Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 was warmer !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

You know the planet is doomed when Ireland has 3 nice days in a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Matt_Trakker

Hold yer horses there, Jim Corr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

We're all doomed anyway. May aswell get a tan while we're waiting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Yeaaa, because the planet has never been warmer than it is now, just the same as sea levels have never been as high as they will be in ten years time.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

well its fcuking freezing today :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yeaaa, because the planet has never been warmer than it is now, just the same as sea levels have never been as high as they will be in ten years time.:rolleyes:

I just can't believe how careless those cave men were to the ozone during the ice age.

All this green house effect thing is a load of nonsense, just another tax to make the rich richer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I just can't believe how careless those cave men were to the ozone during the ice age.

All this green house effect thing is a load of nonsense, just another tax to make the rich richer!

It actually amazes me how people believe this is all somehow natural and nothing at all to do with man's global activity.

Conspiracy theories forum is thataway --->

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

1ZRed wrote: »
    It actually amazes me how people believe this is all somehow natural and nothing at all to do with man's global activity.

Correct me if I've picked you up wrong, are you saying that climate change has only occurred since man's activities have gone global?

I don't think your saying that. What are you saying exactly?

And leave out the CT rubbish, it works both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Well I mean we are coming out of an ice age, or are technically in an interglacial period, so still in an ice age. No doubt excavating that much coal and oil and releasing it back into the atmosphere helps things along, but there is a large natural element to what's happening.

The way I see it we'd be as well off to figure out ways to adapt to global warming, the climate isn't stable now and never was. The earth was once a snowball, and on the other hand once had no ice caps at all. Its not possible to freeze frame everything, so why try.

tl;dr buy a boat.

Also, I miss snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

As long as I gots me happy pills and my stories on the tv box than I couldn't give a hootie toot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Duggy747 wrote: »
    You know the planet is doomed when Ireland has 3 nice days in a year.

3 nice days? When were the other 2.5? :pac:

Correct me if I've picked you up wrong, are you saying that climate change has only occurred since man's activities have gone global?

I don't think your saying that. What are you saying exactly?

And leave out the CT rubbish, it works both ways.

I didn't say that at all. With everything we are doing to the planet now like releasing tones and tones of Co2 into the atmosphere, deforesting the planet and basically changing environments to suit ourselves, we are the ones altering the composition of the atmosphere and thus warming it through that.

Climate changes are natural -but slow, we are accelerating the current change through everything we are doing now with our disregard for the environment.

Some people thinking that burning all the fossil fuels and cutting down the trees isn't going to have any effect on the planet in the grand scheme of things is small minded to me, especially if they say it's all purely natural. It's not, we're the ones doing it and changing things. That was my point.

I didn't say that at all. With everything we are doing to the planet now like releasing tones and tones of Co2 into the atmosphere, deforesting the planet and basically changing environments to suit ourselves, we are the ones altering the composition of the atmosphere and thus warming it through that.

Climate changes are natural -but slow, we are accelerating the current change through everything we are doing now with our disregard for the environment.

Some people thinking that burning all the fossil fuels and cutting down the trees isn't going to have any effect on the planet in the grand scheme of things is small minded to me, especially if they say it's all purely natural. It's not, we're the ones doing it and changing things. That was my point.

Good on you, throw in deforestation because you can't win your green house gas agreement, nobody believes deforestation is a good thing besides the people getting rich of it, also global warning does exist and its natural, nothing much to do with us.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Good on you, throw in deforestation because you can't win your green house gas agreement, nobody believes deforestation is a good thing besides the people getting rich of it, also global warning does exist and its natural, nothing much to do with us.

Alright I'll leave it right out, no problem. But how do you not believe that releasing billions of tonnes into the atmosphere, by man, wouldn't do anything?

Co2 traps heat and too much of it will trap more and more heat and cause the planet to warm. It's basic stuff you learn in school and a widely supported my the vast, vast majority of scientists to be true.

So are you saying that humans unnaturally burning fossil fuels in such massive quantities as we do has absolutely no effect on the earth, it's just natural?

Edit: you could also bring methane (which is a far more effective gas at trapping heat, into account) and how intensive farming of cattle, among other animals, by man has contributed to much of this gas in the atmosphere.
    That is a natural process by those animals but it was unnatural to farm such massive quantities of livestock like that as there never would've been that many of it were not for human intervention, so ultimately it's unnatural.

