Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Achieving odd goals in life

• 16-01-2013 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭

So last night I was sitting down watching Operation Transformation and I started getting the fear.
    The OH suggested that it was from all the alcohol that I consumed over the Christmas and when you suddenly stop that’s when you get it so she said I should pop down for a few.

When I got to the local the lads were there and the barman ( and friend ) told me that he reckons I drank a keg of Guinness in a month. I denied this but on further examination this is what we found.
    Friday,Saturday and Sunday before Christmas the usual 6 – 8 pints.
    Christmas Eve brought the family in to get the Christmas Drink but only had 4 because had to go to mass.
    St Stephens Day god only knows but around 7.
    The 28,29,30 around 6-7 again because of the football.

New Years Eve god only knows cannot even remember what time I got home but herself got a text saying HNY at 2.22am so we will average at 6-7.Then last weekend had my usual 6-7 pints over the 3 days because there was a birthday Friday then Saturday is as usual and Sunday was Super Sunday and my 4 last night makes it approx 78 and he says that the first 4or 5 don’t count and we used the lower average number or 6.

That’s 78 pints in a month who would have thought it.
    What feats of unknowingly have you achieved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

My fùckin' head trying to read that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

I'm not sure what the 'odd goal' is here, maybe to drink a keg a month and not be considered an alcoholic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I was constipated for about a week and a half due to medication I was on after an operation.

When the time finally came to release the demon in my bowels I thought to weigh myself before and after.

After taking the biggest dump of my life, I found myself to be 2lbs lighter.

TL;DR: I lost 2lbs in about 10mins by simply taking a huge dump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I was constipated for about a week and a half due to medication I was on after an operation.

When the time finally came to release the demon in my bowels I thought to weigh myself before and after.

Not a problem for me at present thankfully.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

You must have a kind and understanding wife when she tells you to go to the pub-or else she's sick of the sight of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

There's 88 pints in a keg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I've put a deposit on a new to me bike and between cars and bikes, it will be my 22nd vehicle:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Where To wrote: »
    :mad:
    There is still time yet and I am using the lower average so if the difference is 2 x 6 nights that gives me 12 + 78 = 90.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭twistedsoul

I would not like to smell your jacks !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

:mad:
    There is still time yet and I am using the lower average so if the difference is 2 x 6 nights that gives me 12 + 78 = 90.

That's an even goal, make it 89 and you will have your odd goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Smoked one spliff in a month.................... and I am the big "fuck off" drug user in the eyes of the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭nipps

looking at it another way, you've spent just under 400 euro on pints in a month...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Guinness is **** and your insides are probably now completely black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

At least you'll have a story to tell next time you're 'chatting someone up'!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Drank so much so frequently over Christmas that my tolerance became so good I could clear out a crate of beer without much of a bother.

Moved onto whiskey then with no ill effects and I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

Myself

Thursday 8 Pints 4 Euro Each In Pub Total 32.00
    Friday 1/2 litre Euro 10.00 Vodka Mixed with 2.5 Ls Coke Euro 2.00 12.00
    Saturday 1/2 Litre Euro 10.00 Vodka Mixed with 2.5Ls Coke Euro 2.00 12.00

56.00 Euro per weekend

So last year I guzzled

52 Litres of Vodka :o
    250 Litres of Coke :eek:
    426 Pints Of Heino :confused:

2915.00 Euro Per year ...Now you have giving me the FEAR op :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Myself

Thursday 8 Pints 4 Euro Each In Pub Total 32.00
    Friday 1/2 litre Euro 10.00 Vodka Mixed with 2.5 Ls Coke Euro 2.00 12.00
    Saturday 1/2 Litre Euro 10.00 Vodka Mixed with 2.5Ls Coke Euro 2.00 12.00

56.00 Euro per weekend

So last year I guzzled

52 Litres of Vodka :o
    250 Litres of Coke :eek:
    426 Pints Of Heino :confused:

2915.00 Euro Per year ...Now you have giving me the FEAR op :cool:

That's not that bad. I spent 2 grand in the months of November and December last year on drink.
    I suppose that's an odd goal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Where To wrote: »
    Yeah, but the first couple of pints are ****e and then you have spills and drips, etc, so on average it works out closer to a yield of 80 pints per keg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I have now gone six months without even as much as a shift on a night out.

Personal record :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭johnwest288

That's not that bad. I spent 2 grand in the months of November and December last year on drink.
    I suppose that's an odd goal :D

Ah yes I miss them days when i could hand the barman 5 Euro for a pint of guinness :cool:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

So last night I was sitting down watching Operation Transformation and I started getting the fear.
    The OH suggested that it was from all the alcohol that I consumed over the Christmas and when you suddenly stop that’s when you get it so she said I should pop down for a few.

When I got to the local the lads were there and the barman ( and friend ) told me that he reckons I drank a keg of Guinness in a month. I denied this but on further examination this is what we found.
    Friday,Saturday and Sunday before Christmas the usual 6 – 8 pints.
    Christmas Eve brought the family in to get the Christmas Drink but only had 4 because had to go to mass.
    St Stephens Day god only knows but around 7.
    The 28,29,30 around 6-7 again because of the football.

New Years Eve god only knows cannot even remember what time I got home but herself got a text saying HNY at 2.22am so we will average at 6-7.Then last weekend had my usual 6-7 pints over the 3 days because there was a birthday Friday then Saturday is as usual and Sunday was Super Sunday and my 4 last night makes it approx 78 and he says that the first 4or 5 don’t count and we used the lower average number or 6.

What feats of unknowingly have you achieved?

less of a goal, more of a problem with alcohol me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Theres been times ive drank a keg in 2 weeks, an average of over 7 pints a night with one night off a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Ive set myself the goal of learning all the countries in the world, got the 50 that are on the european continent off already, next is north americia...

Also got pi learned off to 50 decimal places, its amazing how bored you get after two years on the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

My goal is to be retired in south east Asia before im 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I attempted to get published in the letters page of the Irish Times for no good reason at all.
    It took manys an attempt, mainly due to me writing most of my letters in the style of an AH post.

Perseverance eventually paid off however and I got a letter published last year. Then a few weeks later I received a signed book of poetry in the post from some guy (the poet) who'd read my letter, completely mis-understood it and decided to strike up a correspondence with me (you have to supply the IT your postal address with any letter).
    Luckily I moved house soon after and have learned my lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

seamus wrote: »
    Yeah, but the first couple of pints are ****e and then you have spills and drips, etc, so on average it works out closer to a yield of 80 pints per keg.
    When I was running a pub any more wastage than two pints per keg was unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Always wanted to have a wrestling match infront of a paying audience which I accomished by donning pink and black spandex before :) happy I done it....also want to attempt a stand up routine at some stage just the once