Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you shower before work?

• 17-01-2013 9:07am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭

Almost every day I shower before work. It sets me up for the day feeling fresh and ready for the day ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I shower every day before work. why wouldn't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Fanny Biscuit

Yes always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Yes shower every day regardless of work or not.
    My housemate showers the night before, never understood this, I'd feel horrible and sticky all day.

iDave wrote: »
    My housemate showers the night before, never understood this, I'd feel horrible and sticky all day.

Use a sock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Did this spawn from the "What time do you get up before work?" thread?

I do, I have to otherwise I feel manky for the day. Once or twice I've been out late on the lash and end up throwing myself out of bed late and straight out to work....odd really seeing as if there was ever a morning ya need a shower - its those kind of mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Shower after to get the smell of envy and jealousy off my skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Lad Of Banter

showering twice a day is the bare minimum when it comes to having good personal hygiene imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Yes. Always. So should you all.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Used to try the shower the night before thing (I hate waking up early) but didn't work for me, so I just gave up and shower beforehand.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

i shower the night before and sleep next to the front door in my work clothes to get the most amount of sleep possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Everyday in everyway I have a shower :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Id rather do it the night before to save time but I get severe bed head and its not sexy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Well la-di-da, looky all the rich folk with all the electricity and the water and the time to spare with their daily showers.

An italian shower, ie a top to toe spraying with a can of Lynx, is just as good and if done correctly in a confined space, sets you up with a good buzz for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Splish splash when I'm taking a bath, Pamolive always jumps in toooo!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Andy!!

showering twice a day is the bare minimum when it comes to having good personal hygiene imho.

I hope you're joking.

Though I do like to do that. Finish work, go home and shower, get into comfy clothing, sorted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

smash wrote: »
    I shower every day before work. why wouldn't you?

In the rare event I sleep in and don't have time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Draydis80

I always have a shower before work, I feel like I am covered in a layer of sleep otherwise (I may need to get that looked into!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I prefer showering the night before. It's always how it was done in our house growing up. It's not like you're going to wake up sweaty and stinky! When I have sex I always have another quick shower in the morning though (without washing my hair). The only times I do have a shower and wash my hair in the morning are if I'm heading out somewhere after work and I want my hair to look nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

The bare minimum? Why would you shower more than this, 3-4 times a day is OCD unless your a smelly b4stard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Yes shower every day regardless of work or not.

Agreed.

????

(I'm a shower the night before kinda person) But I don't get this, what are you doing in your sleep that's going to make you feel so rotten the next, must be doing a serious amout of sleep walking running.

IMO, getting into a nice clean bed after being horrible and sticky from a days work is worse, particularly if you're getting in beside someone else ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Shower in our house sounds like a train passing so I try to shower shower the evening before otherwise I'll have to listen to ****e from the housemates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Plazaman wrote: »
    Well la-di-da, looky all the rich folk with all the electricity and the water and the time to spare with their daily showers.

An italian shower, ie a top to toe spraying with a can of Lynx, is just as good and if done correctly in a confined space, sets you up with a good buzz for the day.

La di da yourself... To hell with your fancy Italian shower, it's knacker shower or nothing...

But yeah I shower twice a day without fail unless I'm really sick or severely drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

If Im in at 8, its the night before. If its any later, its in the morning. Cant be getting up too early really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I prefer showering the night before. It's always how it was done in our house growing up. It's not like you're going to wake up sweaty and stinky! When I have sex I always have another quick shower in the morning though (without washing my hair). The only times I do have a shower and wash my hair in the morning are if I'm heading out somewhere after work and I want my hair to look nice!

Are you having sex with tramps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

realies wrote: »
    Everyday in everyway I have a shower :-)

So that's a golden for you? Gimme a sec to get the water ready. ;)

Shower most mornings at least before work.

kneemos wrote: »
    Are you having sex with tramps?

No...but I feel better freshening up before I go into work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

About 3 days before.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

WindSock wrote: »
    About 3 days before.

