffomike54

Have to say, think the uniform standards are very low with certain Gardai, the appearance leaves a lot to be desired. Should be enforced more by supervisors in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭ feargale

Boombastic wrote: »
    On the note of hair, I am quite surprised by some of the styles I've seen on female officers.....
    They're not in a beauty contest.

feargale wrote: »
    They're not in a beauty contest.

I'm not suggesting it is, but surely being neat and tidy should be a requirement for such a position? not looking like they just rolled out of bed and didn't brush their hair.

In general most are fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭ audidiesel

Have to say, think the uniform standards are very low with certain Gardai, the appearance leaves a lot to be desired. Should be enforced more by supervisors in my opinion.

think they are more concerned about the chronic shortage of workers, the net reduction in patrol cars of about 350 over the last 5 years, the dirt and the conditions of the ones we have left, the rock bottom moral in the job and the antiquted notion of wearing dress pants and a shirt and tie more to be honest with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭ Dionysius2

Thoroughly agree. Two things Commissioner Callinane could do right now which would do a huge amount to smarten up his force in a short time would be to get all guards to take their hands out of their pockets when on duty in the public areas and the other is to wash the bloody patrol cars. I have traveled a lot in other countries and those two things were stood out where the local police were concerned just about everywhere. All the slouchiness and hands in pockets we see here gives our guards the appearance of cornerboys. Casual is fine in lots of the areas of life but the police will do a lot better when they are not being too casual.

Dionysius2 wrote: »

Thoroughly agree. Two things Commissioner Callinane could do right now which would do a huge amount to smarten up his force in a short time would be to get all guards to take their hands out of their pockets when on duty in the public areas and the other is to wash the bloody patrol cars. I have traveled a lot in other countries and those two things were stood out where the local police were concerned just about everywhere. All the slouchiness and hands in pockets we see here gives our guards the appearance of cornerboys. Casual is fine in lots of the areas of life but the police will do a lot better when they are not being too casual.

yeaahh... I think the country, and AGS have bigger policing problems than hands inn pockets and dirty patrol cars.

but then again perhaps some people would much prefer to use their own shiney car to collect an immaculately dressed garda, and bring him to the scene of a burglary.

whereas others are just glad for a Garda to turn up in a clapped out 300km/k car with a dirty stab vest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭ Armin_Tamzarian

Some pretty daft replies in fairness.
    From a sexism point of view, why should women be allowed piercings but men?
    The Guard in question was professional and courteous.
    I only asked was it allowed as I was surprised to see it.
    Guards are typically very clean cut.

A valid point was made regarding it bring grabbed out, same way they wear anti-choke ties.

I guess it's acceptable attire then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭ Zambia

I guess it's acceptable attire then?
    I would disagree by both male and female officers they should not be worn.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,877 ✭✭✭ Terrontress

yeaahh... I think the country, and AGS have bigger policing problems than hands inn pockets and dirty patrol cars.

but then again perhaps some people would much prefer to use their own shiney car to collect an immaculately dressed garda, and bring him to the scene of a burglary.

whereas others are just glad for a Garda to turn up in a clapped out 300km/k car with a dirty stab vest.

Once your public face starts to slip, be it your people, your buildings or your vehicles, it is a sign that standards are slipping in what you can't see. For AGS to think that unkempt Gardai are acceptable is a national disgrace. Even a decent scout unit would expect a better standard of uniform.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭ Mr Jinx

Once your public face starts to slip, be it your people, your buildings or your vehicles, it is a sign that standards are slipping in what you can't see. For AGS to think that unkempt Gardai are acceptable is a national disgrace. Even a decent scout unit would expect a better standard of uniform.

I think the standard of clothing is to blame more than the person. You could put a supermodel in that uniform and she would still look unkempt. Its the usual lets but the cheapest uniform going scenario.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ BaronVon

For AGS to think that unkempt Gardai are acceptable is a national disgrace.

Let's not blow this out of proportion......

infacteh wrote: »

Let's not blow this out of proportion......

Would anyone expect or accept it from the army? There is a reason why professional organisations expect a certain standard from their members. I wouldn't eat in a restaurant with front line staff look unkempt. I try not to get in filthy taxis. I'll think twice about hiring a scruffy plumber who turns up in a clapped out van.

Why should I not expect professionalism from a police service?

And a lot of English police seen on TV look awful with visible tattoos and ridiculous beards so this is not limited to AGS. Clearly no pride in their chosen career.

I think people are getting POLICE / GARDAI mixed up with the Fashion Police

fashion_police.jpg

I think people are getting POLICE / GARDAI mixed up with the Fashion Police

fashion_police.jpg

Is that an attempt at humour?

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭ A.G.S

bravestar wrote: »

Your some twat! were not living in the 30's anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭ are you serious

And a lot of English police seen on TV look awful with visible tattoos and ridiculous beards so this is not limited to AGS. Clearly no pride in their chosen career.

Just to pull you up in that, the English police force are allowed beards. Not 100% on tattoos.

Why shouldn't the lads over there grow a beard if they want to? Just because some people don't think a beard looks good?

They grow a beard an now they have no pride in their job???

Just to pull you up in that, the English police force are allowed beards. Not 100% on tattoos.

Why shouldn't the lads over there grow a beard if they want to? Just because some people don't think a beard looks good?

They grow a beard an now they have no pride in their job???

I mean a postage stamp sized square of pubic hair beneath the lower lip or a zz top style pointy goatee or a tramp's beard, even the Bob Geldof lines! A neat beard is fine, and of course there are those whose beards have religious or cultural significance, but there are those which look awful and shouldn't be allowed

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭ Dionysius2

Would anyone expect or accept it from the army? There is a reason why professional organisations expect a certain standard from their members. I wouldn't eat in a restaurant with front line staff look unkempt. I try not to get in filthy taxis. I'll think twice about hiring a scruffy plumber who turns up in a clapped out van.

Why should I not expect professionalism from a police service?

Terr....that's what's behind the observation : "....Oh it was soooo Irish " ....we do this to ourselves by the value we give to appearances.....and just look for a minute at the collection of soup-kitchen attendees that we now have representing us down in Kildare St....like I said....we do this to ourselves....but the self gratified second raters have decided that they should be heard as well on all these issues and very vocal they are too so the debate goes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,233 ✭✭✭ source

The issue is cheap and badly manufactured uniforms. When I was in the job I had 4 pairs of uniform pants which were allegedly the same size, two fit okay, one was too big and the other was way too tight. The shirts are way too big, the bottom off my shirts pockets touched the belt, apparently a 16.5 in shirt.

It's hard to look good when thats what you're given.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,222 ✭✭✭ pah

source wrote: »
    The issue is cheap and badly manufactured uniforms. When I was in the job I had 4 pairs of uniform pants which were allegedly the same size, two fit okay, one was too big and the other was way too tight. The shirts are way too big, the bottom off my shirts pockets touched the belt, apparently a 16.5 in shirt.

It's hard to look good when thats what you're given.

I couldnt agree more. Inthe same position with half my trousers fitting and the other half not. A 16.5in shirt is one standard size, if my chest was 38 or 50 its ****e. I could stuff a pillow into mine theres so much space. Dont get me started on the ****ty flappy yellow jackets, mistaken for builders and council workers.

imo make the mountain bike uniform the standard operational uniform and retain the shirt and tie for desk and office duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭ Esel

A big ear hoop is one thing but a stud etc. wont stop him being a good cop.
    Would a stud with a regular-sized hoop do?

Not your ornery onager