Alright I'll leave it right out, no problem. But how do you not believe that releasing billions of tonnes into the atmosphere, by man, wouldn't do anything?

Co2 traps heat and too much of it will trap more and more heat and cause the planet to warm. It's basic stuff you learn in school and a widely supported my the vast, vast majority of scientists to be true.

So are you saying that humans unnaturally burning fossil fuels in such massive quantities as we do has absolutely no effect on the earth, it's just natural?

They told you pluto was a planet and Jesus is the son of god, id take what you learn in school with a pinch of salt.

As for your question, i do believe we have had some effect on global warning but it is very little. The earth has been hotter and colder before man even excited. Global warning is just a fad, next week we'll be talking about how soy beans reduce cancer or something like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭LivelineDipso

So what caused the ice caps to melt last time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

The Earth has been much warmer before, and will survive global warming or climate change relatively unscathed. The human race on the other hand may not be so lucky.

Hold yer horses there, Jim Corr.

You can always tell when the smug types are stumped and nothing to add to a conversation.

Jesus, must be some craic being a civil servant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Global warming isn't nonsense. Hysteria about global warming is.

This link explains that about 1 degree of warming is more likely that the 3-5 degree that doomsayers are predicting.

And a nice video

(One of the Youtube comments above: Which is true?*
    A. The earth is at an extremely low CO2 concentration level based on the last 500 million years
    B. The earth is at an extremely high CO2 concentration level based on the last 500 million years)

*(answer is A)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Nice of you to drop deforestation likd a hot potatoe.Everywhere you turn it's co2 this and co2 that when a major natural disaster is happening with barely a mention,regardless of it's effects or not on global temperature deforestation is the biggest enviromental disaster happening at the moment and one which could be solved if a fraction of the resources that went into co2 were diverted to it,but then you can't tax it can you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Generally speaking the planet alternates from Ice Age to Ice Age with warm periods in between. We are still in an Ice Age but progressing to a warmer phase.

This phase is not linear and we can expect mini ice ages and mini desert periods before the planet is free of ice and remains so for thousands of years.

Climate change has killed off man and animals in the past, climate change can occur rapidly in a few seasons or take fifty years [or more] with periodic reversals of climate for a few years.

I am always amazed at how that big ball of fire in the sky is constantly ommited, or played down from any global warming research.

Bit like issuing reports on fat people and not mentioning their food intake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Do you have any idea how much the global average temperature has risen over the past decade ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Well I mean we are coming out of an ice age, or are technically in an interglacial period, so still in an ice age. No doubt excavating that much coal and oil and releasing it back into the atmosphere helps things along, but there is a large natural element to what's happening.

Hmmm, isn't that unstoppable ice-age theory just, you know, a theory?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm off to get my tan on... oh wait, it's still almost 0 degrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Aglomerado wrote: »
    3 nice days? When were the other 2.5? :pac:

I just accumulated the hours when it didn't rain last year :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭twistedsoul

Some good points made there but i do believe we still have some impact on our climate changing !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Edit: you could also bring methane (which is a far more effective gas at trapping heat, into account) and how intensive farming of cattle, among other animals, by man has contributed to much of this gas in the atmosphere.
    That is a natural process by those animals but it was unnatural to farm such massive quantities of livestock like that as there never would've been that many of it were not for human intervention, so ultimately it's unnatural.

Yeah, before humans, there were dinosaurs. Big blighters. Ate a lot. Now I haven't been speaking to them in a while, but I'm guessing they produced a LOT of methane.

And it has been a while since I collected those Dinosaur magazines, you know the ones that came with the bits of skeloton, but AFAIK, the climate back then was warm and humid.

Do we affect our environment? Of course we do. Are we going to stop affecting our environment? After we all die. Quite a while after we die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭John.Icy

To the person on about human Co2 outputs:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/b/b8/Vostok_Petit_data.svg/800px-Vostok_Petit_data.svg.png

Perfectly on scheduale in Co2 concentration in the atmosphere. Nature is in control, humans would have to do a hell of a lot more to seriously feck up the natural orders of things.

We are currently in a period of interglacial, and by some accounts, are in the twilight of it. A commonly accepted interglacial length is 12,000 years(we are roughly 10,00, years in) but it could last many thousands more and of course it takes thousands of years to fall back into a glacial period.

But humans will probably have all killed each other before we see another ice age anyway, so who cares :D