So that's tomorrow then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

When I'm having the morning pee I just pee into my hands while holding a bar of soap and wipe myself down.

Gives me that extra...........musk in the morning.........of soapy piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Duggy747 wrote: »
    When I'm having the morning pee I just pee into my hands while holding a bar of soap and wipe myself down.

Gives me that extra...........musk in the morning.........of soapy piss.

Why go to all that effort when you can just buy a can of Lynx and get the same smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I really dont get showering everyday, that's pretty anal to be honest and more than once a day is just OCD.
    Nobody needs to shower every day unless they have a physically demanding job.
    I shower when I work on the farm, go to the gym or go for a run, so four or five times a week, but if for whatever reason I havent done any of that I'd shower once, maybe twice a week. Gym has been closed all this week and it's been too dark and wet to run so my last shower was on Saturday and I feel fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

What is with the two showers a day? What in under jaysis are you doing to need to wash yourself that often?
    I shower the night before because a) I don't feel yucky in the morning b)I'd rather feel fresh getting into bed, it helps me sleep and c) I can hardly put my clothes on the right way round in the morning.
    I think I just value my sleep in the mornings. Ain't nobody got time for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

No I hate my workmates so I like to smell like ****. I eat as much chili and take protein too. Just so the air is constantly caustic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

I shower in the morning before work and in the evening after the gym :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Of course I do, I'm not a gip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I rather show up late for work than skip the morning shower.

I really dont get showering everyday, that's pretty anal to be honest and more than once a day is just OCD.
    The Cool wrote: »
    What is with the two showers a day? What in under jaysis are you doing to need to wash yourself that often?

Cleanliness is next to Godliness you heathens!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Always, even if I shower the night before. You sweat a lot at night. i cycle in so I'm even going to be showering in work too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Yes, and I wish some of my colleagues would do the same!

Almost always the night before, hate showering in the morning and its wastes some sleep time. I think some people are over obsessed with showers, its not unknown for me to skip a day completely without a shower as I would almost always not bother having a shower on a day off or Saturday etc if I wasn't really doing much (if I was going on the beer sat night I obviously would).

You know yourself if you're in need of one and sometimes you are still fresh even after not showering for a day depending on what you've been doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

The night before. Getting out of bed in time is hard enough as it is, and I know if my alarm went off earlier I'd just hit snooze. Also there's something really nice about having a shower and getting into a fresh bed. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Plazaman wrote: »

A buzz? More like a hum I'd imagine.

I'd have a shower in the morning to wake myself up and then one before I go to bed at night to go to bed fresh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

I never shower before work. Showering 3 times a week is enough for me.

I really dont get showering everyday, that's pretty anal to be honest

Do you wear the same underwear and socks two days in a row too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Every second day. My hair takes ages to dry, and I couldn't go around with a wet head every morning of the week. I don't think it's great for your hair or skin to strip the natural oils every day, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Gauss wrote: »
    Almost every day I shower before work. It sets me up for the day feeling fresh and ready for the day ahead.

Fair play to ya...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

I shower when I work on the farm, go to the gym or go for a run, so four or five times a week, but if for whatever reason I havent done any of that I'd shower once, maybe twice a week. Gym has been closed all this week and it's been too dark and wet to run so my last shower was on Saturday and I feel fine.

Yeah, you're not getting any from me any more you dirty bastard. I was genuinely considering (and looking forward to) the FWBs relationship we talked about but that's definitely not happening now :P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I prefer showering the night before. It's always how it was done in our house growing up. It's not like you're going to wake up sweaty and stinky!

You must not suffer from night terrors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

It's Friday? No shower in a week? Christ man you might be fine, but have you asked anyone around you who's still conscious if they're ok?

Czarcasm wrote: »

It's Friday? No shower in a week? Christ man you might be fine, but have you asked anyone around you who's still conscious if they're ok?

I'm really sorry to tell you this...but it's only Thursday :(